Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kaduna Assembly Passes Bill To Grant Pastors And Imams License Before Preaching

Saturday, June 08, 2019

Kaduna Assembly Passes Bill To Grant Pastors And Imams License Before Preaching

The Religious Preaching Regulation law, 1984 before the Kaduna State House of Assembly seeking substitution was on Friday passed into law...

The passage of the bill came three years after the bill faced serious criticism from different religious bodies and individuals.

The bill, which purpose is to regulate religious preaching in Kaduna State with a view of promoting religious harmony and peaceful co-existence amongst the residents of the state was brought to the House since 2016.

Presiding over the plenary, the Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Abdullahi Shagali while reading the bill close by close said a state inter-faith Regulatory council has been established with a chairman to be appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Secretary to the state.

Also, two members representing the Christian and Muslim faith, respectively, to be appointed by the Governor, among others.

According to the Speaker, the bill further has it that the above mentioned council shall hear and determine appeals brought before it arising from the decision of the local government inter-faith Committee and also has power to issue regulations considered necessary to guide the state inter-faith council and local government inter-faith committee in the performance of their functions under the bill if signed into law.

He further mentioned that the bill when signed into law, stipulates that in each of the 23 local Government areas of the state, a committee to be known as the Local Government Inter-faith Committee has to be established

According to him, the local Government Inter-faith committee shall consider and recommend to state Inter-faith Regulation Council all applications for the grant of licence to religious preachers as well as screen and recommend preachers for the grant of license among other functions.

The supplementary provision explained that all cassettes, compact disks (CDs), flash drives or any other communication gadgets containing religious recordings from accredited preachers may be played inside a private dwelling unit or vehicle, entrance porch (zaure), Church, Mosque and any other designated place of worship.

It further stated that any person who plays religious cassette or uses a loud speaker for religious purposes between the hours of 11pm to 4am in a public place, and uses a loudspeaker for religious purposes other than inside Church or Mosque commits an offence and shall on conviction be liable to imprisonment for a term of not less than two years or pay a fine of less than N200,000.00 or both.

The bill added that any person who publicly insults or seeks to incite contempt any religion, by making false statements in such a manner as to be likely to lead to a breach of peace, shall be punished with imprisonment for a term of not less than five years a fine of not less than N100,000.00 or both.
dailypost.

33 comments:

1. These people are really coming up with their agenda. If I get this right, it means crusade may be or have been banned in Kaduna state. Crusade is usually held in the night and run till early morning of the next day. What this also means is that, guest preachers will need to get approval from the government before they can preach in Kaduna, and if the preacher is one who isn't a friend to government style of governance, he won't be granted entry.

Christianity is beginning to lost its root in Nigeria. I won't be surprised if other northern states start passing this same bill.

Do you know in Abuja there have been demolitions of beer parlours, clubs and brothel, citing sharia nonsense? Of what essence is it when you claim sharia to destroy peoples hustles, yet in secret and dark night you patronize those ladies and drink the same alcoholic drinks you destroyed? Stupid people everywhere.

1. If you do not live in Kaduna State shut the hell up. We only want to hear from people who live in Kaduna State because it affects them and not people like you who has to comment on what worm is going where.

2. I don't live in Kaduna doesn't mean I don't have information about the state.

3. Teejay I like you but Pls this is kind of a good news to many of us(not all sha) cos some don't look pass apc and pdp . Once this man is not from my party, whatever he or she does is bad.. Lol. See, I am from kd and live in kd. Kd is very sensitive when it comes to religion. The nuisance from this religious building is becoming too much. Not to talk of The people who preach this msg.

4. Anon 09:37, thanks for liking me. Anything to guaranteed peace in Kaduna is a good one and welcome development but all I am saying is that the modalities should be fair and transparent to all. No religion should feel superior over the other. El Rufai should have settle for a Christian deputy if truly he had a good intention towards Christians. Anyway we will be watching.

5. Teejay I have Christians from Kaduna on my whatsapp and going by their status updates, they are happy about the news. Your problem is you are always on the defensive whenever the news about someone from the opposing political party. I saw you complaining about a Church in your neighbourhood, this kind of bill helps to curb the excesses of those Churches and Mosques so people can sleep peacefully in their houses.
      Do you understand?

6. Miss Aboki just said the truth about u teejay, u are always on the defensive as if someone is fighting u, same for most easterners. biko chill. Inugo?

7. TJ, this development is so long over due and very welcome. Truly, excesses needs be cut.

8. Yea I understand Miss Aboki. We all pray it brings a lasting peace in the state.

9. Teejay, sometimes you just need to read and scroll pass if you are not sure or ask questions. This is done in other places but only Nigerians will complain.

10. Please this Bill needs to be introduced in Lagos state too, the disturbance is on another level.

2. El-Rufai, short man devil. It's only God that will fight for the Christians in that state. If he had his way, Kaduna State would have been for only the Muslims.

1. If Isreal was saying this same thing, they would have all been killed by now. This people only understand one word. An eye for an eye, kill 1 and have 100 of their ants killed. Keep pushing, be ready always.

Nigerian Christains are hypocrites that is why. Good luck to us.

3. Anyone criticising this move must be really blinded by religion. Anyone who know Kaduna would know that it is a religiously intolerant state. Most of the issues Kaduna had has been caused by religion. I know this because I witnessed the Sharia riots. AsAa young boy, i saw ppl running for their lives. It was awful, you could feel death hovering over you. Churchs and mosques were burnt because of what they had earlier preached. My family was able to escape but my aunt wasn't so lucky, sustaining life threatening injuries. I actually praise this move because majority of the preachings in that state are hate speeches. One religion condemning the order. Ppl killing each other because of the debate on who is greater, Jesus or Mohammed. So I see nothing wrong with the government regulating religious practices. There's no agenda here. Just the government promoting peace.

1. If I get you right, what about street evangelism? Do you know this act can put a stop to it? What about those loud noise coming out from speakers in those mosques early in the morning I have seen? You think this can actually bring religious peace in Kaduna? Then you don't know much about this Muslim people. Was it not in Nigeria a church was burnt down simply because a big Cross was erected at the top roof situated in a street that has a mosque. Pls say something different.

2. thank you. I am a christian from kd and not a fan of hell rufai but I applaud him. See,religion intolerant in kd is high. Go u/sunday, narayi and other place and see the plenty 🔊 speakers outside disturbing the environment. Different preaching and songs CD playing in the market of both christian and Muslims. Sometimes we should tell ourselves the truth and leave party affliation aside Gaskiya. So many so called MOG will just wake up from bed and open a shop, invite women and boom, it's a ministry /church. No training nothing. Many islamia skls just gather almajiris and be teaching them hate speech and subjecting the kids to labour.. .. I am just tired of writing sef... Goodbye

3. Teejay Pls keep quite. Your ITK is becoming irritating. Ah ah. We don't need street evangelism Pls. Prayer meeting, mid week prayer, bible studies are OK. Besides if you have any public function, you can write. Come to kd, enter market and see wheel barrow be preaching and preaching crab. I have a pastor, that is always preaching hate speech, even the church has to call him to serious order. Now someone who just wake up and open church, can talk anyhow Bcos he is on his own.
      There is this mallam at u/sarki, he was arrested Bcos of this shit. Gathering kids and teaching them hate.

4. LMFAO... Anon 09:49 are you intimated by my 'ITK'? Hahahahahahaha.... At least na ITK naaaa, I no kill person.

5. Teejay so without street evangelism Christianity will die abi? The people that are directly involved are happy with it, why the arguement? Did you even take time to read the bill to see that it affects Muslims and Chriatians alike?

6. I think its a nice move in the interest of all.

7. Hey TEEJAY, this is anon 08:47. Your comment only proofs your religious bigotry. Only concerned about the speakers of the mosque, both religions do this wrongful act of committing nuisance. The Christians doing night vigil disturbing ppls sleep. The Muslims calling for prayer, the instrusion of privacy, these are all wrongs.

4. If it will solve the killings no problems. What I know is that the word of God cannot be hidden.

No man on earth can stop the spread of the Word of God

5. elrufai and co be manifesting rapidly now

GOD dey in charge

6. I live in Kaduna and honestly i agree to this bill! Yes! You need to see and hear the atrocities being done! This bill do not only affect christians bit muslims also. Evagelism can still be done. Crusade? Who is sending anyone to do crusade? God or your pocket?! Taaa! Teejay biko leqve crusade talk! We know what goes on there. All na because of their bellies! My only fear is that,this should npt resolve to any religious crisis...

7. Separate church from state. State should have no influence on church and vice versa. I don't feel good about this bill seeing that it could be misconstrued or manipulated but well, na dem know

1. Exactly my feelings at first, for a governor may come up tomorrow and decided to shut down all churches in Kaduna. We are currently seeing what is happening in China and most Asians countries. But what do I know? Since they said the people over there are happy about it, who are mine to be more Catholic than the Pope? Or cry more than the bereaved? I wish them lasting peace in Kaduna.

8. Thank God we do not ave many people with Teejay's mindset on this blog or in our society, read and digest, this isn't all bout Islam or Christianity, it a bout peace, love ur pdp and support ur religion but this move Is a good one. there re Islamic programme like shaada't l Qur'an, open preaching and all then this move is bout to put an end to it. the law has been in existence since 1984, Youre not living In Kaduna, a good leader sud be able to provide solution to a problem, check up there, annon 8 47 just wrote bout his sis that was a victim. El zarkasy or wats the name has been in detention since, is he a Christian? but he is seeing as somebody distubin peace of the state. Usa, Canada, Sweden, Norway, france ans som of the countries have islamic Scholars that dey haven't and wouldn't allowed to enter their countries? why cos in their opinions these Scholars are propagating hate speech, and as a nation, they've got the right to protect wateva they want to protect.. If you're a pastor or an imam that has history of hate speech in any of ur preachings, youve got no right to be given license to preaching in a state that has always been in volatile situation.... Kuti'OPINION. I'm a Muslim but not pdp or apc like you..

1. Dont mind that biased Teejay. This law has been long overdue in Nigeria and I am a Christian. People just cause all sorts of chaos in the name of GOd.

9. Good move, Kaduna! I hope this is implemented across Nigeria. It will help people think outside the box of religion.

10. Teejay is one of the most biased ethno-religious bigots on this blog! How dare you criticize the law when you have never lived in Kaduna? Are you OK at all or has Nnamdi Kanu and Suleman re-formated your brain permanently?