Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Director At Federal Ministry Of Agriculture Says Nigeria Has Attained Food Sufficiency

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Director At Federal Ministry Of Agriculture Says Nigeria Has Attained Food Sufficiency

Maimuna Habib, director of projects coordinating unit at the federal ministry of agriculture and rural development, says Nigeria has attained food sufficiency.

Habib who spoke in Abuja during a programme held in commemoration of the World Food Day said the country had gone into value addition of its commodities from the north to the south.

The director added that farmers have started making money from seed products and crop production.
“We have attained food sufficiency; all we need to do is to blow our trumpet because no foreigner will tell anybody what is happening in the country,” Habib said.

“Looking at all that is happening in agricultural sector, we have gone into value addition of all our commodities from the North to the South, all over the country we have added value to all our products.

“Most of the farmers are women and youths, we have trained them, we have empowered them and they are happy.”
Habib said the border closure remained one of the best decisions in the country’s quest for food sufficiency.

“When we bring imported food into the country our own foods go nowhere, there is no market for us but now there is market, farmers are making more money, ” she said.
“I am a farmer and I know how much I sold my maize and cowpea seeds recently. ”

On the high prices of goods, she said it was a normal occurrence because of the closed border, adding that the prices would soon crash.

She said: “The prices will soon crash, it’s just because people are feeling we do not have enough food to have closed the border, but we have enough food in the country. “

From The Cable

36 comments:

1. Which part of naija? How much is a bag of rice?

1. U no see say na yellow garri dem put? Stupid people

2. Dont mind them, even the so called Nigerian river 20k per bag.
      Food sufficiency gbakwa oku. Mtchewwwww

2. That man don attain ganja sufficiency!
    😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

1. Maka chukwu he is high am still trying to figure out what he meant by food sufficiency.... Like seriously 😕😕

2. It's a "she" tho. I guess it's your anger towards her comment that didn't allow you all to identify her gender 😂

3. He should put it this way;
    Nigerian politicians have attained looting sufficiency!

4. 🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶

1. Wait for me joooor
      🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃

5. so na maize and cowpeas na in I go dey chop madam na rice I want to eat like dis woman doesn't know dat eating rice is my hubby

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 eating maize and cowpeas.

we that don't really like rice...we are fine.

2. Ezigbote ‘hubby’ 🤣. Biko tell them 😀.

6. CHAII!!!! See korokoro lie
    Oga, we are just sufficient in hunger ..... almost starving.

7. Silly people.When the price of our so called nigerian rice filled with dirts isnt affordable for an average Nigerian family to buy,really annoying.

1. That's a lie about it being filled with dirts!

2. The one I bought recently actually made sense and tasted so good. I’m so tempted to go buy a bag but fear of gaining weight with protruding stomach no gree me 😁. Basmati and pasta still feel safer.

8. That must be a miracle !
    Firstly where are the Rice paddies, where are the plantations, how many people are employed in that sector, and how is the govt. encouraging the sector ?
    Radarada !

9. Enter your comment Very insensitive lot.

10. Where do they get all these stupid people from? Food sufficiency

11. That person must be delusional.

12. It is God that will punish these men and women unleashing untold suffering on poor Nigerians while they mock us during their interviews.

13. The Minister said this on live TV hers is mild put. The Minister said there's no hunger in Nigeria that if you eat once or twice and skip a meal you should thank God. 😂😂😂😭😭😭😂😂😂

14. Yet people are dying of hunger

15. God, what will it take for You to deliver us from these wicked and unreasonable rulers? Please. We're very sorry for every sin we committed that landed us her.

1. To hold dem accountable as youths..God has blessed us lets help ourselves.

16. She has prophesied it and I say Amen to it as for those who don't want to believe her but will say Amen if their man/woman of God said so, I wish una well.
    Congrats to me that has faith in Nigeria

The most Complex

17. Osikwa food sufficiency n'ebe di, May be he meant looting sufficiency nonsense and ingredients