Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series - Tomorrow Is Not Assured...

Monday, June 17, 2019

Emergency Room Series - Tomorrow Is Not Assured...

If only we had the power to see and change the future, so many things would be avoided but we don’t have such power so we live our lives believing that all would be alright. We seem to have faith in things working out right all the time but in certain times, life has its way of proving the other way.

A man was brought in by the helicopter paramedics to the emergency room. We had already received the call before he came so we got the resuscitation unit ready to receive him, he came in with a flat line, which means his heart had stopped. 

While they got him off the helicopter and rushed him to the resuscitation unit, the paramedics continued CPR on him. He was rushed in and was transferred to the stretcher. The cardiac arrest team was on standby and intervened, so many of us in the room doing our roles to save this man’s life.

We had to seek the help of Lucas, which is a robot like device that performs CPR when mounted on someone’s chest, giving the exact and accurate rate and depth of compression needed to restart the heart, we were told the paramedics had been performing CPR for over 40 minutes when they picked him up and transported him to the ER.

Now, this man’s story moved me, he was said to be on a ship cruise with his family. He was a swimmer. He and a friend of his, who is also a very experienced swimmer were diving in deep waters. I think they were also into ocean research or something like that. They were said to have gotten dressed in the ship with all their gadgets, cameras, oxygen tanks on their back and other stuffs and they dived in to the bottom of the sea. 

They were said to be on the sea floor for a few minutes then something went horribly wrong, the oxygen tanks malfunctioned! They were cut off air, his friend tried to signal to him that there was something wrong and began to swim upwards back to the surface, his friend was said to be lighter in body weight unlike the patient who was a bit bulkier so it was slower for him to swim, there was no oxygen to his brain and his heart stopped and he went into cardiac arrest. 

His friend was able to get to the surface and signal for help from those on the ship who called the ambulance, they were not close to land so the helicopter went instead.

This was someone who looked in his mid forties and wanted to have a good time with the family and do what he enjoys doing.

For the next 40 minutes, everyone did all they could, CPR continued, jabs of adrenaline, oxygen, tracheostomy, suctioning, chest drain, everything to get the water out of his lungs and to restart his heart, nothing seemed to work.

His heart had restarted once but stopped again.

After about almost 2hrs of painstaking resuscitation, he was pronounced dead.

Then the plenty paper works and calls began, we had to call the police, coroner and others because of the complexity of the case. I had never thought that it was possible for oxygen to go off like that, it wasn’t that the oxygen got exhausted in the tanks but a connection problem. I wondered why it was when they got to the bottom it happened, and for both? that’s really strange!

His friend was also rushed to another hospital. His friend was said to have swam to the surface too fast and caused something to go wrong with the lungs, it had to do with sudden gravity, so I was told.

I can’t imagine the horror the patient’s family would go through when they’re told what had happened to their father or husband. They couldn’t come to the hospital with him. It was so sad and painful because he was still young and circumstances could most likely have been avoidable, maybe someone overlooked something. I hope they investigate what went wrong exactly.

Life is indeed a mystery and we can only hope and pray that only good things come our way.

21 comments:

1. It's really a pity.

I've seen worse case scenarios than this. You are talking with someone very healthy and boom, he/she passes on.
    The point is that most living do not take this to heart; that death can
    come anytime, anywhere.
    That's why a girl for money/material gain will spread her legs to a stranger. She does not know that
    the next minute, she might be in eternity.

1. God pls o! Just give me satisfaction in raising this kid and stop making me feel depressed
      To b alive among d living and happy is more important than the pressures of not working Biko.Father am greatful for another day, thank you. Rip to d dead

2. What my eyes have seen in this nursing work my mouth cannot tell it all. May his soul rest in peace. I always feel down and sad any day I lost a patient. No matter how bad their conditions is I always pray they survive it.

2. What a sad story. Too many deaths. Death is matching left right as we match to our different places of interest.

May God comfort all affected including you our nurse

3. So Nurse has also relocated?????

1. 😂😂😂 anon, you is a chickeeen 🤣🤣🤣 aswear 😄.

4. Uncertainties of life. Ecc 9:11- time and unforeseen occurrences befall is all. Condolences to his family

5. Hmm, I reject untimely death in my life and that of my family and well wishers (Amen)

6. If only he knew... Hmm, it's well.

7. Jeez!! This life eh, he went out hale and hearty but died within a twinkle of an eye. Lord have mercy

8. Oh God, may his soul rest in peace. There many ways to kill people these days.

9. may his soul rest in peace, reminds me of my mum she died on the first of June I didn't see that coming I had plans for her,sHe didn't eat the fruit of her labour,hmmmmmm

1. Comfort to you my dear. God knows better

2. thanks,he's an unquestionable God he knows better

10. sad. that's why I stay on my lane....the day I saw my kid brother's picture diving somewhere off the coast in Malaysia see the way I shouted at him eeh. he was just laughing..lol...me I no dey take risk oh...I no say death fit come anytime any where but make I no use hand draw am oh...

11. so sad. may he rest in peace. when will Nigeria have Lucas

1. My dear, when will we have robots assisting in healthcare delivery?

Rest in peace to the dead and May God comfort his family

12. we will have Lucas when they no longer need him (lucas) and must have upgraded to a better version maybe "Ryan"...

13. Swimming too fast to the surface..causes caisson disease.decompression sickness.
    Quite a sad tale