Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Vice President Osinbajo Reacts To Report Insinuating That He Must Seek Approval From Buhari Concerning Agencies Under Him...

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Vice President Osinbajo Reacts To Report Insinuating That He Must Seek Approval From Buhari Concerning Agencies Under Him...

The office of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has reacted to a report insinuating that President Muhammadu Buhari has rolled out a directive that Osinbajo should seek Buhari’s approvals for agencies under him because they have not been following due process in the past.

In a statement by Laolu Akande, the Vice President dismissed the report as false and an attempt to sow the seeds of discord between him and Buhari.

Please read the statement:

Our attention has been drawn to a sensational report by The Cable published on September 17, 2019, which claims that His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari, has directed Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, to seek approvals for agencies under him.

The report suggests, falsely, that agencies under the supervision of the Vice President do not normally comply with established rules where presidential approvals are required.

This is obviously misleading and aims only to plant seeds of discord in the Presidency, while attempting to create unnecessary national hysteria.

The agencies in question are established by law and the Vice President has always insisted on due compliance with the enabling statutes and other established regulations.

Depending on the particular scope of activity in question, agencies may require management approval only, at the level of the Director-General or Chief Executive Officer. In this category falls the great majority of their day-to-day activities.

However, other activities, or procurements, with value exceeding a certain threshold, require Board approval. These may get to the agency Board chaired by the Vice President. In a few cases where Presidential approval is required, the Director-General must seek such approval from the President, through the Vice President. These rules have always guided the activities of statutory agencies and the ones under the Vice President’s supervision have always been so guided.

To claim that in the first term of the Buhari administration, agencies of government have not been complying with the provisions (of getting final approvals from the President) is false, and the attempt to suggest the Vice President’s complicity in such irregularities is simply mischievous and reprehensible.

The effective and mutually respecting relationship between the President and the Vice President is well known to Nigerians and it is futile to insinuate otherwise.

Even though the Vice President has a statutory role as Board Chairman of some government agencies under his office, with appropriate approval limits, which often do not include contract approvals; it is ludicrous to even insinuate that a Board Chairman approves contracts.

Evidently, the Federal Executive Council, which oversees Federal Ministries and agencies of government, is chaired by the President, and it is in its purview to approve or ratify award of contracts within the prescribed threshold.

The Vice President remains committed to the service of his fatherland and will continue to do so despite the purveyors of fake news. We urge media organizations, as gatekeepers, to uphold truth, balance, fairness and objectivity in their reports.
from pmnews.

9 comments:

1. I know they will definitely deny this but I am not surprise at it, for they are used to this antics already. The Cable News won't have reported it if there was no truth as such. The same way Osibanjo was removed from the Economic team he was heading.

I don't want to believe this is an attempt to keep the Lagos state bullion van politician, the one you people called Jagaban and his loyalist at a distance. 2023 will be an interesting event.

1. Sometimes I don't really know what Nigerians want and why we must bring tribal sentiments even in actions taken to salvage our country. The vps economic team had not genuine financial expert on board and if you are honest you will know that our economy is taking a downward turn.
      2023 is so Paramount that you will fault a better team made up of certified financial and economy gurus. What knowledge does the VP have about the economy ? Talking about 2023 ; the shameless way the south west make it about themselves when the southeast have not tasted the presidency is very shameful and depraved.
      God will shock the south west come 2023; according to my IBO friend he said he will rather support another northerner than see the southwest taste the presidency . At the end of the day, we just want a peaceful, economic vibrant, secured and flourishing Nigeria for our children.

2. TeeJay, this is not a social issue that you rationalize and enjoy discussing very well. Do you know the workings of govt/public service? The VP's office is trying to clarify and educate the public on how the system works and your ignorant self is still insisting otherwise. Some of you will continue to wallow in ignorance because you refuse to purge your minds/heads of false/wrong information. Pls only make comments on issues that you have full understanding and information - not what you think or unconfirmed hearsay. This misuse of social media????

3. Lols @ according to ur IBO friends, the way u people insinuate things and come to conclusion baffles me.

4. Anon 08:28.. Tell your Igbo friends that Buhari called the Igbos to support him in 2015 and 2019 elections so that the presidency can get to them.

The results of both elections revealed the response of Igbo majority towards the call. Politics as we all know it is a game of numbers. You can't espect a region(South West) that put in all her numbers in both elections not to put herself forward when the baton would change hand in 2023. Tell your friend to leave God out of this and he should encourage his kinsmen to play participatory politics. OBJ wrote a letter to the SE sometimes ago, encouraging them not to play individual politics but to play politics in unison and one voice.

About the vp... Petty arguments and sentiments is the issue of some sdk people. Na where e go spoil some people dey happy and comment ignorantly. VP that's in the presidency is clarifying workings of govt, someone here said Cable won't report it if it's not true. Cable ko, table ni. Believe all you want, but governance is moving forward

2. So some people do not support the government’s position. Nigerians are truly the problem with Nigeria

3. Kekerike yada yada yada...can't wait to vote in new leaders, God keeping us alive