Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Gov Aregbesola Says Nigeria Should Have A National Weeping Day

Sunday, May 19, 2019

Former Gov Aregbesola Says Nigeria Should Have A National Weeping Day

Former Osun State governor, Rauf Aregbesola, says Nigerian citizens should observe a day of weeping every month.

The Nation reports that he said this during the weekend at a symposium to mark the birthday party of a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos.

Speaking on Nigeria’s population and the revenue it generates, Aregbesola said: “We don’t remember that we are poor here in Nigeria. If we have a deep thought, we ought to have a day of weeping every month.

“If we don’t work harder to improve our fortunes, we would continue to be poor. In 2017, Brazil had a population of approximately 200 million people almost about what Nigeria had.

“That year, Brazil had a revenue of about $600 billion and a budget of $700 billion. Nigeria in that same year made $13 billion and a budget of $23 billion. Are the two countries equal?

“Today, OPEC allowed Nigeria to extract and sell 2million barrel of crude oil per day but we don’t get that quantity. Even if we get 2million barrel per day and if the price rises to $100 per barrel, it means our income will be $200 million.

“If you divide this by 200 million people, it amounts to $1 per every Nigerian. We have to check our population by practicing birth control. If we don’t address this, we would have huge problems to deal with. We would also need every able-bodied person to work.”
From the nationonline via dailypost

12 comments:

1. It should be fixed on his birthday. The nation should weep that an agbaya was born.

2. Straw LLB HONS19 May 2019 at 09:19

Sir,it's you and your family the will cry, weep and wail. Weeping will not cease in your family. Stella please post ooooo.

3. iyabo, I sure say u no read am
    na ur type dey born 52
    sha carry that your Toto go do family planning

1. You need medical attention for brain hemorrhage!

4. Is it now that he is an ex governor that he sees Nigeria’s situation? The world is going into sustainable energy diversifying technologically , our people are here chanting oil. Soon Africa or Nigeria alone will be the only users of oil. Who will they sell to?

5. Oro rirun lenu eye
    Nonsense and ingredients

6. But he left the state he ruled poorer than he met it, so what dust is he yarning now? Talking without acting..

7. Aregbe, tell your pikin Oyetola to pay April Salary. Today is 18th already.

1. Can a child be different from his father? Didn’t he do the same as governor?