Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Caught Withdrawing Money Without ATM Card

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Man Caught Withdrawing Money Without ATM Card

Huh?

A young man identified as Azeez Morufu, was caught while allegedly collecting money from an Automated Teller Machine (ATM) without using naira MasterCard, popularly known as ‘ATM card’ in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital on Tuesday.

It was gathered that Morufu was caught early Tuesday at ATM points of one of the new generation banks beside the Ibadan zonal headquarters of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) on Oba Adebimpe Road, Dugbe.

A source revealed that the suspect was caught when a passer-by saw him with a huge amount of money at the machine.

He added that Morufu who made some confessions after he was caught said he has a code he always input on the ATM to dispense without a card.

An eye witness, who drew the attention of others to the scene, explained that she became suspicious when she noticed the young man in dirty clothes was withdrawing huge amount from the ATM. She said that the suspect has, however, been handed over to police from the Iyaganku division.

From Daily Post

49 comments:

1. This is serious. Nigerians are always good in inventing all manner of crimes related technics. I bet that wasn't his first time doing that. The bank must have been running into loss as a result of his actions as no account will be debited for those withdraw.

1. ..."crime-related"

...running into "losses" or into "a" loss

...debited for those "withdrawals"

Oh Chineke!

2. Thanks for the corrections. I am not ashamed to learn from my mistake.

3. You just earned my respect.

2. Lol. It could be a card
    less withdrawal tho

1. Thank you
      Very illiterate police and civilians. They don't know there is what we call cardless withdrawal. You don't need your ATM card for this

3. So that passer by, Na to dey do amebo be ya work?... Anyhoo, peeps like these should be trained to be hackers! At least Russia and America have them?

4. Why drawing attention of others, they swear for u? Abeg where is d guy, I want to be ur friend ��

5. I'm taking a wild guess- probably a technician who has a vague knowledge of ATM installation and maintenance.
    I've heard of this before.

6. It’s possible and it’s not a crime. Y’all need to read more 🙄

1. It is very possible and it is not even a crime. It's just a cardless means of withdrawing money. Very legal. All you need is your special code to withdraw the money which is debited from your personal bank account... Nigerians, you all need to read more and stay updated. So the illiterate police arrested him? I just hope the police misbehaves so they can get sued and then pay the price for their ignorance. So even Teejay that acts pompous like he is a island of knowledge doesn't know?? All is well...

2. Miss/Mr anonymous sharap there..no one knows it all so pls leave Teejay

7. How's this possible? What will I not hear in this my country

1. Haven't you heard of careless withdrawal

2. Sterling bank sent this to me. It’s possible. Diamond bank too it’s not new

8. Nigeria and their abracadabra. Someone working in the bank must have given him that code and he is withdrawing for him or her and will only get a pittance.

9. There is something called "cardless withdrawal"where your bank assigns u with a code that u can use to make withdrawals without your debit card

10. Replies
    1. Even you too? your native work no be here, enter shrine

11. P. Scheherazade10 April 2019 at 12:03

But there is cardless withdrawal available now in most banks.

12. Its cardless withdrawal joor.he used his phone to generate his code.lol

13. Cardless withdrawal is not new to the banking system. I have done several cardless withdrawal using the now defunct Diamond bank ATM. This man's case might be fraudulent though, but cardless cash withdrawal on ATM is possible.

1. I have done cardless withdrawal many times. It's better. I don't even have an Atm card

14. Cardless transaction oh!

15. Its very possible, my fiance misplaced his atm card and did cardless withdrawal but with a code ofcourse. Its not a crime please,he got a lot of stares too. Some nigerians arent enlightened.

1. LMAO 😁😀, we learn everyday here, I'm just learning this now

16. But there is Cardless withdrawal nau

17. Obviously a lot of people haven't heard about cardless withdrawal

18. It could have been card less withdrawal na.

19. In naija there is cardless withdrawals. Lol imagine me that use to like doing it,that is how i would end up in police custody. Lol funny news

1. Cashless withdrawal has a limit. Di you not see he was caught with a huge amount of money.

By the way, how did they see that he had done the withdrawal card? That;s how people peep at your pin and all sorts when you are carrying out a transaction at the ATM.

20. what is Naija waiting for? Azeez Morufu should be recorded in the Guinness book of records. He's a genius.

21. Detective Adaobi10 April 2019 at 14:57

In the UK, I always withdraw money from a cash machine without my card but the amount to be withdrawn has a limit of 150 quid or so.

22. Card less withdrawal from his bank account or from the ATM itself?

23. Wow. I'm surprised many don't know there is cardless withdrawal.

24. I have not heard of Cardless withdrawer o..

25. There is cardless withdrawal.

26. It's so unfortunate most BVs with data are olodos.

27. Police will be so happy to see the guy and they'll even ask him to teach them how to withdraw without ATM card.

Chinwe Uba

28. It is calls careless withdrawal not fraud.