Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian History

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

Nigerian History

On January 27, 2002, a bomb blast rocked the Ikeja Military Cantonment in Lagos, killed over 1,000 people and left many people displaced. It is now 17 years after the Blast.....

from Nigerian facts on twitter

33 comments:

1. I thought this happened before 2002. God will always protect his people.

2. i remember reading this at the time. Alot of the casualties were from a stampede and a swamp that people ran towards in the midst of the mayhem/confusion.

3. Hmmmmmm….A terrible day I can never forget!!! I lost my dad and my 2 sisters to this incident.

1. Mau their souls continue to rest in peace..so sorry about this,it was a terrible day indeed

2. May their souls rest in peace.

3. They are resting in peace....so sorry dear.

I remember this day very well! We all thought it was an earthquake, ikeja was far from my house o, but we could still feel the tremors. Chai!
      My mum ran barefoot to Ikeja to rescue my uncle who is an officer there, as the super woman that she is 🙄. Not knowing the man and his family were running to my house. God saved my mum that day.
      I still remember the first sentence the man made when he came to my house...' Give me a glass of water....another one....and another one'. His wife had just put to bed at the time, cute twins, me I was sha happy that we had babies to play with.
      Their entire family lived in my house for over a month before they left.

4. Hmmmm, it is well, God will give you closure my dear

5. Awwww.....so sorry for your loss dear

6. May the continue to rest in peace, amen.

Sorry for your loss

4. A day I can't forget
    It was on a Sunday,Rip to those who lost their lives

5. I remember this day very well. I remember we were having our estate party then in a school compound and the next thing there was commotion. Na so party dismiss.

6. I remember this just like yesterday... Was a horrible experience to the departed souls. Continue to RIP.

7. I will never forget that day.

8. I lost my mum due to this.

1. Sorry for your loss dear.May your mum's soul rest in peace.

2. May her soul continue to rest in peace, amen

Sorry for your loss

9. Hmmmm..a sad and terrible day. The sad news shook the whole Lagos state

10. I remembered vividly.. Rip to the departed..

11. A very sad day indeed, we didn't know what was happening earlier on, we thought it was a war. We were all running helter skelter for our dear lives. Some of our friends perished in this muddy water around Oshodi. 17 years just like yesterday. Rest in peace dear friends.

1. 17 years like yesterday....we thought it was war in Surulere until we heard the reason for the blasts on the news. May the soul of the departed rest in peace.

12. Yeah, it was a very terrible day.

13. A day I will never forget in hurry. That day I wanted to go Agege to see somebody but I did not know what came over me I developed cold feet. I thank the Almighty for my life that day May the souls of departed rest in perfect peace Amen.

14. So its already 17 years,na wah o,chaiii I remember, that January 27 was a Sunday,I just returned to school ,University of Ibadan and my mum called to tell me what was happening.It was a friend's birthday too.Hmmmm rest in peace to all departed souls

15. I heard about it as l stay outside Nigeria but didn’t realize till now that the casualty was that high. May the souls of the departed rest on. May God continue to give the blog visitors here that lost their loved ones solace.

16. Hmmmmm, I will never forget that day! We had a full house. My husband and I, 2 of his siblings, 2 friends of theirs, my sister, mum in law, her sister. We all ran for dear life, we didn't know what was happening, all we could see was the bomb coming towards us. We passed through the marsh where people perished. It was terrible. Walked barefoot all the way to a friends house in Ebute Metta. I will never forget.

17. Rip to the departed soul, the day tinubu made his sacrifice to enslave Lagos State with 1000 souls,stella if you like chop my comment
    People that lost their loved ones deserve to know what happened to them

1. Hey c'mon, not a fan of him, Buh d man tried dat day. Besides it was Negligence from d NA.

18. It was on a Sunday. I was cooking beans when I heard the first blast. I had to put off the fire and we ran. My daughter was few months old. We got to the oke afa canal that killed so many and had to turn and look for another exit. It was terrible. I pooped thrice near that canal as fear grip me. Rip to many who lost their lives.

19. Can never forget dat day, Ajao Estate Airport Road was something else. I had 2 open my gate n begged stop over motel 2 open there's as a lot of pple were stranded, lost n in distress. D carnal d nxt day was a mortuary on its own. See babies, women n men bn brought out, I still commend d efforts of Tinubu & CP Mike Okiro who came live on air t advise pple. .so sad a day....Black Sunday. RIP t all departed souls.

20. Wow....17 years already. The lesson teacher was taking us on this day. Imagine the distance from Ojo to Ikeja yet our whole building shook with each blast. We actually thought it was coming from somewhere inside the Ojo barracks.

May the should of the departed rest in peace.