Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former President GEJ Says He Is Not Responsible For Buhari Govt’s Incompetence

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Former President GEJ Says He Is Not Responsible For Buhari Govt’s Incompetence

Former President Jonathan is very vocal these days and replying all those heaping blames on his head about the situation of Nigeria .......

The former President reacted to a statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu, blaming his administration for late appointment of cabinet members by his boss, President Muhammadu Buhari.

Shehu, while speaking when he featured on Sunrise Daily, a programme on Channels Television, on Monday, said the refusal of Jonathan’s government to cooperate with the transition committee led to delay in appointments.

But, reacting, Jonathan in a statement by his media aide, Ikechukwu Eze said he should not be blamed for the failure of Buhari to appoint ministers early enough in the life of his government.

The former president said that handover notes from a predecessor does not contain the list of ministers for the incoming administration.

Jonathan urged Shehu to seek ways to better situation of the country rather than blame previous adminstration for its performance.

The statement read: “As strange as that particular assertion may sound, it still beggars belief that a spokesman of a president who is seeking re-election would still be looking for a scapegoat for the administration’s failure, at a time he should be showcasing his scorecard.

“That amounts to merely clutching at straws.Handover notes, being transitioning documents, are usually received by an incoming president from his predecessor at the time of change of government.

“It is not a document that guides a president to appoint his ministers.

“Under normal circumstances, a newly inaugurated president needs the support of his ministers, who would handle different departments of government, to study and understand his handover notes for effective performance of his initial duties.

“Those who think like Shehu that a government would not function properly if it does not receive handover notes in time, should be reminded that there is no law establishing the process.

“It is simply a matter of convenience for an outgoing president to develop handover notes to guide his successor understand key issues and hit the ground running.

“Sometimes, when Mr. Shehu speaks, he comes across as someone who is unaware of the fact that, under our laws, an administration is elected for a tenure of four years within which it is expected to have fulfilled its campaign promises, before returning to the electorate for a fresh mandate.

“In case he does not know, Shehu should be reminded that blaming others for one’s failures is not a prove of performance.

“Assuming, without out conceding, that the last administration was as bad as they want Nigerians to believe, is it not a fact of governance that it is the duty of every responsible administration to seek to make better the situation it met on ground?”

According to him, “while Buhari’s government continued to blame his administration for its failure to deliver on their mandate, there are many African success stories that proved that a progress-minded administration has no business focusing only on the past.

“From a past of the worst genocide in recent history, Rwandan President Paul Kagame did not blame anybody when he took charge. He simply hit the ground running, and today, we all know where Rwanda stands in Africa’s growth and development index.

“The story is similar in Cote d’Ivoire where President Alassane Ouattara was able to turn around the Ivorian economy within two years after it had virtually collapsed following the negative impact of the country’s worst political crisis.

“As the Buhari government nears its end, the minders of the administration should please tell Nigerians what new projects, programmes and institutions for good governance they have added to those established by the various administrations of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), since they took over.”
from dailypost...

14 comments:

1. A leader that doesn't take responsibility for his/her actions is a failed leader. Apportioning blame since 1900....quietly resign let someone else take over.

1. Thank you jare. Blames upon blames .Failed leadership. If the people that voted for him still vote him in again, this blame will never cease.
      I shame for them.
      Leave my President Jonathan alone for me.

2. Lol. So says the clueless and inefficient buffoon! Jonathan is one of the worst things to ever happen to Nigeria. He is one of the people that put us in our present predicament in which Buhari is working tirelessly to deliver us from. People like him, Atiku and Obasanjo shall never know peace until they depart this earth because of the hardship they brought this nation due to their selfishness and wickedness

1. You need help. Make your point and don't insult someone who can feed your generations conveniently. Asslicker Oshi!

2. see this muslim extremist dey talk.

3. You are a daft Essah. Are you for real. As you wrote up there that Nigeria was a failed nation before Buhari came in. You believed that with other Nigerians. Fine and good. Let it be the case, but Buhari said that he had the answer to all our problems and he had the capabilities of turning this country around, so what went wrong? Is it that the capabilities flew away immediately he came into power? If he has lost the capabilities he assumed he had before he came into power,why not honourably step down for another credible person to tke over. Can you for once shot up and stop being a nuisance. Stop supporting failure and a man that has plunged this country into a pit. Lest I forget, I am an old BV,I read Stella's post everyday and comment once in a while now and I have been reading all the flimsy and useless excuses that you always come up with in defense for a failed President.

4. EESAH (Mr Nobody) You're indeed a disgrace to the society, such utterances/comments should be coming from you. For the past 3 years, the present government has been blaming Jonathan. APC BY FAR THE WORST REGIME EVER, ARGUE WITH YOUR ANCESTORS.

I leave you with these few quotes to understand.
      Great leaders don't rush to blame. They instinctively look for solutions. Nina Easton

We are taught you must blame your father, your sisters, your brothers, the school, the teachers - but never blame yourself. It's never your fault. But it's always your fault, because if you wanted to change you're the one who has got to change. Katharine Hepburn

Let us not seek the Republican answer or the Democratic answer, but the right answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future. John F. Kenneddy

A good leader takes a little more than his share of the blame, a little less than his share of the credit. Arnold H. Glasow

3. Loud it 🔊🔊🔊🔊

4. Build up to the 2011 election, Buhari was caught on a video which was shared on youtube, showing the president saying that anybody who says he is subsidising anything is a fraud, but about one year into his regime as Nigeria's president, Buhari has agreed to fuel subsidy removal and has double the fuel subsidy beyond last administration. Insincere set of people.

5. They won't let this man drink water and drop cup. It's not his fault you can't handle your position well.
    Leave him ooo.. My forever president!

6. What is this drunk saying? He should hide his head in shame

1. Who art thou oh stable one?

What's your name?

Does your name ring a bell nationally?