Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NIMET Says Some Parts Of Nigeria Will Experience Less Rainfall In 2019

Sunday, January 27, 2019

NIMET Says Some Parts Of Nigeria Will Experience Less Rainfall In 2019

No rain In Lagos?Praise God !!!

The Nigeria Meteorological Agency (NiMet), has predicted dwindling availability of water for various socio-economic purposes over most parts of Nigeria in 2019.

NiMet’s forecast in its 2019 Seasonal Rainfall Prediction (SRP), revealed that most places would have between below to normal amount of rainfall, while areas around Adamawa, Kwara and Oyo states would experience above-normal rainfall.

It listed states expected to experience below-normal rainfall includes:

Sokoto
 Katsina,
 Borno, 
Niger, 
Plataeu, 
Nasarawa, 
Osun,
 Lagos,
 Ondo, 
Ekiti, 
Edo, 
Delta, 
Enugu, 
Anambra, 
Imo, 
Bayelsa, 
Rivers and Cross River.

This, accor
ding to NiMet, will create water shortfall and will thus negatively affect availability of water required for domestic and industrial uses like agriculture, groundwater recharge and inland waterways transportation.

The agency, therefore, advised that integrated water resources management skills be adopted in line with the predicted amount over various parts, especially areas that might have to contend with below normal rainfall.

On power generation, transmission and distribution, the prediction indicated that since power generation in Nigeria is majorly hydroelectric, it could be affected by rainfall amount as water shortage could lead to lower generation.

NAN

18 comments:

1. Rain that is already killing us in Lagos this January!! They should check well.

1. Fake forecast, rain Wey don scatter lagos already.

2. This one na lie
    Lagos wey don enter raining season already

1. Other states have so what's the big deal

3. And that means it would be extra hot

4. Are they sure
    Rain has started pouring in Lagos oo

5. Rain that has started falling in Lagos already. I don't believe in this report by NIMET

6. Lagos that we have rainfall almost everyday now. Yesterday's own was even heavy

7. what do dy even sabi,rain dn start already

8. Rain have started heavily in Lagos, Lagos is getting flooded already. They should check again for Lagos again

9. I don't believe all this forecast. What happened to the eclipse we were told to expect?

10. But we are already in rainy season in Lagos

11. Any weather forecast from all this Naija ministries; believe it at your own peril. Still wondering why they don't scrap all this silly ministries. Same way Enugu has Ministry of masquerade and research🤷🏻🤷🏻🤷🏻🤷🏻🤔🤔🤔🤔

1. Enugu has what? Hahahahaha
      Atumma Abagana must hear this.

Spirits don't listen to "akuko ndi committee".
      Mbanu!

2. ewoo.please show me where to faint under this ur comment.Ministry of gini?

12. Stella how can you say thank God? Without rain, power generation will be very low andfarm produce too. Presently, vegetables are scarce coz it’s dry. Biko we need rain.

13. And I'm seeing crossriver there?? Lol. That state that doesn't have time table for rain

14. Oh well. That doesn't mean that Ikeja rainforest and surrounding zones won't still experience enough rainfall.

Probably some parts of Lagos State not all.