Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reality Star Bisola Says She Is Happy She Did Not Win Big Brother Nigeria 2017

Tuesday, February 05, 2019

Reality Star Bisola Says She Is Happy She Did Not Win Big Brother Nigeria 2017

Bisola Aiyeola, the first runner-up of the 2017 BBNaija reality TV show, says she is happy that she didn’t win the show which saw Efe Ejeba, a rapper from Warri in Delta state, cart away the priize...

Speaking in an interview with VJ Adams, the singer cum actress who won the 2018 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Trailblazer Award said not winning encouraged her to work harder.

“To be honest, I wasn’t about winning, it was about the platform. My first nomination was three weeks into the game and I was ready to go home,” she said.

“I made a mistake 10 years ago with Project Fame. I left thinking I was a superstar, waiting for the record label. I was shocked. So I said if I am given an opportunity, I will still work.

“Nobody knows me as far as I am concerned. I will introduce myself whenever I meet anybody because I don’t feel like anybody knows me yet. Not winning BBNaija helped, it pushed me and it is still pushing me. I’m happy I didn’t win.”

The 32-year-old entertainer explained that she has been unable to choose between music and acting.

“I feel like I haven’t given music my all but for acting, I have played some roles that have challenged me and a lot of people know me as an actor,” she said.

Speaking on why it is harder to manage female artistes, Bisola,  said: “I was talking to one music executive and he said they have to deal with makeup and hair to worry about and if they now have a spouse and if they now have a child. But if it’s a guy, they can tell him of a trip and he packs his bags and go.

“If it’s a woman, they have to worry about hair, makeup, outfit, stylist, husband and child. So they have to plan it. Every successful female artiste has to put in 250%.

“The industry has to learn how to accommodate women.”

In her opinion, there is nothing in a lady asking a guy out; she says she can do it for a guy she is attracted to.

From TheCable

*Bisola is just about the only one who stayed in the limelight from her set..Successful but quiet.The 2018 set killed all the noise that came with the 2017 set and i am sure same thing will happen when the 2019 set come out of the house.......

48 comments:

1. I like Bisola so much,very talented and versatile.

2. I didn't like her in the house but couldn't help but marvel at her level of intelligence. She is a great actor.

1. True. I thought she was unnecessarily harsh in the house but all that has changed. I love how she is making good use of her talents.

3. Too bleesed to curse5 February 2019 at 08:37

Stella you don finish talk.
    She is a bundle of talents and very intelligent.

4. Talented Bisola, she can do no wrong in my eyes. Continue to soar high dear.

1. Every time,she can do no wrong in ur eyes,abi u just learnt dis statement....kolo,,,u pple be making celebs feel perfect

5. Bisola is talented, hardworking and versatile
    Continue to prosper dearie

6. So much love this lady..very intelligent and versatile.

7. Bisola is just a bundle of talent 💪💪.

8. Sdk for the win. Thanks so much Stella and Beloved. I received my own data today and I was not even expecting it. Thanks once more for the favour

9. Isn't this funny that when she was in the house, i never liked her besides i don't like the show. The Bisola i'm seeing now has won my heart. I just love her. So funny, intelligent and hardworking. Well done babe!

10. Bisola is so talented, keep doing your thing girl 👍

11. How I love you bisola. So hardworking and talented

12. Congratulations Bisola..
    More Grace.

13. keep soaring higher Bisola

14. I love this lady, especially her role in skinny girl in transit.

15. She should have been the winner. She is a hard worker. I love her energy.

16. If only people realise that they're not less because of what others have been given. I don't watch Big Brother but this girl seems to be the only one whose name I hear for anything really relevant. She won! Sometimes, what we're given is exactly what we need. They're not lemons.

Stella, I remember reading that you felt bad cos you graduated with a 3rd. And sorry, but I rolled my eyes. Talk true, if you graduated with a 1st class - would you be known today? You'd probably have settled into one boring job and you wouldn't have felt the need to do more, be more. Blogging wasn't a thing when you graduated from university, so there's a good chance you wouldn't have started doing that if you made a 1st or 2:1 - there'd have been no need or drive to do so.

PS: I didn't say people shouldn't work hard and produce what they can. Any child of mine that comes home with less than what s/he, their father and I know they're capable of, will have a lot of explaining to do.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Jessi, take it from me - if God is on your side and you put in the work, even a 3rd class grade can't be a barrier.

My husband graduated with a 2:1 and it was a shock to his system because he's 1st class material - but Nigerian lecturers operate a special kind of witchcraft. I didn't attend the same university as him, but from what I found out, he should have come out with a 1st. He really is that good. I graduated with a 2:2 - something went horribly wrong and I waited too long to rectify it. I felt like a failure cos I knew if not for what went wrong, it would have been different. If I'm in the right class, I'm usually a 2:1 or a borderline 1st class student. There are also times I score 1st class grades across the board. So, as you can imagine, some of my lecturers were like, "How? What happened?" To complicate my life further, I had studied abroad and exchange rate wasn't smiling with anyone.

Fast-forward to some years later, husband and I are leaders in our fields. And yes, we deliberately fly under radar as much as we can in our personal lives - we don't get photographed together (at least as far as I know, for now). Nobody gives a sh*t what either of us graduated with. We both have reputations in our industries. I'm known for creating solutions that others don't consider; they come easily to me. My husband is so good at what he does, that people say "If he can't give you a solution, maybe you offended God." Yes, it's a secular industry. My heart does me a special kind of way when I listen to him, cos I'm like, "Na me get this man; God, thank you!"

I'll be honest - it would have boosted my ego to say, "I graduated with a 1st class from an oyibo university" but that's all. Ego boost. Would I have been happier in the long run? No. I wouldn't have known what I'm truly capable of. Our degree classifications didn't stop my husband or I from doing our postgraduate degree at UK universities that were supposed to be very tough to get into; mine was supposed to be impossible sef. At the end of the day, they're just numbers.

3. Anonymous 9:47 and 11:11
      God bless you for this words of wisdom 👏👏

4. Thank you Anonymous for this...

5. Anon 11:11 may God bless you.
      Your words just went straight to my soul.
      I've been feeling like such a failure for a while now,you've lifted me with your words......thank you.👏👏👏

17. Bisola you're truly loved. Keep soaring higher dear

18. Thought I was the only one. Never liked her at all while in the house bcos of her cantankerous & quarrelsome nature , but all that has disappeared from the Bisola I see now & she has become the darln of many. Change is really constant. Wish u the best Bisola.

19. 2018 set? Hmmm those guys are going to be in our faces for a long time. Fear those guys.

20. she is highly talented, bold and industrious

21. It was written all over her right from the house but bigotry and tribalism made some people against her. Listen to her song then which was their anthem, the voice, the carriage, the lyrics, etc. Come to think of her openness in the house and real attitude towards all. She could act perfectly well. Without a degree, she was the most brilliant of the people in the house, especially using the Article she wrote which won her an award to UN summit. Bisola, you are good and we love you.

1. She is another Alex

And i also see her as Funke

2. Which Alex?say the truth now. She is another bambam

3. Which alex? U no even talk bamike

22. 2018 ? My God they are something else. Alex manager is something else, why descend yourself so low and involve yourself in bbn fan wars,always making noise about her client's deal.that was how she carried Annie idibia on her head,was surprised she is no more Annie's manager.I can't wait for 2019' bbn so we can rest from unnecessary noise gosh

23. She's a bundle of talent. Proud of you babe.

24. She is talented. keep soaring higher babe

25. Bisola and Uti are proof that change is constant. Never liked both of them. Infact I wanted Munya to win the show. Years later, I like Uti a lot. Maybe cos he has grown too.
    Bisola too was very loud,harsh and almost a bully. Now I see a talented woman who learnt and grew into her own.
    I love her growth. She is not all over the place, just minding the business that feeds her. Talent and hardwork are a dangerous combo🔥🔥🔥

1. I felt the same way about them ! I disliked Uti, Bisola and Ceec! Now I actually like them the most , life is very very funny .

26. I like when people that this bbn brought to fame are not lousy. Tboss,bambam,Nina, ceec,ahneeka,vandora love their personalities. You see ifuennada, Alex khloe,princess and Naomi(the 21st housemate) are doing too much.it is not about live your life and don't listen to haters yen yen yen,it is about their busybody everywhere.people don't know that in entertainment industry you need to somehow be classy and reserved.

27. Loving her Nu jam....Controller. She's just blessed!!

28. A lot of people like me expected her to work with funke akindele when she got out because they possess the same acting skills,till now e never happen.

1. The women in the industry are not welcoming to new comers o! They are always intimidated by new people. Bisola is doing well for herself

2. There are many reasons people don't work together. Sometimes, it's the wrong project. Sometimes, timing is an issue. Then, there are times when there's no point. And lots of other reasons.

For instance - a B-list actress was the first choice for a lead role in an upcoming TV series. This part was specifically written for a dark person. Only for something to nudge me to check her Instagram profile two months ago. Aunty haf bleach her skin and it's noticeable. I kept thinking, "Maybe if we use bronzer, we can hide it" but my conscience refused. I tried to tell myself it's the camera lighting that made her look so light, but how? She is also fronting one lightening skincare line. It pained me cos I can't argue on her behalf. This lady has been dark all along. Quarter to breakthrough, she went and succumbed to pressure. She wasn't even going to be asked to audition; this role was hers for the taking!

Yes, there are some women who are afraid of others'success. But there's also other factors.