Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sowore Omoyele Thanks Nigerians From DSS Detention Facility ,Says He Is Being Treated Well

Tuesday, August 06, 2019

Sowore Omoyele Thanks Nigerians From DSS Detention Facility ,Says He Is Being Treated Well

Human rights activist, Omoyele Sowore, has broken silence on his arrest by the Department of State Services, DSS, over the Revolution Now protests.

Sowore expressed gratitude to Nigerians and the international community for their support, urging them to pour out to the streets in protest against bad governance in the country.

Sowore speaking for the first time after his arrest on Saturday said this during the visit of the “Take It Back Movement” to the DSS facility where he is being held, The Nation reports.

Sowore said “I would like to assure everyone that I am being treated well and in very good health.

“I am pleased that the peaceful #RevolutionNow protests went ahead.

“However, knowledge of the sheer number of innocent Nigerians being arrested for exercising their civil rights bothers me.

“I join others in demanding for the immediate and unconditional release of all those arrested by the police on Monday.”

DSS had arrested Sowore over the weekend after he called for a nationwide staging of protests against what he described as a bad governance.

Rachel Onamusi-Kpiasi, Director, Media and Communication of the movement, confirmed that Sowore was in high spirits.

In a statement released on Monday evening, she wrote “At 6pm today, 5th August, 2019, members of the Take it Back Movement were allowed to visit with our convener, Omoyele Sowore, for the first time since his armed abduction in the early hours last Saturday, August 3.

“We met him in high spirits, unmoved by the events of the last few days.
The officers allowed us to present him with food as Sowore had refused all meals since his capture.
We are also happy to confirm that Take it Back members will be allowed to bring him food daily as per his wishes.

“The freedom fighter was quick to ask about the movement and supporters as he is aware that there will be a lot of worry about his wellbeing.
Indeed, the silver lining in today’s unrest lies in the knowledge that truly, you cannot stop an idea whose time has come.

“The Take it Back Movement will continue to agitate for his release as well as that of comrades whose voices this oppressive regime has tried to silence.
This visit was a small win; but we will not rest until we are free and free indeed.”
from dailypost.

#FreeSowore ...#lethimgonow

27 comments:

1. 🙄🙄🙄🙄

2. This government what is wrong with them? During the time of Goodluck, they were making so many bad comments but because is a democracy then, nobody arrested them. But now the reverse is the case.

3. "The nation is no longer at ease. No one is abstracted from the on-going carnage. In July, the largest casualties were from the homestead of the president in Katsina: 80 persons were reportedly kllled there in July, with Borno coming a close second with 75 dead.

Foreign governments are warning their citizens that Nigeria is now a no-go country. Those who want to do business in Anglophone West Africa now seek refuge in Ghana as opposed to Nigeria."

1. During your Jonathan period foreign government issues the same warning so no be today.

4. "Omoyele Sowore is one of those Nigerian idealists tired of watching the country go to the dogs from the sideline. He decided to jump into the fray. He registered a political party and contested for the presidency. But he, and others like him were shut out by what has turned out to be disputed election. So he opted for another gambit. He called for a revolution and fixed a date. He asked Nigerians to come out in numbers to demand a change in the status quo.

But he was either unserious or just plain naiive. You don’t invite people to a revolution. You don’t schedule a revolution on television and on social media. The powers-that-be will not siddon look. On the eve of his “revolution,” the DSS invaded his home and picked him up. He became yet another Nigerian citizen who will be locked up without legal reprieve."

5. "The government knows it has created a powder-keg in Nigeria through bad policies. But it feels confident that it can bottle this up by repressive measures. It accused Sowore of seeking to overthrow a legitimate government violently. But every right-thinking Nigerian knows that what Sowore was organising was a peaceful protest. Sowore has no instrument of violence and he has zero number of men underarms."

6. it baffles me that the human called buhari arrested sowore

#GOAT™

7. "Garba Shehu, a government spokesman, said: “The ballot box is the only constitutional means of changing government and a president in Nigeria.”This statement is unfortunate coming from the spokesman of a government that has just won a controversial election.

The answer of the government to Sowore has been to arrest him. But they would be foolish to assume that by so doing they have stopped his movement. Sowore did not create the need for a social revolution. He simply responded to the need for one. If we go by the template that transformed Nnamdi Kanu into a national public figure, then the conclusion is that the government has created another public hero in Sowore."

8. "Not many people knew Kanu until the government arrested him and, in effect, gave him a public platform and made him a hero. At the rate the DSS is going, the same public prominence now seems to be in the offing for Sowore thanks to the government’s anti-democratic high-handedness. It is the right of Nigerians to protest the bad policies of their government. That right is not granted at the discretion of the government.

With regard to the affairs of Nigeria, the people and not the government are supreme. Sooner, rather than later, any attempt by the government to abrogate the democratic rights of the people of Nigeria is bound to fail."

1. Eeyah! @Teejay seem pained over happenings in Nigeria, but unfortunately others don't care. That's way it is, no remedy.

2. OGA NATIVE DOCTOR PLEASE DONT SAY THAT THERE IS NO REMEDY, IF EVERY ONE IS LIKE YOU AND HAVE THE SAME MENTALITY THEN NIGERIA WILL NEVER BE BETTER. WE DONT HAVE TO TAKE SHIT FORM THIS PEOPLE AGAIN ITS TIME FOR US TO GET BACK OUR COUNTRY

3. TEEJAY THIS IS A LOVELY WRITE UP. THANK YOU

9. Sowore, that has use una hustle , somebody that is negotiating his own part of the cake ooh

1. Don't mind them, he only wants his share like Kanu one of Teejay's hero got his share and ran away.

10. Just like I said the other day, I pity those following this man because all he is doing is for his personal gains!

No one will know when he will get some form of settlement. It is after everything, the story might emerge. Meanwhile, those taking his case very personal would have being killed...

1. Whatever he is doing it for, isn't the problem. The real issue is how it has dampened democracy. I could careless about the both of them.

11. No be only human right activist.

Mtschewwwwwww

1. What are you?
      Who knows you except on this blog.

12. Mshewwwww
    Please they should lock him in a dark room and loose the key. He cannot shy away from the bad soup he helped prepare.
    #takesoworetowheredasukiiscoolingoff.

1. Shakara, I'm making Eba already! He and his cohorts must eat to their fill.
      Buhari is just starting with them.
      I'm sorry to say but, our Yoruba leaders highly miscalculated in this Buhari issue and I am super excited it has turned around to bite them in the ass.
      They think Buhari is Jonathan that is very tolerant to the point of being called the world's most insulted President.
      Let them come and 'Occupy Nigeria' let's see!
      I can't wait for Buhari to turn against Tinubu...

2. Mama Mia, I can't wait!!! Tinubu's day will surely come. I have zero sympathy for these guys, they were all used to do the current administration's bidding. Let them all enjoy the fruits of their labour.

13. Buhari, you are a failure to the growth of democracy for doing this!!!I hope the international community is watching this?

14. Teejay please drink water and calm down, you are rambling too much on this post dear.

1. You are crazy. So happenings in Nigeria no dey pain you ?
      No worry,you go soon graduate. Haq haq haq

15. No more freedom of speech, watched the cctv footage of his arrest this morning. Not to worry cos nothing will happen to you.

16. Sowore that has been settled.
    Lols.
    Stupid guy used Nigerians to hustle again

17. It's only a matter of time....