Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Sunday, February 17, 2019

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Hmmmmmm.....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
GUILTY FEELING

Stella I just need to unburden my mind. I am feeling guilty over something and I want to know if I'm just beating myself up over nothing. I work in an organisation as a supervisor. The pay isn't so good and many of us have side hustles with which we compliment our meagre incomes.

Our CEO is quite nice and one thing I give him credit for is no matter how bad things get, he always manages to pay salaries on time, even in this bad economy. So last Christmas and New year we all expected end of year bonuses and welfare packages as usual, but to our utmost disappointment, when the credit alerts came in it was just our salaries with no extra additions. A lot of us were banking in that money as an extra "cushion". And we were all in a bad mood through out. Some of us didn't even get our leaves approved so we had to work through the holidays. 

Our CEO explained that things were tough and the bad economy was to blame, and that he had to bend all the way backwards and inconvenienced himself so he could pay our salaries before Christmas. Unfortunately some of us took his inability to pay us our bonuses too far.

There is this new recruit who works at the front desk who I regard as my friend. We are fairly close and I occasionally give her advice when she's having difficulties at home. So on this particular day the CEO was heading out and asked me to attend to one of our high profile clients. Remember that the atmosphere at the office was tense. So after attending to him I asked this lady at the front desk (let's call her Bisi) to make photocopies of some documents for this our client. To my surprise Bisi pretended like she didn't hear me. I repeated the command and she uttered something under her breath like "please leave me alone abeg". Now our client was right there when this unfolded and he was very angry that a junior staff could act that way towards me.

He immediately said I should forget about the documents and walked away angrily. I had to take the documents myself, photocopied them and escorted him to the car begging him not to think anything of Bisi's indiscretion.

Unfortunately, our client reported her to the CEO, and I was summoned to narrate what happened, which I did. Mind you after the incident I met Bisi and reprimanded her severely but she seemed to show no remorse. All because oga didn't pay Xmas bonus? After I narrated everything to my boss, he sighed and said "I know what to do". Knowing my boss well I knew that spelt trouble for Bisi who is a single mom with four kids, left for her to raise alone by her deadbeat ex husband. I couldn't leave my boss' presence without putting in a good word for her. Because in truth, she is a very hard working lady who knows her job and is also very diligent. 

So I told this to my boss and pleaded on her behalf. He didn't say anything, but just smiled at me. I left his office feeling bad for Bisi because in truth she was just caught on a bad day. Since I was directly involved i confided in a colleague and told him to tell Bisi if she could apologise to the CEO for her behaviour before any drastic action is taken. He told me he told her but she didn't make any attempt to make amends. The weeks rolled by and nothing was heard of the incident.

Then, I came into work on the first working day of February and noticed everyone was giving me the cold shoulder. The ladies at the front desk didn't reply my greetings as usual, and some were clicking their tongues. It was until I heard that Bisi had been fired that I understood why. They obviously thought I was the one who reported her. 

Either that or I didn't do enough to defend her. In the afternoon Bisi called me crying, saying I betrayed her and I couldn't even defend her when I know all she is passing through. She laid curses on me but I didn't respond.

I know I didn't do anything wrong but maybe I just need someone to tell me that so my conscience can rest. Being jobless in this economy isn't something I would hope on my worst enemy. Talk less of someone with four kids.

*Hmmm this is a tough one and that guilty feeling wont go away cos of the side eyes you are getting......Maybe you should ignore them and face your job,afterall if she valued her Job so much she wouldnt have gone the extra mile to be rude in front of a client......
The ones who matter at work,please try to explain to them that the client reported Bisi and then let it rest...I dont know what else to advice you....

63 comments:

1. If what you've stated above is the truth, then just ignore the long faces and for as many that would ask u directly, just explain to them and if they choose to continue, ignore them and face ur work.

1. Listen to me Lady, I have been in d same situation b4, but kept consoling myself with this words ' Clear conscience fears no accusation'.To go work sef hard me for weeks into months, all my work friends deserted me,but guess what,b4 dat yr ran out,secrets about the sacked employer came out.
      Put ur mind at rest,time heals all wound. E go shock u say some kurukuru waka na him give am d guts to misbehave like that.

2. Honestly I can not really blame Bisi much because she might still be processing that non payment of bonus and how she will cater for her FOUR KIDS without the extra cash when you asked her to make the photocopies. I blame you a little for not stopping the client from telling the CEO in the first place. The deed has been done, it is not late, you can go and beg the CEO to call her back. Meanwhile tell the other of your colleagues the role you played in everything. Goodluck. Cheers. @Blessed Princess

3. Dear poster you only said the store in your favour. I am sure you know exactly the role you played in getting her fired. Because I can’t feel guilty when I know I didn’t do anything wrong.

4. Poster, It’s document .. not documentS

5. You didn’t do anything wrong. Bisi shot herself in the foot by acting out in front of a client, pretty sure she’s smart enough to know that the client leaving angrily means the boss will hear about it. She didn’t do damage control so obviously she doesn’t value her job. Things are tight, the source of income you have, you should value it.

6. Is it not documents when they're many?

7. It's either CEO is eating her cookie or you are sipping her "Sobo"

My thoughts oo

2. My dear face front,u did nothing wrong....Las Las they will be alright but don't forget to watch your back.

3. Madam I know how horrible this experience might be to you but let me tell you this. You are not in that office to make friends but work. Give them space. If they are junior staff and after giving them space, they continue with their insubordination, call a meeting and address them. Don't explain what happened to Bissi but let them know it's a work place and you won't tolorate insubordination. If they continue, give them query and also report to the boss.

1. Madam to add to this, for junior staffs to respect you! You self need to respect yourself. No be everytime play play. Am sure you play too much with the bisi girl for nut to loose for her head.
      There is something about how one need to carry his or herself. I stay in a place were I hardly mingle with other people not because of pride but I dnt like gossips and fight. I hv no time for all that. I pass you I greet you politely to the extent you will know I hv no pride in me. I cn ask you any tin if I want but you dnt know a shit about me. Am friendly too. But others that shine teeth with them u need to see how they talk down on them. My point is laugh wen u wanna laugh and get serious wen u want to. Not pride but is packaging.

4. Poster go and rest joor...why are they all crying foul now? When she was running her mouth nko? Let them all go and rest.

5. Do not worry at all. Truth will come out one day.
    But how I wish you told Bisi earlier that the client reported her and advised her to approach the CEO. Not a blame but a caution for next time.

Anywhere women gather, there must be acrimony why?

1. She made sure another colleague did but she didnt budge

2. She did. But Bisi didn't make any move for amends.

6. That’s her personal problem. Are you in charge of sharing bonuses? Or are you the CEO’s mistress? She got sacked by her own fault. Even if you didn’t narrate the incident to the CEO the client would have and the CEO took his decision by himself. Use your ‘notoriety’ to your advantage. Stop being so sentimental and weak. Your colleagues don’t need to be your friends

7. Chaii she use her hand pour sand sand inside her gari.

Things that happen in the workplace dey sweet sometimes o...especially if u sabi play politics wella as a woman...nostalgic much!

8. Madam, abeg face your work, you are not there because of anybody and you don't owe them any explanation.

9. Stupid woman that has four kids to feed but didn’t take her job seriously. Should you have been fired in her place instead? Abeg face your armpit

10. Poster, please lay aside all those feelings of guilt. If all happened exactly as you narrated, then you did the best you could.
    I worked in customer service delivery for a multinational for 8 years and one of the first things we were told during training was that the customer is king.
    Regardless of what kind of day you were having, you were expected to attend to the customers with an unwavering smile and positive attitude.

Bisi may have been caught on a bad day but the customer was not responsible for her woes or your boss' inability to pay bonuses. If anything, that customer's business may have been the reason your boss was able to pay salaries at all in Dec.
    Isn't it in this blog that we read about people not being paid for months?
    Let's even say she had a knee jerk reaction, why didn't she go apologise to the customer afterwards?
    And if she couldn't, why didn't she go apologise to the CEO when you told her he was upset about the incidence? A junior staff acting that way? Or did she feel she could misbehave toward you because you were friendly with her?

Truth be told, such behaviour is usually a red flag for a personality flaw, that could manifest in a lack of team spirit or any other undesirable trait in a work environment.
    I'm sure a core HR person would be able to explain this better.

Abeg, I'm rambling cos I'm hungry this afternoon, but just relax and do your thing, ignore those giving you the silent treatment, you did the best you could.

1. You should be hungry more often because you made sense. 😀 Y would think a single mother of four would know better but no, she had to allow whatever her problems are follow her to work. Poster did nothing wrong if you are telling the absolute truth. It’s time to stay in your lane and put more energy into your work. Oga might be looking to sack more people.

11. u must have added salt when speaking with the boss. After all the manner in which u spoke could have afforded her a last warning. Are u saying u cant control your subordinates? Your boss thought u were in capable. you have lost respect at work. Be straight with your colleagues. Do this di that. stop advising or playing with them.

1. Pls shut up. She did nothing wrong. Some people won't hear no matter what you do.

12. Dear to me you did no wrong. Were you the one that reported her??? The answer is NO. Atleast you went out of your own way to help her plead.. you talk to someone to advise her. So please free your mind. Those curses cnt work you hear me!! God knows your heart! Was it your fault she acted rudely in front of the client????
    Please who cares to listen let them know you never reported her to anyone.. rest the case and dnt call her. If all you said is the truth, darling leave the battle for the lord. Maybe God is actually taking her to a better place. So let's hope so.

13. @ madam stella, you couldnt have said any better. Poster take madam Stella advice if the work is so important to her she could have apologise. She sacked herself.

14. You confided in your colleague and told him to tell Bisi to apologise to the CEO?

Why did you not tell Bisi? I think you should have told Bise to apologies to the CEO and not sent a colleague because if you had told her what happened and the consequence, she would have apologized.

You no try.

1. Kindly scroll up and read the part where she reprimanded Bisi one on one but Bisi ignored her, hence the involvement of the other colleague

2. She should have told Bisi the client complained and the CEO is aware of all that happened and that could put her in trouble if she didn't apologise. Trust me, Bisi no go even think twice before apologizing.

The poster no try abeg.

3. You cannot help another person's foolishness

15. Oh this is just bad. I hate office tensions like this, can't even thrive in an environment with such animosity. Nne U did ur best biko, leave the rest for God.. & for the record, U re not guilty, so stop feeling it... Anyone who continues to give U the cold shoulder should be ignored too. Unless U work directly with them, then be strictly professional & polite when dealing. They will all come around, in due time...

16. Poster I’m so sorry for what happened to you. I want you to know that you are not responsible for the consequence of Bisi’s indiscretion. You see those at the office giving you long faces and bad attitudes, ignore them. You can’t go around explaining what happened to everybody. You’re in a corporate organization and people should know when to act accordingly. Please pray and reject all the curses the places on you and direct them back to the sender. You seem sincere. Please do not feel bad about this incident.

17. I made it a policy of my company not to employ women! Yes, you heard right. I have no hatred for them, but I came to realise they all have skoin skoin, depending on what's happening to them at every point in time. Some women have theirs during their monthly periods, some have theirs during ovulation , some others could be pressure from home like what I just read,etc. The truth is, women just have these mood swings that one cannot just explain. When it happens, they hardly mask it. They take it out on anything or anybody present. Just like this mother of four did in the presence of a client. I can't lose a client because someone is having a mood swing. A man can even eat shit from a client because he knows he has responsibilities to attend to.

1. This not a fair thing to say to women. I know I don’t have skoi skoi sha.

2. I will remember this no women employee

3. @Happy toto
      Abeg wetin be skoi skoi?

4. You are right. I am a woman but have gradually started dropping all my female workers.Their wahala is too much

5. I am woman. But do I blame you? My best colleagues are guys. You hardly see a woman in the workplace who is drama-free. Just when you think you have peace, another one starts. Especially when you are pretty and stylish and they aren't. Or worse still smarter.

6. You are a fool if you have a daughter, should we pray no one employs her. Ode

7. May your daughters and sisters not be employed because they are women and have skoin skoin. Nonesense talk!

8. But you want others to employ your wife, sisters, and daughters abi? Change your mindset. Women are more meticulous and are willing to put in extra than men. You would hardly need to edit a report from a woman compared to some men where different font types and sizes will be dancing all over the report. If you make the mistake if not reviewing it before sending to a client, You would be in soup.

9. Thai you Chikito. At my job, l work mostly with Men. No dramaaaa!! The female colleagues l have that are on the same team, are always fighting each other. It’s one thing or the other. I love my peace of mind.
      Poster, you Didn’t do anything wrong. She made her bed, let her lay on it. Why did she forget she had four mouths to feed at home and displayed such disrespect in front of a client. She felt too entitled. It’s not by force to pay Christmas bonus. I have worked with the county for twenty years now. No one gets no bonus. You only get paid for hours worked. What of those who didn’t even get paid before Christmas?? Leave those people alone. You too just ignore them. Just watch your back so they don’t set you up.

10. Who wants to work in your one-man company by the way??? Onye ara!

18. Bisi is an ungrateful idiot. Employees in Nigeria are something else. Treat them kindly, they start being stupid and having ideas above their station. Treat them cruelly and their loyalty is assured because they're afraid. Your salary is your basic right; your bonus is a privilege. There's absolutely no excuse for Bisi to behave how she did, especially in the presence of a client. A client who is a major reason Bisi got paid at all. Didn't Bisi know she was a single mother of four who needs money, before she behaved like a witch? Maybe it's this attitude that caused her husband to leave her. Yes, I went there cos I used to have a friend whose claim to fame on social media is that her ex (if he is truly an ex) was violent. I used to feel sorry for her till I learned the kind of person she really is (lies easily, unnecessarily envious, does juju, arranged for me to be kidnapped, got me poisoned, tried to kill my husband) & given that everything I think I know about her ex came from her, I no longer believe her.

I honestly don't understand why you're feeling guilty. Better woman up and don't let anybody bully you. It's like those other women in the office don't know that some people are looking for work. Tell your boss what is happening; you said he's a decent man so you'll be doing him a favour cos he might sack them and that'll be good for the business. Nobody wants childish witches chasing away paying clients or customers.

1. Nekwanu 21st century girl o
      Can't you comment without calling somebody 'idiot?"

2. I can. But it bears repeating - Bisi is an ungrateful idiot.

3. Walahi! I like Pragmatic people.

19. I will fire her twice... What rubbish! Your boss is finding it difficult to pay staff salaries, yet you have one staff that's discourteous and not ready to learn? Employers don't pick money from the culvert to pay their employees. I am not an employer yet,but I know how hard it is for them.

20. Stella u hit so best advice ND u still say u don't know what to advice🤔🤔🤔

21. You have nothing to explain to anybody, if this is what really happened.
    Just do your job and go home and make sure you put in your best at all time so you're not found wanting.
    Let them be grumbling so far you know you're not the one that reported her to your boss.
    She caused her own misfortune.

22. Sometimes, staff can be ungrateful.
    Which is better, sacking some staff and paying salaries and bonuses to the remaining?
    This govmt has been difficult for some employers and some are having to pay salaries from their personal accounts, while some are selling properties to meet up.
    When things start going bad and downward in your organisation, it is time to pray for the company. Because if it folds, you will be out of job.

Poster, you did nothing wrong. Moreover, you are not suppose to lie against a customer who probably brings business just to please an employee. It can boomerang. God can even punish you for it.
    And trust no one at work place.

23. Poster you have time to be looking at their faces, you have to activate your ignore botton and move on. Bisi is gone base on your CEO decision not based on your one.

24. Poster you sounded like a very nice person. Let no man judge you cos God will vindicate you. Surely.

25. Are ur colleagues expecting u to stand in for the offence and get fired on her behalf or what ? There is nothing to feel guilty about , just try and explain to them that u didn’t report her but the client , then focus on ur job and damn what anybody is saying.

26. Talk to your boss. Some things can be nipped early. Then change your relationship with fellow staff. Are you family?

27. You didnt do anything wrong, my dear. People should protect their jobs and the interest of the CEO - as long as it doesnt infringe on their human rights. Once you mention 'Oga' bad attitude should fly out the window.

Biko strengthen your heart. Thats work environment for you. People dont want to take responsibility for their actions. Always looking for the next person to blame, amidst their incompetence. Just make sure your deliverables are on point. Pele!

1. You are a woman but don't blame BV up there who won't employ women. Well done aunty. Support him till your employer adopts same ideology too.

2. @21:06 i have reached a stage in life where I can work for myself, if push comes to shove. Not scared of any organizational policy. Thankyouverymuch

3. Dear poster, na so work place be. Too many ups and downs. The truth is that you cannot please everyone. In my opinion, you were kind to Bisi. And she is accusing you falsely. What you need to do is to communicate to her, via text message, tell her that her the truth, you were not the one that reported her. Her attitude was so bad that the client walked off angry and reported her to your boss. Yes, tell her the truth to her face.
      As someone said above, a customer service / front desk rep is the face of the company. Your attitude represents the company, and must be at your best no matter what is happening with you, must learn to tuck it in and deal with it later - privately.
      She did not learn from her mistake, she could have rectified it while she still had the time. Now it is too late, she is crying and looking for whom to blame.
      Abeg, we must also learn to fix our mistakes WHEN WE ARE WRONG not look for who to blame. Accept your mistake, wear it as a crown, fix it, suffer the consequence, hold you head up, and keep moving! This is life, it waits for no one.

28. Dear Poster,You are there in that office to work and not to make friends.I have worked in an office where they all hate me because I speak the truth all the time and does not take rubbish from the manager, who is dubiuos,fraudlent,manipulative, a schemer,chronic liar and think of another evil word.Some of them plotted against me that I was rude to a customer but I was actually rude to a fellow colleague who thought he could talk to me anyhow.To cut the long story short,I was reported to the Executive Director of the Bank.She was ready to sack me but I want everybody on this blog to know that I am a lover of Christ.HE has never failed me.I resigned two days before the sack cos the good LORD gave me a job that is more rewarding and satisfying than the work.The Executive Director came and could not believe that I have resigned.May the good Lord be praised.