Sunday, January 27, 2019

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Hmmmmmm.......

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
THE HOUSE GIRL ISH

Hello Stella
Please post this for me as anonymous.

I got a house girl October last year her name is Mary she is 18 years.

Our agreement with her people was for me to be paying her monthly, so I paid her 7 thousand monthly. I now called her once and asked her if she will like to go back to school she said yes. 

I have been nice to her, and i try to make her very comfortable and she has been good too in a way.So i started having plans of sending her to school immediately when my daughter starts school next year January.meanwhile she stopped at JSS 3 about five years ago when her father died.

After three months she said She wants to travel to her village and that she is not coming back. I asked her what the problem was, she said there was no problem that she just want to go. On the 27th of December, I took her back to her people. 

I got another girl that agreed to work for me, she said she will be coming and going, that she just wants to work for a year so she can gather money and learn a trade. So I agreed and she started. So far so good, she's been trying. Now Glory called that she is coming back. 

My dear BVS, I need your advice, should I tell this present girl to go for glory to come back since glory will be staying permanently? I'm just a little confused.

*Huh???????What Story is this oh?In the Beginning you said Mary and towards the end you said Glory....were you trying to code the name or what?

Please Mary or Glory,tell her not to bother coming again oh cos she will leave again when you need her most...
Once you pay her for the first month after she comes,she will leave again!!!
Seven thousand naira monthly?wow,thats peanuts sha...

69 comments:

1. Well no need for her to come back, simple and period.

1. If she was good to you, take her back. She was probably deceived by her people and sent off to someone else who may not be treating her well.

Take her back and pay her 10k so she can concentrate and work for you. It is only sensible to know that anyone to try out a seemingly better offer. She is human afterall

2. Dnt take her BaCK!
      What of if she went on to bring juju back for u?
      Juju or no juju, dnt take her back!

3. Don’t let her come back o, you will get used to this new person as long as she’s doing her work well.
      They just up and leave especially when you are stranded and don’t have any plan, then when their money is finished they will start looking for how to come back.
      Mine left this Christmas and I so moved on, I dint even flash her let alone call, at the end of the day we will survive
      Madam if you will take that girl back, kindly take her for test all over again

2. Madam, you been dey nice to her eh?
    That ya daughter when she turn 18, you go like make she work for another lady wey go dey "nice to her" and pay her 7k?
    Make una dey fear God o.

3. Stella you don't understand how difficult the country.even 2k some go take the job....don't bring her back. .she has gone to taste na and she saw the difference...house maids don't trust them atall ...
    Ladybugssis����������������

4. Well, I think You should not bring back the Mary girl, especially if this new person is good. But if you feel you need an in-house help and Mary was good to you, then give her a second chance.

5. Glory Mary all na typo..send her to me..our house girl just left after going for Christmas and coming back.dont allow your house girls go for Christmas have noticed it ..95percent don't come back after Christmas..blessed fan emmanuel

1. Do you want to imprison someone’s child. You’re a 2019 slave trade master

2. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

3. Use chain to tie them bkos of the 5 naira u are paying them. They should not see their parents again. Shior!!!

4. If you pay them well and treat them well, they will come back. Mine struggles to comeback. I just thank God cos I'm lucky.

6. She should remain in her village instead of coming and going often. Meanwhile,if you can manage without house help,it would have been better.

7. No Mary or Glory should not come back. Her plan B did not work that's why she wants to come back to you.

1. And you, do you plan to work in the same organization all your life? What is wrong with her trying somewhere else. Employers just act selfish

8. Abeg,remain in your village..

9. Don't even try it poster.
    Don't let her come back again.
    Manage with the present help, it will get easier.
    Since your Mary/Glory was not sincere enough to tell you why she wanted to leave in the first place despite the plans you had for her, what ever she tells you now as the reason she is coming back, can not be trusted.
    Be careful. Don't let her back.
    Take it from someone who knows

10. This na chronicle.do u need someone to leave the first alone

11. Madam just give the real truth abeg!!!

12. It won't be nice telling the new one to go after agreement that she'll work for a year.

Find out why she left in the first place, else there might be a repeat.

If by the end of your present girls tenure she's still available, you can then decide to take her or not.

Helps should be paid their salary directly and let them decide if to send to their families or save.

You didn't specify the age and amount of the new one, hope its not 7k? would be nice if you can top up the amount.

13. I'll advise you don't take Glory/Mary back except of course she is able to say exactly why she didn't want to come back. If you take her back, she will likely up and leave one day again. I think you should continue with the come and go girl till you see someone else that is willing to stay.

In my opinion 7k is not too small provided you give her everything she needs... toiletries,good food, clothes etc etc.

1. Which planet have I being on? I paid 25k, provided toiletries, good food, BQ, 2 helps (1 for hoise and 1 for my child)....

14. Why did she leave in the first place? hope she wasn't preggy???🙄

15. 24 hour nanny work for 7k ? Less than NYSC pay. Wow you guys are wicked

1. Gbam!!! Pure, unadulterated wickedness...

2. I'm pretty sure she feeds,clothes and provides her with other things.she might not even touch the 7k

3. @Kinkii become a housewife let your husband give you 7k a month afterall he 'feeds,clothes and provides with other things'. Because poor people dont deserve savings or financial security. 24 hour work for 7k a month? Come on this is even illegal ! No wonder people are going to Libya. At least they are officially called slaves there unlike the pretend first class citizens they are in nigeria. Alot of nigerians are nasty and wicked and deserve the politicians.

4. She didn't come here to ask for your advice on how mug she she pay, face the question and give an answer, if you can't then keep shut. Don't take the Mary back, she Will hurt u really bad she has seen u finish

16. 7k? 7k!!!

OMG! Madam I don’t know what to say.

17. And to think this poor maid will want/have to give her mother something out of the 7k.

18. Poster, as if it was me typing this chronicle. This was my case last year. I brought a girl of 18years in 2016. My agreement was for her to be at home for the first 3 years to be sure she will stay, then pay for her to learn a trade. She was really good at cooking and keeping house clean. I liked her. I would have preferred her going to school ,she stopped at Ss2 back home but she no get brain for school oooo. So we opted for trade.

But by 2017 I changed my mind and decided she could start. She was the one who choose hair dressing. For over one year, this girl couldnt learn or catch anything. Only for her father to say she should visit by 2017 Xmas. I refused as it was too soon to visit and fare was very high.. But she herself wanted to go visiting. Eventually in February 2018 she went and the father called that she will not come back. I accepted. Me I Kukuma went home to look for another which I got immediately.
    Then the father again called by by March that she was coming back. I refused. The person that arranged for me to have her called and said I should not allow her back into my house cause the father is an herbalist, He may give her something to put and drain me.

Pls dont take her back. Maintain the new girl. She can learn trade in your house. Since my new girl has gotten her school cert and made all her papers, I intend to put her in paid employment in my office after 3 years. She too is a very good cook, She is still at home but will register her in computer school later this year. She is a very good and honest girl. She is 19 and I want to keep her for a very long time. She too said she is not going anywhere. One has actual stayed for 13 years.
    One needs to be careful about this housemaid issue before you carry witches. That will affect your life and fortune. My new housemaid is like my kid sister. And she bond well with my kid and family. Instead of your new girl leaving after one year, why not let her learn the trade in your house? Pay for the trade.

1. After reading your comment, I don't know if I should be happy or sad.

2. "She is 19 and I want to keep her for a very long time".

Because she doesn't have her own life to live, no plans for her future, how long do you mean by the way?

19. Madam pls 7k is just too small haba

20. Don't be scared of the future. Allow the girl who has come to stay for one year remain and continue her work. I say this because she has a plan for her life and is focused. The problems usually come from the ones who have no plan and that's why they come and go at will. They will mess up your own plan because they have none of theirs. The one who is there now will most likely find or recommend someone as good as she is when she's ready to leave. This has been my experience with helps. But please pay them better and ensure they go to school. Why do you have to wait till your own children are settled?

1. Thanks Dre for your comment. My last child is a year old and havnt started school yet. If my help start school immediately, who will take care of my baby because I'm working too. So the plans was that when my child start my help will also start along side with her

21. My brain shut down @7K.
    Literally.
    Like sometimes I wonder the type of heart some of you have here.
    How much will she be sending home to her folks?
    How much will she save for herself?
    How much will she use on herself?
    I mean if she sees a nice scarf as she's going to market to grind your tomatoes is it you who will buy it for her?

And you will use her from sun up to sun down, dem no born am well to sleep before your children or wake up after them.
    31 days a month.
    Abi house'epp dey get weekend off?

Even at 225 naira per day for your housegirl, I'm sure there are many here who will even complain 'ahn ahn' das tew mush na'. 'wottis she doin wit a whole 7k???...after all you still feed her once a day.' 'give ha 2k.'

You lot will design someone's life in such a way that they will never amount to anything that you can't control.

What a shame.

1. My dear, I'm short of words.

2. I provided everything for her,good food, cloths, toiletries, I don't dish food for her. I opened an account for her where I always pay the money into. She doesn't lack anything. I got a phone for her and still had plans to send her back to school on my own which was not part of the initial plan. I prepare and drop my kids in school and bring them back, I do the cooking, I wash my clothes, the only thing she does is to wash plates, sweep the house and stay with the children when I'm at work. So tell me how am I wicked. If I was that wicked or killing her with house chores, do you think she will want to come back?

22. Madam, Make no mistake of bringing Mary Glory back o! You didn't send her away, she left on her own so she should stay out. Why would you send away someone who had been honest enough to tell you that she would be leaving after a year and bring in someone who left you stranded after all the good plans you had for her. Her plan B didn't work out so she wants to fall back on you. Besides, some of these maids can be really silly. They go home for Xmas, mess themselves up, get pregnant and want to come back to look for who to offload their pregnancies on. Some go home, enjoy the money they had saved and when there is nothing left, they remember you and want to come back, forgetting that they abandoned you when you needed them most. Madam, move on and leave that girl Abeg.

23. Lol @ most people lamenting about the 7k..

Madam, you don buy market

24. I will not take her back. My principle though. Any maid that leaves will not come back to me. Sometimes these maids are given something or taught thing that could be dangerous when they travel. They have seen your situation and will discuss with people who in turns advice them or poison their heart towards you or the kids. I can't take chances with them because of my kids. Safety first. not sentiments .Continue with the new one and treat her well.

25. 7k for an 18 year old? Na wa oo

26. Most people here saying 7k is this and that. Let me tell you that is what most people are paying ooo. I know some relatives doing maidwork in Port Harcourt, another in Onitsha. Both being paid 7k each. Even in this lagos my neighbor pays 7k.
    Not that am in support but if you are the one feeding, clothing and maintaining the maid, some University graduates are being paid 10k monthly. Some sales girl collect 5k monthly.

Poster, if you can,add Pls do . but please take good care of them. What is the money worth sef compared to what you can do for them. Me I don't pay but transform their lives.

1. U dont pay but transform their lives as transformer that u be...odiegwu

2. Posh, please hook me up. My helps live in the self contained BQ and I always get 2 (one for my toddler and one for the house) so they won't complain of too much work but have never seen this 7k nor 10k each. They eat like kilode and salary was 25k each. I think I should source from the mainland. These agents on the island are greedy.

27. Nigerians are very wicked. How do you pay a maid 7k and you expect good services.Madam search your conscience this is too bad.

1. Paying a maid 50k does not guarantee quality service. Their reasoning is different especially when you treat them like a relation, they start taking things for granted and misbehaving. I have first hand experience.

2. U re d one that is wicked anon 18;35 for accusing the woman, they would have obviously come to an agreement on how much to be paid, if its not favourable the girl won't have agreed. What if the woman earns not more than 50k but she needs an assistant, should she rob a bank because she wants to pay home assistant. Do u even know how much d woman earns, beside most times, the money is sent to the girls parent or agent any other thing she needs is provided by the woman she is leaving with. Make una mind yourself

28. My advice: Take 'Glorious Mary' (lol) back. My sisters help was once deceived by her people to return home. When she reached and saw it was not as it seems and they finished her small money, she called asking to return. We allowed her, especially cos the children liked her. She worked for 2 more years and left to start a new life with her driver boyfriend, using the money to start a salon. So far she is alright now. So sometimes, these girls make mistakes. They are human. Forgive and let come back.

7k??? I wont judge you only if that is in addition to her school fees ans supplies. If not, do better please!

1. Chiki where have you been? Welcome back.

29. 7k? Please where do you people find all these househelps? My last was 25k. Please hook me up.
    Don't take her back. Stick with the one you currently have and start looking for another before her time is up. She may even decide to extend her stay with you.

1. Please don't join this wickedness. The Good Lord will repay you.

2. castle shut up. can you afford to pay 7k sef? if that is all she can afford plus feeding and clothing her then u say wicked. do u even know how much she works or why she was employed? un go just dey yarn rubbish anyhow when u have no full details of the fact.

30. you should check if you are comfortable with the girl with you now before you decide to take Mary or glory back. one thing is sure, if u take her back, she will definitely leave again because she will feel its normal and when she does, you won't complain and she can go and come back whenever she likes. wait sef, why will you even think of accepting her back when she is not your daughter.. i guess you pay the girl with you more than d 7k u paid d previous girl and u want it cheap

31. Black people, the ones who sold their villages to slavery are doing it brazenly today. How do you sleep at night paying less than $20 for more than 45 hours a week or close to 200 hours work per month? Madam will still travel abroad, buy N7k gas, do her N100k Brazilian hair etc. People should fear God and sow seeds of mercy to these powerless "slaves" they call housemaid. The fact that labor is cheap does not mean we should partake in what is tantamount to slavery and exploitation. You held her back till your own child has made progress? please no one should come after my comment. Fake "rich" madams and "ogas" everywhere. Ever heard of Scholarship? Some leave their entire money to charity. Oni Memorial Children's hospital in Ibadan is an example of those bygone days when rich Nigerians had a higher standard. The man left the hospital as a legacy to those he never knew. Just because you have are "okay"and her family is poor, you are richer but pay her peanuts. What are her hours????? If like most poor Nigerian families who higher people a step or 2 below them on the ladder, you use this girl from 6am to 9pm, that is 13 hours work per day x 30 days a month for $20. Fear God.

You can do good to people without enslaving them. I thought washers, dryers, dishwashers, vacuum cleaners etc are now commonplace in Nigeria?? Most of you cannot survive abroad for one month as your poorly paid servants will not be available. My cleaning lady comes once a month from 8 to 5 and collects $100 each visit so we all know how to clean because bringing her in more often means paying more money. She drives her own car and was talking about what she bought at Nordstrom, a store more luxurious than Macys the other day.

We mirror those who govern us. the way we treat the less privileged shows it. That we don't even feel bad publicizing the oppression of fellow black young adults is sadder than the oppression. Yet we attend church or mosque and fast and do all the religious stuff. Madam Poster, get household appliances, put your kids in professionally run day cares or hire someone and pay government minimum wage. Anything short of this is slavery. Please nobody should abuse me. If you are praying that your children should make it to the corporate world and are sending other people's children on errands for about 13 hours a day, you need to repent. Thats the reason some of us pray and the answer is late or unanswered, we are sooo wicked to each other. No abuse, read and pray that you will not die before your children make it in life because this is how a lot of your extended family will convert them to slaves and act like they are helping. Pay reparations to that girl. $20 per month for about 200 hours work is wicked. Mrs Stella please publish my comment. Someone did not publish my comment on the fake apostle distributing cars without accountability to his congregation about his dirty linen.

1. Thank you, God bless you.
      The level of wickedness in this country is quite alarming.

2. God bless you!
      I wish we can connect cos we kinda have Similar ideology. Betty

3. shutup..you pay 100 dollars cos you are abroad and have no choice...when u come to naija you will pay that much for a maid who works such few hours..even those who are more wicked than anything will put mouth in this matter

4. Anon 10:33, are you the poster? Cos the way you are vibrating upandan on everyone's comment. Do unto others as you would want them to do to you. Stop being such a WICKED HUMAN BEING.

5. Actually when we come to naija, our friend gives us a brand new car and one of his paid drivers. His standard is different so we give the driver Extra N10k per day. He loves being asked to drive us when we visit.We also don't allow him sleep in the car. He comes in though reluctantly, afraid of his boss, and sleeps inside the house. He is a human being. Why should he sleep in a car after driving us. That is not a restful place to sleep. Do unto others.......

32. 7k is too small and pls don't take her back even for free.

Had one treated her extremely well, less than a year said she wanted to see her parents for 2 weeks. She disappeared and only started calling after 3 months. Took her back with the condition that she must stay for a year b4 travelling. U won't believe after 2 months said she wanted to go despite voluntary increase in her salary from 15 to 20k and for her to take up a craft from this January. Even the one I put in private school left after writing junior waec.

33. I go by anonymous formerly anon@us because a lot of ignorant people dominate the Nigerian blogosphere and government/politics. They do not want to hear the truth. It's bitter.