Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Set To Ban Importation Of Tomato Paste

Monday, February 04, 2019

Federal Government Set To Ban Importation Of Tomato Paste

The Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Chief Audu Ogbeh on Monday in Kano, said the Federal government will place final ban on the importation of tomatoes paste before the end of 2019, ostensibly to encourage massive local production.

Ogbeh who was on fact finding tour alongside, the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Mr. Godwin Emefiele to Dangote Tomato process plant at Kadawa in Garun-Mallam local government of Kano state, Monday, said that the Federal government under the leadership of President Muhammadu Buhari will embark of tomato revolution across the country as part of its diversification policy in agriculture.

According to him, the sum of N250 billion has already been earmarked by the Central Bank of Nigeria through the Bank Agriculture to disburse as soft loans to tomato outgrowers as part of the apex bank’s Anchor-borrower scheme.

Ogbeh, lamented that the country has spent over $22 billion on the importation of tomato paste from China annually, added that the CBN intervention will not only empower local growers but strengthen the nation’s foreign exchange earnings.
From the nation

26 comments:

1. Nice one if the price won't double

1. E money and that IBO man for Oregun don hammar

2. Price of a basket of tomato go soon skyrocket again. It happened in 2017 a basket sold for #32,000 as against #4500 we normally buy in Abuja here.

All tomato farmers will now move their produce to Dangote plant which saves them more money on transportation to the market and also reduce incidences of perished goods.

High cost loading

2. Audu wan mortgage jollof rice?
    Im fit carry wetin go follow am?
    My Naija (babes) people no dey joke with jollof o.

1. As in no derica again
      Only problem here is there's probably a dangote that bribed the government for this new rule because he has a business start up that will benrfit

2. No be Dango again? That's his M.O right there. As long as they can ensure quality. That is all. SON ji masun o! Ehen

3. Hope it's not as if they want to stop it to promote Dangote tomato paste because Dangote has bribed them because Nigeria and corruption na like 5 and 6

They should stop the importation because they really want to promote the locally made ones and not the other way round

4. Once I saw the headline e I said to myself...."self, I guess dangote or another campaign financier wants to open a tomamto paste company".... I am glad to see I was wrong and laughed when I saw the factory was already in existence.
    All administrations both past and present should continue till Nigerians will have to either wear dangote boxers or go naked.Keep selling the country and creating monopolies to further enrich your already rich sponsors.

1. So bad for a country. The future of Nigeria has already being mortgaged.

5. Dan gore should not monopolize the business o.

1. What of Al Gore??

2. The Igbo billionaires will give him a run for his money unless the government monopolies it.

3. Erisco has a tomato paste plant in Lagos.

6. So, where us the locally made tomato paste??
    Please, let them leave it as it is. Let us all but whatever we want from the market. Nor be by force.

7. And what if they intend to stop it to promote Dangote and the other local companies producing,Do you know how much risk these companies take to invest in a product that 95% of it is imported?Now that the govt is giving them some leverage to make money off their risks you’re complaining.

8. Replies
    1. Expect a lesser price instead and more internal revenue and job creation. Be wise. Basic Econs 101

9. Along with these, there is a small number of T3 ships, the super advanced version and Factions ships,
    which can be a mixture of different race and
    NPC faction ships. A WOW free server it's essentially a platform that offers free gaming services to prospects who try
    to find free gaming platforms. Kids can pick your skin layer color
    on her behalf princess: white,brown or black.

10. It isvery easily accessible the Android market by just opening a free account
    in web browser is incredibly much helpful to access the market industry which is perfectly utilized
    by the software program which is available in the Android market.

Finding the right games has become a greater portion of a science
    now with the arrival better technology, more intricate algorithms, as well as a greater demand of
    intriguing games that challenge the gamer.
    So, play more while attaining with many of the opportunity and harder levels using this game:
    an alternative that's capable enough to supply suitable benefits along gaming enjoyments.

11. As a matter of truth you are able to win actual money through part in on-line rummy there area unit several examples and testimonials to prove the very fact.
    Seemingly different, prepaid credit cards should be grouped using own kind in sequential order to make a
    natural run. It may be an easy task to achieve this, but there
    is a problem regarding collecting these stars.

12. If home made doesn't taste like or better than Gino,derica,St rita or Ricci they shouldn't bother.

13. It's a wonderful idea for us but I just wish they would give the license to other people asides dangote, let young food scientists or agriculture experts get the opportunity to make money too.