Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BREXIT -Explanations And Your View

Thursday, April 04, 2019

BREXIT -Explanations And Your View

Some people do not Understand what all the Brexit Brouhaha is all about......

Some are asking,if the UK wants to leave the EU;Why is there so much noise and why are they wasting time and creating so much drama out of it.....

A BV sent this in and I am sure a lot of people are in this boat....

She says ''Please I will like you to post about brexit on your blog. I have been watching about it for months on Euro news and CNN and I still don't understand much about it and I see how citizens of Irish and some other European countries are not happy about it. I have tried Google and I am still confuse. I know I am not the only one in this situation and maybe your blog visitors who know much about brexit and brexit deals will break it down for us''.

57 comments:

1. Want to know more too.

2. Bvs living in the UK pls I want to ask. My fiance is a British citizen (born there and carries the passport). He lived there from age 18-23 for school but is resident and working here now.
    When we get married will i have to be resident in the UK before I can get the passport and for how long?. We both have good jobs here and not planning on relocating. I just need the passport.
    I know our kids can automatically get. But not sure of spouse.

1. Live and work there for 5 years and you get the passport.

2. 2 and half years first if marriage is still in tact another 2 and half years if marriage is still ongoing indefinite live to remain then passport. Shortest time 6 years. Some cases they will ask you to wait for 10 years.

3. You will have to live in the UK for five years before you can apply. Go to gov.org for more information. Immigration laws change all the time here so you will know what your options are.

4. Yes my darling, you have to live here oh.It is only your kids that will be British citizens by virtue of their father.You have to live here for about 5 years, not really sure but i know you have to live in the uk.

5. Thanks guys.

6. Not automatic for you. You need to live in the Uk for at least 5 years and be a tax paying citizen. Your kids also wont get the passport automatically except they are homegrown (school in the UK) or when born in the UK at the time your husband was there.

7. like they all said you have to leave in the UK for 5 years in total and must not be out of the country for more than 3 months i think before you can apply for the red passport. one thing you need to know about marrying a British is income, your boyfriend's must earn £18500.00 minimum yearly for you to qualify for a stay at the initial stage of application.

3. Am in the same WhatsApp group with poster..

4. Let me try as little I can to explain. BREXIT is an acronym used to indicate the readiness of UK (United Kingdom) wishing to leave the EU (European union).

England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland all made up the United Kingdom. This countries went on a referendum precisely on 23rd June 2016 to decide their continuous stay in the European Union.

On that referendum, over 30millions people voted as record may have it signifying 71.8% of voters turn out.

England opted to leave with 53.4% against 46.6% of those who chose to stay.

Wales also opted to leave as well with 52.5% against 47.8% of those staying.

Scotland and Northern Ireland chose to stay with Scotland having a 62% against 38% of those who want to leave. Northern Ireland in the other hand had 56% to 44% of those leaving.

1. Your answer are so correct... facts

2. I swear to God, this is copied so indicate ‘copied’ please. There is no way you would write four to six paragraphs with no grammatical mistakes in at least one paragraph. Oga, deceive others, not me.

3. Tj write copied at the end na, you cant expect us to believe those percenrages are in your head.

4. Copy and Paste TeeJay!
      "Let me try as little i can" is your only line from your head, its even with gbagaun.
      Next time give credit.

5. Hahahahaha if I copy this I would have gladly indicated like I have always do on copied post. I only picked up those percentage of votes online and add to my writing.

Whenever you people accused me of copying I only but laugh. I have challenged you guys on several occasions to always paste the link you always accused me of copying from but till date none have done that.

The day you do that I will reward whoever put up such link after been confirmed to be true.

Please I repeat again, someone should send the link I copy this from and get himself a reward of 20k.

6. *done*

@Jackie wow!!! You mean no mistakes spotted at my comment above? Then I have done well for myself if that be the case. Thanks for this confirmation.

7. Never mind them, they think everyone is dull.

5. For some years now there have been factions that believe the UK's contribution to the EU could be put to better use in sectors such as health. Immigration from EU countries to the UK was also on the increase and the Uk decided that for these reasons and others which time does not permit me to highlight, a referendum should take place. Under Camerons watch the result of the referendum in 2016 was for Britain to exit the EU. However bear in mind that EU laws govern the UK and there are close trade ties that allow easy access of goods across the EU. If Britain is leaving, these trade agreements have to change and most prominent of these relates to the fact that northern Ireland is part of the UK but the rest of Ireland is not.The movement of goods through this northern Irish border needs to be agreed upon to avoid problems. Hence there has to be a deal regarding how the UK trades through this border and with the rest of the EU after UK leaves the EU. In absence of a deal the economic impact could be disastrous. I hope this helps the BV.

6. 1. Britain or United Kingdom want to leave the European Union(EU)
    2. Britain consists of England,Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
    3. Republic of Ireland is another country in the EU sharing boarder with Britain
    4. Nothern Ireland folk have always wanted to join their kins in Republic of Ireland
    5. In the 2016 referendum, most Northern Ireland and Scotland people voted to remain in the EU for obvious reasons.
    Of course the referendum exiters won.
    6. That means that if UK should leave, the boarders between Northern Ireland and Irish Republic will be "solid rock"
    no human or goods moves in or out thereby separating families. And Britain won't let go off North Ireland (who are already beginning
    their "gra gra" afresh; explosives, riots etc.).
    7. EU folks do not want that boarder open as that will mean Britain "eating their cookies and having it" i.e. trading with
    EU, moving people across EU without any financial and economic obligations or price to pay for leaving.
    8. The law makers are in a dilemma as to how to leave; crash out and lose everything and look for new trade neighbors or exit and seal of
    that Irish boarder and risk political turmoil.
    9. Ahaaa, I hope say I don yarn una this tori and my friends; Naija girls go grab am well well. 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊
    Una see as companies don dey offload themselves for Britain, na im be say people dey lose jobs for that side now now.

1. Thanks my amiable Niger woman. I for like see your face, I know say e go smooth well well.

2. So you have brain like this

3. Short Prick Man..4 April 2019 at 13:17

If you are a woman and you wrote this, I am more than proud of you. I love women who are intelligible, only that intelligent ones no de too fine d way I like. But you did justice to this.

4. @Becky
      See as you don transport me go Niger Republic make Boko them finish me up. All these things wey una dey wish me o, there is God ooo.
      I be Nigerian woman (like sdk 😊 even though Germany snatch am vamoose), no be NAIJA girl ooo.
      That ya smooth face na correct yarns.😊😊😊😊
      But I never see ya own na.

5. Thanks ANG.
      You remind me so much of madam Xp.

7. We have gotten inputs on what Brexit is about but I'm going to explain why it isn't going to happen.

They fucked up by offering a referendum. They have no intention of leaving the EU because it's every British's politician retirement plan.

London based politicians have no clue that the country was gonna turn around and do this. They thought Brexit meant getting rid of brown people and East Europeans but anyone outside London should have seen it coming.

Now they have realize that their Healthcare system depend on all the foreigners working there. There isn't enough social housing for British citizens and wages are in decline.

Nothing has changed since the first initial LEAVE and the people that voted are just buyers remorse.

1. Well, referendum was part of the prime minister's manifesto before he was elected as the PM, hencevge came through with what he promised. The truth is that he didn't think that many people were gonna vote for Brexit.

8. anon 12:24 and tj,i prophecy into your life,before sunset recieve sense.you just throwing figures like your mentor obi china without explaining anything and making sense.why do some want to leave and the other dobt want? whats the economy implication? why is it a serious matter? what faith awaits those in good ties with the country involved.etc.you can do bettet biko.

1. Lmao, you took me out. You coulda just shared your views, we would appreciate your input than put down those that tried. 😒😒

2. You sound so stupid as well for not making any input rather attacking the one who gave a little insight of it. May my matter destroy you there as you have chosen to be foolish in life.

3. Shuooooooo!
      TJ don turn to destroyer?

4. Yaba left escapee4 April 2019 at 15:28

TeeJay no need for the insults, i'm surprised youre displaying such... its even so obvious you didnt type that from your head, so why so pained?

5. oya sorry tj.was just jokinh never knew you going to take it serious.sorry.no vex abeg.ema binu oh.one love.peace.

6. YLE I typed that from my head if you must know. I only picked up that figure online. You said I am pained? How many times have you respond to people that attacked me here? I guess you only read my comment without reading where the anonymous fired a short at me implying my input was senseless. When it involves me, you guys will turn a blind sight but when I respond you will come to preach for me. Una try very well.

7. Is okay @16:00. I also apologize for my response as well.

8. What faith? It is FATE yet you guys won't stop picking on TJ.

9. Teejay a guy gush what your woman goes through

10. It's GOSH not gush, and leave TJ alone abeg@@

9. Warning this is abit long and I've tried to speak as plainly as possible:
    The reason there is a brexit brouhaha is because the majority of people in the UK voted to leave the European Union, but the majority of politicians (those in power) voted to remain.
    Approximately 400 MPs out of 650 voted to remain in the EU and are using their position of power to try and sabotage the outcome, so that the UK remains in the EU or as closely linked to the EU as possible through a similar deal.
    There are MPs who although they do not agree with their constituents, they still wish to carry out what their constituents want.
    The fighting is because there is a massive division about whether we should still leave and what terms we leave with.
    There are different arguments for staying and for leaving (some credible and some nonsense on both sides), with the media and MPS trying to scare people about the economic consequences of leaving.

Theresa May says the EU are unwilling to change the current deal on the table, and there are those who think: it can be changed, we should leave without a deal or we should not leave at all.

I voted to leave for several reasons which include: the fact that I believe the EU is an anti Christ system (I recommend watching rape of europe it's on youtube by david hathaway),
    because economically being part of the EU is burdensome and as more european nations with lots of debts join, the stronger nations become economically responsible for them,
    because parliamentary sovereignty has been greatly eroded and diminished by EU and
    also because the president of the EU the man who holds the most power in the EU is not elected by the will of the people. He is elected only by the members of the European parliament. Members of the European Parliament are appointed via national election polls. So mep's can decide to appoint someone that the european population do not agree with. That is not a democracy.
    I believe it is possible for the UK to still have a good trading relationship with the EU and not be part of them.
    In my opinion it is likely the UK may go through some economic difficulty but that will only be in the short term, similar to when the UK decided not to let go of the pound when the Euro was created. I remember the pound being about 60/70p to the Euro but now the pound is stronger than the Euro.
    I believe the UK will eventually leave with a deal but sincerely in my heart I want the UK to leave without a deal, my prayer has been Father God let your will be done.

1. Nice analysis put up here. Thanks for the input.

2. Anti-Christ system, in what way exactly? Nigerians just like propaganda honestly.

3. This is the fall of the UK just like the Roman empire

4. Anon 14: 47..... quit yarning bullshit.
      You want the UK to leave the EU, Who are you? You voted leave because you acquired British Passport by marriage some 5-7years ago? Years back, when the UK was known as the dying man of Europe, the EU bailed them out. These EU countries have mutually benefited from each other over decades of years....they have fought and won wars together! They owe each other, that is why Brexit is so hard to deliver. Now, you my darling, are African...Nigerian, never forget that. The British Passport you and I hold, gives us the legal right to live and work in the Uk. Achieve the best we can, and do great things. However, we are different! We remain different. Our color clearly differentiates us. This is why people like Chuka Umunna will never be PM.... he’s not true white. Sad but that’s the truth. We are just red Passport holders. Do what we can, achieve the impossible and then go back home to Nigeria. There lies our birth rights.
      The EU is anti-Christ, pray tell darling how? How many European countries have you actually visited outside of the UK, I do not want to say live in, because I am certain you are yet to visit any EU country.
      Now listen and listen good.... the least developed of the EU countries is more developed then the UK. The UK when compared to Poland, yes Poland, would be classified as undeveloped..... SDK, correct me if I am wrong because I know you have traveled extensively. Now, the new entrants to the EU as a matter are well developed and designed then the Old EU members because the EU keeps pumping money into these new EU Countries to bring them to the same level as the old ones. Their economies are doing well! 80% of the polish community in the UK left after the brexit vote. Technological advancement, what has the UK got? 80% of NHS hospital equipment are from Germany. What about the car industry? What does the UK really produce in commercial quantity? Their economy is 80% financial services based. A no-Brexit deal will kill whatever is left of London as their financial headquarters of Europe. How do you explain citizens stockpiling foodstuff and medicine just in case of a no deal Brexit...Absolute bull crap!!!!
      I am a German/ British Passport holder. But I know where I have got 100% stake and that’s in Nigeria! The Nigerian Government is liable to me and other Nigerian citizens, not the EU government.

5. Anon 19:39 loud it! Completely on point. The number of redundancies my company has done in the last 2 years is unbelievable and this is just the beginning.

I'm always amused when I see Nigerians thinking they are British because they've got the passport. Story story story. You can NEVER belong. Never.

6. Hi Stella, can you post my comment please, I've noticed you didnt post, but I sent it over an hour ago. I've edited it slightly
      I am anonymous 14:47
      In response to anti Christ EU system: I would recommend you watch rape of Europe on you tube by David Hathaway. But to mention some key points about the history of the EU: the symbol of the EU is the woman riding on the beast (similar to the depiction in Revelations, representing babylon and the system that will usher in the Anti-Christ), the EU building was deliberately built to represent the tower of babel (Anti-God system in order to rebel against God, a system which God dismantled). These are not coincidences, I would encourage you to watch the youtube series by David Hathaway if you want to know more.

Hi Anon 19:39
      Your questions seem to be based on assumptions of who you think I am.
      I'm actually british born and raised, I have never lived outside the UK, however, I love my Nigerian heritage, have travelled a few times to Nigeria and absolutely love this blog!
      The way you have described the 'EU' is the same way you can describe the UK's relationship with 'america', but the UK is not linked in the same way. Fighting wars together and assisting one another economically does not mean they should have a relationship which prevents them from operating independently of each other.
      In my opinion the UK should return to parliamentary sovereignty and so should the other nations that are in Europe return to a system where they once again have autonomy over the laws that they make and the people they govern are involved in the laws that are created. Unfortunately, the laws created that affect all EU citizens are created by a few and the president of the EU, the most powerful man in the EU is not elected by the EU citizens he is president over. That is not democracy.

Regarding the EU being an anti Christ system, please read what I have said above.
      I've actually travelled alot in Europe, been travelling to countries in Europe since I was in my early teens - France, Italy, Greece, Malta etc.
      Although, I am yet to travel to German, it has never appealed to me, but my friend recently moved there for work so I intend on visiting her there.

I've attempted to provide a response to you in the politest way possible without drawing any conclusions about your background and to avoid being labelled as prejudiced, judgemental or just being wrong. Unlike you, who is wrong in your assumptions about me.

I provided my comment in response to the question raised, and I also provided my opinion and view of the matter at hand.
      You have also provided your opinion which seems unfortunately not to be based on facts but on figures you may have plucked out of the air or scaremongering published in some articles of the press.
      Your closing comment about having a 100% stake only in Nigeria is your decision by virtue of the fact that you only work in the UK. My identity has alot to do with the fact that I am British Born and raised and although I am passionate about Nigeria as it is my parent's place of birth, my connection to the UK is actually just as important as my connection to Nigeria.
      I do not agree that there will never be a black or ethnic prime minister, there will be one in time.
      MP Chuka Ummuna is unlikely to ever become prime minister because he is not liked, not because of his race, he initially was touted as a future prime minister in the early days before people knew alot about him - he was popular in the press and in political circles. But his arrogance has dissuaded alot of people who would have supported him to no longer do so.
      I hope the information I have provided helps.

7. Well spoken!

10. This will be long, apologies in advance

* First the geography and nuances
    UK is made up of Great Britain - GB (England, Scotland & Wales) and Northern Ireland - NI
    GB & Ireland are two separate land masses/ Islands really.
    Ireland includes NI and the Republic of Ireland ( part of the EU)
    The issue is that Ireland contains 2 nations that are on opposite sides in this matter and there is no border between them.

* What is the backstop?
    Being part of the EU customs union means free movement of people, goods, and a common tax on non EU goods. UK wants to leave this agreement. But NI (a part of the UK) shares an open border with the Republic (part of the EU). The trouble arises with the fact that there could still be free movement between EU & UK stemming from the Irish situation.
    The EU initially proposed for NI to maintain EU trade laws, while the rest of GB could leave effectively. This didn't sit well as it excludes NI from the UK, to an extent.

* This is where Theresa May's (Prime Minister - PM) deal comes in. She negotiated the backstop deal, leaving the whole UK somewhat in the customs union for 2 years or so, with the aim to draw out a permanent border solution during this period. This deal has failed 3 times now. Some members of her own party (Tory/ Conservatives) didn't like it, as well as other parties. Currently, she is in talks with other parties to agree on a deal that would most likely lead to a Soft Brexit. There is an EU summit next Wednesday, where she will present this deal (if she is able to agree on one before then) to the EU leaders. They will either accept this ( Brexit will then happen on May 22nd) or if there is no deal by the summit, Britain could be forced to leave on April 12th without a deal or Brexit could be delayed.
    That's the current situation.

For some more nuances:
    Why don't they just put a border between NI and the Republic so that movement of people/goods can be monitored?
    Ireland, as a whole has had issues in the past. The Good Friday Agreement exists to keep the peace in Ireland. I believe an open border is necessary for that treaty.

Why won't the PM agree for NI only to be subject to EU terms, that way the rest of GB can move forward?
    Well, that idea isn't fair to NI citizens that wish to be British, plus it basically divides the UK. Additionally, the PM needs the support of the NI party: DUP. Some time last year she called for a snap election, thinking she would win more seats for her party and thus make it easier to pass her deals and all. Unfortunately, she lost seats to the Labour party and she had to make a deal with the DUP to maintain a clear majority in the House. I believe the DUP wants NI to be on the same page as GB. That would've been one of their terms when she asked for their support.

What of a no deal Brexit?
    Well, I think this will be the most chaotic outcome, if they are forced to leave on the 12th. See it like this: people, goods, food, etc. would technically not be allowed to move between the UK and EU, as free movement would end. But as there is no deal, there would be no plan, so it would just be a really confusing event. The UK economy would of course take a downward spiral, possibly the EU as well, but to a lesser extent.

Thoughts on a second referendum?
    I do agree with the thought that calling for a 2nd vote is a blatant disregard for democracy. Like it or not, Brexit won fair and square the first time. But I do recognise that maybe some people would vote differently now, seeing the chaos surrounding everything. If that is enough reason to vote again, I don't know, it's just what I think.

That's it really. If you follow from today, you will be right in the middle of the cross party talks between the PM and Jeremy Corbyn (leader of the Labour party). We will also know more by next Wednesday.

1. This is a fairly good summary of the current situation and I think you have done a great job of bringing people up to date on the withdrawal agreement.
      I commented as anonymous on 14:47 above.
      I disagree with your perspective on no deal, only cause it is not true.
      Of course there will still be movement between the UK and EU but no longer under free movement of goods, it will now be subject to world trade organisation terms. The government and EU in anticipation of no deal have put measures in place, so it is unlikely to lead to the chaos that is peddled by those who wish to remain. It is certainly likely to lead to delays, but not chaos.

2. Thank you!
      Yes, I agree with you on the no deal point.
      I fear in my oversimplification of the process, I erred and portrayed project doom.
      Delays is probably what I meant. I guess that's what I define as chaos: traffic
      The negative effect on the economy will be immediate and short lived. The pound has been going up and down this entire time, reacting to the situation on ground.
      It's the speculative nature of the market.
      I really believe that the UK economy will recover from whatever the outcome is, especially once they're able to have trade talks of their own.
      I have always believed in the ability of the UK economy to survive a no deal Brexit.
      It's a shame your ministers won't give it a chance, given that the people who actually voted Brexit don't mind a no deal scenario.

3. Thank you Anon!
      Yes, I agree with you on the no deal point.
      I fear in my oversimplification of the process, I erred and portrayed project doom.
      Delays is probably what I meant. I guess that's what I define as chaos: traffic
      I'm not even expecting a change at the Irish border. I think I would still be able to go between Dublin and Belfast seamlessly, in a no deal event.
      The negative effect on the economy will be immediate and short lived. The pound has been going up and down this entire time, reacting to the situation on ground.
      It's the speculative nature of the market.
      I think that the UK economy will recover from whatever the outcome is, especially once they're able to have trade talks of their own.
      I have always thought that the UK can survive a no deal Brexit.
      It's a shame your ministers won't give it a chance, given that the people who actually voted Brexit don't mind a no deal scenario.

4. Thank you too!

11. It makes no difference. Is UK part of the EU in the first place? They are still using their Sterling instead of Euro. At least they won't be under the administration of EU Juncker.

12. Brilliant! Thank God we also have smart ones on this blog, not only throlls. I love them intelligent & I love learning new stuff every day. Made my day guys.

1. I have really enjoyed this discussion too!

13. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere4 April 2019 at 20:52

The only thing I hate this your brexit issue for is that I can’t trade GBP/USD right now, it’s so volatile. Euro/usd got me now. Waiting anxiously for non farm payroll news tomorrow. Hmmm I have a feeling it’s going to be bullish.