Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former INEC Chairman Jega Alleges Fraud In 2019 Elections...

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Former INEC Chairman Jega Alleges Fraud In 2019 Elections...

Prof. Attahiru Jega, former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has faulted the conduct of some university lecturers co-opted as adhoc staff by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, during the last general elections.

Speaking at the annual conference of the Fulbright Alumni Association of Nigeria at Bayero University Kano (BUK), Jega alleged that politicians used university lecturers to commit irregularities during the elections, especially in Kano state.

He said the BUK lecturers who worked with politicians to perpetrate ‘all sorts of irregularities’ betrayed the confidence reposed on them by compromising the electoral process.

Jega who himself is a former vice-chancellor of BUK, oversaw the 2015 election which was described in many quarters as free and fair.

He said, “I think the major crisis in Nigeria’s democracy is that our electoral integrity has been under assault, compromised and undermined by those who have control over the process.

“Look at what happened during the last elections, and the story of irregularities being spread even in the four walls of BUK.

“The politicians, through crooked means, got alliances with lecturers in the university to compromise the system and they perpetrated all sort of irregularities, which pave way for a faulty process for the continued entrenchment of bad people in governance.

“Maybe, I am preaching to the converted or I am talking nonsense but frankly speaking, I am beginning to think that we are not taking the obligations of scholarship and intellectual engagement with the seriousness it deserves.”
from dalypost

15 comments:

1. Lecturers are one of the most corrupt human being in Naija. So I'm not surprised they were used to rig the election.

2. Well said! This is one man I respect a lot!! The real Mr integrity!!!

3. Lecturers commit election malpractice but they won't face panel but when its the students they carry the case on their head like agege bread.

1. Which integrity, he should go and sit down. Because he has been dumped he's now forming 'the man is good'.

5. Mr integrity my foot!
    After supervising underaged voters in Kano and other North states!
    Jega thought that Buhari would carry him along in his government.He is now wailing because he has been used to unseat Jonathan and he has been dumped!
    *tongue out*

1. No, he isn’t wailing. In fact, they wanted to extend his tenure but he said he was done. That was principle there. Since you claim that he was used to unseat Jonathan, I would advise you not to forget that he was the same INEC chairman that declared Jonathan as winner in 2011. So that wasn’t bad right? The bad one was because Jona lost out. You can continue wailing. You will never beat the man’s name in history. Never. And you can never beat his academic and intellectual prowess. Look back his history before he became INEC chairman. Days of active and proud ASUU. Be crying over Jona’s loss. We have left there years ago. We are now in 2019 about to swear in Bubu again. Swallow that.

2. Anon 10.03. Aka jegas houseboy,wehcome

6. Don't mind the foolish jega. Why are you complaining. You started it, so enjoy the blessings everyone is experiencing.

I thought you would have been given NNPC MD job as you brought your aboki in.

Yeye. Stella no chop this comment. They are all using style to complain as it is not favoring them. .

7. May be he knew that Atiku won.

Mao Akuh

8. Jega is an educated man with integrity. I forsee him ruling this nation someday.

1. What useless Intergrity ???