Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: International Day Of Zero Tolerance For Female Genital Mutilation

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

International Day Of Zero Tolerance For Female Genital Mutilation

Today is the International Day of Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation..

It is a United Nations-sponsored annual awareness day that takes place on February 6 as part of the UN's efforts to eradicate female genital mutilation. It was first introduced in 2003.

This practice violates a person's rights to health, security and physical integrity, the right to be free from torture and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment, and the right to life when the procedure results in death.

Are you one of those who was cut?Did you recover completely or still battling with the negative effects ? Do you want to talk about it?
Are you one of those who supports the Mutilation?
Lets talk about it #ZeroToleranceForFemaleGenitalMutilation

13 comments:

1. Stella, my own was tempared with when I was in the village at that tender age. Even those that cut off my genitals did it without informing my mother or father.

I remembered vividly even till now. I was in primary two then, I couldn't go to school on that particular day because I was sick and my mother said I should stay back from school. My mum left to the market, my father left for work and my other siblings left for school. Low and behold those women came and lied to me that they have already agreed with my mother that my genital should be mutilated.

I said no, let my mum returned but they didn't listen. They took me to one of the old woman's house. They commanded me to lie down with tears in my eyes I laid, they remove my underwear and cut it off. It was a very painful thing. My mum returned and she was so furious that she never agreed such a thing with them. They reported to the Chief (Village head) and the village head commanded them to returned what was cut off and they couldn't provide so they were taken to the police station. At the end the matter died down.

Why should it be only me in the entire village, have they tempered with my destiny? These were the questions my mum asked because I was the only one they did that to. After the incident there were nothing like such because of the troubled my mother gave them. Till date in my village nothing like genital mutilation.

Till today Stella I am still thinking about the scenario. And it really have negative effect on me. I once dated a man and left because to him he said he can't enjoy a circumcised woman. I am the only one in my family that experienced this, all my friends their own are intact till date. How I wish I went to school that day.

1. Sorry for this bitter experience. But since you did not have control over it and your parents came to your defense withing their power, I suggest you find ways to deal with it without the pain it usually brings. Nothing you do can bring back your mutilated genitals. Best thing is to try to move past this.

Have you tried to read up if there are support groups for people who have been mutilated? If not, please try to. You can also look for free (or paid if money isn't an issue) psychologists online. Let's see how this experience can make a happy, strong woman out of you.
      Love to you ma'am

#Shalom

2. What is the difference between a woman that is mutilated and the one that is not? Bcx I hv never heard of women mutilation until when I traveled to the northern part of Nigeria.

3. My Frnd's Genital Was Mutilated
    Some Said It Causes Low Libido.

4. some said it causes low libido
    na them sabi sha..

5. i thought i was okay but Oga likes to leak plate and he says my ponyor looks like a circumcised one meanwhile i still have what looks like an antenna sha, but whatdoiknow, mum has kept mum and said nothing and me i dinor ask her.....i sha keep riding Oga's face willy nilly and he kukuma keeps choking onit!!!

on a positive note, last week, the first conviction against FGM was secured against a family. This is victory for the african girl child. i know many 9ja women who will save money to go on "holidays" to africa only to mutilate their daughter in the name of circumcision.

I am sha waiting for either my mum or mil to mention sahcom and they will here weahhhnn!!!

6. I had a friend back then in school (Uni), she was circumcised and could f**k for Africa. Kai. From guy A, to guy B, to guy C, to guy D. Wayoooo. This is the pure definition of Sex is food.

1. Perhaps she was sexually molested as a child. There is a strong correlation between childhood sexual abuse and promiscuity. Things are not always as they seem.

7. Female Genital Mutilation commonly known as female circumcision is a topic that is dear to me.
    In my final year,I decided I was going to use this Topic for my final year project and luckily for Me it was chosen because Normally you submit two topics and one topic is chosen by faculty for you.
    I decided to focus on the laws, and preventive measures because i was a law student,unfortunately for me as at 2015 there was no law criminalizing this archaic and barbaric act,it was a big challenge to me I couldn't change the topic Even though I was advised to by my dean and supervisor, may God bless them, my dean prof OlaTB gave me my very first material when he saw I was really adamant about this topic and told Me about some lecturers in Social sciences who could help me with my work and wished me well.

To cut the story short,I became an investigative journalist, I wanted a first hand tale from women and girls who had gone through this act like me, asides visiting various libraries, like the WODROC Library in my school,I spoke with psychologists who had spoken to victims and the effects it had on them, I printed hundreds of copies of questionaires asking people what they feel about the act and so on.

I then travelled to about 3 villages in Oyo state, Igbo elerin I visited 2 only girls secondary schools there and trust me I cried wella when I heard their gruesome experiences because most of them where grown when they were circumcised and can still vividly remember, and 2 other villages after Maniya where I met with the community heads and their people ,I was really happy in one of the villages where the women especially the older ones who had gone through this act but kicked against it for their children, thus it had been abolished, but the other villages oh my God they talked about how the level of immorality had become worst because most girls weren't circumcised.the story is long sha but even though I spent so much money ,time and had lots of set backs I finished my project and had a good grade in it.

I wanted to continue my work after I graduated but as you know my dear country Nigeria is a dream killer and frustrator.

I'm currently a lawyer not practising, doing a job I do not like because man must survive and there aren't many good humanitarian agencies willing to help fight for a cause unless it will benefit them Financially(Greedy lots).
    The shocking thing is people still practice this act the even so called educated ones.
    the major type of FGM being practiced in the west,south and east of Nigeria is the Clitoridectomy and it's the partial or total removal of the clitoris,its worst in some Northern part of Nigeria eg Nassarawa and Africa eg Somalia,not only is the clitoris removed,the labia minora and majora,the vaginal opening is sewn closed and only a tiny hole is left for the urine and Menstral blood to come out.

Sorry for the long epistle,I just feel emotional about this topic,it brings back unpleasant memories.

1. Thanks for your insightful first hand account of this practice.

8. I think female mutilation is in grade.some people cut just little while some do it with wickedness. I was circumcised but I still enjoy sex well the only thing is I don't have orgasm with penetration but when my clitoris is been struck I do cum. It is those that they cut everything that they don't enjoy sex at all. In all circumcision should be totally eradicated it is noting but wickedness.#gift#

9. My friend who just put to birth told me her mother in-law said she can't wait for baby grow so she can be circumcised and her hubby is in support. I told her If she ever agrees to such God will purnish her and I will report her to the appropriate Agency where she will be Arrested.
    She said she just told them over her dead body will they do such to her child.

10. I think people are not aware that there is law against FGM in Nigeria. In 2019 people are still practising FGM.