Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NAFDAC Bans Sale Of Sniper In Open Market And Supermarkets

Thursday, June 20, 2019

NAFDAC Bans Sale Of Sniper In Open Market And Supermarkets

The National Agency for Food, Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) has placed a ban on the sale of ‘sniper’ (insecticide) in open markets and supermarkets.

NAFDAC’s Director, Veterinary Medicine and Allied Products Directorate, Dr. Bukar Usman, who made this known on Wednesday at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Ibadan said that the agency had asked agro-dealers to stop the sale of the product in open markets and supermarkets
According to him, sniper is an agro-cultural product meant to be used only in the farms and not for households.

Usman maintained that the directive was not an outright ban of the product but a restriction of its use and availability to farms alone.

He also called on manufacturers and dealers to cooperate with NAFDAC to mop up the 100ml size of the product which was cheap and easily acquired, adding that all agro-chemicals meant for farms should not be used in households.

“There are appropriate products for the control of mosquitoes and other household pests” he added.

From Daily Post

Let the production be banned totally..After reading how Sniper works,I dont think its fair to even kill rats in such cruel manner talk less of humans...BAN SNIPER TOTALLY FROM CIRCULATION or being produced.

28 comments:

1. Wait Stella, is it rat you are feeling for.. . wow you are a confirmed oyibo now o.

1. 😂😂😂😂🤣🤣 funny you

2. Nafdac konida fun yin o, for just banning that death trap now since all these years, I say again koni da fun yin. Stella don't delete my message o, after all Google no dey speak yoruba,to filter my message. Before I go I say again koni da fun gbogbo awon top officials Nafdac.

2. They should ban corruption too that's the biggest one causing depression.

Chinwe Uba

3. Hian!...
    This is someone’s business we are talking about!..
    Is it the person’s fault some frustrated Nigerians are using it to commit suicide?..
    Whether dem ban it or not,people will be using other insecticide to do the do!..
    Before sniper,we have otapiapia and the last time I checked,it’s still in the market!...

1. The funniest part is Sniper is not the only thing people use. Hope they banned DDForce too, it works the same way.

2. I don't understand this ban. There should be a time frame for open market and supermarket to sell what they have in stock or are they going to to Compensate traders.

4. stella why would say it should be banned? what about the employees of the company,how will their dependants survive. there are no jobs in Nigeria if the products gets banned the company collapses. what about the farmers that uses it for his crops to make food available for the masses.
    Because some persons decide to kill themselves with it doesn't mean it should be banned. The govt should ask those who uses it legitimately to get license from a constituted body b4 the product will be sold to them. my opinion

5. So they will be selling it in hidden
    markets? 😲😲😲😲😲😲😲😲
    Witches!

6. Imagine! This really helps at home for eliminating cockroaches and what have you. Who sent people to be using it for other selfish purposes then??
    This is not a welcomed development at all.

1. Abi o Sandy, it is the best in killing cockroaches and other tiny insect,like koto nkan

7. Stella calm down biko! Which one is to ban sniper completely, do you know what sniper does for us in our homes? So if we can't buy sniper in an open market or supermarket, which closed market will we now buy it? Please they should also seal up 3rd mainland bridge and stop selling ropes in the market too. Sure!!

1. Exactly. They should also seal 3rd mainland bridge. After all people commit suicide there. Nonsense and nafdac.

8. What kind of nonsense is this? Are we still singing this old tune of criminalising suicide? How about strengthening mental health care facilities? Make therapy consultations free. Build a health centre and dedicate it to mental health just the way we have orthopedic hospitals. Empower NUC accredited institutions to deliver world class mental health education to students.
    I moved to a new area that was thriving with reptilian and venomous wildlife and sniper has been my saving grace. Are we all expected to be able to afford fumigation and Mobil spray? Do you realise that 1k insecticide can finish in just one night? So you expect the messenger in the office to finish his salary on cockroach abi.

9. your own is to ban. if your family owns the business would you say ban?

10. Will that stop these fools from committing suicide?
    Nonsense

11. This is not good ooo, Sniper has been very good in killing roaches and the likes. Misplaced priority! Useless govt that don't know their left from their right.

12. Now that people will be jumping over bridges they will ban third mainland and maybe Bar Beach.
    We have suicide on the rise and rather than tackle it we still want to pretend that it’s a unique white people problem and not tackle depression and anxiety as major consequences of our heavily conservative yet corrupt and economically dilapidated society

13. Stella what do you mean. Let rat enter you house and you give it a pat on the back. Rats are pests and pests are meant to be controlled. This is someone’s business that we are talking about. Not only that, it is not sniper that caused the frustration in the country. There are so many means in which people find alternative means to such things. Before sniper like someone rightly said, there were otapiapia and all others in the market.
    The farms they are restricting it to now, na still rat go still die there.
    Make I go charter am cos it’s good for drainage cleaning in the bathroom and sinks.

1. Thank you anon. I don't joke with sniper, I always make sure I have it at home because it helps a lot. That's what I use to keep mosquitoes away.
      Like people won't commit suicide now that sniper is been banned.

14. Hmmnn.. This one wey I no see my comment here..

15. Stella that your comment is very selfish!

16. You’re sorry for rats now? It’s because abroad don spoil us finish oh. They are a menace to society and need to be exterminated.

17. This is a welcome move by NAFDAC, no if or but.

18. See, who wan die go still die after all transformer dey, 3rd mainland bridge dey etc.. The way forward is for government to build mental health centres across the nation and make them accessible. Create awareness by way of jingles, TV adverts etc and lastly, shun corruption and let the masses feel the dividends of democracy.