Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Family Of Woman Electrocuted By Live Wire Demand Justice .....

Monday, January 07, 2019

Family Of Woman Electrocuted By Live Wire Demand Justice .....

The family of the late Mutiat Okanlawon, who was electrocuted by a high tension wire that fell off the pole in the Solebo area of Aga in the Ikorodu Local Government Area of Lagos State,on Sunday, December 9, 2018, has being thrown into mourning even as they demand justice for the victim.

It was gathered that the victim spent over three weeks at the Gbagada General Hospital before she gave up the ghost on Tuesday, January 1, 2019.

According to an eye witness ,who identified himself simply as David, he narrated how the tragedy occurred.

David said, “I informed Ikeja Electric officials that a high tension wire had fallen off the pole so that they could switch off the power. She (Okanlawon) was escorting someone, who had visited her, when the wire sparked and fell off the pole.

“Immediately it fell, it landed on her and she fell on the floor. The part of her body that was affected at first was the calf and the damage appeared more like using a machete to cut her. The injury was so deep that her bone could be seen.
“The worst part of it was that the wire rolled up to her stomach and burnt her intestine, laps and hands; in fact, all her body except her neck and face was severely burnt. 

People were scared of moving near her, but I and one other guy had to use a stick to remove the wire from her body.
All of a sudden, her lover, who was alerted to the incident, rushed out and started shouted for help; he was in shock and didn’t know what to do and we had to collect his car key, carried her into the car and rushed her to the Ikorodu General Hospital.”

It was learnt that , “She (Okanlawon) was later transferred to the Gbagada General Hospital, because the Ikorodu General Hospital does not specialise in treating severe burns.

“She had celebrated her 40th birthday sometime in August 2018, and now she’s gone. If Ikeja Electric had carried out regular maintenance checks on their facilities, this tragedy would have been averted. Her death is due to the negligence of the firm, and that is why we are demanding justice.” A family member said.

Okanlawon’s mother, Sekinat Kanzudeen, said her death was a terrible loss.
She said, “I was at home when I received a call that a wire fell on my daughter. Over 20 tests were conducted on her; they even performed a surgery on her, which cost N400,000, and one of the drugs that she used for three days cost N50,000. We spent over N2m to keep her alive but she still died. “She died because of the pain she experienced".
It was a very sad experience.

and all she kept telling me was that I should take care of her son, Farhan.
“I have suffered a terrible loss, but I don’t want to suffer in vain, which is why I want the government to assist me to get justice.”

She added that representatives of Ikeja Electric, who visited the deceased before her demise, gave the family only N10,000.

The Public Relations Officer, Ikeja Electric, Felix Ofulue, who confirmed the incident to our correspondent, commiserated with the bereaved family, adding that investigations had commenced into the events that led to Okanlawon’s death.
Punch

53 comments:

1. Chai... Rest in peace dear. 💔

1. When I was in UCH, orthopedic ward, Khafayat, Hmmmmm. That girl suffered, live wire like this too. Was on morphine, still won't sleep because of pains. Oh my goodness. She died oh, 2014. I can't forget

2. How do pple die like this? The Read alone is just too painful.
      God may this lady find eternal rest IJN.@ 21;40 u mean u kept seeing someone in such state?? Hmmmmm. God bless all u CARE givers abundantly, pls
      Let's all take a moment to pray for d pple going tru terrible pains in life ,be it psychical, emotional or mental pain.
      Almighty pls forgive them there sins and ease of there pains lord. Amen

3. Its time to know if the Laws still work in this country.
      What a terrible way to die.

4. Is it not yet time for a revolution? Nigerians need to get on the street before the government inefficiencies kills them like chickens.

5. Revo kini? By who???
      These lazy lot that can't even sustain a single critical thought??
      Na yam???
      Buahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahaha

2. Which kain investigation, ogbeni settle that family!
    Oh my God!, this is sad. This life sef, see person wey just step out of her house to see someone off.. No be say she wan cross high way o.. Hei gawd!
    May God grant her soul peaceful repose and give her family, especially her son, the fortitude to bear this heart wrenching loss.. 💔

3. This is so sad
    Negligence is all I see
    May we not be in the wrong place at the wrong time
    Rest in peace Mutiat.

4. OMG! May God comfort the aged mother and take care of Farhan.

5. So sad, can't imagine the pain she passed through before giving up. May God console her loved ones and may her soul rest in peace

6. What a country! A country killing it's own.

Shame on everybody that knows the right thing but does the wrong.

How can she rest in peace for heaven's sake when her life was stolen from her?

1. Thabk you dear. Killing its own. Very avoidable death. Shame on this country, it's politicians and it's institutions. Now I understand Achebe's anger. There really was a country.

7. Oh my God. This is so sad. Those people should be sued

8. by reading this I can imagine,hw gruesome it must have being,she must have gone through so much pains,BT the Nigeria judicial system is slow,dy may end up spending more than what they will get in damages

9. May her soul rest in perfect peace

10. Take them to court abeg.

11. There was a country... May her soul rest in peace.

12. This is so painful and sad. Pure negligence and nonchalance attitude from these people caused this tragedy. Lord console her family and rest her soul.

May the Lord keep us and our loved ones safe in this naija.

13. Enter your comment...so sad rest in peace

14. This is the same thing that happened to me, I had just given birth to my baby in April 2018 and I was going to dedicate him on June 24th. I went out to look for a caterer on June 21st, I met one on my street.

I went with my Cousin as well we're outside this woman's shop talking, a guy trying to fix one cable TV pole outside there mistakenly took the pole up and those high tension wires that ain't supposed to touch each other, touched and there was a loud spark.

The cables cut, one fell on me and threw me on the ground and was shocking me all through my body, I said to myself, ‘so this is how people die?' Anyway I'm not dying today, till today I don't know how I got up from that spot and ran to safety. I'm alive today because God said so. RIP to her

1. Thank God for your life.

2. U said what???? A lacerating mother? With more double fluid?? When JESUS says yes!!!!! No one can say no. NNE ur God is alive,u will keep defeating all IJN. Thank God for your live

3. @ZEUS: Lacerating mother indeed.... You no go use small English where you sabi the meaning.. Lacerating ko or lactating...

15. Such a painful death all because of what can be avoided. May God comforts her family.

16. Chai... What a painful way to die. Rip

17. See the worth of human life in Nigeria naa..10k? Even dogs in advanced countries are worth much more.
    What is wrong with this country? Can't we get anything right... anything at all???
    At some point we have to get together and rebuild our country oh. Starting with the LAW. The Ikeja electric committed crime and should be closed down and pay damages in tunes of millions to her family. That is Justice. Even God that we religiously serve is a God of justice naa.

I'm so angry though I don't know this lady. But no, we Nigerians are not angry enough yet. People are more angry at single ladies, at babymamas, at slaymamas, at bleachers, at Toke than at the injustice and crime in this country. Our mumu never do.

18. If her hands r pure,God take her to eternal resting place,where she will not miss this Earth.

1. Dem dey talk one, this idiot dey talk another. Have you faced your own life?
      Ogbeni swerve, let people with an iota of intelligent focus on what is on ground.

2. Mtchewwwwwwww
      Nonsense talk

So na only the holy ones dey alive ehn?

3. Na wah ooo for this your comment..

4. Mumu annon, bother about your own hands you hear

5. Mumu annon, bother about your own hands you hear

6. You are just senseless

19. This is really sad, May God give the family the heart to bear this painful exit. May her souk RIP. Amen

20. What a painful death rip to her.

21. Such a painful death, rip to her.

22. Chai what a painful way to die... May her soul rest in the bosom of the Lord

23. But we should not forget the fact that we are all corrupt as a people We never follow due process in whatever we do