Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Kerry Washington Congratulates Genevieve Nnaji On Lion Heart Movie Oscar Nomination

Friday, October 04, 2019

Actress Kerry Washington Congratulates Genevieve Nnaji On Lion Heart Movie Oscar Nomination

American actress Kerry Washington has congratulated Nollywood actress Genevieve Nnaji on her movie  'Lionheart' which got a nomination at the 2019 Oscars

Kerry Washington is married to former student NFL player and actor Nnamdi Asomugha, a Nigerian-Igbo...

Kerry Washington must have gotten help from Hubby dearest writing all that Igbo up there....What is their Interaction all about sef?

54 comments:

1. Kerry said "Can we have a lunch date in no distant time?"
    Genevieve responded "Thank you, our wife. Let's plan fast cos we have lots to talk"

1. She said, Genny alot of SDK Bevvveesss posted hates comments on SDK comment few days alot and i hope they will not come here again to spill hate, and Genny said u dey mind them 😏😏😏😏😏

2. Lmao @lillysimple,you are pure evil🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

3. Chai Lilysimple!!!!

E meaanerie ihe !

Sister m you can lieeeeeeee! Choi!

4. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚Lilly simple you are. it serious.

5. @ Lillysimple this is hilarious 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

6. Nice one Perxian. I wu nwa afo.
      Lillysimple you funny ooo.

2. @Stella, Kerry congratulated her and invited her to lunch soon and Genny acknowledged saying they should do it very soon cos they have something to discuss.

1. Ewo,Igbo atoka!

Best language In the whole wide world.πŸ˜πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‰

3. But the movie is nonsense

1. Wailing wailerπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. 😘😘😘😘😘 Aren't they just too lovely..........?
    Sisters supporting each other.....

5. Nice one. History will have it that "The short Genny who's got no presence", has a movie with an Oscar nomination.

The Beevees who make a noise of non complimentary statements to water down people's shine, learn to put some R-E-S-P-E-C-K to the name Genevieve Nnaji.

Thenkio.

1. My dear, we 5'5s and under act unassuming until we drop it like it's hot. Less noise more action. If they like they shu nor respeck, who blood cares?

6. Nnamdi help am type the Igbo. Anyways its good "market" for Genevieve for Kerry to acknowledge her work. Remember Kerry is one of the very few blacks who get roles in Hollywood consistently. She, herself, by herself is a power house. The money bags (the Jews) running Hollywood like her.
    Most black actors have gone bankrupt because money don finish, roles are not forthcoming. If not of the likes of Tyler Perry(thank God for him)who is in the game, creating content & helping his own kind to put food on their tables.

1. OMG, will y'all STOP the whining? A white person doesn't understand Black people like a Black person does, so they can't tell stories of Black people the way you want. It's not always about racism, there's just no incentive.

It's like if I start a baby food line from experimenting with just what my baby will eat. Yo, I don't care about every single baby in the world. I was just trying to make sure mine would not starve, and figured out there were other mums with similar problems that I could sell the solution to. And the brand might expand from there but my flagship products will always be what MY baby and those who are like her, prefer. By "like her", I mean her age, weight, constitution, what she finds tasty, nutritional concerns, maybe her allergies and other health concerns. Cos that's my market. Content creation works the same way.

I was watching the 1929 movie this morning about the so-called Aba Women's Riot which was actually a rebellion against the colonial powers of the time. Part of the reason it was reported as a "riot" was the lack of understanding the white men had about the cultures of the people whose women revolted.

It's kinda stupid to expect a white man to tell the stories of a person who isn't white, and even worse to cry when they don't. But the problem with some of you is that you're too hungry for "Western validation".

OA

2. Ooh Anon 13:22 can you be my friend? I love objective and intelligent thinkers.
      😍😍

3. @Ego please leave my friend alone. I asked first πŸ™„ I dont share blog books please ☝🏽

7. Wowza.

Kerry has been inducted fully. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Awesome!

8. Lionheart is so overrated.Abeg no call me hater o.i love Genny oo but mehn I was sleeping while watching the movie

1. Wailing wailerπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. Cookie shut up with your wailing wailer crap. The movie did not have good reviews. Nobody is hating that she got nominated... infact congrats to her. But the movie was boring and could have been way better. Not oscar worthy in many people's opinion.

3. Guess u were typing and sleeping as well...ndi anya ufu

4. Loud it sis... So those at the back can hear!!!

5. Like your opinion abi? Oscar award deteminator

6. @13.46, yes they are wailers. While you can say that generally we don't have oscar worthy nollywood movies, Lion Heart is one I have watched that can be entered for nomination. The movie was good quality and error free. It will be a critics delight. King of Boys is a fans delight. Those errors in KOB will never make it past stage1. This is a global competition. If an Oscar committee sees that fire scene in KOB, they'll throw the movie out the window. Even a teenager in USA will laugh at that scene.

7. Anon that movie is a simple story beautifully told. Not everyone likes action movie or Naija wicked uncle and visiting babalawo kind of movie. it's a beautiful movie.

8. Wasn't going to bother on this again but warrahell.

Lionheart has been SUBMITTED, not NOMINATED. It was not chosen for its artistic brilliance. It's a simple and uncomplicated story. But in the climate of #MeToo, a movie about a boss lady who is "her father's daughter" and is not off-ing cloth is the submission that makes the most sense. It was directed by a woman = bonus. Nobody in their right mind will submit KOB. That is another aspect of the African (okay, the Nigerian) story about another kind of boss 'lady'. Problem is this one is a thug. Wrong time, wrong climate for projecting that kind of story (no matter how real it is) on an international stage.

I mentioned politics being a huge factor; some of you obviously think I'm joking. A lot more goes into certain things than what you think you see. There is a way that decision-makers at international levels do NOT want to see African women portrayed. It makes them uncomfortable and frightens them. That's why women like Queen Amina, Moremi, the ladies from 1929, Margaret Ekpo, etc (and these are just some from Nigeria) - have two different narratives about them. The one we know that was passed from one generation to the next within the context of our cultural nuances. And the one that strangers who set a "global" stage that they say we need to clamour to get on, are telling.

What do I mean? When those women took off their tops, the men (their own husbands) shook cos they understood how much of a taboo it was. These were not prostitutes looking for customer or maidens hoping for suitors to see them at the village dance. These were people's wives and mothers! We know what that means. Oyibo man will see that and be uncomfortable cos he thinks she's crazy and needs to be restrained. And to see a lot of women doing it at the same time?

How do you judge what you don't understand? You don't. You stick with what makes the most sense to you, especially if it fits with your agenda. Lionheart is a safe and contained story (and this goes beyond the film itself) that satisfies a pre-determined narrative, so doesn't ruffle feathers.

OA

9. For me the truth is I was bored to tears by the movie - kind of disappointed after all the hype. Thanking my stars I didn't waste my time going to the cinema to watch it. However I like Genevieve and acknowledge she is trying her best. Maybe the next one will be better.

10. You should've cried some more. You were crying your envy for Genevieve and not the movie. More to come Genny the barrier breaker.

9. Wow!!! Proudly igbo
    Igbo amaka!!
    Congrats once again Genevieve!
    Good of you to write in igbo Kerry

10. How I love successful women!!
    Genevieve to the world!!!

11. Congrats to her on the nomination though the movie is really overrated cos it just normal everyday Nigerian movie, I guess contact & grace makes it different

1. Your comments are unnecessary, but your congrats is in order though. Support your home girl in the global scene and stop all these gibberish

12. Genevieve keeps going higher, higher and higher everyday!

Genevieve the Oscar award winner!!! πŸ†πŸ‘‘πŸ™ŒπŸ†

I thank God for you!!!

13. Kerry is always out to support Genevieve.
    They should just do movie together, I can't wait for a collaboration.
    I've heard Kerry speech Igbo.
    In our of her interview, she said she's learning fast but she writes better than she speaks.
    Her husband no sabi speak

1. Me I know say Nnamdi no go sabi. Na her tutor help am.

14. Expected some people to ask Kerry why she should be writing in Igbo on Twitter when she have written in English or interpreted what she wrote🀣🀣🀣. Genny more grace and productions ooh

15. Ooh my Genny.
    An Oscar win would position Nollywood strategically.
    Genny'm I'm so proud of you.
    Our Genny making waves.

16. Jealous haters will not sleep tonight. HAHAHAHAHAHAH

1. I tell you! 🀣 ! Unlike that stupid movie where one whale was receiving doggie!

17. Overrated movie.

18. But couldn't she just send her a DM inviting her for lunch?

19. Good one from Kerry "our wife". We love you.

20. Weldone pretty kerry! we love you

21. Weldone pretty kerry! we love you

22. I still wonder how Omotola made the 100 most influential people list then! Very good publicist, deep pockets etc. Mo Abufu is also sitting somewhere near there. So go figure. Regardless LH got chosen. Good publicity for Genny and her hustle!!!