Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Council Of State Approves N27,000 New Minimum Wage

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Council Of State Approves N27,000 New Minimum Wage

The National Council of State presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the sum of N27,000 as the new minimum wage.

The national council approved the sum during its meeting at the Presidential Villa in Abuja, on Tuesday. Addressing State House correspondents after the meeting, the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige said the Federal Government will top the approved amount with N3,000 to make it 30,000 for its workers.

Ngige disclosed that the states are at liberty to augment the new agreement as they see fit. The N27,000 approved by the Council of State is N3,000 short of the N30,000 the Tripartite Committee on Review of National Minimum Wage recommended.

He said a minimum wage bill will be sent to the National Assembly on Wednesday. Ngige briefed State House correspondents at the end of the Council of State meeting chaired by President Muhammadu Buhari. He said the proposal will cover employers of labour with minimum of 25 workers.

From DailyPost:ng

23 comments:

1. What a shame.
    What a disgrace.
    What a sorry excuse of a country.

2. Just imagine
    An old man with wife an kids
    Na 27k he wan carry train him family . pay house rent, light bill, waste bill . feed family and still save ?
    And they say it will b well with this leaders ? I doubt it

1. Civil servants are the biggest thieves in this country. You can’t get anything done without bribing them.

2. That is minimum wage like someone who enters into a job with primary or secondary certificate. Not a person who has been working, has wife and children. Such a person would earn more because he would have gotten promotions. People don’t even know how this minimum wage thing works. Don’t also forget people, Nigerian market people are so wicked. They will increase cost of market goods thereby making your salary worthless.

3. 27,000 naira!!!! To be honest This country is a joke to this leaders of ours..

4. If they will still add the 3000 while didn't they add it at once and make it 3000. Story for the gods. @Bleseed Princess

5. My goodness, less than $80 a month! God forgive me for complaining. Mosope temi🙏

6. This is country is just not it at alllll...Selfish and inconsiderate lots!

7. Heard Labour rejected the offer. Please confirm

8. I weep for this country 😢 😢 😢. 27k is less than US$100

1. Just to reiterate what I typed above. Why should you use dollars as the benchmark to calculate its value in Nigeria? Can thé value of $80 buy in the IS what 27,000 Naira will buy in Nigetia? No. You can pay like two months rent with 27,000 Naira in Nigetia but you can’t get anywhere to live in the US with $80 for a month rent. We should learn to be critical in our daily discourse that affect Nigerians and Nigeria directly, not from outside.

2. It makes sense to compare against the dollar because the $ is a stronger currency, and the most common foreign currency in Nigeria. Rem that Nigeria is largely a consuming economy, and almost everything is imported. So Dollar affects Nigeria very much, and her comparisons are valid.

3. Well said anon! I live in the US and find it absurd that ppl are converting it to $ or forex!!! Silly!!!
      It’s minimum wage!! Minimum wage in many states is not something an old person with kids will live off off. It’s something that a high schl graduate starts off with and works their way up!
      One thing I realize is that we love to complain, we won’t help solve problem, we would rather complain about them!
      A good Worker in Nigeria can beg Oga for salary advance and get assistance of fam member dies or schl fees, even rent. All that adds up!! Abroad we don’t get anything like that! Bereavement for a close fam member(spouse, parents, kids) is 3 days paid. In naija, a good Oga can even give you 1-2 wks paid plus money on top!
      Let’s chill abeg! Stop comparing!!!!

4. Thank You!!! I dont understand this constant comparison. What 27k can buy in naija, $300 cant it here. In Canada the taxes are crazy and you pay tax on every single thing. I had a surgery and had to take time off work, no pay for the past 3 weeks of recovery!!! Abeg Nigerians should stop moaning, it's not rosy anywhere!

5. But they won't be taking home 27,000 naira, won't they have deductions taken out of it. Once you start paying bills, food, buying clothes, purchasing health and hygiene products, kerosene or gas for the generator, and trying to have a social life, and also save for a rainy day it will not be enough. The amount is not a livable income. Also, do not assume that only entry level workers would make minimum wage, it was right on this blog where a story broke that a driver at the presidential villa employed for close to a decade was still making minimum wage. This was a man with a family who had not receive a raise in almost ten years of employment in a high profile position. So all kinds of ppl are making minimum wage, not just entry level employees.

9. Enter your comment...na was o ga gani

10. I'm sorry but this country is cursed and it is forever

11. So na 3 months salary person go save to collect Nigerian passport? Dan Bru uba. Shege!

1. Imagine that. Three whole months of labour to purchase one passport. That is certainly putting the wage in perspective and realizing truly how miniscule it is.