Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Customs Intercept N5bn Worth Of Tramadol And Other illicit Drugs In Lagos

Saturday, August 17, 2019

Nigerian Customs Intercept N5bn Worth Of Tramadol And Other illicit Drugs In Lagos

The Nigerian Customs Service (NCS) on Friday announced its interception of 21 contraband drugs including tramadol valued at over N5 billion.

The National Public Relations Officer (NPRO) of NCS, Assistant Comptroller Joseph Attah, told newsmen in Ikeja that the drugs were intercepted when the smugglers of the items were attempting to move them from Lagos to other parts of the country.

The smugglers, according to him, had intended to seize the opportunity of the festive mood of the last Eid-el-Kabir to play a fast one on the Customs.

The seizure was effected on August 3, Attah said at the Ikeja Training College of the service where the truck containing the drugs is being detained.

from the nationonline

*please what is the use of tramadol medically?

9 comments:

1. Tramadol is an analgesic

2. Tramadol is a very strong painkiller usually administered to accident victims.

1. Yes, I'm still on it. After accident years ago

2. You shouldn't still be on it
      Your doctor should move you to another medicine
      Its addictive

3. It's a strong painkiller.after it is morphine. That one the pain has to be grave. One lady was getting in UCH back then, the pain ehn, I felt for her. She later died ooh

4. I hope they also realise thst tramadol is an legitimate drug for certain illnesses particularly for sickle cell. This abuse has made is difficult for those suffering from sickle cell to obtain the drug for pain management. Even hospitals are unable to source this for legitimate pain management.

5. What would happen to surgical patients and other patients in the hospital who genuinely need it. It is an analgesic and most analgesics tend to be addictive in the long run.