Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Celebrities To Watch Out For In 2019

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Celebrities To Watch Out For In 2019

2018 has been a year of huge success for the Nigerian entertainment industry, with many celebrities having a banner one. Weekend Magazine takes a look at the celebrities to watch next year.

Di’Ja
After taking time away from music to focus on motherhood, the coming year looks bright for the ‘Aww’ singer. Her advocacy on mental health is also turning the right heads, as is her first movie role, a major one in a Kannywood movie alongside Rahama Sadau. After a smash-hit concert directed by her husband, plus new music on the way, and a comic-book based on her, the Mavin Records star is definitely one to watch in 2019.

Burna Boy

Burna Boy has arguably had one of the best years of his career this 2018 with hit after hit topping the charts, further establishing him as one of Nigeria’s most sought-after artistes. It looks likely that the same energy spill into 2019.

Rahama Sadau

Rahama has come a long way since she started out in Kannywood. Not only did she transition from a small screen actress to the big screen, she also cemented herself as an A-list actress on TV’s ‘Sons of the Caliphate’ and a number of blockbusters. Asides that, she also launched her beauty products line.

Tiwa Savage

Tiwa had an amazing 2018 with hit songs such as ‘Ma Lo’ featuring Wizkid, and appearing collaborating on a number of hit singles as well, not to mention her romance with Wizkid causing a stir all over social media. She’s proven to be a force to reckon with, and 2019 shouldn’t be any different.

Simi

Simi has sung her way firmly into the hearts of many. This year, she released her album ‘Simisola’ to rave reviews, with her single ‘Joromi’ becoming an instant hit. She also headlined her first concert in Lagos, which proved to be a great success, showing the path for the charismatic crooner’s future.

Genevieve Nnaji

Her directorial debut, ‘Lion Heart’, is a huge success after streaming service Netflix acquired the movie, making it the first Nigerian Netflix original movie available to global audiences. So it’s not overemphasizing it when we say this year has been a career-best one for her, and will only continue in 2019.

Ali Nuhu

The King of Kannywood, Ali Nuhu, has over the years continued to establish himself as one of the best in the game, effortlessly moving from Kannywood to Nollywood where he gained even more popularity. Now, the actor also takes up the role of producer and director, and with his children also following in his footsteps too.

Davido

The ‘Assurance’ singer has also had a fantastic 2018. He also held his first-ever Abuja concert early December, which completely sold out. A rumoured new album and upcoming shows point to a massive 2019 for the singer.

Ibrahim Suleiman

His movie ‘Up North’ is proving to be a hit, even before hitting cinemas. He rose to fame for his role on TV show ‘Tinsel,’ where he met his wife, co-star Linda Ejiofor. After ‘Up North’s anticipated box office success, 2019 might just be the year he makes his biggest mark.

Brymo

Brymo is currently one of the most talked-about Nigerian artistes, even after he left the Chocolate City label. It’s led to unique music Brymo has been producing of late, like his masterful ‘Oso’ album. Also with a novel out, called ‘Oriri’s Plight’, it appears the multi-talented singer’s momentum will see him roaring into 2019.

Funke Akindele

Jenifa, as she’s fondly called for her role in the smash-hit comedy TV show ‘Jenifa’s Diary,’ also starred in comedy drama ‘Mums At War’ alongside Omoni Oboli, which proved to be a top grosser. Funke recently welcomed a set of twins with her husband, opening the curtains for what’s bound to be a great 2019 for her.

Wizkid

Although Wizkid released no albums this year, the collaborations he did have been nothing but smash hits. Factor in a scheduled performance at Coachella, it’s safe to say 2019 will be nothing short of extraordinary for the ‘Starboy’.

by dailytrust

34 comments:

1. Most of them made headlines in 2018. I'm looking forward to seeing new set of people breaking into the entertainment industry

1. What about Teni?

2. I don't know half of the people mentioned above...

3. What has djah done?

4. Simi is so talented. I don't really like her fashion, but her voice, lyrics and music are wonderful. She really gets it. I see her as an international star, I hope that happens for her cos she is sooo worth it.

5. I would like to see Dija in mainstream Nollywood.

2. They forgot Teni...
    That lady came on board and changed d perception that u have to ooze a special sex appeal in order to be a female musician in 9ja!

3. Where is Teni and Zlatan
    Watch out for them too🔥🔥🔥🔥

1. Beeni iyami, I don write 👆 say Stella no add Teni name

2. Anonymous 16:31 ♥♥♥

4. I think Funke will stay away for a bit to nurse her babies.

This didn’t happen though @Factor in a scheduled performance at Coachella.

I love Brymo, IMO he’s the most talented of the lot right now.

5. Genny also got signed by a top Hollywood talent management company

6. That list is incomplete without my name.

7. I pray Brymo's career wakes up. He is one of the best.

1. Amen, because he has got it. So talented and with clean good music I like. Mature music.

8. After #lionheartthemovie I await to see the next Genevieve Nnaji production. She's one actress I'm always rooting for. Just one movie and it became the talk of the town. I Stan a no noise making Queen.

1. Just saw it today and it’s so creative, something outside the box, not your usual story line and wasn’t predictable at all.
      I also love the fact that she remembered all those old actors who everyone had forgotten and gave them roles, gave them a chance to be recognized again, atleast make some money. She’s everything Igbo and I am so proud of her
      Igbo to the world

9. Teni entertainer....Babe is on fire

10. I will add Johnny drille to that list. I believe he is one of the finest musicians out of Africa

1. He is good. But he sounds the same in all his music. When I hear him I feel like I am listening to the same song.

2. And where is Adekunle gold? Guy is really wonderful.

11. Where is Teni, that girl is 🔥. The list is incomplete , without teni, olamide, and AG.

12. Wetin Deja dey sing? Please we have so many talents to look put for.

13. I love Ali Nuhu.... I will watch out for you my ageless Kannywood crush from day one.

Funkẹ will need some time for her kids, herself and her her home.

Not really into the music of most of the music artists up there.

14. Watch out for me also😋

1. Nor be you again???? Modella momodu. See Davido up there o