Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Omotola Is Not Happy That No African Movie Made It To The OSCARS 2019

Friday, January 25, 2019

Actor Omotola Is Not Happy That No African Movie Made It To The OSCARS 2019

Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Nollywood actress and voting member of the Oscars, says she’s isn’t so happy that no African movie made it to the 2019 Oscars nomination list.

The 40-year-old Nollywood star, who was enlisted into the voting membership of the Oscar Awards in 2018, made the disclosure in an Instagram post where she conveyed her thoughts on the nominated movies.

While she expressed her happiness on the fact that a great deal of the movies she voted were picked, the actor was concerned that no African movie made it to the list.

“So glad most of the movies I nominated made it,” she said.
“Wasn’t so excited no African movie made it!”

Jalade-Ekeinde was, however, enthusiastic and convinced that the situation would change for the better in the coming years.

“Someday soon we will be doing this for Africans,” she added.

Jalade-Ekeinde isn’t the only Nigerian who was invited to join the Oscar awards voters in 2018. Femi Odugbemi, a filmmaker, was also invited.
The cable

55 comments:

1. This Humpty Dumpty always make herself too relevant. You ain't all that Madam

1. Stop body shaming miss perfect. On another note, which Nigerian film will they nominate for the OSCARS? It is " watch this movie and you will never stop crying, ezendiala season 1 to 10, poor servant girl who rejected a billionaire proposal". African film industry should get creative first.

2. Boya is that Alter Ego movie she want them to nominate? Ikeakwakwakwakwa

3. But you are sitting commenting. Lol an oscar memberis trying to make herself too relevant. You pple like to hate on pple doing quite well for themselves with stable finances. I cant say the same for you, prolly using ur office laptop to comment, you that if they dnt pay salary, u can not survive but u can curse. Bodyshaming someones mother just because she is a celeb? you should be ashamed.

4. OmoSexy got a killer body nahhhhh

2. I don’t know about African movies but for Nigerian movies,No way.Stop churning rubbish,horn your craft very well,then maybe I will take you guys seriously.

3. Mtcheeeeeew.... next!

4. LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO which movie did you want to put up Ma?
    Is it Wedding Party?
    Abi Banana Island Ghost????
    Buahahahahahahahahaahahaha
    Anyway maybe South Africa or Kenya or Egypt might have some good stuff.

1. She didnt want to put movie. She siad she wasnt exicted no movie from africa made it. But she hopes it will change.
      Please, you guys should try and read the whole write up and not just the captions and then rush to comment

2. Lol
      A south african movie has won best foreign language oscar, in 2005,Tsotsi.
      I feel like we don't really celebrate real talent in Nigeria,music and movies. Seun Kuti just for nominated for a Grammy, how many Nigerians celebrate his music?its the same thing for the movies...Until we begin to encourage genuine talent, we better forget it.

PS Rolling my eyes at Omotola

3. So what have you corrected omniknowest?

4. Or mayb its lion heart .am sory but was it just me or i was so disappointed.all d hype made it watch it.wack movie

5. The movie was ok but the hype surpassed the movie.

6. 10:13
      Tuck your snout back into your head.
      OBVIOUSLY for her to wish African movies were nominated means that during the voting process the ones she submitted were not uninamously approved.
      If you don't know something, SHUT UP AND LEARN. Instead of forming like someone who wants to school your head.
      Mtshweeeeeeeeeeeeew.

7. Indirectly throwing shade at lion heart.... Sip my kunu....

8. @010:50. You are the who should tuck in your smelly dirty snout. Insulting someone for daring to have another opinion?
      You are obviously deranged and unfitbto be released into the society. Look at this blonde beach forming what not. If you read her own post, you wouldnt be here sounding all stupid and jealous. She clearly said sge hopes in the COMING years the story will change. I dont expect you to understand that it means African movies will improve. I dont expect you to. You prolly schooled in a 3rd grade school in a 3rd world country.
      Go ahead. Bash what you dont understand or what threatens you. At your age, you cant bring proper arguement to the table. Ranting like a rabid dog on heat. Your president fits you all.
      Stella, post my comment oo.

9. Anon 11:10, you are so right... Omotola is so envious of Genevieve, it's such a shame!

10. Stellz, where is my comment na?. This is not fair. Allow me to school some foolish beaches

11. Stella where is my commment na.

12. anony 11.10 and 12.34..spot on! my first impression when i read the headline

5. What movies do we act again in Africa? Is it their repetitive stories, or the poor effect, noise they make in the name of dialogue or their untrained cast that wants to be nominated?.
    Lets be real,Nollywood needs alot of work to be done in the industry if they want to get to the Oscars, the mediocre movies they make wont take them there.

6. Replies
    1. Even then, I don't see it happening.

2. 50 years to be precise. They use one week to shoot a movie, Hollywood use years to shoot a movie and you expect nominations from where? Mtcheeew

7. hmmm Nollywood competing with Hollywood

8. All I see is her breast outside at this level of life. What do I know self.

9. Why do I feel she's shading my Genevieve😕😕😕 madame you go and produce a movie that's suitable for Oscars nomination nah😞😞😞😞

1. Chai kidjo e be like say u know wetin I be won write self. Wen I saw your comment I just stop writing. She is shading her biko. Like so after all d hype ur movie no reach der. Omosexy should go nd seat down jor

2. Kidjo you have sense. She’s shading Genny. Read between the lines people

3. So Omotola cannot breath again because Genny released a movie for Neflix? Na real waa o.

10. Sorry ma. Manage AFRIMMA or whatever it's called...

11. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

12. Did she nominate LION'S HEART, at least that's the only one with a western audience presently

13. Jealous clouts everywhere

14. Genevieve fans are insecure bigots. What if she wished lion's heart was approved? where you there. Did you know the movies she submitted? Why are Nigerians so backwards like this? how is this a shade. Is Genevieve the first person to produce movies? SHE SAID AFRICAN MOVIE NOT NIGERIAN. Are South Africans and Ghanians not there?

1. as in eh, and for a movie that is overly over hyped.. I am not hating, but it's the fact mbok

2. Lion Heart is a wack bleh movie as in very bleh. Disappointed that that's what's on Netflix. The good thing is she represented biafrans well in the movie. Other than that I jump n pass

3. That movie is over-hyped no be small.Well If not that she is loved by many people, that movie would have tanked big time.

15. Genevieve fans are insecure bigots. What if she wished lion's heart was approved? where you there. Did you know the movies she submitted? Why are Nigerians so backwards like this? how is this a shade. Is Genevieve the first person to produce movies? SHE SAID AFRICAN MOVIE NOT NIGERIAN. Are South Africans and Ghanians not there?

16. Does she need Oscar to validate her existence?

17. How can she be shading Genevieve . Lionheart can’t be nominated for now as it was not released within the period for Oscar nomination . Maybe next years oscar. My Nigerian people make ena try dey read no be everything be shade. Check the movies nominated and see when it was released .

1. The Oscar will be for a movie in a foreign language. Lionheart is predominantly English.

18. Yes, Lionheart was released 3 weeks ago. I was disappointed by this movie considering all the hype. Genevieve is a beauty but her acting is not up to the same standard as her American counterparts—since she doesn’t really acknowledge her Nigerian counterparts. There are child actors with more charisma and presence on the screen. She is just there..

19. Genevieve wants to be on the same level with the American actors but her acting cannot be compared to theirs at all. She is still on the Nollywood level for sure.

20. Please you guys should leave my Genny alone and face your own hustle, she has a special grace from God! Carry go Genny, more grace on all your hustle!

21. Can someone tell me if the Netflix you watch in Nigeria is different? Its not only Lionheart on Netflix from Nigeria. The one we watch in America. I don't know the story about Netflix "buying" it for $3m but the Netflix we watch in my home has almost 30 Nigerian movies, October 1, Wedding Party 1, etc. Where is this story of Netflix paying for it coming from? as Netflix released any statement to that effect? Maybe like yahoo home page and some pages your Netflix is different but I watched movies by Uche Jombo, Adesuwa's earlier movies etc on my laptop Netflix and there are MANY Nigerian movies there not just Lionheart which is overhyped btw. I watched it and the bar we set for ourselves is so low we think others should reward our mediocrity. They won't.