Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Travelling Abroad And The Things Not To Take....

Monday, May 13, 2019

Travelling Abroad And The Things Not To Take....

Some first time travellers headed to Europe,Canada and the US do not know that there are some things that you must not take to the Airport otherwise Immigration might send you back when you arrive destination.....Right?

You cannot take processed food of any kind into some Countries........
You cannot travel with Weavon in your luggage to some Countries
I hear you cannot travel with Indomie noodles to some Countries......Germany excluded oh...

What does one need to know?Those going into Canada and the US ,what do they need to avoid travelling with so that Immigration does not send them back....

Some people travelling with snake skin products like bags and shoes might get into trouble?I heard that!!!

Lets gist this Boring Monday!!!..LOL

98 comments:

1. Frequent travellers get in here and let us know....

1. My first trip to the US i carried ground crayfish and kilishi. When i was asked if i had meat of any kind i said no. It was when i got to my destination and pple were devouring the kilishi that it occoured to me that kilishi is actually meat! If to say them catch me ehn...

2. Will I be allowed to travel to UAE with Egusi,Ogbono,stock fish, cray fish,roasted Titus fish, kpomo,dry ugu,ukwa, palm kernel,etc. I will be travelling over there in September this year to visit my doctor boo. And I plan on going with enough food stuff so that by the time I finish him with Nigerian(Igbo) delicacies he will not have any option than to propose to me.

3. 13:36, you can even carry soup and stew just let it be frozen.

4. Anon 13;36 tell me you want to go and open nkan obe (soup ingredients)shop for uae.πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ And what if after eating every every guy man still refuses to propose nkan? Wetin you gain? You better go there with open mind before your hopes will be dashed😒😒

5. Anon 13:36 that your last line get K leg. So you are going through all this stress just for a man to propose to you? It's well. May God grant you your heart desires.

6. Travelling to the U.S has become something else now, the search no be here, just try not to carry unnecessary items, even indomie is plenty load.

7. For UK:
      You can take wig but useable quantity not sellable quantity (Remember Bobrisky saga)
      You can take garri and other powdered stuff but not too much so you don’t be saying story
      You can’t take snail or fish because quarantine people will know and seize it
      You can take tramadol (for people that really need it) but in small quantity. Alabukun and pain relievers aren’t really frowned on.

UAE:
      Do not take any sort of drug. Not even paracetamol. Go and buy when you get there
      You can’t take palm oil and all that. NO! They want you to use registered process to bring it in
      Garri and other stuffs can be taken in very little quantity

USA:
      You can take small drugs. They allow it but if they tackle you, you can easily defend and say you have an issue and you use it for that. As long as the illness is not communicable.
      You don’t dress flashy with jewelry or else they will pull you aside for extra check. It’s not only Nigerians they scrutinize like that. They check their own citizens sef. Just dress casual or corporate
      You can’t take wigs. Maybe one or two. Anything more is trouble.
      If you are on B1/B2 visa, don’t be taking documents meant for other people in your bag. Divorce letter, marriage certificate, birth certificate and all that thrash. Don’t do it! Let the person use fedex or Dhl.
      Do not carry more than $10k. Wether they check or not, they will know this one. UV light can detect dollars above $10k. Just load it onto a debit card before entering USA and tell them your cash is in a Visa card.
      Wipe your phone clean because you don’t know what conversation can get you in trouble. You might have told a friend you are not coming back to naija and you get searched and that convo is seen on your phone.

Australia:
      As long as you don’t have illegal things on you, they pretty much allow anything. Just declare it first.

Canada:
      Same as Australia. The allow anything as long as you declare it. Sometimes out of discretion they won’t let you bring somethings like food.

I have transitted through many countries but Qatar is the worse. They search you like they are sure you have something on you. You will be free anyway if your stuffs are in the main bag that you cargoed. Do not put any malaria drug or painkiller or anything in your hands on luggage if you are transitioning through Qatar. While they search you, just smile. It’s not only Nigerians they search so it’s not a ‘my passport is useless’ kinda situation.

8. Hmmm.pls I travelled to London in December and I carried half carton of fish(though well packaged) and very small quantity of fried snails. Well, I don't know d part of the uk you are talking about.

9. whatever you are carrying must be finely ground otherwise it ll be seized. You can buy everything there as your boyfriend na doctor

10. I live in London and my family and I carry CARTONS of Dry FISH when coming back from Nigeria. We never miss bringing fish. Which UK are you talking about please

11. They say people should declare food in USA but even if you don’t declare, you still can scale through but if they know, they will most likely seize it. So UK too frowns on all kinds of food. Fish, snail and whatever but most times they know and seize it. Because you are lucky to scale through doesn’t mean you can do it.

My sister is the owner of one of the biggest African restaurant in London so it’s right that you can’t just carry food into UK.

12. Ahh for US you can take anything so long as it’s grounded. My sister even carried up to ukwa, pepper fruit, fried snails, okpa. In fact the only thing remaining they didn’t carry was sand.

13. You can't take meat to Canada oo

14. You can carry fish to the us. Smoked dried whatever as long as it’s not fresh. I carry crayfish whole and blended, catfish and panla on a regular. Milk/chicken/beef not allowed anywhere.

15. Snails are okay as long as it’s cooked and not fresh

16. The fact that you've been going through without being searched and your fish seized doesn't mean you won't be stopped someday.

For US and Canada, don't carry fish, meat, chicken. They believe you cab bring foot and mouth disease and what bot into the country. Uf they ask if youve been to a farm, better say no if you haven't. Knorr chicken is seized, because it has chicken :), but Knorr original is accepted. Ground egusi, crayfish, ogbono etc. are accepted. Anything dry and ground is pretty much accepted but anything you can plant e.g seeds, stems etc will be seized if found. If you lie that you have no food and they search and find it, they will seizebit and you may be made to pay fine. Your passport will also be noted and you will be sure to get searched when next you fly in even if you truly have no food.

17. @anon 16:29 exactly, I'm also very sure about being able to carry snails into the UK, even dried fish too.

18. @anon 16:29 exactly, I'm also very sure about being able to carry snails into the UK, even dried fish too.

19. I live in London and my in law brought already cooked soups and stews and peppered snail plus suya no one stopped her ...though its not a whole luggage just few bowls of them..and when i went for christmas i brought back cooked soups with peppered goat meat ..frozen and keep in freezer bags ..so i hardly cook soup here only stew

2. Today is really boring?
    And I am so hungry but I can’t eat what I am craving cos I am dieting.
    I haven’t traveled out so i nor get idea.

1. Total exclusions of what you enjoy eating is not a sustainable way of healthy eating. Portion control when you eat everything is effective and also sustainable. Try it!!

2. My dear, you will not die young. The key to weight loss is portion control and exercise except you have a health condition that warrants you to abstain. Drinking coke once in 3 months or taking ice cream once in 6 months is of no effect if you do things right.

3. Thank you guys jare. Make I go buy Watin Dey hungry me πŸƒπŸΏ‍♀️πŸƒπŸΏ‍♀️πŸƒπŸΏ‍♀️πŸƒπŸΏ‍♀️

4. Ok okwaya. you want to go and purchase what you're craving for. Oya clap for yourself.

Chinwe Uba

3. My BIL was travelling to Dubai, he was not allowed to go with his palm oil.

1. Yes they only allow frozen liquid

2. seems this common among middle east countries.

In cyprus too, You don't use palm oil. A couz of mine had to learn cooking egusi using vegetable oil

3. Anon, my mom that travelled to US wasn't allowed to go with her palm oil too, in fact, it was part of her hand luggage (jjc), only for us to get to know the following day through one of the house keeping staff that live close to our house, na dash we dash the lady sha.

Emmanuel Simeon, I don't know about egusi with veg.oil, but the day I cooked efo riro with it, chai! I enjoyed am pass the one wey I dey take palm oil cook.

Stella, my brother actually travelled to US with 1 carton of ultra braids hair attachment in 2015, I don't know about now.

4. I don carry palm oil enter UAE taya!
      Who wants to go and be buying that their fake smelly palm oil in Deira?
      You just need to know how to wrap and conceal the plastic bottle.

5. Its Nigerian custom that would stop palm oil, not the destination country. They just don't want it to pour and mess up other people's stuff so how you pack and hide it is essential.

4. I need information about Australia ooh... Anyone to do justice to that?

1. Oga, what do you use your phone for apart from sdk?
      Google is your friend dimwit!
      Such an irritant. Ughhh

2. kiksinteriors for your furniture and upholstery.. 0703500099713 May 2019 at 13:45

I'm interested too

3. Declare every food and personal items on the declaration card on arrival, as the list of prohibited items are endless and you will not be fine or penalize for undeclared plant or animal products like honey, meat, fish etc.

4. you are a bitter idiot to be calling someone a dimwit. goat...do you not know that there are some kinda information only people on ground can give u? haters with no life be trolling others..goat

5. Old time travellers pls educate us ooo

6. If you’re coming to America,first of all don’t come through Atlanta airport.Dont carry meat,any kind of powdered food (elubo,poundo etc)that might subject you to extra scrutiny,don’t wear too much jewelry if you’re a man(theyl think you’re into fraud or you’re a drug dealer).dont carry too much food or luggage especially if you say you’re not staying long.Lastly,answer questions politely and remember the things in your application form cos they will ask.

1. I went to Houston last year with honey beans, garri, Ola-ola pounded yam flour and ELkris super oats swallow powder and no-one bothered us even though my bags were screened and checked manually. The US forbids meat and chicken and anything that has chicken so you cannot go in with Indomie-chicken flavor, Maggi/knorr chicken... Palm oil(most liquids) aren't allowed as they could leak and mess up people's checked in items. In Texas, the African shops have good and fresh stuff so there's really no need carrying plenty stuff.

In Dubai, some medications are banned so check the list online before going with medications.

7. Can one travel with his anti retrovirus drugs to all these aforementioned countries

1. Antiretroviral is not a contra barn world wide. When they say drugs, they dont mean medications. If u are hypertensive or have a health condition carry ur medication o. Declare it. Thats all.

2. Anon why not?
      Whites are open minded wgen it comes to RVD.

8. Canadian Customs won’t send you back, they will confiscate the items if it’s contraband but you must have declared it on your form. If it wasn’t declared, they will confiscate it and either fine you a certain amount or warn you verbally.

1. Could you please list the contraband? I'm coming to canada but I no get money for fine.

2. Lol @ Anno 14*24
      🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣
      You are funny

3. 🀣🀣🀣🀣too Many witty people on this blog ,
      I like !!!😍😍

4. Diary products like milk, cheese, yoghurt, beef, any meat of any kind,chicken, chicken seasoning cubes, plants, etc are contraband items in Canada. You can bring in egusi, crayfish, poundo, dried fish, etc.

9. Do not put anything liquid above 100ml in ur hand language. I learnt this the hard way. Lost my new cream, eco styler gel and my veets shaving cream to this law

1. That was how one immigration guy said I should find him something for half body spray that I carried. I just left the body spray. Just check in everything to avoid stress.

When you are wrapping your food stuff, put coffee inside the nylon. It kills the smell.

2. Eka joy sef dey type here? Wetin I no go see for here 🀣. Thank God for your bootleg didier drogba guy o

3. Ground Coffee or the main coffee beans also.

4. Hobbit warn ya sef plix !!!!🀣

5. Shyla, the main coffee we drink

10. Frequent travellers get in here

11. don't go with your certificates when travelling on a us tourist visa cs us immigration officers are very stricts

12. They don’t send you back if you have your papers. They just collect all the contraband and waste your money. No gala, no kilishi pretty no meat based product but you can bring well fried snail. Any ground thing can come ground pepper egusi crayfish ogbono. Dried fish well dried or smoked etc etc. dress how you like but for comfort sake and not to appear out of place when u land best to wear relatively casual outfit especially if you are young. Jeans or capris and a nice top for women

13. Dairy products such as powdered milk are not allowed in some countries. Meat products like kilishi. Palm oil etc.

Also, make sure you check the CASH LIMIT and keep within it, otherwise you could be accused of money laundering.

Do your research online, google.

14. I travel with everything including cooked food,dried Bush meat and palm oil. I'm based in Germany and not for once has immigration ever thrown my stuff away. So I don't know of any forbidden items here.

1. Did they search your bags? Because in the uk, you could be lucky and your bags will not be searched but if you are not very lucky , no way will they allow you go with the items without a fine if they are prohibited items.

2. I travel very often and my bags are always scanned and go through standard routine checks.How or why they have never thrown anything away is still a wonder to me. Luck maybe.

15. Australia is strict on what you bring in to their country. You can come in with liquid stuff, Animal skin or good that contains worm( Chinese people do that) Most importantly you must declare every good item of not, na big fine you go pay for airport. Good has to be sealed with expiry date on it( in most cases). Me,the day I travel na one small bag I carry,my friends even think say na Benin Republic I dey go. No luggages no stress.

16. You can't travel with indomie?
    How will some people survive?

1. Anon, na only Nigeria dem dey sell noodles?

2. They sell indomie here in london, african shop about 6 pounds for the box or thereabout. First timers should just avoid carry all these unnecessary stuff and try not to carry stuff for people except you know them well and check the content of what you are carrying.

17. As I never travel out of Naija before, let me sit down and read comments. Abroad might locate me from reading comments, you might never know

18. What do u people need all these things for ? Travel light. When u get there, there are African shops, go there and buy groundnut oil, kpomo, okporoko , indomiee, milo and what not.

1. Is the quality and price the same?

2. It's not cheap na and the quality is not ok.

Why not carry if you can

19. Going to America, you cannot travel with Yam, ginger, palmoil, you can go with crayfish, dried bitterleaf, melon and ogbonno , Don't dare grind any.

1. Unknown which America? Its recommended that you grind your ogbono, melon, crayfish etc. I carried dried scent leaf, bitter leaf okazi to the US. Just ensure the leaves are dried and you grind the grains. If you don't grind, they may confiscate them.

2. @ Unknown,
      U r very evil to give this advice, not to grind all the egusi, ogbono, pepper etc if travelling to America & Canada.
      When u know that those things r classified as plants / seed. Something that their authorities forbid u to bring in from another country, to come & plant it there to kill their own native plants & vegetation.
      Please close ur stupid mouth if u don't have any correct thing to tell people here!!! Don't say things that will put naive or ignorant people into big trouble.

3. Hah. A beg you must grind them all. Your snail must be well dried.

20. Someone I know that traveled to the US said knorr chicken is contraband.

1. Yes, it is because it has chicken written on the pack. They allow Knorr original.

21. I travel with anything 'travellable' to the UK...PALMOIL, crayfish, weavon, attachement, gala, egusi, ogbono, dry fish, nzu, kulili, ede, ogiri, fio fio, kilishi..just name it. They have never searched my luggage at Heathrow.

1. Now another thing is if you are travelling with a passport other than Nigerian passport, you can actually get lucky with going in with all these things.

2. UK doesn't search like other countries. Just make sure you fill your declaration card correctly in case you get searched.

22. When travelling to US, avoid items with Chicken as part of the ingredient like indomie chicken noddles ( other types of noddles will pass), knor chicken (regular knor will pass).

Avoid carrying items in commercial quantites especially if you are on a tourist visa.

If you have up to 10,000usd please declare it. Its not a crime to have upto/above 10,000usd just declare it. They can confiscate your hard earned dollars oo..

Its advisable to properly label your blended items crayfish, egusi, ogbono etc. Avoid nuts and grains.. and items that can habour insects (beans and the likes). Do not import fruits (agbalumo,etc)

1. Honey beans and groundnut will pass as long as its not commercial quantity...

2. FYI folks, there is more Knorr chicken, beef, or whatever on sale in US stores than anywhere in the known universe! Same goes for plantain, pepper, and a bunch of other things . We are not the only people that eat some of the stuff you know . Ask around. Do your research....

3. True. Mexicans eat plantain and similar food stuff.

23. UK - i have traveled with fried goat meat, amala flour, fried snails, Packaged kiliish, plantain chips, egusi,ogbono, maggi, agbalumo, dry fish, cryfish, groundnut, chin chin in the same luggage na pray i dey pray everytime i dont get fined. somehow sha i never have issues

Schengen - i know even attempt am

USA - Indomie isnt allowed cos of the chicken sauce acc to them, Gala not allowed, meat or fish no event bother, even apple u bought from connection airport u are holding in yout bag isnt allowed

u can carry chin chin, groundnut in yout suitcase

1. I've travelled with gala. My auntie left last week with gala sef

24. Anything chicken is not allowed in the usa. Indomie chicken flavour is not allowed. Travel with onion flavour. Those saying travel light and buy from african shop, you have no idea how expensive things are. I travel with almost anytging to dubai, even palm oil, egusi, dry meat etc

25. I travel with everything and then some even medications. Elder bro get local items from home often as long as we know someone traveling.

26. OMAN is a sweet place to go to. People pass through the entire airport and no-one even looks up or searches the luggage. From sardine(For Titus lovers) to gala to plantain chips to stock fish to frozen Okazi, dried bitter leaf, fresh water leaf, name it....

27. Is weavon or wig allowed when traveling to the US ,pls travelers tell us o,let's be informed .

1. I always have 6 different styled wigs in my suitcase when travelling for personal use. I have never had a problem.

28. Very interesting post
    I learnt
    Stella thanks for posting 😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

29. Well, i have only gone to UAE, and i no carry anything.

30. Look at all of you ....that's why all of you are FAT and less active.
    You eat all these stuffs in NIGERIA and still travel abroad with loads of our local foods.You are no different from the Indians who do the same.
    Why can't you eat the food of the country you are travelling to?
    This is why the crowd at Lagos airport looks like refugees running away from their homes.
    Thank Good I don't do this rubbish...when I'm in Nigeria I eat my Naija food..when I'm abroad I eat what I see there.
    You people should STOP all these overload you always carry.

1. My dear rock star no be so... When you travel with your family and have to spend your hard earned foreign currency on just food alone, you'll understand the essence of going with some supplies.

31. If you are traveling to the U.S and you are bringing food stuff....please do not use Ghana must go bag!!!! Its like customs are waiting on you. Automatic screening. No gala no indomie! Even wrapped fufu is allowed but lately customs keep saying it is yam they see in their screening machine! You can leave the United states with any amount of money, they dont care but coming back in! A penny over 10grand must be declared...

32. I travelled from London to Johannesburg and bought a box of unripe plantain requested by relatives over there. That was the only thing they wanted me to bring for them - plantain. So being in a generous mood, I got a box that would ripen slowly and last them longer.

I had collected my box from the luggage rack n passed their customs post without them asking me to step aside. Was happily rolling my trolley on my successful arrival not knowing d best was yet to come.

They had these customs officials standing just outside the search area with dogs. The officers indicated we should slow down so the dogs could conduct a search. The dog just sniffed around my luggage and sat down. Next thing, he/she/it was given a treat and thru asked me to step aside and open my box.

Behold they seized all the plantain in my box, reminded me no agricultural products were allowed to be imported into south Africa and let me go.

It wasn't a list cause sha - they only checked my big box so the plantain I had in my hand luggage found its way to my relatives home. they were still
    elated even though they got less than 10 and not the original quantity I intended to bring them.

I still had a beautiful time in Jozi sha.

33. Enter your comment...Thank you ny wonderful ppls for this info, am enlightened

34. Enter your comment...i don't know if they search phones, laptops and other external electronics devices at the airport.. would appreciate if anyone can enlighten me on this..