Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Embassy Clarifies It's Stand On Dress Code For Visa Interviews

Friday, April 19, 2019

US Embassy Clarifies It's Stand On Dress Code For Visa Interviews

The United States Embassy in Nigeria has clarified that dress code is not a requirement for obtaining the country’s visa.

Speaking during a Facebook live session on Wednesday, Consular Officers said the applicants could come for interview in traditional Nigerian dresses which they find unique.

The officials, who addressed common mistakes seen on DS 160 application form, maintained that an applicant does not need to know anyone in the US or have a prior travelling experience to be granted a visa.

When asked if dress code is being considered during interviews, an official said: “No. It’s not a consideration when doing your interview.

“Be comfortable. Don’t feel like you need to put on a suit if you don’t usually wear a suit. Don’t wear a suit. Wear what you would wear if you are going to any normal appointment.

“We want you to be you. We want you to be as relaxed as possible for the interview. Talk to us.”

On Monday, the Embassy insisted that contrary to popular opinion, it doesn’t enjoy denying Nigerians visa.

From Daily Post

36 comments:

1. I hope nija people will not start wearing singlets and shorts to go to US embassy

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you sabi ya people na 🀣

2. 🀣🀣🀣🀣they can over do eh

2. Story, story
    Nothing new here.

3. The only important thing is for you to make them see reasons that will make you come to Nigeria if your leg touch US.. If they feel that you will not leave US if you enter there, it will be difficult for them to grant you entry.

4. standard dress code in a business formal environment is required while attending interview. Applicants are mostly adjudged by body language.

5. I was denied visa last week. I wanted to go and birth my baby in US. I will try again. THANK God my pregnancy hasn't advanced. Blog visitors pls who has tips on how to get US visa. Thanks.

1. Don't fidget or act like your life depends on it. Act normal

2. Use conference, use abuja center and it’s luck. Recently very few are given visa.

3. Let it be clear that is what you want to do. Get your Doctor in US correspondence, do not lie about anything. Tell them You want better medical care during childbirth and tourism. If they ask you if you have come before and was denied you say "yes". The thing is it depends on who interviews you. I wish you all the best. So if you have a relative in the city where you plan to birth your child and plan to stay there tell them. Otherwise you need to have booked/ reserved an apartment where you will be staying. Carry a letter of authorisation from your hubby if you are married, permitting you to birth in the US and saying he will be responsible for your hospital bills. Then signed and stamped statement of account of you both for upto 6months or so.

4. Make sure you show ties back to Nigeria.
      Prepay the doctor, and have all copies of correspondence.
      Show that you have at least $20k for the trip.
      Have bank statement showing 6 months.
      Have a good job or business in Nigeria.

5. Apply for Visitor Visa For Medical Treatment. Try open chat with the overseas hospital via referral with your GP. You must be financially ok for the medical bill as this' primary condition for 90% approval. BenedΔ«ximus!

6. Oga Thump doesn t want children delivered by foreigners to have citizenship easily anymore. He says some people use it as a means of doing so and run back to their countries living huge unpaid hospital bills for tax payers.

6. Enter your comment...lol

7. Ifffah hear! They don't enjoy denying Nigerians Visa indeed.

*Side eyes* U. S embassy

8. Yimu. They are very much interested in our visa fees but ot in giving us visa. That s the Truth

9. During our time it was non appearance for UK visa then....Thank you jesus for your mercy

1. I think they still do. My friend got last month(non appearance)

10. Mtscheew.. nonsense, my friend was still denied visa 2 days ago without a tangible excuse. Interview fire with their one or two questions.
    These people are on a denying spree, there's no gainsaying.

1. The denying spree no be here o with no tangible reason.

11. they didn’t grant me visa bc I wasn’t married. They asked that question about twice. Stating I hv no strong ties bringing me back. Abeg these people should start refunding visa fee. They prefer when people lie apparently.

12. There should be a refund of a percent of the fee charged when you refuse one visa. They can’t all have it their way. Even Canada better pass them for that side small. I can’t cough out that huge money as a fee and you end up bouncing me. So many genuine people have been messed up and the wayo ones granted visa. It’s all about luck.

13. Was given last month.no hassle.just dat I carry small juju go Dere.dont know if Na d juju or luck.

1. It's like I'll need this juju for my interview

2. Weldone,juju has expiry date,the day it will bounce on you,you will get your karma in hit ways, continue, hope you will use same Juju when u get to America ? So many dumb people

3. Bounce wetin.its just iyonu agba.dats all.