Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Exclusive - Judge Throws Out Lilian Esoro And Ubi Franklin's Divorce Suit And Tells Them To Go And Enjoy Their Marriage.

Tuesday, July 09, 2019

Exclusive - Judge Throws Out Lilian Esoro And Ubi Franklin's Divorce Suit And Tells Them To Go And Enjoy Their Marriage.

On Monday July 8,2019 Actress Lilian Esoro and MMM CEO Ubi Franklin were to appear in court for their divorce to be finalised but alas something strange and unheard of in the history of divorce cases happened....

The Judge sitting at a high court in Ikeja,held that their that the reason for wanting divorce is not Valid and said that since Lilian confirmed that Ubi provides for their child and both f them are very god friends ,then there is no reason for divorce..According to sources ''She tell them say make Dem go settle their differences say nah small pikin dey worry Dem.
Stella nah so Judge take cancel the divorce ooh and everybody inside court room burst into laughter oh''

Actress Lilian Esoro and Music Boss Ubi Franklin got married in November 2015 and a few months later,things had fallen apart and the centre could no longer hold and they parted ways without letting out why their union crumbled.
They both Co-parent their son and if the truth be told,Ubi and Lilian have managed their separation very well.

So...What do you think about the court Judgement?Funny Judge huh?

155 comments:

1. It's not strange, the marriage should have broken down beyond reconciliation, if it hasn't a judge is mandated to let them settle their differences...it happens all the time...

2. Nigeria Judge Judy 😂

3. But i really do not understand,
      Must they live together
      Make person no go poison another o o

4. So,the judge decided to patch them up, even when they don't want to be together? Very funny

5. I swear, real Nigerian Judge Judy.

2. He that wears the shoe knows where it pinches him.

1. This judge is out of his mind! He can be your friend and provide for the kids but won't make a great companion or husband. He might not respect you, give you peace and be faithful to you. Some people are better far away from you for peace to reign. Lilian should appeal in high court and this time she has proof of him having more kids, 2 more kids have added to the equation. Ubi has now 5 kids, his son in the village is well kept.

2. That judge needs to be debarred I beg. What a stupid reason.

3. She needs to be disciplined. Are they kids that she'll tell them to go and enjoy their marriage. Nigeria tire me.

3. So their marriage remains valid? OMG OmG

Ubi can't have his cake and eat it. Nah #may27

1. Yaba left escapee9 July 2019 at 11:05

😂😂 @ May27th

2. Chai Beloved, my love for you just doubled. You used the idiom correctly.

4. Yimu of the Highest order. They've both tasted waters and realized the grass is not greener on the other side.

1. Abi ooo..... If they can work on it, then they should.

2. They should work it together? Shame on you! After impregnating about 10 women including one when he was still married to Lilian. She will be a big fool to go back to that man child. His Instagram posts are even enough to secure a divorce.

3. Anon 11:32 about 10 women you say? Please name like 6 of them. And which woman was pregnant for him when he was married to Lilian? Abi dey now carry pregnancy for years now?

4. Shame on you 11:32. Are you either of the couple? Continue taking painkillers for other peoples' headaches. The decision finally lies with both of them. Your ranting is not what will getthem divorced.

5. Why do I find this funny? Lols

6. Is it by force oh,haba madam judge someone said I no marry again,why force them biko

7. The judge is so unprofessional. What kind of judgement is this?
    Mtchewwwww

1. The judge is actually doing her job diligently. Divorce proceedings is about proving you two have tried everything and it is not just working and there are VALID reasons why the marriage should be dissolved. Like she said, if you are co parenting perfectly and are actually good friends then way are you divorcing in the first place...out the same energy into making the marriage work. Divorce proceeds are in family court and are supposed to do the right thing for the child/children involved and since Ubi and Lilian has refused to tell anyone the main reason why they want a divorce then it should as well stay married.

2. You judge base on evidence to prove a case right..

Since there wasn't anyone, na to throw case inside gutter

3. Anonymousv11.12. It's a bug lie. Co-paritung is not enough to deny them judgement. Only in Nigeria where judges display their stupidity in the name of judgment.

4. Ola you must not choke mouth in every conversation biko.So the two of them that opted for a divorce are mad and who told you they went to court without evidence...Nawa oh

5. Marriage is dissolved under Nigerian Law for reasons of irreconcilable difference; marriage had broken down irretrievably or it was not consummated. They should have adduced reasons for their case but they did not. For people saying he had 20 baby mamas the court does not come to social media and even if it does it will not judge based on heresay you have to proof your assertions.

She should have found a way to tell the court that their marriage is beyond repairs. i.e. irretrievably broken down due to irreconcilably differences. Its not nollywood where you see all manner of things on TV or Niyi Johnson will come and tell you Toyin did not sign divorce papers like we are all novice like him.

8. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww love is a beautiful thing. Congrats to them. Let the enjoyment begin

1. LMAO 🤣🤣🤣🤣
      They die there 😩😩

9. the judge is not proffesional at all, anyways thats nigeria for you. A judge in the western world wont take such thing with levity or a laughing matter. we are talking with peoples emotion and he is playing games. is it by force to stay married? they should go to another court

1. The judge followed the law and that's what a good judge do. Divorce laws in your western world is different from divorce laws in Nigeria.

2. There wasn't enough evidence to prove tge or cases right..

Make them go talk amicably..

3. Which law did the judge follow? So infidelity and domestic violence ain't enough for divorce? You are not well.

IF Lilian is serious, she should take her papers to an enlightened judge. Some of those Nigerian judges don't even keep up with laws. They give verdict according this their cultural and religious belief. Very unprofessional people. Thank God I don't live in that shit hole.

4. Lilian will be the highest mugu to let that not with a dirty prick cone close to her again. Ewwwww, after dipping his school bag in every Theresa out there. Yimmu

5. A judge in the western world can do that if the reason isn't valid enough, we don't know what the reason was so we shouldn't say what we don't know. Haven't other celebrities been parting ways? Did dey ask them to go work things out,until their reasons are enough grounds for a divorce the court will grant them one. That's why some people go as far as setting up one partner so that their divorce petition can be granted

6. Anon 11:36 did lilian specifically tell you that was the reason she gave for the divorce or you just came to that conclusion?

7. Ola where you at the divorce hearing this one you keep shouting there wasn't enough evidence upandan.

8. How old are you my dear.....there is obviously so much for you to learn about life and law. First when the chips are down you will be surprised that the facts are not as you read and assume on social media. and next time farabale and listen to people who know. Matrimonial law in Nigeria requires you to adduce reasons for divorce so if she did not give any reason and just said she wants out then the Judge will be wrong to divorce them and the aggrieved party could have won at an appeal. even if she just did not feel safe in the marriage anymore she should have explained why she believes she cant work it out anymore. It not nollywood or social media justice

10. This one is serious oh, it's not by force to marry na... All the best to them

11. gbese

enjoy marriage when baba na fuckative/fuckaholic

#GOAT™

12. Shie dandan ni? Is it by force?

13. Haba!!! !!!!!!!!
    Why the drama!!!!!! !
    What is unheard of or unusual about the court refusing to grant an order dissolving the union?

This happens all the time. The court will never grant a relief sought, if the party praying for such relief does not show through facts and proof that he or she is entitled to the relief.

So please, write properly next time. Simply say the court didn't grant the order sought because the party claiming the relief failed to establish his/her claim.

Some lawyers also visit this blog, so don't write like you are writing for novices.

1. Anony,no fight hia..

2. Thank you
      Too many one way thinkers here.

14. divorce them and allow Lilian move in with her life !!!
    this isn't even funny one bit😐

1. I must first know their reaction before I waste my energy to react.

2. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

Let them go and settle Jere.

3. Ola you must be related to Ubi the father Abraham in a way or you probably have father Abrahamic tendencies.

15. She's not a professional judge, she's not the one wearing the shoe. Or maybe they didn't tell her the main reason they are separating. I Hope her judgment is not based on their celebrity status.

1. The last part of your comment is the right answer

2. Anon 10:44 stop talking like an illiterate,did Toke not get divorced from Maje? Which one is celebrity status

16. Don't force two adults to be together ooo. Sometimes people love each other well from a distance.

17. This one funny die. Which Kain judge be that?
    Na by force to stay married?

18. I think the judge is creating room for hatred and infidelity here oh. If they could resolve their differences then they both would not have opted for a long separation and subsequently divorce.

1. Some people rush to divorce without trying to resolve their differences. I don't know about Ubi and Lilian sha.

19. Funny ke? This is not funny at all; so must they kill themselves before the judges see reason as to why they should divorce? So they are stuck with each other? Na wa ooo.

20. Funny judge oh
    What's now the way forward for them? Will they settle or go back to court?

21. Obviously the seperation was due to Ubi's infidelity. That alone is enough for divorce and it is the responsibility of the father to pay child support to the mother of the child whose custody the child is under. Ubi's case is literally so unpardonable,he got upto 3women pregnant and you still want me to be your wife and share that pendulum of yours with those strange women and risk been infected with std and what have you. ##Sorry i'm done##

1. Ubi if you can change there is hope. God help you.

2. Did she tell the court that or you expect the judge to rule based on instablog or bella naija news? o is it not this Nigeria that women will even be scared to sue their husbands so their children dont say they sent their father to jail?

22. Their main reason for divorce is still not made known to the public.I think the judge passes that judgement based on their facial countenance and the fact that they've been cordial with parenting together.

23. Not funny pls. I know the judge meant well but do yo damn job and quit meddling.

1. According to the Law he's doing his job well. They should go back fighting like cat and mouse, I'm sure he will grant them the divorce.

2. Really, 11:02? What Law?

There are friendly exes, not everybody must fight like Tom and Jerry before you grant them divorce.

3. The judge did her job well. A learned person will understand better. Ipso facto.

4. It actually shows how archaic our laws are. They don't keep up with the times. There have been great improvements in understanding the psychology and emotional hardship that occurs from staying in a unloving marriage, we need to keep up with the times

Not to mention the expectations that people must be bitter enemies for them to want to be separated or divorced. This is simply not true. And should not be encouraged.

This is a cultural ' hes taking care of the kids nah, what more do you want?'approach that elderly women have used to keep women in perpetual misery

5. Perxian until lilian provides solid evidence to that effect the judge will run by what he/she has and its not sufficient clearly

24. Oh boy! Na this one be welding not wedding. I feel for Lilian sha

25. Na wa. Na force to stay married?

26. Looooool, this judge is a woman who believes in marriage. They have to expose the real details why they want a divorce if they really want it. Stop forming everything is perfect but I want divorce, just come out and say the truth. Goodluck

27. It is good to enter marriage with a 'forever' mindset. See yourself as a team and fight all forces against your marriage. Go and enjoy your marriage.

28. Well this judgment is probably based in the facts placed before the court at the time of the filing of the divorce petition.

29. shithole,they keep oppressing women in this country, I will never get married to a Nigerian not to talk of a Nigerian in Nigeria Godforbid

1. Lol. There are still fine couples in Nigeria and bad couples everywhere.

2. Sister go and marry Congolese or Arab abeg.Forming opinion without knowing what is happening outside

30. Is this a joke, I cant laugh..…………. reason for wanting divorce was not valid ??? pls what reasons did Lilian's lawyer state ? Didn't they include he had a child while dating/married to her. Or that reason is not solid enuf.

31. A very funny judge indeed. I think there is something funny about this divorce case,like they want to be divorce but still stayed married so as to explore other people/means(open marriage thingy).
    Anyway,with Ubi's baggage, Lilian should just allow him or rather she should appeal.
    wetin musa no go see for gate.

32. Their lawyers didn’t present formidable facts that would make it imperative for the judge to divorce them.
    They should give it sometime and go back to court if they are not able to reconcile themselves.
    But how will Lilian cope with all his baby mamas?

1. Sense will not kill you.....

They are still hoarding the reason for divorce!!!

Make them enjoy🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. Slutty I didn't skip your comment today 🤣😂💋

Loool

33. she can always appeal the judgement

1. Based on what? Y'all are funny. You think you can just appeal because you don't like the judgement? Or is it this thing that Atiku and INEC are doing that is deceiving you people? Apart from the fact that court calendar might be full, you don't just wake up and file appeal. There must be sufficient grounds in fact or in law. It's not pepper that if you don't like the way Mama Nkechi sold for you, you leave her and cross the road to buy from Mama Bisi.

34. Lailai! It can't fit happen. Ubi will dey his dey and my Lily will dey her dey. Is the head of that judge paining him ni? Until he infects her with incurable STI/STD okwa ya? So, his "sowing of seed" upandan is not enough grounds for divorce abi? Nonsense and Ubiham!

1. What if, in trying not to be a bitter ex, she didn't state all that? She probably just wanted to be done anand on her way.
      Nigerians laws want you to show that you have tried and over tried and do not want to do again. Sad but true.

The ruling isn't a big deal. It happens all the time, some courts routinely refer divorce cases for mediation and reconciliation . It is all in the hope to ' preserve the family unit'. She should just stahd be ground through all the court ordered reconciliation efforts and then reapply.

35. they oppress women for a living in this country

36. I thought separation for more than a year is enough ground for divorce? Na question I ask o.

1. Correct Chidinma.

2. Yes you have to be separated for a year and above to be able to file for a divorce but that isnt the ground to be granted a divorce. You need to back it up with proof

3. If that were true, everybody that married someone who is based abroad, would be divorced.

4. Anon 13:24 you sha don't have sense las las,see the rubbish you just comfortably spilled

5. Anon 18:18 😂😂😂😂😂🤦🏽‍♀️

37. So both of them cannot marry another person except they want to come back as man and wife?I wish them the best.

38. The judge must be high on cheap drugs..... is it by force for them to stay together. mchteeew

39. Ubi doesn’t deserve her at all divorce is not finalized and he got 2 women pregnant already hmm Ubi is very manipulative

1. Don't mind him.....before Ubi even gives her STD.
      which kind judge is this, doesn't he know he is hindering the poor girl from re-marrying? So if she meets a great guy now and decides to marry him, she will be stuck and cant becos of Ubi that has fathered two kids.

2. It's non of your business who deserves who.. You were not there when they met.. Face your family issue.

3. Hahaha 😂 @face your family issue.

40. Rubbish judgement. Infidelity is enough to secure a divorce. Even irreconcilable differences as a reason is enough. The judge must be a woman who takes bullshit frim her husband or a man who thinks men should be able get away with everything.a judge bringing in his/her personal belief in court. What a shame.

Being good friends and providing for your kids are not enough reasons to stay married.

1. I strongly believe Lilians lawyer perhaps didn't present enough or viable evidence for the divorce. Come on, he produced a whole child.
      Lilian abeg change your lawyer, smthn is wrong smwe'r. The judge doesn't know the full picture. Maybe no real evidence for the infidelity was presented in court. When there is a whole child, that is d greatest evidence of infidelity.

2. It really belittles the psyche of the woman. Ndi 'he's providing for the kids, just try and manage'

41. I got divorced by just filling the form and sending it to the family court. Didn't even appear in court. Divorce was sealed and approved.

1. What did you write as the reason for wanting a divorce? Or you think you will just say you want a divorce and it will be granted just like that

2. What did you say was your reason for wanting a divorce?

3. Sometimes you don’t have to give a reason. One spouse falls out of love and that’s enough to file for divorce.

4. Anon 17:56 is that enough reason for your divorce to be granted? Say that in court and see if they wont send you both to arbitration

5. Infidelity and irreconcilable differences are what I wrote. I'm divorced now. Didn't appear in court and didn't pay any lawyer. Anyway this is UK not sure how they do it in that shit hole.

42. Chai, I like this judge

1. DON why you no go like am when women in your village are being treated like slaves.If table were turned can you take the woman back after given birth to three different men?

2. More like this judgment left me laughing. Is it even possible in a serious matter like this?
      I am not for divorce but...situAtion is sowell gunny I cantam help .but keep laughing.
      I would have loved this judgment if the.husband hadnt ccommitted "in every nook and crannies".
      All I can say is, Jesus take the wheels!

3. Ehos this one talking up there? @mummy kinikan. Was the woman with him when he was sharing pregnancy up and down? Or was the guy beating her while they were together?
      I can only support divorce where there's domestic violence. Which people or your village are being treated like a slave here or were you living wit them before now?
      I never heard the past complained about being maltreated anywhere, it's you the house breakers that keep coming up with such allegations.

4. Don or whatever you are called you talk too much for a man.

How sure are you that domestic voilence wasn't an issue in the marriage?common sense should even tell you that a man that violates emotionally Is worse than a woman beater because he'd appear like a saint after causing you emotional wreckage and people wouldn't understand it no matter how much explaining you do especially those who don't live with you or those not so close to you.

Even if you don't have sense pretend nah and stop the disgrace to your kinsmen.

5. I feel so sorry for Lillian.

43. This is not funny at all

44. Maybe until dem kill themselves before the judge go do the thing wey e suppose do in the first place.

45. I'm not a lawyer but I strongly believe the judge worked with the information both parties presented. As bad as I hate infidelity, I also believe there's room for repentance and forgiveness. Theirs is loud cos of their status in the society. There are several men doing worse than Ubi yet the women/wives won't complain. I know of a lady whose husband caught with charms, chanting incantations with his name, guess what? He forgave her and today they're celebrated in their circle. It's totally up to them to decide what they want and how they want it.

1. Do we think Lilian's hands are clean, or Ubi doesn't know? Or that he hasn't presented that to the judge? We know Ubi's own cos women are dragging him on social media openly and he's accepting some at least. Lilian hasn't gotten pregnant, that we know of. But isn't she playing around? The judge will say "these two deserve each other, don't go and inflict yourselves on other people in the name of marriage only to come back again for another divorce."

46. Hehehehehe
    Maybe they didn't give sufficient reasons, probably flimsy excuses. Cos I am sure if DV was listed, no judge will ignore that.

This may be a sign...
    If both parties are willing to make it work, why not.
    Too many divorces everywhere.

-Queen Jay

1. These people are divorced in every way possible except without the paper in their hand. They lead separate lives and are distinct in every way. That paper is just holding them back from formally marrying someone else that's all.

47. They should just convert it to open marriage cos I'm sure lily has codedly moved on.

48. Correct judge. More of that.

1. Why wont you say more of that when you see women as second class that can eat whatever shit is given to them.I am sure if it was Lilian that did what Ubi has done.You wont say this rubbish.

2. Is this Lillian a saint?

49. Pls were you married under the Act(court marriage)? Please I need to know because I will soon be filing for a divorce.

50. He probably would have been given another chance if only he carried on his affairs like a responsible man, there goes nothing

51. The judge is right and has to rely on what was filed before the court. No doubt they had their child in mind and didn't want to wash their dirty linen in public. If Lilian says he provides for their son and they are VERY good friends, then what is the ground for divorce? Nothing. Lilian needs to file the case again citing that they are not compatible, adultery, deceit, having children outside of wedlock, etc. Then she will get her divorce. You can't get divorce by being nice.

52. It's not unheard of. And its not as strange as some people assume. The same way two families can tell their children who say they're not doing again, to go and work out their differences is how some courts behave. People do not get married or divorced on social media - you do it traditionally, in court or in licensed church.

The judge is working on information that wasn't made available to the public. Also the fact that Ubi and Lilian have never actually said anything bad publicly about each other is something the judge would have taken into consideration. How social media activity impacts on matrimonial cases is not set in stone and it's still evolving because social media is pretty new (as compared with marriage anyway). But let me put it this way. There are no SM pictures or videos of alleged domestic violence like Tonto Dikeh's case. They might hate each other privately but they're not dragging each other on SM. None of them has written a book to accuse the each other of all sorts like Toke Makinwa. None of them has attributed their separation to social media, so for eg one says the other was cheating with someone they met on social media.

You do not get a divorce just because two of you agree to do so. It's not pepper in the market that you can buy, just because you want to. Contrary to what people seem to think, courts make getting divorces difficult for a reason. Everyone has an amount of crase inside them that can make them or the other party to say dem no do again, and they regret it tomorrow cos that thing is not really an issue or it could have been managed or someone overreacted. People have hot temper or village demons wain-ing their button; they say things they don't really mean but carry on just to prove they are powerful enough to do what they said they would. Courts don't encourage such behaviour.

There must be proof that the marriage has irretrievably broken down - so someone is in danger, or another thing that's caused irreconcilable differences.

53. so if you want to get divorced with no serious evidence, there is no divorce. But there are other divorce stories where there is no tangible reason except they don't love one another anymore and they still get the divorce. How does it work sef?

1. That is hearsay or maybe not under Nigerian law. In Nigeria there must be a reason why you think your differences are irreconcilable. So in case of no love between parties explain what took the love and how it is impacting you physiologically. You just need to proof your case reasonably.

54. There's nothing new here. There's what is called the 2 year rule after marriage. You cannot file for divorce until 2 years after the marriage was contracted, unless there are extraordinary factors like excessive drug abuse, venereal diseases or domestic violence. Even after the 2 year rule elapses, there are grounds for divorce. So even if you endured 2 years of unhappiness and you now what a divorce, your reason(s) must fall under one of the grounds of dissolution of marriage. You must show that the marriage has broken down irretrievably.

There are about 8 grounds for divorce, failure to consummate the marriage, i.e that your spouse has NEVER had sex with you since you guys were married. There's the ground of adultery but you must also join the person he/she cheated with as co-respondent and have evidence of the adultery. You must also prove that it has become unbearable to live with the cheating spouse. Adultery is very difficult to prove in court. There's also the ground of desertion, that your spouse has abandoned the matrimonial home for at least 1 year prior to filing for divorce or both parties have lived apart continuously for over 2 years. There are other grounds I don't remember now. However "I am no longer happy in my marriage" is certainly not one of the grounds.

If you cannot satisfactorily prove to the court that the marriage has broken down irretrievably, no court will grant the dissolution of that marriage. I believe they filed for divorce too soon. Now that they have been separated for some time, either or both of them can file for divorce again after a year or a couple of years as long as they have not been living under the same roof at any time during the separation.

That the judge said they should go and work on their marriage, doesn't mean they must reconcile and stay together. They can remain separated, doing their own thing. Another factor is the mindset of the judge, it comes to play whether they admit it or not. I remember a female judge who was also a pastor at RCCG, Omg! Thank goodness she's retired now. To get a dissolution of marriage in her court was a herculean task! She will so frustrate the petitioner that he/she will be tempted to remain married by force. She will keep adjourning the cases, sometimes she even scolds the petitioner if the respondent isn't willing to end the marriage. She will bring Scriptures into the matter and tell the petitioner that he/she is hell bound. Lol! Those were the days. Sometimes we deliberately stayed back to watch proceedings if we see that her cause list has dissolution of marriage listed.

1. Judge is even far. I've heard of female lawyers who start preaching forgiveness and submission at consultation stage to a potential client who is physically bleeding and bruised after an instance of domestic violence. Imagine someone who wants to file for divorce having the misfortune of meeting such a lawyer. They won't even get to see any judge.

55. When village people in the coven get hold of a judge in their calabash

56. You go fear marriage. Kudos to the judge. If na me, unless domestic violence, I no go grant anyone divorce. For better or for worse, una go hear am. So that before marriage, people will be forced to do due diligence.

57. First ask the question of ; if Lilian’s basis were on cheating and character.
    Irreconcilable difference isn’t just enough. Lilian have been trying to play cool and smooth and refusing to say things as it should be, knowing any evidence she brings to court will make it to the blogs. So if she truly is ready to get divorced, she will name his sins as untainted as they are, but she is saving her name and sanity of her son. You just loosing interest after months of marriage isn’t reasonable for divorce anywhere.

58. What if this happens to Toke and Maje? #JustSaying

1. Not possible na, Toke spoke up, she had evidence, she kuku write book join.

59. That judge must be mad.

60. It's normal. Divorce is never easily granted. I was married to my ex husband/boyfriend for just six weeks and we separated (informally). I actually only needed the document at the time to process my visa to visit him as a girlfriend but embassy refused me initially for lack of sufficient proof of the relationship. Unfortunately, the visit turned out horrible and we parted ways six weeks later. Three years later, I filed for divorce and since we had been 'separated' for so long, naturally the marriage contract becomes null and void. Yet, if you know what my eyes saw before the judge granted the divorce. I had to prove beyond doubts with evidence why the marriage didn't work. Thankfully, ex-hubby did not appear in court at all. That was the only saving grace. The judge even insinuated that my lawyer was planning to divorce his wife and was planning to marry me. He then forbade my lawyer from having any form of relationship with me. He said we must leave the court room in opposite directions hehehehe! It wasn't funny like this that day o.

1. Lmao!!! You swallowed big bone and e hook you for throat. Your marriage was basically arangeee for papers and not really real. Thank God for you!

2. I tell you Anon 22.43. That's when I understood what it meant when they say "marriage is easy to rush into but difficult to rush out of". The judge insisted that all my arguments and defences, including extreme domestic violence, financial irresponsibility, emotional abuse, 'sexual abuse' etc including the 3 year separation, plus the obvious fact that we had no kids together, still was not sufficient for him to grant the divorce. He said we didn't mention any case of infidelity or inability to perform sexual duties. Unknown to the judge, the lawyer was my uncle and he knew how important it was for me to get the divorce ahead of when when I'm eventually ready to get married for real. My lawyer therefore fought frantically to ensure he proved the irrevocability of the marriage beyond doubts. I can't begin to mention the things he had to come up with, in evidence to convince this judge. Yet, he declined, saying, looking at me, he sees I'm a pretty girl and that he suspects my lawyer had eyes on me, hence why my lawyer 'carried the matter for head'. And that i may be the reason behind my lawyer's tumultuous marriage since coincidentally, my uncle was having issues in his marriage at the time too. Infact he was already threatening the wife with divorce which the judge was privy to having become close friends with my uncle on the job. We told him our relationship(uncle-niece) but he refused to believe. He just laughed and said 'Na today?! Abegiiii!" He said I had 'oju ton soro' meaning seductive eyes. He eventually granted the divorce on the grounds that the sitting was a subsequent sitting in which my 'ex-hubby' had been invited to court but refused to show up (to tell his side of the story). He thereafter insisted we exited the courtroom by different doors and monitored me to ensure I did not look back or have any conversation with my lawyer on my way to the car park. He made someone follow me all the way. I didn't find it funny at all but everybody in the courtroom laughed over it. He was a funny man though. I know this cos I remember him cracking jokes in previous court sessions I witnessed before mine. Now that i look back I'm thinking he probably meant it as a joke but meeeeen, fear catch me that day ehn?! It was as if he would never grant the divorce.

61. Na wa ooo, may be they want to come together & work on their marriage & you all are here killing yourself over them last time I checked Lilian anit an angel too, so they deserve each other

62. Lilian go hear..nwiah!!!😭😭😭
    Poor woman!
    She should go learn work nau.. for where Tonto dey!

*the main issue / fault is: where they legally separated & with proof showing that for the required amount of time, before rushing to the divorce court???

*** another (igbese) wahala for Lilian's head now is that Ubi's baby mamas can drag her into their child support mess, and rope her together with Ubi to cough out ridiculous sums of money for payment to these women & their kids!
    It is very tricky situation. Whereby if u r a successful woman & economically well off, it may be 1000000× better for u stay unmarried (legal) to a man. GO & ASK OPRAH!!!
    A very crafty monkey(man) can rope u into unbelievable.. igbese (shenenigans) just for the sake of legally getting married.

I'm very Lilian's plight now. She's in for sh1t. Ubi is bad news!!!