“I get a lot of messages from young girls who are depressed with low self-esteem because they don’t feel pretty like the social media girls they see every day and my heart breaks because I feel like that too sometimes.
“We are all in this together, I’m not perfect, and not the prettiest, sexiest, richest but I’ll remain kind and seek after God’s heart because none of the others matters to Him.
“Ultimately God’s approval is all we need”, she said.
She added that contrary to public belief, she hardly sees herself as a pretty woman.
“Some people are born beautiful, flawless skin, long curly hair, fair skin but some of us grew up looking at the world’s definition of beauty and found ourselves not fitting into that standard but with the help of makeup, filters and push up bras we feel a little closer.
“What happens when you take all that off and you stare at yourself in the mirror, do you still think you are beautiful?
“You should because you are and when we meet our creator face to face it’s those with the kindest hearts that will stand as most beautiful.
“So while we work on the outside make sure we work on our hearts.”
From Daily Post
It is not always whatit looks like but it is well.
ReplyDeleteIts obvious she is going through a lot but what do I know, lemme jejely coman be going
ReplyDeleteHave you seen Tiwa without makeup ... just check the xfactor video. You will understand why
ReplyDeleteWithout makeup and filter .. Tiwa not pretty . Fact
She is a pretty woman with or without makeup. Let's see your anonymous face
Deletewow! Thanks Tiwa for those words. Sometimes I feel that way too
ReplyDeleteIt is well.
ReplyDeleteTiwa you are OK
ReplyDeletehmmmm, it is well
ReplyDeleteNo wonder she tries too hard to fit in😎😎😎😎😎
ReplyDeleteThis is it. Pele
DeleteLol
Deletedeep interview, she really said quite alot from the little.
ReplyDeleteIt's very obvious Tiwa has low self esteem.
ReplyDeleteHer choice of men makes that very clear.
I mean, a woman who knows her worth would NEVER end up with the likes of Wizkid and Teebillz.
Tiwa is what we refer to as a 'pick me.' She's been since her London days.
Oya Tiwa's voltrons, come and masturbate under my comment.
It's clear you hate her
DeleteYou don't mean a thing to us and neither does ur opinion. Even on d blog sef, u r anonymous. At least tiwa knows her demons, what about u? Get a life!
DeleteHahahaha!!!! I said it oo! Tiwa and her voltrons, welcome sha.
DeleteLook at you pathetic and miserable voltrons stanning a woman with an inferiority complex so large she has to imitate Beyonce and shack up with a boy half her age to feel loved. What does that say about you? Bitch, puhleaaze! I said what I said. And I clearly mean something to you if you have to masturbate under my perfectly apt comment.
You and your favorite pick me need to get a shrink. And while you're at it, tell sis she can never touch Beyonce on her very best day.
The annon up there maybe harsh, probably a hater but said the truth. Tiwa tries too hard!!!
DeleteI love your songs bby gal
ReplyDeleteI just hope and pray she it okay
ReplyDeleteWhen I say FAKE, FAKE lives ON this forum I know what I mean. I have Nollywood in my family.
ReplyDeleteIf you see the person on Instagram; daily picture uploads, you won't believe what is happening in
real life.
My advice: if you have anyone in Nolly nku or close to any, reach out and do not just look at them
as "celebrities". There is nothing to celebrate about their private lives.
I talk am, depression don become status symbol for Naija. Everybody don dey dey depressed.
ReplyDeletePersin dey sad, na depression.
Im no chop, na depression.
I wish say una sabi wetin depression mean.
Please leave them.depression is a disease and it also has levels. Some is just mild and can go all d way to severe, with co diseases like phychosis and hallucination with suicidal intent etc.
DeleteFeminist
Deleteis another one Nigerians have seen as status symbol.
And many of them don't even know what it means.
Ask them, they will be telling you, "it means not living under a man".
I pity all of you that copy everything western without asking questions.
In western countries, there are courts and laws that are followed unlike in
Nigeria where your rights are trampled upon and you can't do anything about it.
Domt be dumb pls. Dont classify me with uneducated fools. I know wat feminism is about. Am married as well. Dont stop my feminism. Running things bitch
DeleteEducated? And using expletive in every sentence?
Deletethats why you always try so hard to be sexy abi? God put this talent in you for his glory but you diverted it to circular music and doing stuff that do not in anyway bring him glory. you once used to sing in the choir remember? make your way back to your maker my dear and use this talent for what he really called you for. not saying u wont ever have problems in this life but the ultimate is to go back to your maker and have fulfilled your destiny in this life..selah
ReplyDeletei just told someone recently that Tiwa still did not look happy. she said i was just talking anyhow.
ReplyDeleteNobody has it all. On the gram, everything is perfect but outside, so many why's??? A lot of them are depressed but they just have to be outside looking all fly. Go to them at night, they will have to drink or take meds to sleep well.
ReplyDeleteYou just said it. Nobody can have it all. Like me, good job, good income, lovely kods , good looks but not totally happy bcos the man i madly love is TAKEN.
DeleteAm not single either, so i just have to manage and smile like all is well.
@proudly feminist...😞.. say wha!!!
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteYes erema just like beg God to bless you with 100naira or you when you trekked for hours under the sun. You also have yours too
DeleteWhen l tell you that over 95% of these popular secular musicians are depressed, you would think I'm lying...
ReplyDeleteI agree with her God-given talent to bring glory to God, but then again it’s her decision.
ReplyDeleteSo fair skin in now beauty? I don't know where all this ppl get their beauty standards from but I'm dark skinned and i hAve always felt beautiful. Right from my school days I even won awards. Miss Pretty etc
ReplyDeleteI love dark skin men but ended up with a very fair man.
This life has no formular just appreciate and make use of whatever God gives you.
We all have our definition of beauty so allow her to have hers..dark people always looking for trouble once u mention fair skin
DeleteI've always said it...she tries too hard...Forcing guy
ReplyDeleteIt's a sign of low self esteem
I must be sexy or die trying, any litle thing she don naked dey expose body.
DeleteI would understand her desperation if she was still an upcoming artist but Tiwa is famous, blessed, rich, tone it down girl and put some respect on your brand, stop philandering anyhow!!
Imperfect me
ReplyDeleteAwwwwnn @ proudlyfeminist: but thank God your lovely "kods" are not taken.
ReplyDeleteBe happy!
Nice words..
ReplyDeleteNice words.
ReplyDeleteTake it easy on yourself girl
ReplyDeleteI've always said she has a complex. Behind all the makeup & hype you could see how unsure she is of herself. Like she is trying to fit in.
ReplyDeleteShe's only but human.......We all mask something.
Deleteplease dear pele
ReplyDelete*singing rag n bones* I'm only human after all.💿
ReplyDeleteEveryone talks about accepting one's imperfections, how many persons actually do it? It's difficult.
ReplyDeleteAbeg tiwa, I lov u, but I don't love you for Wizzy, Wizzy go fall ur hand Las Las #bb#
ReplyDeleteWell said, Tiwa! once in a while as humans, we feel inadequate but we must not stay there rather we must work on those inadequacies and become better. All things created by God are beautiful. so, say to youself, I'm beautiful! I'm intelligent!! And dont allow anyone to make you feel worthless.