Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Music Mogul Don Jazzy Gives Reasons Why 'Igbo' Should Be Legalized In Nigeria

Friday, October 04, 2019

Music Mogul Don Jazzy Gives Reasons Why 'Igbo' Should Be Legalized In Nigeria

Mavin CEO Don Jazzy says Nigeria should make hay while the Sun shines and legallize weed......
He backs up his talk with solid tweets.....

In a series of tweets i copied,he says.....

''Over time, I've tried to wrap my head around the criminalization of Cannabis in the country and why we continue living in self-denial, letting our faux religious and moral sentiments to becloud our sense of advancement.

Isn't it laughable that health-edangering cigarettes are still legal in the same country where Cannabis is illegal? When exactly are we going to join the booming global cannabis industry and trade?

Like I said some days ago, we have a lot, yet we complain a lot. We are so blessed with so many resources as a nation, but we are either intellectually lazy or not just ready to exploit the resources we have.

We always have one excuse or d other not to tap into other resources that aren't crude oil. ust d same way our multi bn $ iron ore deposits were abandoned bcos of their garangue minerals content when we can actually improve their economic values thru beneficiation

Cannabis, which contains hundreds of compounds(Cannabinoids) has a psychoactive compound called delta-9-tetrhydrocannabinol(delta9-THC.) THC is the lipid in cannabis which gives the high sensation noticable in the display of weed smokers.

Should we now let that stop us from seeing other benefits of this plant? One of the most important cannabinoids found in Cannabis is Cannabidiol, which can be supplied as CBD oil.

CBD, which is a non psychoactive compound in Cannabis cures varieties of health problems like migraines, seizures, nausea, psychosis, epilepsy inflammation, cancer e.t.c
This isn't to say that THC doesn't also have its positive effects which includes increased appetite, pain relief, sleeping aid e.t.c but abuse of it causes memory loss, coordination problems and it can also induce schizophrenia.

How then do we separate the weed from the chaff? There are quite a number of ways THC can be extracted from Cannabis to form concentrates which can pass as medical marijuana

The best extraction method is done by adding CO2 liquid to d plant and allowing d constituents to separate under d right temperature and pressure. The successful separation of THC from Cannabis has allowed for medical use of marijuana in many countries overseas.

From an economic stand point, I would advise the govt to see this as an opportunity for us to diversify our oil-dependent economy. Let's imagine how much Nigerian states with arable lands can make as IGR on Cannabis exports if it is decriminalized

It won't only help the economic development of the country, it will also create jobs for many Nigerian youths adding to 64,389 jobs the Cannabis industry created in 2018 as reported by Leafly and Whitney Economics.

I think our criticism should be directed towards tobacco smoking. According to WHO, tobacco kills more than 7 million people worldwide each year. Tobacco Atlas has also estimated that over 10,000 Nigerians die every year from diseases related to tobacco smoking.

In Nigeria, we spend 100s of bns annually on imported tobacco products and that can be very injurious to our economy in the long term.

Cigarettes has also contributed to environmental pollution as it causes many non communicable diseases, increases carbon proliferation and hugely adds to toxic trash volume around the country.

How can we achieve this legally? I might not be a student of law but I can at least give my opinion here. I think there are so many conflicting laws on Cannabis legislation

The Dangerous Drugs Act of 1935, the Indian Hemp Act of 1966 and the NDLEA & NAFDAC Acts amended in 2004 are very vague and need to be reviewed by the National Assembly.

Maybe Drugs and Cannabis can be moved to the concurrent list in the constitution, so that state houses of assembly can legislate on them just like in the United states

Regulatory bodies can be established at the federal or state level to give licenses and rules to interested weed cultivators who should be made to adhere to enacted guidelines.

With the global cannabis industry projection of about $200 bn earnings by 2030, it would be advisable for Nigeria to make hay while the Sun shines''.

24 comments:

1. He has seen the light...You dey make sense..But Naija Area never mature to think the way you talk...We always abuse stuffs..

1. Come I saw In my dreams. Come u were tripping for me real bad u got me a Benz. Come u begged me to marry u but cos of d Cele church I was hesitant. I woke up and asked myself if I can marry a celeb no matter his money. I answered NO

2. Chai Chineke Office Manager!! You are high on expired Oshogbo Igbo...Boomboclat..

3. WEB 😂Abeg free me o

2. So much ado about nothing. Is it by force for us to use the CBD oil as a country? Aren't there other substitutes for that which are prolly more effective? What of the thousands of Nigerians that have gone mad and lost their lives due to cannabis addiction and overdose?

Abeg ask the government to legalize it for you and members of your family alone, inugo

1. I love you for this. He can only say that in a country where ‘control drugs’ means “control drugs”.

2. It would be good for you to do your research before typing. He made a lot of sense. I haven't heard of anyone that has died smoking pure Marijuana, most that are sold are laced with chemicals to increase the level of highness hence the 'madness' according to you.
      Cannabis oil is highly effective in curing cancer, a relative and an acquaintance both used it for breast cancer and are now healthy though it is quite expensive. It will be good for you to read and know more about cannabis than what society portrays it as. Cigarettes and sugar are more addictive and dangerous

3. Cannabis does not make anyone mad. It is impossible. Now, cannabis mixed with other substances? Probably.

Scientifically speaking, it is better to ingest cannabis than alcohol. Yet, alcohol is legal. Medically, cannabis is far safer and beneficial than tobacco, yet we’ve got massive tobacco companies operating in Nigeria.

Read up, internet is not only for perusing celeb scandals and inane gossip.

4. Of all things to talk up this one chose to discuss Igboo, na wa ooo

3. All this one na to legalise weed so you all can smoke away your destinies at every point in time. Ona doh

4. I hope he also added that they build a centre for recovering addicts.

Enough crazy people roaming the streets already.

A measure should also be put in place to protect young teenagers from using cannabis of any kind.
    Protect our young ones from derailing from studying their books.

It is not everything that the westerners OKAY's that should be applauded and accepted by Africans especially Nigerians.

There's no system in Nigeria yet ..

1. Alcohol addicts also roam the streets, tobacco addicts roam the wards of hospitals. Addiction or enjoyment of either of the aforementioned substances isn’t criminalized. How come the best of these options has a stigma attached?

Igbo is better than alcohol, I repeat.

5. After smoking Igbo and it touches you on the right spot, you can even write a novel about it.

6. Can someone help me deliver a message?
    Tell this man that if im wan chop weed like goats,
    Make he go on all four, enter bush and serve himself.
    🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐

1. Meeeeeeeeeeee!!! Meeeeee!!! Goat Weed na him dey here o...Make I go find Oshogbo weed Meeeee!!! Meeeee!!!

7. most of you condemning him for his opinion and advise are not smart enough to think for yourself. Igbo as we call it is use by 30-50% of nigeria wrongly and here is d opportunity to use it right and as well make money from it, you say no but wants to pretend. just like your pastors who never marry as a virgin wants you to marry as one. let us keep pretending

1. Lolzzzz...You have a point but what about regulations?? remember we are no respecters of the law...

8. We are so myopic,judgemental,religious& timid in this country that most people won't understand that this guy is making sense cos is high time we stop depending on oil & VAT for everything, cos youths smoking igbo always get it @ every point in time so what's the point criminalzing it

1. Nigerians are not deep thinkers...Very myopic and shallow..I love his point but we are all mad in this country cos we go left when we should do right...

9. so anything the westerners okay we take to bcos it seems to have desirable parts

1. He is not even saying Nigerians should smoke it. He is saying since we have good land to farm it, let's farm it and export the oil.
      Gosh . Y'all should learn to read and comprehend

10. I disagree with Don Jazzy.

The Govt. knows that we do not have manpower/facilities that do M&E and QC in Govt, without taking bribe. So in order to avoid stories that touch, let it be illegal. Nigerians like to abuse stuff alot and if they make Cannabis legal, it would be seriously abused. Too many peoples children would be on the streets.

His suggestion is good, but we have other pressing issues now.

11. More than 65% percent of Nigeria population smoke or ingest cannabis. The fact is when it is legalized it'll be a source of generating revenue internationally.