Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Presidential Debate: Moghalu, Durotoye, Ezekwesili Reveal Solution To Insecurity

Sunday, January 20, 2019

Presidential Debate: Moghalu, Durotoye, Ezekwesili Reveal Solution To Insecurity

Some candidates in the forthcoming 2019 presidential election have highlighted their strategies to tackle insecurity in the country if elected.

The candidates disclosed their plans at a debate organised by the Nigerian Election Debate Group in collaboration with the Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON) in Abuja.

The candidate of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) Prof. Kingsly Moghalu said he would abolish corruption in the military if elected as president.

Moghalu said his administration would ensure high level of intelligence gathering among the locals while collaborating with neighbouring countries to tackle terrorism.

He identified bad economy as the major factor feeding insecurity in the country, saying if elected, his administration would ensure the economy booms.

Moghalu added that, “Additional policemen would be recruited, trained and equipped to create a 21st-century police force that would tackle kidnapping and other crimes.”

On his part, the candidate of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN) Mr Fela Durotoye said if elected, he would ensure security agencies are strengthened to do their job well.

Durotoye said under his administration, the leadership of security agencies would not be based on sentiment but competence and professionalism.

“Men and officers of various security agencies would be properly motivated with modern and standard equipment, vehicles among others.

“My administration would ensure that officers and men of the military would be properly taken care of while they are alive and their families would be catered for when they pass away.

“Under my watch, security would be in the hands of the citizens as I plan to run the participatory government with a new ideology”.

Also speaking, Prof. Oby Ezekwesili of the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) said she would send a sharp message that “there is a new sheriff in town.”

Ezekwesili said if elected, she would ensure a team for quick response and technology would be deployed to gather intelligence.

She said her administration would ensure that intelligent officers would be identified and given leadership roles to tackle insecurity.
from dailypost.

31 comments:

1. Kingsley is the most outstanding among them yesterday, I wish we can all decide to support him, but it's a pity, our mentality had been tied to either APC or PDP candidate

1. As for the presidential debate yesterday, people was expecting the President to be there but there were enough indications that he wasn’t going to be there. He and his campaign team excused themselves because they went for their rallies in Niger and Plateau. The second biggest contestant for the highest position in the country is Atiku. All his supporters shouting Atikulate and how he will atikulate at the Debate. He came, greeted other candidates vying for the position as him and later left the venue. Why? Because the president didn’t come for the debate. He went ahead to shamelessly justify why he didn’t participate. The main reason for his withdrawal was because the president wasn’t there for him (Atiku) to question, attack and challenge his government. He apologized to other candidates who participated for his withdrawal. Whoever advised him to withdraw or do a PR by showing himself at the venue of the debate and turning away did him a big disservice. Was the debate an avenue for him to attack and challenge the President or for him, through questions and grilling, to tell Nigerians why he is the better candidate and why he should be voted in as the next president? He did not only insult Nigerians with his tweets, but also disregarded the other candidates who, in his opinion, sees them as unworthy to be on the same platform with him and insult to Nigerian democracy. To you Atiku supporters, that is the exact meaning of what your candidate did last night. At least, Buhari was with other Nigerians in Niger and Plateau campaigning for himself and party. Atiku did nothing yesterday except his tourist return from the US and insult to the Nigerian people.

2. *was the most

3. The Organisers did a big injustice by not having Sowore there, who has a better followership and coverage at the moment than the other three candidates, apart from Buhari and Atiku.

4. Sowore will not comport himself like the other three did. He needs to work on his temperament.

5. Anonymous 08:13 Shut it already. How much are you being paid to write this rubbish. You should be ashamed of yourself prick. You gave silly excuse to pay master.

In sane country Buhari or Atiku would not be running for office.

6. Just because PMB went for rally doesn't mean he should boycott the debate. Just admit it that PMB isn't competent. He will mess up.

7. The one that was competent appeared and disappeared.

8. Buhari and his campaign team where informed many months ago that there will be debate, he should have factored it into their schedule. Any body defending buhari is a complete mad man.

9. Anon 13:02, your madness is beyond classification as mad. Sorry I can’t help you. You need more than a psychiatrist

10. Anonymous 09:33 . Ask Buhari what he did 3-4 days ago, I'm sure he wouldn't remember. From what we see so far, he needs to forget about being president and take care of his personal health.

I actually don't blame him for not going for the debate, that's the right call. He would have been eaten alive and disgrace the whole country, yes that's a fact.

Don't be sentimental now, how do you think he will fare at the debate ?

2. Was an interesting debate.i wish these3 are the only contenders. I love Muoghalu..the YPP Guy momore. He spoke with ease and a truckload of conficonfidence. May the best man win.

1. Teejay (Mr Ministry of Petroleum Trust Fund - PTDF) will start making noise about how wonderful Atiku defended himself and made sense with his responses. And how Buhari came ill-prepared, daft, dullard and impostor. Answer yourself for the rest of the day. Your candidate did very well at the debate.

2. Jackie, I love your uppercut. Very silent but brutal.

3. Unfortunately, there is an **unwritten law** that this current president must come from the North, so this 3 people , though very sound, as they are qualified to Presidents ,have to wait for another 4 years before they can achieve their political desire. At this point, they will only end up dividing Atiku's vote from the south.

3. These contenders ain't strong. I wish they were.

1. Moghalu lied while giving figures about what is budgeted for teaching hospitals and aso rock clinic. Durotoye should just stick to motivational talks, he has no charisma to lead this nation. Oby, talks a lot.

The funniest thing about this 3 is that they were all in the same party and moghalu, durotoye and so wore were contesting for the post of presidency while oby was the umpire. Result came and others felt rigged out when durotoye was announced winner. What is surprising me the most is that the umpire abi referee decided to also contest.

4. Watched it...all spoke nicely but I have to say it's quite unfortunate.. three people who should have come together and give BUTIKU a run at this election... just ended up dividing thier votes... and spending resources that should have been pulled together.... yes, thier party is weak and relatively unknown... they don't have that much funds but atleast they would have tired...

5. They reveal solutions to insecurity my foot. Na until them get there we go know how far. No be by all these book grammar for TV. Like l said earlier, debate no dey constitution and e no dey win election so all the English speaking for TV na waste of time.

Na grassroot support be Koko and Baba Buhari has it. So they should keep blowing their grammer there. Blowing grammer and revealing solutions to insecurity kee them there! 😂😁

6. Moghalu impresses. If Nigerians were smart people, the mere fact that APC and PDP candidates didn't show up for the debate shows that they are sĺapping Nigerians on the face. Obama showed up to debate when he was contending for a second term. It was the presidential debate that made Nigeria decide for Abiola if I remember clearly. So for Buhari and Atiku not to show is a signal that they do not need our opinion to win. If Nigeria was smart, we would pick oit President from amongst these three to send a message home to all those who want to serve that we demand service.

1. Nigerians are smart, but the Presidency belongs to the north for the next 4 years. Moghalu should contest in 2023 and he will have my vote.very sound ma !!!

7. I'm amazed at what 'impresses' Nigerians.
    Amazed.

3 people came out to speak plenty English on 'I will' 'I will' .. no clear cut strategy, just plenty fatuous grammar.

If this is 'impressive' Nigeria must be on an all time low.
    Lolll.

8. I think Moghalu did well in the debate. At a point, Fela Durotoye seemed like he was unsure of what to say at any given time. He wasn’t talking with enough confidence.
    Atiku fall im supporters hand sha. Whoever advised him did not do him well. Looking at it, it seemed like he did not want to be on the same platform as the other three like he is greater than them. So because Buhari did not show up, he too got to the venue and decided not to enter. Bad move. I wish the youths will have sense this year, but alas...

9. I can never vote for this woman I know her first hand, even if I see anyone that wants to I'll convince the person not to.

Let the best man win as this ones aren't strong to unseat Buhari

10. As a friend said yesterday. Atiku knew the other three will disgrace him and Buhari wasn't there to make him look better. Hope Nigerians will be wise this time.

11. Everyone is saying,use your pvc,vote for dis vote for dat,don't u all Know it's not about the voting but about THE RIGGING.DONT U ALL KNOW!!!TO ME ITS HOW TO BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME, DATs IS THE SOLUTION.WE LOOK FOR HOW TO BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME OR THE SLAVERY CONTINUES.

12. Moghalu tried with his responses. Fela lost absolute confidence and became stale in his speech. His closing remark was bland. No charisma for someone who is a motivational speaker, too diplomatic for my liking (sitting on the fence doesn't cut it). Madam Oby was practical in her approach. Service has taught her everything is never as it seems when it comes to leading the Nigerian nation. As for Buhari & Atiku, I wont waste my 500mb of data on them.

13. Debate or no debate Buhari wl win.

14. I love Kingsley Moghalu. He spoke well and gave good account of his intentions. I wish Nigerians can see beyond party and vote individual.
    He will have my vote anyway.