Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NURTW Chairman Collapses As Court Sentences Him To Death By Hanging For Killing Policeman

Thursday, February 07, 2019

NURTW Chairman Collapses As Court Sentences Him To Death By Hanging For Killing Policeman

An Ikeja High Court, on Wednesday sentenced Saheed Arogundade, Chairman, National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Boundary/Aiyetoro Unit, Lagos State to death for the murder of a 32-year-old policeman, Gbenga Oladipupo.

Justice Olabisi Akinlade passed the sentence after a three-hour judgment which started at 2.35p.m. The judge held that the prosecution was able to prove beyond reasonable doubt that Arogundade murdered the policeman, NAN reports.

Before delivering the judgment, for security reasons and to avoid disruption of proceedings, the judge ordered that the courtroom should be locked and the keys kept in her possession.

“I therefore pronounce the first defendant guilty as charged on the counts of conspiracy to commit murder and murder. I hereby pronounce the sentence of the court upon you Saheed Arogundade – that you be hanged from the neck until you are dead. May God have mercy upon your soul,” Akinlade said.

On hearing the sentence, Arogundade collapsed in the dock while his relatives wailed in the courtroom gallery.

From Daily Post

34 comments:

1. So unfortunate he ended up this way. Just like the Judge said, may God have mercy upon his soul. My condolence to those he has put on this emotional pains of his act.

1. tj, there's nothing unfortunate regarding this judgment, as the wicked ones will never go unpunished. The family of the policeman has finally gotten justice.

2. Very good judgement. The way people trifle with human life in Nigeria is becoming alarming.

2. When he was living agbero life did not know.why no live this life Keke and leave with a sounding ovation of life's u touched.nawa o

3. Nice. This should serve as a deterrent to others who think they can do and undo.

4. Not that I'm supporting the chairman, but death sentence is rather outrageous. will his death bring back the life of the dead police man? please Nigerian should learn to do better and cancel this their death sentence nonsense abeg.

1. Learn to write with sense.
      Calling a practice nonsense with no reason is senseless.
      Table your case like someone who weren't to school.
      Not just jumping up and down condemning it without reason

2. By their comment,you shall know them. For out of the heart...

3. Anonymous 10:21. You that write with so much sense, please always cross check your English before posting comments. thanks hun.

Shantelle I respect you more than this, My opinion and yours must not be the same. please You people should learn to respect other people's opinion.

4. Bella,thank u...we are so quick to kill each other

5. Thanks Sharon for understanding my point.killing someone because they killed,just bring more death. There are more punishment worse than death. sentencing someone to death is not the answer.

6. Have you come across that word?- He that killeth with the sword shall die by the sword.
      Where there's no rule iniquity abounds. Emotional sentiment cannot be applied in all cases.

7. It is the best deterrent. People will go on a killing spree once they know their lives will be intact.

8. Respect a comment that seeks leniency for murderers? Do you know what that means?

You fall hand,big time!!

5. I never followed this story, but if truly he's guilty, then may God have mercy on his soul.
    Now his relatives are wailing, what about the relatives the young police man who was killed? Let justice be served biko

6. He who kills by the sword, dies by hanging.

7. You sabi kill but you no wan die. What a coward!

8. Nice one. Since they have juju all over their bodies he should disappear. Abi this one no fit disappear.

Killed by the sword die by the sword

9. This will serve as deterrent to others in his line of work.

10. All His gragra and stubborn attitudes is over, if only he could turn back d hands of time.

11. know him Wella,guy man lived large

12. God truly have mercy on his soul... I hope others learn from this

13. Well accept ur bitter faith... That is what you ask for. I think the decease soul can now rest in peace.

14. He has a chance to genuinely repent and ask God to forgive his sins.

15. It's so painful he ended his life this way but justice has to take it's course

16. Eyah, I'm sure this is the same way the family of the dead police man cried too.
    Let other agberos learn from this.

17. He has Guts to kill a Police Man, Now he collapsed when the judge Sentenced him to Death..My Friend Wake-up and go Dead by hanging...

18. The NURTW and its legion of thugs, area boys, miscreants and touts have become terrorists in Lagos state making commuting a traumatizing and dehumanizing experience for commuters on a daily basis. It is very disheartening that this APC government and relevant government agencies work hand in glove with these lawless criminals to the detriment of law abiding citizens just because of the millions of naira of free money they extort on a daily basis at motor garages and bus stops. They arbitrarily fix exorbitant bus fares which they double or triple it at will, they impose and collect outrageous exorbitant illegal levies from bus drivers, they contribute nothing to road safety nor improve road infrastructure in anyway. As long as they "settle" the relevant government officials, government looks the other way while they extort the ordinary people. Its a big shame that this illegality is allowed to continue for this long and that a government elected by the people has become a major beneficiary of the exploitation of the same people it is elected to
    protect and serve. We need a complete change of guard in Lagos to put a permanent stop to this nonsense.

1. 💯💯💯💯💯💯

2. You just spoke the truth. The whole nurtw situation is so sad

19. I empathize with Saheed but he should have thought of the consequences of his action on the day the Police Man, was killed. Nigeria is a country where some people feel they can do anything and get away with it but slowly and steadily things and times are changing. You do the crime, you bear the consequences. May the soul of the policeman rest on.