Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate May Reconvene Tuesday Over The Suspension Of CJN Onnoghen

Sunday, January 27, 2019

Senate May Reconvene Tuesday Over The Suspension Of CJN Onnoghen

The leadership of the Senate slated a meeting for last night over the suspension of the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Walter Onnoghen by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Senators had adjourned their sitting to February 19, which will be three days after the presidential and National Assembly elections. But they may reconvene Tuesday over Onnoghen’s suspension.

Buhari had on Friday suspended Onnoghen based on the recommendation of the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) until the final determination of the cases against the CJN. The president subsequently swore in Ibrahim Tanko Mohammed as acting CJN. Since the suspension, there have been mixed reactions over the matter.

A senator told Daily Trust on Sunday that there were moves by some senators for the Senate to reconvene and consider the matter as they deemed the suspension as a breach of the constitution.

From Daily Trust

30 comments:

1. So necessary and important. This abnormality mustn't be allowed. The US has even reacted so also the UK and EU. This brazen act of executive recklesness mustn't be tolerated and condone. Yes the CJN faulted but the right procedure wasn't followed for his ousting. What the executive have done is an interference and abuse over the principle guiding separations of power and I tell it won't stand. The new CJN should be sanctioned for shamelessly been used for this unholy act. He should be stripe of his titles.

1. Igbo fool shut up .Almost everyone on social media voiced former Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun into resigning. Some even asked that the President remove her to prove that he's truly fighting corruption. When the brilliant woman saw that she truly erred by submitting a fake NYSC Exemption certificate, she did the honourable thing. She tendered her resignation letter and left. She RESIGNED!
      By that time, those of you ethnic jingoists didn't see Kemi as a Southerner. You screamed at her, cyber bullied her and even hurled abuses at her. Now it is the turn of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Walter Onnoghen, who admitted himself that he 'forgot' to declare his domiciliary accounts which was loaded with £23,409, €49,971 and $391,401, including 55 houses undeclared, and by so doing, he breached the Code of Conduct as a Public officer and was suppose to have resigned straightaway if he had any modicum of honour, integrity and shame as the custodian of the Nigerian Law, but he didn't. Instead, he was doing everything to stall his trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal. All those times, you didn't call for his resignation the same way you did with Kemi, you didn't bully him to resign the way you bullied Kemi, you were instead urging him to stay on, you were drumming support for him and some of you that were deceiving yourselves with your forming neutrality didn't say anything all this while too, you deliberately turned dumb. When it was first revealed a fortnight ago that the Chief Justice of Nigeria didn't declare his domiciliary accounts with dollars starched in it, all you were vituperating was that the President wanted to remove him because he's a southerner. You acted dumb on the offence he committed. Now that the CJN has been suspended, those of you fake neutralists are now crying foul. You're screaming that democracy is in danger. Can y'all see how nonsensically hypocritical you are? Your hypocrisy is legendary. Your hypocrisy stinks. You shouted and bullied Kemi Adeosun into resignation but aiding Onnoghen who can't explain how he got the foreign currencies starched in his domiciliary accounts which he didn't declare plus 55 houses. A whooping 55 houses. 
      Instead of the CJN to resign honourably and go clear himself, he was busy running from pillar to post buying injunctions to stop the case against him. Just a couple of days ago, another $630,000 and $800,000 was discovered in his separate domiciliary accounts again. Y'all pretended you didn't see the news, abi? Sensing that he could be suspended by the NJC, the CJN quickly suspend their meeting indefinitely. Why? So that he can stay on. You can imagine!
      You asked Kemi to resign but Onnoghen who was selling justice for dollars and deliberately didn't declare those dollars in his domiciliary accounts including 55 houses should stay on, and he should be left alone.
      Arrant nonsense.

2. One question I will leave with you at this point is to tell everyone reading this comment what the constitution says about the Kemi case and CJN case. We want to know if the both case has the same interpretation of the law. Please when answering don't fail to cite the section of the constitution as to buttress your point. I wait to read about it. Less I forgot, you need to be manner enough to put your point across without being arrogant.

3. anon 7:55, you be babe and single? Please say yes. I will send you my email. Tomorrow we go just marry. This just comment deserves 234 million gbosa. Including 234 million slaps on teejay the igbotic coward’s face.

4. Una don talk but how cjn wan take rig election? Abi no be wen pesin don lose and them carry am go court before e go even reach supreme Court sef e go take almost one year so cjn removal or not election go happen and who go win go win cjn no fit do anything for now !!! The Tory for be if him dey guilty or not and why him as the oga pata pata for judges no wan allow them take am to court or even come court the first day to prove say im dey guilty? My own be say him dey avoid something and na him and federal government know the main coco and moreover him no even get power for the election we go happen except them carry election mata after e dong happen go court!!!

5. Anonymous 07:55 I am still waiting for your rejoinder ooh. Don't tell me you didn't see my question ooh. It's not all about shouting, insulting, writing big grammar to confuse the audience or a lengthy comment to prove you are learned or intelligent when you can't defend what you put up. Please don't shy away from my question I beg you in God's name.

6. Teejay, go sit down Abeg. The guy don finish you. No need to answer your petty question. Him no need to give you rejoinder. Na waste of time. Yesterday, one anonymous ask you about your comparison between CJN’s case and Sanusi Lamido, you answer? The same you bring up the comparison between the senate president case for CCB vs the CJN’s case at the CCB. Are the two the same? Why did you bring them up? Stop this your nonsense. The comment there made more sense than your ranting. You are talking about one displaying mannerism and not to be arrogant yet ALL you comments about the President and his supporters reek of bigotry, open insults, arrogance and stupidity. Did you not call Shehu Garba names today? Did you not write that he reasons with his anus? That’s good manner right? Better keep quiet before I woz you.

7. The senate adjourned plenary because of personal political pursuits, till after elections, suspending consideration of the 2019 budget that affects over 180M citizens, but can reconvene because a CJN (a different arm of government) was suspended.

If you still don't see this handwriting on the wall, you may need to "see" an ophthalmologist o..

8. Who is this pathetic annoying idiot always attacking teejay? Get a life and make your own comment. Every post u breathe attack...his opinion, if you have a superior argument type it and move on

2. Almost everyone on social media voiced former Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun into resigning. Some even asked that the President remove her to prove that he's truly fighting corruption. When the brilliant woman saw that she truly erred by submitting a fake NYSC Exemption certificate, she did the honourable thing. She tendered her resignation letter and left. She RESIGNED!
    By that time, those of you ethnic jingoists didn't see Kemi as a Southerner. You screamed at her, cyber bullied her and even hurled abuses at her. Now it is the turn of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Walter Onnoghen, who admitted himself that he 'forgot' to declare his domiciliary accounts which was loaded with £23,409, €49,971 and $391,401, including 55 houses undeclared, and by so doing, he breached the Code of Conduct as a Public officer and was suppose to have resigned straightaway if he had any modicum of honour, integrity and shame as the custodian of the Nigerian Law, but he didn't. Instead, he was doing everything to stall his trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal. All those times, you didn't call for his resignation the same way you did with Kemi, you didn't bully him to resign the way you bullied Kemi, you were instead urging him to stay on, you were drumming support for him and some of you that were deceiving yourselves with your forming neutrality didn't say anything all this while too, you deliberately turned dumb. When it was first revealed a fortnight ago that the Chief Justice of Nigeria didn't declare his domiciliary accounts with dollars starched in it, all you were vituperating was that the President wanted to remove him because he's a southerner. You acted dumb on the offence he committed. Now that the CJN has been suspended, those of you fake neutralists are now crying foul. You're screaming that democracy is in danger. Can y'all see how nonsensically hypocritical you are? Your hypocrisy is legendary. Your hypocrisy stinks. You shouted and bullied Kemi Adeosun into resignation but aiding Onnoghen who can't explain how he got the foreign currencies starched in his domiciliary accounts which he didn't declare plus 55 houses. A whooping 55 houses. 
    Instead of the CJN to resign honourably and go clear himself, he was busy running from pillar to post buying injunctions to stop the case against him. Just a couple of days ago, another $630,000 and $800,000 was discovered in his separate domiciliary accounts again. Y'all pretended you didn't see the news, abi? Sensing that he could be suspended by the NJC, the CJN quickly suspend their meeting indefinitely. Why? So that he can stay on. You can imagine!
    You asked Kemi to resign but Onnoghen who was selling justice for dollars and deliberately didn't declare those dollars in his domiciliary accounts including 55 houses should stay on, and he should be left alone.
    Arrant nonsense.

1. Dude. You posted this twice probably for attention but failed completely in your thought process. The Kemi Adeosun case and the CJNs case are so very different they shouldn’t be spoken about with same tongue. Who said the CJN aired? There is an allegation against him and I can’t be judge and jury over that. The right thing to do is to charge him, once convicted those allegations become fact. Until then he is innocent until proven guilty. The constitution upon which this country shakingly holds stipulates the process of removing the cJN, that wasn’t just to fill space but to protect you and I. If this govt can brazenly defy the constitution at such a monumental level, there is no hope on it upholding the basic human rights of its citizens.
      We are not saying the CJN shouldn’t face his case, we are saying due process must be followed at all times. Doing the right thing is important but being seen to be doing the right thing is importantest.

2. 09:27 exactly the same question I asked him above and yet to see his response. Or should I state the interpretation of both cases to him and the procedural approaches as stipulated by the constitution? Let me still wait for him to see if he will respond. While at that, I will like people to understand that Kemi case was forgery and have a constitution treatment for it, the CJN also has the constitution treatment on assets declaration which isn't on the same level with forgery.

3. Teejay, no need to respond please because you don’t really make sense. In fact, your sentences are not comprehensible for response.

4. Hahahaha.... So you actually dodge my question? Lolzzz. I thought you could defend your comment above. What has my sentence to do with millions of people that will read your rejoinder? You think you are smart? Smh...

5. Teejay and other ethnic biased humans on here...are you going to pretend to be unaware that your dear CJN has deliberately indefinitely postponed the meeting of the Judicial Council which was meant to have held on the 15th without giving any reasons. He did this to avoid them asking him to step aside pending the determination of his case. So you all think Buhari and co are stupid? He claims the council only is the body allowed to try him. Yet used his position as head of that council to ensure they are unable to meet. May God judge all of you trying to destroy this country. Kemi was hounded out of office. But your son is allowd to have billions of unaccounted money in his account. Are we fools that we dont know what the money is for? All those unreasonable injunctions/ exparte motions issued by judges. No be say dem dey sell am? Judicial Council exonerated Justice Salami and asked your hero to reinstate him. Neither he nor his party did. Did you lot shout then that democracy was under threat? I sincerely pray Buhari wins. This man has been ordained by Good to clean this rot in Nigeria. A country where chief justice custodian is reeking in dirt. I bet the PDP goons that are crying more than the bereaved had hoped to win through election tribunals cos truth is the situation on ground points to a Buhari win. He has his faults but he is a fine and decent human being. Sam,e came cant be said of some peeps

3. Two words people should find the meaning to. Suspended and Sack

4. Anything is possible in Nigeria! A Chief Justice that forgot to declare his forex account with millions in it and a Federal government that bend rule of law to achieve a desired goal! All Na the same! Senate re-convening will not change anything, if they like let them move into the chambers and be sleeping there, it won't still change anything!

1. Stan my man, you dey always make sense. Not that bigot up there. Read his comment.

2. It's really sad.. 55 houses? How can someone forget all that money in foreign currency. .Monies that he will be checking on daily and be smiling. .he come forget.. He must face the law oo.. The person who is the custodian of law breaking it with reckless abandon. .Stelz plz post my comment.. They have been disappearing of late. 😀

5. It's very necessary they act swift to stop this ineptitude. We cannot allow just 2 people to be treating us like we are stupid. Where is Tinubu today? God has told him that he cannot continue supporting evil. And have we wondered where Aisha Buhari and her children are today? We have been taken for granted by desperate and illiterate cabals and this must stop .

6. The fact remains that President Buhari's actions was based on CCT order. Until a court of competent jurisdiction overrule it, the suspension stands. 

The former CJN is not interested in clearing his name. Him and and his legal team were more interested in intimidation and delay tactics till he is able to deliver on what Atiku and Wike paid for.

1. The fact remains that the president should have known to route that CCT order to the NJC. The CCT itself should have know that that order should have been routed to the NJC. It is Seperation of power 101. Whether the CJN is interested in clearing his name or not, we can’t usurp our constitution at will else your basic human rights will be fully eroded. That is the law of the land. It is sacred and any attempt to tarnish it will be met by fierce resistance.

2. 09:33 look at the issue here, on Tuesday the court of appeal ruled that the trial by the CCT should be suspended. It was generally accepted and the case was adjourned to next week, only for the chairman of the CCT to be compelled by the presidency the next day being Wednesday to issue an ex parte without upturning the earlier ruling by the appeal court that supercede the tribunal. This shows the abnormality of the act been carried out by the government. They resorted to self help in a case before the court. So people should understand properly before shouting that the President acted on order from the CCT.

3. Anon 9:33, route the CCT order to the NJC headed by the same person charged with criminality? Is that not conflict of interest? Why didn’t he step down as the head of the NJC for his charge to be looked into? Why did he (Onnoghen) suspend the meeting that was supposed to be held by the NJC? It is clear that the CJN himself is playing with the responsibilities and power on him by been criminal with the rule of law. It doesn’t work that way.

7. What do I know🤷but how can someone single handedly own this huge some of money and claim he forgot to declare it. And me I'm here seeking for 9million naira loan from Bank of Industry to support my business.
    What is bad is bad.

1. Ask teejay. He is the new defence attorney of the crooked CJN.

8. Una don talk but how cjn wan take rig election? Abi no be wen pesin don lose and them carry am go court before e go even reach supreme Court sef e go take almost one year so cjn removal or not election go happen and who go win go win cjn no fit do anything for now !!!

9. Una don talk but how cjn wan take rig election? Abi no be wen pesin don lose and them carry am go court before e go even reach supreme Court sef e go take almost one year so cjn removal or not election go happen and who go win go win cjn no fit do anything for now !!!