Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Algerian President Bows To Pressure And Promises To Quit Office Before Handover Date...

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

Algerian President Bows To Pressure And Promises To Quit Office Before Handover Date...

Oh dear!!!!

Algerian President, Abdelaziz Bouteflika has announced his decision to quit office before the constitutional end of his tenure on April 28.

According to the BBC, Bouteflika’s announcement in a presidential statement on Monday followed tensed protests by members of the opposition party and critics of his government.
Protesters had carried slogans describing President Bouteflika’s new cabinet as “a blow to the people’s demands.”

The embattled leader, who faced mass protest against his government for over a month, had maintained his position as defence minister in a new cabinet he unveiled just on Sunday.

However, he kept as military chief of staff the powerful General Gaid Saleh, who had earlier called for the him to be declared unfit for office on health grounds.
His resignation means there will now be a transitional period.

Noteworthy is the fact that President Abdelaziz Bouteflika was Algerian Minister of Foreign Affairs from 1963 to 1979.

As President, he presided over the end of the bloody Algerian Civil War in 2002, and he ended emergency rule in February 2011 amidst regional unrest.
He was the president of the United Nations General Assembly for a term in 1974.
From dailypost

5 comments:

1. Have you seen this man they're calling president? I was shook when I saw him. People using him to gain access to power at the expense of the innocent citizens will never make heaven.

2. Buhari over to you. Please follow suit

1. Mumu, you don’t even know the state of the man and why he is resigning.

3. If only BuBu would visit this man...and do the needful...
    oh Chim!