Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Vogue Magazine Pours Encomium On Nigerian Actress Adesua Etomi...

Friday, March 15, 2019

Vogue Magazine Pours Encomium On Nigerian Actress Adesua Etomi...

Beautiful Actress Adesua Etomi was featured in April edition of popular magazine Vogue with other fifteen global stars.
Here is what Vogue has to say about her

"The Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi-Wellington can’t walk down the street in Lagos without getting mobbed, and if she’s with her husband, the actor Banky Wellington, forget it—a trip to the grocery store launches a thousand selfies. But unlike some of her cohorts on the shoot, she’s more of a third-culture kid, born in Nigeria and raised mainly in England. (She speaks in two fluent accents—Lagos and the British Midlands.)

She went to school in Coventry, studied drama at University of Wolverhampton, and then got a nine-to-five job with the fashion arm of a large supermarket chain. It was then that, as she puts it, “I can’t explain it—I felt I had to go back to Nigeria.”

That was toward the end of 2012, and in the past six years or so she has become one of the biggest stars in Nollywood, Nigeria’s relatively young film industry. The Wedding Party (2016), a colorful and witty romantic comedy in which she plays the lead opposite Wellington, was the highest-grossing film in the history of Nigerian cinema, until it was eclipsed by its sequel, which also starred Etomi-Wellington.

In fact, she points out, of the four films that have done best for the relatively young industry, she is in three. “I love, love, love Nollywood,” Etomi-Wellington says brightly over tea and biscuits at the shoot. “I feel like she’s my baby, and it’s my responsibility, along with a lot of other performers, to grow her".

49 comments:

1. My baby Beyoncรฉ

2. I love the fact that she respect herself

2. What's not to love about Adesua

3. Beautiful Susu....Nice one ♥♥♥

4. End of discussion! Susu darling, haters won't like this of course but shine on anyway. You are a star!!

5. Awww Susu, shine on dear๐Ÿ’•

6. Kikikiki..... I can remember the week one hurricane hanty was dragging with me on here cos I angrily insisted that it was wrong to say Su-su is not a good-enough role model for a younger woman.

See my face right now: ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

7. She is fairer than this, why did they make her look dark?

1. That’s the White Man for you. Darker is better in their eyes.

2. More like they’re jumping on the ‘darker’ trend right now....

3. So why didn't they touch up the other women?

8. "The Nigerian actress Adesua Eton can't walk down the street in Lagos without getting mobbed"? Big fallacy,not true at all.

Congrats still.

1. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚ i screamed as well,like so many people only know her on social media,an average Nigerian like those market women and agberos don't even know who she is,she only features in Cinema movies and they don't watch.

9. Nice. It’s a big deal to be on Vogue magazine. I appreciate her talent but she is just there for me just like I am just there to many people. ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿพ‍♀️๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿพ‍♀️๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿพ‍♀️๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿพ‍♀️๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿพ‍♀️๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿพ‍♀️

1. Very ery there. I watched that something suncity movie in south africa. I wept.
      Very wack acting.
      She should go to acting school please.
      She no get am

2. Toh before you are tagged a hater.

3. I think she is an excellent actor. First movie I watched of her was wedding party them I went to watch her other films and I was shocked how different she was in her other roles. Sign of a good actor

10. I said before that people whose destiny is in Nigeria, God should bring them back from wherever He sent them whatever it takes - the Esthers, Davids, Moseses, Deborahs, whatever. It took me a while but I realised God doesn't make mistakes. His strategising make sense die! The thing about destiny is you'll come to a point in your life where with all your education, money, etc you'll realise "omoooo, no be me get my life!"

There are some people reading this. You're sitting in the abroad when you are called to be in Africa. And deep down, you know. Cos you keep having dreams, you keep hearing God but you're practising selective deafness. You're listening to human beings that don't own your life, tell you that being abroad is the goal. You want to sit abroad for reasons that have nothing to do with the purpose of God. Sometimes, God sends you out for a purpose - to hide you and/or to train you. He might not intend for you to stay there permanently, but cos you think you have sense, you go and build house where He sent you to erect tent. When He's ready, He will blow wind that will remove the house. Some of the challenges some people face abroad that's making them frequent all the churches they can find (Old Kent Road, Peckham - it is well with una) is not the devil. But some of your pastors will not tell you the truth cos they want your money. The place you were called to, is calling for you. That's why some of you can't sleep. Or when you sleep, you keep seeing yourself back home. It's not all the time that ancestral demons are pursuing you. The only thing you need deliverance from is disobedience. Some of you - whether male or female - will not marry till you return to where you're called to be. Pray, fast, pay someone to do fake immigration marriage - it's your own that will fail. Some people, it's pride aka "A whole me! With my accent and education, how can I go back to Africa?" You're joking if you think God that tied people's destinies to you before you were born, will just sit back and watch you spoil all His work. Or if you think you're hard, you will learn that God can knock your head without killing you.

Did Vogue not exist when Adesua was living abroad? It can be difficult and it will take everything you think you have and more, but it PAYS to trust God.

1. Wow! God bless you
      This really spoke to me

2. Thank you!
      I will screenshot your comment and read it to myself whenever i think of... Never mind!
      You spoke to me, God bless you.

3. Hmmm! Preach it! God bless you.

4. It could also be the other way round. You could be in Nigeria and your destiny lies overseas.

God has been telling you to move but you refused. One day, he will move you by force and maybe even through pain.

It happened to my family.

11. Is her husband an "actor" as stated? I am confused.

1. Yaba left escapee15 March 2019 at 12:41

He acted one movie thats not interesting sha, i guess u can call him an actor.

12. She's not just there,She's an epitome of beauty.

13. Suzu picture is not pronounced on this mag. she was some how over shadowed by the other three .@Blessed Princess

1. Because she was trying too hard to conceal her tummy. Lol
      Sometimes, we need to relax and let somethings be. Lol
      I love her still

14. I wonder why the deliberate pose by that whitie to overshadow my dear Susu.

Even the photographer no see am? She looks hidden.
    In fact, this picture is representative of how surpressed the black race is and worse still, how accepting we are of the white man's supposed superiority over the black.

1. What if she posed that way cos she's trying to hide her pregnancy?
      Just maybe..

15. Yet she can't act out what she studied in school. She's one of the over rated actors in the industry.

1. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐ŸปExactamente

16. They should have put her in the middle, she would have balanced out the 3 whities, she is hidden and her complexion is darkened as well because normally, she's fairer than this.

17. Ahe is blessed but not talented

18. She is alright but I don’t see originality in her work, she acts likes a fairytale princess

19. Susu Nigeria to the world!!!