Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Constructing Lagos Roads Is Exclusively For Foreign Firms?

Monday, October 14, 2019

Constructing Lagos Roads Is Exclusively For Foreign Firms?

Is it only foreign firms that are contracted to build Nigerian road?Arabs building roads in Nigeria?Since when?Where are our local companies?

Or Am i not understanding how this works?

17 comments:

1. Stella that is not correct. There are both foreign and indigenous contractors. The Gov had meeting with the some of the foreign contractors on this occasion and charged them to do well. Let's avoid creating confusions.

2. Stella local companies cannot work because nothing to gain..Everything in Nigeria is a racket..Politicians must gain something now...They arrange with these companies to get their cut dats why the roads are of low standard...See the case Of Landscape with Ambode's administration..

3. Local companies always do a shabby job.After 1year, the road will be full of potholes

4. better its foreign, okija-garrison road... thats emekuku street, was fixed by lulu briggs coy, an indigenous coy. but that road started breaking down after 2weeks of fixing it, even the rods are showing already.. anyone who plies that okija road, around that ntawogba bridge can confirm this

5. Stella darlington, no worry. Is it not sanwolu, the guy is so good with releasing emergency press statements and nothing will follow. Is this the first time he s declaring an emergency on the roads. He likes to attend events and talk... lets wait and see..will remind you when he releases the next emergency press release

6. Lol. Ayade contracted Chinese abi na Taiwanese firm to build a motor park in Calabar. Motor park.

7. Most road (if not all) in Nigeria are awarded to foreign companies and I wonder the use of our engineers if ordinary pedestrian bridges are awarded to foreigners. Though some argue that local contractors will do shoddy jobs but I believe monitoring/sanctioning can curb this. The only reason they are not apprehended and prsecuted for shoddy jobs is because:
    1. They are under paid e.g if Arab contractor is to do a 10km road for 10M, will we pay a local company 10M for same road? won't it be negotiated down to like 5M because it is not a foreign company?
    2. Will they (local company) not be told to bring half the contract sum as kick back after securing the contract? after he does this, what will be left for him to work with?
    3. After agreeing to kick back before the money will come out, he will settle various tables. So which money will be left to do the work?

This is the reason they are not held accountable for shoddy jobs done (who will even hold them) when they have settled and greased all palms. That is why you will see road constructed in 2017 and not believe anything was done there, infact it will be worse than it was before their kangaro construction.

God will deliver Nigeria one day sha!!

8. Govt awards same job to multinationals at a higher rate than the indigenous companies. Then the government officials will keep making demands which if you don't accept, your bills get delayed for ever. So in order to make profit, the indigenous companies deliver substandard jobs.

9. Ogbeni Voldermort14 October 2019 at 13:57

This one is not even construction or dualization oh! So our local contractors cannot repair/maintain roads?

10. See lets stop deceiving ourselves and spreading false narratives , our local companies are the worst when it comes to contract completion and short cuts: see Bi Courtney owned by Babalakin that was given the Lagos / ibadan expressway and MM2 with no progress for years . Most of the inner roads under local governments were given to so called local contractors and are in even worse shape. Moreover don't the so-called foreign companies use local labor? Julius Berger is filled with Nigerian employees at all levels majority of the board of directors are Nigerians. The only difference is that the foreman or Head of projects may be a foreigner for for adherence to standards. Abeg we are not here for trial and error, we need quick progress with companies who have the capacity to deliver.

1. Dear Anon may the Lord bless you for this. Lets leave sentments aside, our local contractors are terrible

11. So so road development Sanwo olu...keep chopping money oo

12. Where I live and work in the US (am not Nigerian) The Nigerians are the most brilliant people you will find. They are the doctors, the engineers, the IT people. They are the most educated immigrants and are quickly becoming the standard of black excellence. Nigerians are the main reason black Americans have become so angry and no longer want to call themselves African Americans because they see Nigerians and other black immigrants quickly taking over. American blacks are now calling themselves ADOS (American descendent of slaves ) or FAB ( Foundational Black American) because they can’t cope with Africans passing them especially in areas of education and careers. I wish all of the excellence of Nigerians/ Africans in the diaspora was brought back to build Nigeria/ Africa.

13. Please note that Arab Contractors is actually the name of a big construction company that executes projects in Nigeria. He doesn't mean contractors from Arab countries.

14. sadly, its better to use the foreign ones. All the roads in my area done by local companies have gone bad again in less than 3 months