Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Obiano Begs President Buhari To Declare Nnamdi Azikiwe’s Birthday A Public Holiday

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Gov Obiano Begs President Buhari To Declare Nnamdi Azikiwe’s Birthday A Public Holiday

The Governor of Anambra State, Willie Obiano, has urged President Muhammadu Buhari to declare the birthday of Nigeria’s first president, Nnamdi Azikiwe, as public holiday.

This was as he commended Buhari for honoring the presumed winner of the June 12, 1993, presidential vote, Chief Moshood Abiola, with the renaming of the National Stadium in Abuja, after Abiola.

This was contained in a statement released Saturday in Awka, the Anambra State capital, by C. Don Adinuba, the state Commissioner for Information and Public Enlightenment.

Obiano said the renaming of the stadium was “the icing on the cake in the steps taken so far to immortalize a national figure who won the 1993 presidential vote fair and square but was denied victory and, more painfully, incarcerated solitarily.

“We have watched with admiration how President Buhari first announced in the first week of June, 2018, his intention to make June 12 a national holiday and bestowed on Chief Abiola Grand Commander of the Federal Republic, Nigeria’s highest national honour given to only heads of state.

“President Buhari followed it up with an appropriate bill in the National Assembly and then assented to it on passage, thus changing Nigeria’s Democracy Day from May 29, in commemoration of the day the military handover the Nigerian national leadership to elected civilians on May 29, 1999, to June 12, in remembrance of the day the historic election between Chief MKO Abiola of the Social Democratic Party and Alhaji Bashir Tofa of the National Republican Convention was held.

“No one expected the National Stadium to be named after the hero of the struggle for democracy. The renaming must have been the president’s personal idea and initiative.

“By the time Chief Abiola joined the presidential contest, there was no person who could rival his support for sport development in the African region, which earned him the honour of Pillar of Sports in Africa from the Association of African Sports Confederations.

“For example, he provided tremendous financial resources to his Abiola Babes Football Club based in Abeokuta, Ogun State, which enabled most of the players to escape from abject poverty to lead a comfortable lifestyle. The players understandably became more dedicated.

“Abiola Babes scored the bull’s eye by winning within a few years of its formation the prestigious National Football Club League Championship.

“Unknown to most Nigerians, Chief Abiola was a boxer, and was guided and assisted by an indigene of Nnewi, Anambra State, named Dr George Akabogu, who was to become a famous school principal and later an academic.

“Chief Abiola was a true Nigerian. He donated generously to worthy causes and championed quite a number selflessly.

“Apart from employing Nigerians generously in his organizations regardless of their faith, gender or ethnic origin, Chief Abiola established Udoka, an Igbo newspaper;Amana, a Hausa newspaper; and Isokan, a Yoruba newspaper.

“Abiola never left anyone in doubt that he was greatly inspired by the nationalism, patriotism and sportsman-like spirit of Nigeria’s first president, Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, GCFR, PC. He remained an avowed Zikist up to his death.

“On the occasion of the first anniversary of June 12 as Democracy Day in honour of a great Nigerian patriot, it has become imperative to remind President Buhari of the request I made to him on behalf of the government and people of Anambra State when he visited Onitsha to commission the newly completed Zik Mausoleum last January 24 that he declare Zik’s birthday a national holiday.

“Ghanaians observe the birthday of their first president, Dr Kwame Nkrumah, himself a Zik protégé. Tanzanians observe a national holiday in memory of their first president, Mwalimu Julius Nyerere, as Angolans do in memory of Dr Agustiono Neto, their first president.

“The Great Zik of Africa was not just Nigeria’s first president or the man who led Nigeria to independence in 1960. He was Nigeria’s first indigenous Governor General and the first Senate President.

“He was the first Nigerian to build a bank, thus inspiring his colleagues as regional premiers in the 1950s to establish their own banks. He was also the first Nigerian to set up a university, and consequently challenged his peers to follow in his footsteps.

“A Nigerian nationalist of incomparable status and a man of letters through and through, the Great Zik of Africa had established as early as the 1950s newspapers in Ibadan, Zaria, Kano, Onitsha, Port Harcourt and, of course, Lagos to fight for Nigeria’s liberation from oppressive colonial rule.

“Zik inspired a generation of Africans, including the late President Nkrumah of Ghana, Chief Obafemi Awolowo and Dr Nwafor Orizu, who became Nigeria’s second Senate President.

“It has, therefore, become a national scandal that a national holiday has yet to be declared in honour of this great African son. The people and government of Anambra State once again call upon President Buhari to end this national blight by declaring November 16 of every year a national holiday in commemoration of Dr Azikiwe’s birthday.”
dailypost.

62 comments:

1. How about Tafawa Balewa.since we r all giving the dead a public holiday

1. In fact they should rename the country Nigeria after him na, all this first to do this first to do that, when you do your research now you find that most of the claims are not true.

2. You just echoed my thought.please mama Emeka give the governor one bottle of O Mpa so he can sit down

3. So this is the only thing he can ask for?
      What a shame!

4. Trash!! Biafra day should be recognised and given a national holiday in commeration of millions of Igbo children killed and the Nigerian government should tender a public apology to the children of Biafra . The hatred wickedness and marginalisation of this region is too much!

5. Keep waiting for imaginary apology long hisss.

2. Everyday should just be public holiday.

1. The things they named after him never do?

2. Their sense of entitlement is just unbelievable... this is another example.

3. What sense of entitlement are you talking about? Can’t you make your comment without your hatred for an entire ethnic group blazing through?
      In my opinion, Obiano can make that a public holiday in Anambra if it is not already. Bringing that up now is just trivializing what Zik stood for. Meanwhile there are so many public holidays in Nigeria already.

4. God bless you @Kiks. Obiano is only going to succeed in rubbishing what Zik stood for just for his own's selfish gain.

5. I agree with you Kiks, the governor should start from Anambra if he so wish.

6. Kiks thank you. Just like June 12 was just a western Nigeria holiday then

7. Sense of entitlement could be referring to politicians until you are named or a word is used you are foolish to jump into conclusions. Not everyone is a bigot like you.

8. Agree with you kiks and I also think the holidays are too much biko

4. Yeah what is good for the gander is good for the gizzard according to Zebrudaya.

5. This is not necessary, please. The airport in Abuja has been named after him. I just hope all these won't lead to tribalistic talks.

1. No dear, it is necessary. If actually you read all through the post you will see good reasons he outlined here. It's not all about being tribal but the bitter truth. Wasn't a stadium named after Abiola and a public holiday still named after him for rememberance?

Between both men who is even president? One was the first president with many national achievements on his person, and the other was declared a president but didn't become one. So in the right sense, who deserve the accolade or remembrance?

We shouldn't be biased in our reasoning when it comes to the people of the Eastern region. Zik was a nationalist and fought for one Nigeria. All those African presidents Gov. Obiano mentioned above didn't they have monuments named after them and holiday still held for them each year? This is the reason we often say, Nigeria can't be one in all fairness and equality.

2. Not just that o,a federal university is also named after him;now they are asking for birthday,mtcheeeeww

3. "we shouldn't be biased when it comes to people of the Eastern region" this is not necesaary Teejay, you just played out what Cynthia is trying to say. No one is talking about tribe now oga.
      What is my own sef.

Please o, my opinion is if my birthday falls on any of this day be it Azikwe, Abiola, Tafawa or Yardua, Federal government must pay me.

4. Teejay...I know what u wrote sounds meaningful to you but pause...go back and read it again... Does that make sense to u????... if yes, then I cringe in horror..appalled..perplexed..This ur reasoning sha... I shake my head for u Sir

5. Teejay, stop seeing it as if the Easterners are being treated unjustly. The airport in Abuja and a national university was named after Nnamdi Azikiwe. Isn't that enough? Which public holiday has been declared to honor any of the other nationalists? Or is Zik the only nationalist? Do you know what June 12 represents? It's not about Abiola. It's about the voice of Nigerians that was shut down by IBB and his cohorts. Do you know how many Nigerians lost their lives? The June 12 casualty covered the entire ethnic groups. Most of us don't even know Abiola's birthday.
      Gov. Willy Obiano is fanning the embers of tribal conflict and it is very unfortunate.

6. Tribalistic Teejay will come and show himself. Mtchewwww

7. Thank you Cynthia very well said.

8. SWAG, I am yet to know why you often attack me here on this blog. You do this often and it baffles me. Come to think there is nothing we are dragging at or is there any? Easy oooh.

9. He is new Swag, he doesn’t know you 😂

6. Going with the points and reasons outlined here, I think it will be in the right direction to do that, but I doubt if the government will do that. He came from the wrong part of the country. If the Federal government refuse to do that, then his own people the South Eastern part should declare it in the whole region, or do they need approval from the presidency to do that? After all, it was just Osun state and Lagos that was observing June 12th as holiday before it was nationally approved.

The South East governors should bury their heads in shame, for what they ought to have done long ago is what they are begging for. If they successfully do this, I bet you, the federal government will have no choice than to bow into it.

1. So they should name Nigeria after every leader and anyone who has ever held public office?...Infact all Banks,church and public places should be named after anyone and everyone.........

2. Stella the thing no tire you? They should even declare public holiday for every past and present leaders birthday

3. People like you are the problem of this country. Just listen to yourself in your 4th sentence.

4. Stella, you are getting it wrong here. The Governor didn't say Zik should be named Nigeria, rather an holiday should be observed for his rememberance. Is that too big a thing to ask for a such a man like Zik? Didn't other African countries did it to their first president? The governor spoke from a good place with valid reasons. Zik deserve that just like his African counterpart were remembered for.

Stella what was the premise MKO was given a national holiday for? Did he ever rule Nigeria as a president? What role did he play in the pre colonial era? I am not against whatever honour given to MKO in his remeberance, but what is good for A should be as well good for B.

5. NOBODY should be recognised for any holiday again,they should focus on building NIGERIA PLEASE!!!...Abiola was honoured becos of his stolen mandate and that is fair enough...why should Zik be honoured again?he has been recognised and praised so many times over and had places named after,so why national holiday again just cos Abiola was recognised?Is this tribal jealousy or what?

6. Hahahahahahaha.... SDK has spoken.

7. My grand father led the Nigerian troops to defeat Biafra, shall we declare public holiday for him? My respects to Nnamdi Azikiwe

8. TeeJay, it is not a competition. Stop being petty.

9. Stella I am very happy with your comment today, everything shouldn’t be about tribe and always playing the victim, it’s really getting too much. We have other tribes in Nigeria and none of them are this bitter, especially when they are the cause of their own problems.

10. I think TeeJay needs to be told that while Zik was the first president, Tafawa Balewa was the first prime minister. Nigeria ran a parliamentary system of government thus making Zik's position a ceremonial one. He didn't call the shots. Tafawa did. So the argument about honouring him for being the first presideng is flawed because that means Tafawa Balewa's birthday should be a public holiday too.
      However, for his role in Nigeria's independence, he has been immortalised by naming the Abuja airport after him. The Nnamdi Azikiwe university in Awka, Obiano's state, is also a federal institution. June 12 is not about Abiola alone. Many Nigerians: Hausas, Igbos, Yorubas, Ibibios, Gwaris, Ijaws, etc, lost their lives because of IBB's actions. The June 12 holiday is not about an individual, it is about a people whose voices were silenced by the military junta led by IBB. Obiano should not make this an ethnic matter. Those who particaipated in the annulment of the June 12 elections are those who benefitted from it the most and they did everything in their power to shove May 29 down our throats. Now that June 12 is recognised, they want to whip up divisive narratives and rhetorics.
      Gov Obiano, in my opinion is seeking to score a cheap political point among his people. There are pressing needs begging for attention in his state. And I also think he needs a refresher course in history. Otherwise, where did he get the idea that Zik inspired Awolowo? Which history books has he been reading? There are economic and social issues begging for attention is all the states of the federation but rather than face them, Nigerian governors look for something to divert the attention of their people. Zik's birthday? Of all the challenges we have in this country? Before you know it, another governor from the North will start clamouring for a public holiday in honour of either Tafawa Balewa or Ahmadu Bello. Then another one from the south too will say Awolowo's birthday must be celebrated nationally. We are just a people of misplaced priorities.

11. Stella is not a tribal jealousy I do not support this motion but the recognition of the death of millions of Biafra or day Igbos that were starved to death murdered and yet their region is not developed we are denied our right as Nigerian citizen . Please truthust be told!!

12. That is the result when you start a war period. Blame your leaders for that. Have your leaders in Biafra recognised them? how many statues did Rochas build in their name or on their behalf.

7. Omo na poverty they pursue us for back soooooo.
    Zik was a legend and should be honoured but another Public holiday?
    Maybe they should combine all their holidays together

8. As much as I am a sucker for public holidays, yet another one makes one wonder what the priorities of the country are. How about just Nnamdi Azikiwe day and not a public holiday Biko?!

9. Well we already have Independence Day. You can’t talk about Nigerian independence without paying respects to Zik first, just like how u can’t talk about Nigeria Democracy without mentioning MKO. So we give October 1st to Zik.
    AJ ( ID coming soon)

1. Help me tell them o. Besides, it wasn't only Zik that fought for independence. Ahmadu Bello and Awo sef dey. Obiano should focus on developing his state and stop looking for cheap political points among his people with this needless call.

10. Even the person mentioning this sef, is he reasoning with his right senses? We can as well give Awolowo, Tafawa Balewa, Aminu Kano and a host of others public holiday. Nonsense and stupid.

1. Awolowo was a mass murderer. His name should be removed wherever it is being deified.

2. Another mumu what did your own father achieve

11. How will all this honouring solve Nigeria's many many problems?? Our past leaders will be rolling in their graves. My people will say we are leaving leprosy to face ring worm. Nit getting our priorities right is one of the reasons why we are in a huge mess.

12. Awolowo, Murtala and Tafewa need Public Holidays too.
    I forgot Yar'adua for being an honest president and Good luck for upholding democracy and conceding to defeat.

1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

2. We must also have a Dino Melaye day because he climbed a tree and jumped from a moving truck to escape police.

3. Lol, Oh my goodness @ anony 10:57.

13. People go to work on Martin Luther day. Please sit down sir. We can recognise him and all he did. That's all. Very hopeless occupants of posts with no sense.

14. Oya..lulu make everyday public holiday.

15. It’s so easy to recognise a dumb leader. Wehdone Sir.

16. and Awolowo, Tafawa Balewa, Fela, Saro-Wiwa and so on and so forth.

17. Mumu,
    June 12 is democracy day, not Abiola day.

18. Make they just turn everyday to public holiday. Mtchew

19. Obiano's premises for canvassing for a national holiday for Azikiwe is very baseless. Zik was a mere ceremonial leader. He was President under a Parliamentary system of government meaning that the real powere was held by the Prime Minister Tafawa Balewa. That system of government is something similar to what the Uk has where the Queen is only a ceremonial office. Nigeria's system then was even worse off because each region had their own government and they were administered as independent units making the centre somewhat weak. On Obiano's other assertions, I laugh in spanish because Zik was not the only nationalist. Awolowo was like a deity to the yorubas just as Ahmadu Bello was like a deity to the northerners and they were all nationalists. Are they going to observe a holiday for each of them? Not forgetting people like Herbert Macaulay, Alfred Rewane, e.t.c. In fact if anyone of them deserves a holiday, it is Herbert Macaulay. It is unfortunate that history is not taught in schools.

Someone mentioned that Pa Awolowo is a murderer. That is what you get for not teaching history; people begin to peddle lies as history. Anyway I pray they restructure the country and return to regionalism so the Igbos can return to their region. Their insult on the yoruubas on social media is just too much. You stay amongst people who accomodate you peacefully yet you go online and spew all sorts of insulting things against them meanwhile yorubas cannot even buy property in your land. No time when Nigeria no go divide. Its too much.

20. Obiano's premises for canvassing for a national holiday for Azikiwe is very baseless. Zik was a mere ceremonial leader. He was President under a Parliamentary system of government meaning that the real powere was held by the Prime Minister Tafawa Balewa. That system of government is something similar to what the Uk has where the Queen is only a ceremonial office. Nigeria's system then was even worse off because each region had their own government and they were administered as independent units making the centre somewhat weak. On Obiano's other assertions, I laugh in spanish because Zik was not the only nationalist. Awolowo was like a deity to the yorubas just as Ahmadu Bello was like a deity to the northerners and they were all nationalists. Are they going to observe a holiday for each of them? Not forgetting people like Herbert Macaulay, Alfred Rewane, e.t.c. In fact if anyone of them deserves a holiday, it is Herbert Macaulay. It is unfortunate that history is not taught in schools.

Someone mentioned that Pa Awolowo is a murderer. That is what you get for not teaching history; people begin to peddle lies as history. Anyway I pray they restructure the country and return to regionalism so the Igbos can return to their region. Their insult on the yoruubas on social media is just too much. You stay amongst people who accomodate you peacefully yet you go online and spew all sorts of insulting things against them meanwhile yorubas cannot even buy property in your land. No time when Nigeria no go divide. Its too much.