Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Corps Member Who Helped State Govt And Was Not Rewarded Or Acknowledged Tells Her Story...

Friday, April 26, 2019

Corps Member Who Helped State Govt And Was Not Rewarded Or Acknowledged Tells Her Story...

She gave it her best shot when she was a Corps member but nothing came out of it and today,she is still paying off the debt acquired..
She talks about the hatred she felt for Nigeria when it happened......

''It started when I was a Corps member in the 2013/2014 in Ondo state. 

I got a girl to be living with me and when i took her to a nearby school to register her, on getting there, the headmistress said she couldnt be admitted cos there were no chairs and lockers and even during the rain, they beg the children not to come to school cos of leaking roofs.

When I got home I couldn't sleep.... The thought of the kids sitting on the floor kept disturbing me.

The next CDS, the zonal inspector spoke to us about community development projects. I went to see  the zonal inspector and after the meeting, he told me more and even said the project would be commissioned by NYSC and the government too would award me with a job after the commissioning....

I went to the school(fanibi community pry school Akure) to tell the headmistress about my intention,and she was happy ........ She brought out the pupils, they sang and prayed that day.

Work began.... The site engineers said it would cost N1.3m to renovate the classrooms and provide at least 80 chairs and lockers....

Where will I get the money from? I Went back to the Zonal Inspector and he told me to write a proposal and give to people. I did and I got only #45k and others gave me stories and NYSC kept reminding me that it must be concluded before the end of the service year, and 3 months was gone already.

I went for a loan with the hope of paying it back when I start working..... To cut the long story short, God helped me and the project was completed 4 weeks before the passing out parade. 

I went back to NYSC and they kept telling me how busy they were, they didn't commission it not to talk of the government seeing it.

I wept, begged them and did all I could and even told them i am owing.... All they did was gave me a certificate.

I hated my country. What kind of country is this that keeps saying the government can't do it all alone and yet does not appreciate those doing it.....
I felt cheated.. And to even say i am still paying the loan is a story for another day cos the interest is killing.

But anytime I visit School and see the smile on those little angels faces, i feel happy and it pushes me to do more cos I know that I have made that little child love school more and Encouraged that little girl to love education and be a great woman in future...

I have helped the Government and I am an education ambassador in Nigeria.....

To all the ex Corps members like me, that did one thing or the other and the govt didn't even shake your hands not to talk of saying thank you, God will repay us.
God bless my country''.

This is wickedness but my dear,move on oh...Na so Nigeria be!!!!..

98 comments:

1. Intent is very important in all undertakings. Do things that will give you fulfillment whether you’re praised or ignored.

1. Thank you. I feel for her but do things without expecting a reward and don't pass your capacity. Loan to build school?

2. I agree.
      She did well, but I really cant place her intent. Was it to get praised by NYSC and get a Govt. job afterwards?? Or was it just to make the children happy?

I think if it was the later, she wont feel as burnt. Yes, i know corpers who used their NYSC year to achieve a lot of things and Govt didnt repay them. And they are not lamenting.

I wrote an article that made front page of the state monthly bulletin. When I did it I didnt care about anyone giving me anything, i just did my job cos I saw all the substandard stuff being published. Next thing my corper friends were calling me upandan and everyone was talking about it so much that the head of the parastatal organized a press conference amd gave me a cash prize (which i shared with the team sef).

It seems to me that she bent all the way backwards just to gain recognition. I believe there are smaller projects she would have undertaken with less money sef. I feel for her but sometimes God let's us pass through things to teach us a lesson. Only He can reward you and his reward may not be at our own timing.

3. Chikito may your oversabi not put you in trouble one day. How is writing on a front page bulletin the same as taking a 1.3m loan for school project? And to think you all feel she doesn't need an acknowledgement is really sad. Everyone needs a pat on the back for something they did right, especially when such a thing wasn't their responsibility in the first place. It serves as an encouragement for others to do even more.

4. All of you up here writing stupid comments, did you pass through NYSC at all. Service wey be say, 1 week after allowed reach your hand, the money don finish. You can imagine her paying loan plus interest with how much allowance 😏😏.
      Don't talk nonsense if you can't reason, read and waka pass..
      Was a copper expected to use her money to fund government projects or what are you people saying sef, is she Otedolas daughter or do her parents share from the national cake our stupid, irresponsible politicians are embezzling?
      Mtcheeeeeeeew.
      It's a good thing she's spoken out, she should let go. God will reward her.

5. Ex Corps member, I can authoritatively tell you that you did not tell your LGI nor your ZI that you took a loan to carry out any personal project.
      Are you aware that if the NYSC had been told that your project was being financed with a loan, they'd cancel the entire thing?
      Also, no NYSC official will guarantee you that you would be given employment by the State Government for carrying out a personal CDS project. They'd only tell you that, if you carry out a personal project and it's rated the best for your Batch, the State Government will offer you an employment opportunity. It's not that everyone who carries out a project gets employed by the State.
      One last thing, all projects both personal and ground are supposed to have been commissioned minimum of 3weeks before passing out meanwhile, that was about the time you were completing yours.
      It was a very commendable effort but I believe you didn't do a proper research and weren't well informed...

6. 14:24 if you remove your biase for 'chikito' and re-read what I wrote again you would see that I wrote about not doing that to gain recognition but being happy when it came. I am no way comparing the two. I am not overwhelemed in my over-sabi, enough to go and borrow money for Nigerian Government cos I expect no favours in return

I also wrote about other corp members doing more and not feeling burnt because they weren't recognized. I know a corp member in my set who renovated a 4-storey building Govt. School in Lagos - a more expensive city. All she got was a handshake from the Gov. and she was sooo excited.

If you didnt catch those two points, then I am sorry I can't help your emotional blindness.

7. 🔊...Peperipe.. peperipepe... nor go dey do pass yourself 🎤🎼🎵🎶

8. Chikito it's you who didn't catch her point. I'm sure you didnt read the part where she said she got nothing. Not even a hand shake? At least your friend got one.

9. Well at this point I cant make it my headache.
      Lets see who reads this post so she can get some relief - money, job and/or acknowledgement

10. I agree
      Intent is very import
      Our fulfilment shoul come from our good deeds not from our expectation of recognition,
      even the bible encourages us on this .

11. Anon 16:43 was she doing it go get something?
      Or she did it out of charity?
      If she did it out of charity she should move on and know that her good would be brought to book by God in ways she never expected.

2. God will judge them. That was how Governor Amaechi refused to pay us our one year state alawee, RV2013/14 Batch B corpers till date. They are rogues.

1. Even 2012 batch c no pay.

2. Really, dem no pay una allowee? How did you survive, allowee wey be say 1 or 2 weeks after collecting, the thing don finish.
      Nigeria is a totally messed up country aswear.

3. Anon 14:44, you didnt understand the allowee was talking about. She meant the state allowee which is being paid after your service year not the normal federal allowee.

4. Anonymous 16:46, allowee na allowee cos I don't understand you.
      I served with IITA in ibadan and we were paid monthly plus the federal allowee and this is 18 years ago.
      I didn't know State allowee is paid after service year, just hearing that for the first time. I thought they pay everyone monthly.

5. I'm just knowing that state pays allowee. I didnt receive a dime from Imo state government when i served in 2014 sha.

6. Not all states pay state allowee. I only know of Rivers State

3. Don't get it. Borrow money to facilitate CD project hoping to get reward? Wrong investment.

1. Thank you native doc.why did she have to go so far for recognition. This kind eye service landed her inthe mess she is...all coz of state award and job. Who send u work nne. You got 45k you would have used to even pay some of the students fees but u chose to carry load bigger than u. Haba!
      Well, this is the era of surprises...lets hope a good individual will help her out of her travails.

2. Lol, I laugh in Spanish. Same thing happened to me when I served. I tried to source for funds for desks and chairs for this primary school in my area. After all the work, I got 50k. I jejely went and dug a well with a tap in the same school as they didn't have water. I didn't bother reporting it to NYSC. I just did my bit with no debts. The headmistress was very grateful. Well, she got the recognition that she wanted but that debt wasn't a smart choice.

3. Eye service or not, at least she impacted in the lives of people and she'll forever be remembered. What did you ever do to be remembered for?

4. Let remove emotions folks if her intent was to get recognition and award then she ought to abide by the rules of the game, NTSC will always reiterates right from orientation camp that you should not use your personal fund for any project not to talk of obtaining loan,Sincerely I pity her but she failed to carryout her research diligently. Today is NYsc presidential award presentation

5. Exactly
      There's no point being sentimental
      Let us analyse this objectively.
      Instead of making lame comments .
      Some people cannot talk without attaching so much sentiment

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Good intentions but bad approach
    Never take a loan to do any such work.

1. Never take a loan and also never carry out an act of charity with the hope of reward or acknowledgement.
      God is the rewarder of every good deeds .

6. Ondo state. Which governor was there when this was done. Wicked government and local government chairman that can't take care of their people.

It is owambe party you will see them. Useless people.

Lady you tried, your rewards is in heaven.

1. Lol @ your reward is in heaven. Una no go kee someone with lafta 🤣🤣😂😂😂

2. Did you read where she said,NYSC did not commission the project? How would the government be aware,You forget there are protocols for such intervention. How you linked Owanbe to this no follow.

7. That means she didn't do it from her heart. She was expecting a reward....Rubbish eye service

1. A corper spent 1.3m and you guys are saying she didn't do it from her heart?? I really don't get it.

2. everyone deserves a reward, you think without using your brain

3. Neither do I. Eye service or not. Recognition or not what matters is her effort and contribution to the betterment of the environment she found herself in. Why wouldn't she even do it Recognition? Even Dangote does whatever he does for recognition how much less a corper that is just starting life.
      The fact is they didn't try at all. They could have at least officially commissioned the place to boost her CV.

8. This isn't fair at all, haaaaa! This is wickedness of the highest order, so sorry dear. God is kuku watching them.

9. Chai!
    I hope the people that matter get to see this post

10. You have laudable intent my dear, but it was very stupid of you to borrow money for such project. Stay within your pocket!. Again you didn't do it for our inept Government, you did it for the kids and you will definitely be rewarded somehow with time. Pls move on and don't stop being good.

11. Dont do anything in expectations of something.. God will reward u dear

12. Forget govt. I pray someone comes to this lady's aid, offset that loan she's paying and compensate her with a good job.
    These are the people that shld be rewarded and not that girl that was threatening Success's parents. I pray this can also go viral.

1. As far as this has gone viral
      People that would love to be noticed would offer her Cash gift and take pictures for the gram
      . So her help is only some hours away

13. A Corp member is not expected to use his/her money for community development projects. If you use your personal money such project won't be approved. You are required to state in your proposal how you would raise funds from the community to complete the project. Loans are not acceptable.

1. Exactly what I commented under a thread up there.

14. Ummm... it’s supposed to be a good thing you did but not so wise. You never ever borrow money to finance NYSC project, if you can’t get enough sponsorship, leave it undone and nobody will kill you. The way you narrate it makes it seem like you did it just for recognition and in order to get government job.

15. That was how Governor Amaechi refused to pay us our alawee of one year,state alawee ooo. RV2013/2014 batch B. If you know him ask him to pay us ooo

16. If it is one celebrity that did it now they would host the person to a dinner and all sort....mtcheeeww

17. My dear will reward you okay

18. You did this stuff expecting a reward Or political appointment. How can you take a loan to help build a classroom. It isn't a wise decision and the fact that you were waiting for proper commissioning of the classroom shows its all eye service. I know a Corp member that donated school bags, stationaries,sandal etc, yet he wants to remain anonymous because he did it from his heart. Some youth Corp members are offering scholarships to student at the University level. Madam, all you did was eye service. You are also sharing the story online. *side eyes*

1. Exactly. Her going further to share it online just diminishes what was supposed to be a good action if she did it from her heart. Truth be told, the government and NYSC do not owe her anything. We were even warned in my own batch not to use our personal money for project and we should not undertake projects that will be too much to handle financially except we are sure of where the money will come from. Such projects are supposed to be voluntary and something you do out of the goodness of your heart. But trust Nigerians who will even call photographer to snap them giving food or money to beggars

2. Thank you guys for commenting reasonably ,
      People do things and want to remain anonymous cos the purpose of carrying acts of charity is more like for soul fulfilment.
      Rather than public recognition.

19. Yes she was expecting a job as promised, what is wrong in that? Is it by force to do something without expecting a reward?. Now she will get back her money, a job and even more cos this story will spread like wildfire and get to the politicians and rich philanthropists.

20. Adanma😘!!! Jelly Sandals, Jelly Shoes & More.... @0803715164926 April 2019 at 12:36

Good will surely reward you dear!!

21. My late brother did his own. He renovated the entire school in ole. Delta state..when it was time to give job they stole it from him..i was there the governor shaked him and told him he is going to get immediate employment. How he was cheated from it was so painful. For years he was miserable and depressed cos he didnt get anyother job for 6yrs. B4 he started a business..when he started smiling God called him home

22. Ahhh! Akure, I'm not surprised. You are never getting compensated. I did my nysc in akure between 2012/2013. The Era of only posting to schools or farms. Most of the schools were public schools. We were advised to teach in the public schools with a pay of 5k from the state govt monthly. Except, we wouldn't see our pay till the end of our service year. We stupidly agreed. Till date, nothing has been paid. They'll fool us, tell us to come and write name and acct nos. How many times did we do that? Towards the end of nysc, we started asking questions as to the state of our money, and we were told that we'll get it 3months after we pass out. For where!? Ondo state and Corp members, I raise hands for them!

1. I wonder how you can boast of being a graduate with such terrible English.

2. Governor Ibikunle Amosu tried for us then.

23. This comment has been removed by the author.

24. The intention is suspect.

Approach, totally wrong.

What to do now? Learn, pay your debt and move on.

1. Chop.kiss

Well now that this is viral
      She would get compensated

Where is Apostle Suleiman and Prophet fufeyin if I got the spelling right .

Make I run before they come for me 🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🙆🏽‍♀️🙆🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🙆🏽‍♀️🙆🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️

25. Some of you read with your nose.
    Zero comprehension!
    #smh

1. Lmao 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
      Loool
      Didnt know this upset you too .

26. Chai! I feel for her though. Just like someone rightly said, good intent but bad approach.

I served in a secondary school in Benue state, 2010/2011 batch A. I was paid N9000 plus by the federal government and N2500 by the school. Towards the end of my service year, the vice principal-Academics of the school approached me and asked what I would do for the school,that some Corp members did amazing projects and were awarded by the state government. I smiled and ignored his question. I managed to buy 2 big cartons of white chalk at the end of the day. I can't come and displease myself and my little savings to please them mbok.

Don't get me wrong though, anyone who is buoyant enough and wants to carry out a project should please do.

27. Your motive was totally wrong.
    That's why you are pained.
    When your motive is right, you attract resources and help.

That way, God will by Himself reward you.

28. She went too far. Because of the vain promise. It is not her duty.

29. This lady should be compensated. The big men in Ondo State should reward her.

30. And I know this call out is to get a job and cash reward. So, congrats. Because it will.

1. Lmao 🤣🤣🤣😂😂🤣
      Woman wey sabi
      In this day of social media eye service
      She would be overly rewarded

31. She went too far. Because of the vain promise. It is not her duty.

32. Only God will rewards her, nice one.

33. My dear you have mind o. I pray you get the help you need. Abeg Rivers State, you didn’t pay me any allowance, am still keeping the magazine, as you said it will be used for identification.

1. She will
      All those pastors and prophets Would gift her money for pay off the loan and extra cash to start up a business plus maybe a brand new car

Stella please keep us updated

2. 😂😂😂 All the best in your wait and I really mean it. It’s terrible of them not to have paid.

3. Tutu you want rant ya own !!!
      Ngwa send chronicles

34. I honestly thing she was just young and naive. She did a brave and remarkable thing, even much more than those who are elected in office. I am glad she has no regrets about what she did.

Many of you act like you forgot what it felt like to be young, naive and gullible. How you thought you would change the world and be a part of the movement in your country to bring it into modern times. She was filled with youthful zeal and passion for her country, and learned a very hard lesson that the country is just a hell hole, damned if you do and damned if you don't, not to mention the hypocrisy of the entire NYSC program. These are the young ppl the country needs, but it is ppl like herself that it drives away. She will take her greatness elsewhere and go build up some other country into glory and I wish her all the best for her future. Put that project on your resume and apply for overseas jobs and or Master's degree programs in countries where you get it for free. Go wherever you are valued and appreciated, and don't give any undue loyalty to Nigeria because it has not shown any loyalty to you.

35. From the comments above, now know where our problem is rooted; the youths!

How can you all lack empathy and still blame this lady?
    May God forgive you all and bless this beautiful lady.

1. We need to call a spade a spade...a wheel barrow a wheel barrow.

So that tomorrow another corp member will not go and borrow money from bank to build a toilet for a community.

2. Thanks G n M!
      Which youth??? There policies and procedures everywhere. If a person went and did what they were asked not to (during orientation) we should now stand and fight with them? Its like you dont see how youths stand and fight for abducted corpers on duty or corpers who were hired by INEC and complained that they were not paid. Enough of this blackmail on Nigerian youths biko. We are not always the problem.

3. Exactly I'm wondering why people are just commenting blindly instead of highlight her mistakes so others can learn .

4. Anon 15.09 on the contrary, the problem is people like you who fail to follow laid down rules and expect empathy to take the place of due process.
      Before a Corps member embarks on any project, he/she is expected to go for proper briefing and to be very sincere in all his/her dealings.

5. @mama Mia please ignore anon 15:09
      Trying to sound intelligent but making a joke out of himself/herself.

36. same thing here sis, by13A. I installed a well equipped library at Kiama Grammar sch Bayelsa. nothing was done as regard compensation

1. Compensation?

Your words reeks of entitlement
      And your actions are questionable
      Did you do it for the love of the people or with the hope of cashing out ?

37. So she was expecting a reward,she is a novice, n.y.s.c projects are selfless Acts, any reward is a bonus,her intent after the project is super wrong but she shouldn't cry too much,her reward will come.

1. I never did Nysc so I really dont know much
      But however in general terms
      Anyone carrying a selfless act should have no expectations at all.

38. lol....my sister, i feel for you a bit because i also used my service year for such stuffs batch A 2018 in Nasarawa State, i started a foundation, even brought in other corp members serving in other states to be involved, we carried out sensitization exercises, donated lots of stuffs but i never even told my NYSC officials because i knew it would be pointless and it would not yield anything, i simply did it out of love for the children and now i always feel happy an fulfilled when i remember my service year. the mistake you made was borrowing money, i sourced for funds with donations and my own personal alawee.
    This is Nigeria for you, when my LI got to hear of all I've done, i didn't even get a thank you but i know God has a better plan, at least you have a platform where you could tell your story

1. Exactly
      The highlight here is *making the mistake of borrowing money *
      Charity work doesn't always have the immediate reward but God is surely the rewarder.
      Carrying out a project that would yield profit and carrying out a project for the good of the people are two different things.
      So borrowing money for this action was a very wrong move.

39. You don't reward stupidity .

If she had used the loan for a BUSINESS , it would have made loads of sense

And we blame politicians who take out loans for politics ????

But to build a school for a reward and a job?????
    I'm surprised she could write this
    Who stood as guarantor for the loan?
    What did she say the loan was for when applying for it?
    The intent for the school renovation was selfish.

God help us all pay up out debts in Jesus name.