Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Reacts To Army Killing Three Policemen

Friday, August 09, 2019

President Buhari Reacts To Army Killing Three Policemen

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed the Defence Headquarters to commence immediate investigation of incident involving the troops of 93 Battalion, Takum, Taraba, which resulted in the death of three police officers and a civilian.

The Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar disclosed this when he briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting of the National Security Council, presided by President Buhari at the State House, Abuja....

DAILY POST had reported that the Force Public Relations Officer, DCP Frank Mba, had earlier issued a statement that the Police Operatives, led by ASP Felix Adolije of the Intelligence Response Team (IRT) reportedly came under sudden attack by soldiers along Ibi–Jalingo Road.

Mba said that the operatives, who were taking the arrested suspect, Alhaji Hamisu to the Command Headquarters in Jalingo, were shot at severally by the soldiers in spite of sufficient proof that they are Police personnel on legitimate duty.

He said that three Policemen comprising one Inspector and two Sergeants and one civilian died as a result of gunshot injuries sustained in the attack while others sustained serious gunshot wounds.

According to him, the soldiers thereafter released the handcuffed suspect, Alhaji Hamisu, who is now on the run.

The Chief of Air Marshal has now said: “The council also decided that the unfortunate incidents in Taraba State in Ibi, a committee will be setup under the Defence Headquarters to critically look into the circumstances that led to the unfortunate incident.’’

Abubakar also revealed that the council evaluated the current strategy of managing internal security operations across the country.

*I think the Army men just wanted to free the suspect and had to make it look like they thought it was armed robbers......They were showed sufficient evidence yet they went ahead......

17 comments:

1. Chai!!!! Nigeria!!!God please help us..when will all this rubbish come to an end.

2. I agree with you Stella.Why free him?. They should have taken him into custody.U saw someone on handcuffs,u released him. For what?.......am tired of this country

1. Money!
      Money, my dear. Someone made calls and someone got credit alert, so the army had to make it look like a rescue operation but they didn't think it will become this publicised.
      This country is messed up

3. Stella is absolutely right. How many times have they confronted real kidnappers in Taraba state where you can be picked up in your house while sleeping?

4. Stella, I agree with you. Those army men should be thoroughly investigated, they know that kidnap kingpin and may be collecting money from him sef . I hope justice is done in this case after investigations.

5. As usual nothing meaningful will come of it. RIP to the departed souls.

6. Na was!!!! See how innocent well trained policemen, fathers and husbands were wasted just like that!!!! No wonder insecurity is thriving in Naija. The army is clearly complicit.

7. What i read about Nigeria these days is unbelievable. God please heal this land

8. This goes to show unprofessional the security personnel in Nigeria can be, how on earth would NA explain this to us. You saw someone on hand curves and freed him, for what? Even if you they thought he's a kidnap victim, why wont they make a press reportage on their well deserved kidnap rescue (that they're known for 'self appraisal') if something if not fishy here, tell me. As a matter of fact i'm tired of this country and a whole lot spew enclosed in it. *spits*
    On my way to WAKANDA, guys wish me Journey mercy.

9. Before, only civilians were being oppressed and killed in this APC government ... now kidnappers are kidnapping APC officials. APC is arresting and suspending its people, soldiers are harassing police... the snake is eating itself

10. It's very simple, if they had taken him into custody, many secrets who have opened up that will implicate the military.

11. RIP to the deceased police officers who paid the price of serving their fathers land with their lives!! I hope something comes out of the probe of this incident but if not,God is not sleeping. He will avenge the blood of these innocent officers from their killers.

12. Official collaboration in kidnap business.

13. WHAT KIND OF EVIL STORY IS THIS, RIP TO THE DEAD

14. Rest in peace

15. Enter your comment...RIP to the departed souls

16. Dog eat dog syndrome. Only in nigeria