Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Border Closure Is Good/Bad -Your View Needed

Thursday, October 24, 2019

Nigerian Border Closure Is Good/Bad -Your View Needed

The Nigerian government shut its land borders in August 2019 to curb smuggling of rice and other goods from other neighbouring Countries into Nigeria.....

The move does not go down well with some but some applaud it and say the border should remain closed despite the price of rice climbing the ladder to a never seen before high...

cars,chicken,turkey,drinks and other goods which normally come into Nigeria are trapped at the border......monies tied down!

Nigeria reportedly did not have so many Rice mills but with the Border closure,rice Mills have sprung up and some term this a thumbs up...

What do you think about the border closure?Did it affect your business positively or negatively?Or anyone you know?Do you think this will be a plus for Nigeria in the long run?

December is around the corner and so many businesses are dependent on goods that come in or go out to survive...

what is your view on the border closure?

My only two cents is that they should have announced the Border closure two weeks before to enable people who transact business to tie all loose ends ...Or did they?

75 comments:

1. *Benin Republic has a population of 12 million people. But it is the worlds 5th importer of rice. In 2018, it imported rice worth US$996m.*

*Benin is also world's largest importer of _used_ _cars_ and __second_ - _hand_ _clothing_ . All with a population of 12m people.*
    *DO YOU WONDER HOW?.........*
    *Don't!*

*98.2% of these imports into Benin are only on transit; their final destination is _NIGERIA_ !*
    *Nigeria is world's largest consumer of used cars and second hand clothing, and is also Africa's largest consumer of Asian grown rice.*

*The problem here is that all these imported goods attract appropriate import duty and trade tax, which are paid to the Beninoise Government while the goods are thence SMUGGLED into Nigeria WITHOUT ANY PAYMENT to the Nigerian Government and, thereby, adding zero value to the Nigerian economy!*
    *Sadly, THIS IS ALL DONE BY NIGERIANS!*

*Granted, ECOWAS/CEDEAO charter allows for free trade between member states, but _on_ _goods_ _produced_ _in_ _member_ _countries_ , and NOT on imports from other economic blocs.*

*Where foreign goods are transiting through a member country, and ending up in another member country, the ECOWAS charter stipulates that the country of transit MAY collect a token trade tax, and its Customs officials should then escort the goods to the border of the importing country and hand it over to the Customs officials of the importing country!*
    *But what we see in the case of Benin Republic is that it collects _CUSTOMS_ _DUTY_ plus _TRADE_ _TAX_ , and then allows the goods to pass through its hinterland for onward smuggle into Nigeria!*

*This is a clear violation of ECOWAS statutes and no nation can condone such costly infraction.*

*Nigeria has tolerated this nonsense from Benin for far too long and it is time to stop the malpractice if we want Nigeria's economy to grow.*
    *(Therefore, whoever cries foul because we have closed our borders to smugglers while we're putting our act together, IS AN ENEMY OF NIGERIA!)*

*Nigeria makes up about 74% of ECOWAS population and about 71% of its economy. It is ECOWAS that needs Nigeria and not the other way round!*

ANY RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN MEMBER COUNTRIES MUST BE BASED ON EXTANT REGULATIONS!

1. I love you so so much. this is my thought too. I support the closure of border 100%.

2. I love you so so much. this is my thought too. I support the closure of border 100%.

3. Can it also mean Benin republic has efficient port when compared to Apapa and co!

Maybe Badagry road is better than being stuck in Apapa.

I am for efficiency. A govt should put mechanism in place to curb the smuggling and not close it.

Do you know how many legit business has been affected?

4. How legit is your business if you snuggle your goods into the country. Let us face our problems and solve them not push them aside. The border shod remain closed so we can solve our port issues. My2cents

5. It's because the tariff on Benin Port are next to nothing. Why would a Nigerian business man route his goods via Benin??? Simple-it's cheaper.

6. Anonymouse what you are rolling out is textbook Economics...Closing the border does not resolve any thing abeg..

7. More money for customs and immigration. Bribe go hear am.

8. Bitch stop with the "mouse" thing

9. Anon:14:36, thanks for enlightening us. Me it think it is a good thing and the border should remain closed as our local rice farmers are benefitting greatly from this. Better now than never.

10. God bless you forever and ever. The border should remain closed for a long time. Only what is legit should be brought in and in legitimate ways to grow the economy. Imagine the likes of Thailand feeling the of the boarder closure, we will improve on what are ours over time.

11. Anon 14:36,thank you. Very enlightening!

12. Remain closed

2. The whole process is rubbish..Buhari is living in the 20th century..The border was closed in 1985 and that was when he was a military Head of State...We don't practice democracy at all cos any action taken is not communicated to the public at all...He should have built capacity by ensuring rice production can meet the consumption rate of the people before banning..Custom people are the ones gaining in all these thing..Everything is this country is used as a racket...

1. Nigerians shall not live by foreign rice alone. We need home grown food base for capacity building.

2. Really without putting measures on ground...

3. Native doctor, can you beat your chest that our leaders are eating made in Nigeria rice... Why should the rice that was sold for 13k now cost 22k local rice for that matter.

4. Anyone who sells rice to you at 22k is cheating you. Do your research, there are other options available. We love shortcuts too much in Nigeria biko

3. Nigeria closure of border is borne out of ignorance and a clear indication of bad governance.
    There’s no civilized country in the world where borders are closed arbitrarily. It is an act that displays insecurity and lack of direction of the rulers.
    I suggest that Nigeria should deploy well trained immigration agents and put in place a better method of preventing the importation of certain products/goods that are at cross purposes with the intentions of the state.

1. Well trained???? I laugh in French, German,and Spanish..... When I was in school at Ogun state, I witnessed the ills of smuggling firsthand because the school is close to Cotonou. Most girls that had money then were settled daily by custom officials working at that border. Smugglers paid the officials to pass through, and these officials were stinkingly rich. It's not trainning that's the problem but the main Nigerian issue which is corruption. Train,retrain, and even pay great allowance or bonus, these officials will still tax smugglers at the border because it is easy money.Don't get me wrong, we may still have concientious officials but they are few, and I'm quite sure they will not be posted to the border but the office.

4. As good as it sounds, it only favours the rich. one thing about law enforcement in naija is dt it is made not for our interest per say but to benefit only some particular circle in our country.

5. Local slay queens are not happy..their daddies are withholding funds and Xmas is looking gloomy.

Hell, their tush alliances are even more worried with efcc spoiling tricking for them. 😂😂😂 Very few people are getting flewed out this yuletide.

1. Just imagine. We're discussing a topic on how to make money to purchase enough quality rice and groundnut oil to feed our families. This vain air headed fool is talking slaying queens. Shey ya were ni abi kilo worry e?

2. Customs officers and immigration go sell be dt na. Na girls go rush them.

3. Anonymous he he he he he. Shege jagwa 👌
      Those two girls needs a psychiatric help

6. My point of view on this border closure is as thus;
    Firstly the government would have made provision of these commodities we import readily available before embarking on this sudden border closure. They can achieve it by ensuring that those states that has fertile soil for rice production are equipped with the necessary facilities for its production and massive lands are mapped out for such project, same procedure for other imported goods too.They would have used one or two years to put in place all these before the border closure. There was no enough plans in place at all. Imagine Nigeria rice @24,000/bag, it ridiculous.

1. Dont mind them already using force for everything without thinking deep

2. My thought exactly. Government should have made provision of these commodities before the sudden border closure. They should have a rethink. People are suffering.

7. *Benin Republic has a population of 12 million people. But it is the worlds 5th importer of rice. In 2018, it imported rice worth US$996m.*

*Benin is also world's largest importer of _used_ _cars_ and __second_ - _hand_ _clothing_ . All with a population of 12m people.*
    *DO YOU WONDER HOW?.........*
    *Don't!*

*98.2% of these imports into Benin are only on transit; their final destination is _NIGERIA_ !*
    *Nigeria is world's largest consumer of used cars and second hand clothing, and is also Africa's largest consumer of Asian grown rice.*

*The problem here is that all these imported goods attract appropriate import duty and trade tax, which are paid to the Beninoise Government while the goods are thence SMUGGLED into Nigeria WITHOUT ANY PAYMENT to the Nigerian Government and, thereby, adding zero value to the Nigerian economy!*
    *Sadly, THIS IS ALL DONE BY NIGERIANS!*

*Granted, ECOWAS/CEDEAO charter allows for free trade between member states, but _on_ _goods_ _produced_ _in_ _member_ _countries_ , and NOT on imports from other economic blocs.*

*Where foreign goods are transiting through a member country, and ending up in another member country, the ECOWAS charter stipulates that the country of transit MAY collect a token trade tax, and its Customs officials should then escort the goods to the border of the importing country and hand it over to the Customs officials of the importing country!*
    *But what we see in the case of Benin Republic is that it collects _CUSTOMS_ _DUTY_ plus _TRADE_ _TAX_ , and then allows the goods to pass through its hinterland for onward smuggle into Nigeria!*

*This is a clear violation of ECOWAS statutes and no nation can condone such costly infraction.*

*Nigeria has tolerated this nonsense from Benin for far too long and it is time to stop the malpractice if we want Nigeria's economy to grow.*
    *(Therefore, whoever cries foul because we have closed our borders to smugglers while we're putting our act together, IS AN ENEMY OF NIGERIA!)*

*Nigeria makes up about 74% of ECOWAS population and about 71% of its economy. It is ECOWAS that needs Nigeria and not the other way round!*

ANY RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN MEMBER COUNTRIES MUST BE BASED ON EXTANT REGULATIONS!

8. The border closure is bad for me and it's affecting my family badly because my husband is a business man who buys his goods (SHOES) from Cotonu

1. Let him try made in Aba shoes.

2. @ND will the Aba made last. Just asking for my concubine sha

3. Have you bought made in Aba shoes???

4. If we patronize the Aba made it will grow and don't forget Aba made has grade too, so spend wisely.

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. Closure of the border is only patriotic enabled act carried out by Buhari. Am in full support, as on the issues of temporary shortage of long grain rice, with time will shall be self sufficient. Government will also need to encourage indigenous auto makers like innoson motors by endorsing it official cars for all parastatal.

1. Hahaha... Even your patriotic president will not buy IVM let alone endorsing it. It is the poor that loosing in this border closure.

2. @amazing grace dont mind him..Innoson ko Guilty ni...No be ford cars Senators and government officials dey buy...

3. Yes we are all affected by the boarder closure,but to me its for the best. Before now, i have never bought the local rice,but with situation of things on ground, i bought it and found out its tasty and more nutritious. Image ordinary cadburys hot chocolate drink is being imported. Right now that beverage is scarce in the market, but we have the company in Nigeria. Biko it should remain closed till mus next year sef.

11. I want it to remain closed .. Nigerians should look at the bigger picture.. All these things we r importing can be grown or made in our country.. It would bring more jobs and better the economy.. Yes it would be hard in the beginning but in the long run it would be beneficial..

1. Yinmu...Is the government using the made in Nigeria goods..stop deceiving yourself...

2. Don't mind Nigerias, they complain about everything instead of putting in work to build their country like where they are running to. Before border closure, we had only 2 rice mills in Nigeria. Now we have 117. A whooping 117. And people who do not see the opportunity in this are complaining

12. I don’t know why the local rice is unnecessarily expensive. We are our own enemy in this country, border closure shouldn’t affect the price of local rice, I understand if it affects the price of imported rice. People are complaining about our local rice but we don’t have option than to accept and get used to it if we want our economy to grow. What the government should do now is find a way to make rice sellers decrease the price of local rice.

1. God bless you. The traders are just making profit from the situation. Our government need to step in to control the price

2. It will still come down cos many people will go into it now and it will flood the market soon

13. the boarded closed is affecting so many people in so many ways. Buhari should have given business people like 1-3 months to put everything in order before closing boarder. The way he did it is not fair, let him do the needful so that we can enjoy what he stopped from entering the country. Rice price should me slash so that the poor can afford it.

14. People are talking about RICE, besides this people are bringing weapons to aid boko haram. Northern part of the
    country has moree than 2000 routes into Nigerial, what of Petrol??? We pay subsidy on those after smuggling it into another country. Any country that want grow should pay more attention to his border. Wait ooo it dey affect me, but God is wonderful....

15. I don't like it at all. The rice I love is now very expensive.

16. I'm not I support of the closure because it's the poor that is affected. The rich are not affected as much as the poor. The basic amenities of food and clothing have been removed from the poor. Does a rich man wear okrika? The rich still buys uncle bens and basmati rice from Shoprite, they still buy their frozen food at these shops. How many poor men go to ShopRite to shop? This Govt should make policies that will be friendly to the poor. The suffering is too much.

1. More people eat garri then rice and the poor people you are speaking for, don't buy bags of rice.

17. Being that Nigerians are lazy, and we cannot do without finished goods as little as Toothpicks from anywhere in the world, then it is good it remains closed, as it will encourage self sufficiency and the multiplier effect will be job creation, E O D

1. Yeah according to your textbook economics...

2. Lol ! W E B, l still remember my lines.

18. This is a huge opportunity to go into rice farming.

The price being high now is simply economics at play.

Govt should use this opportunity to ease business at the Lagos port as well as open more ports.

1. God bless u and even chicken farming..there is always light in every darkness

19. Benin Republic practically built their economy around Nigeria's STUPIDITY and now Buhari is trying to reverse that and some ignorant Nigerians are angry about the border closure? The border closure is taking back our country from Benin. We can't continue to feed them due to our stupidity at the detriment of our country 

1. Please educate since you know a lot?? What measures has the government put in place to make the country buoyant??

2. Lol ! WEB, that is a WAEC question,for Mr Eesah.

3. Since 2015 buhari's administration has invested in our agricultural sector through loans, tax holidays, grants etc and this can be seen in the level of growth the agricultural sector has made within 5 years. Please do a little research it will help you

20. Oversupport dey worry me sef. I'm so glad that they finally closed the border. The first comment sums it up beautifully. Thank you bubu and customs for a brilliant job well done. This will give us so much opportunities and eradicate the impunities which try to find it's way into our beautiful motherland 🇳🇬

21. Yes, border closure is good if the intents are good. Before closing the borders, what adequate provision was made for the supply of these basic needs smuggled into Nigeria locally? How many common man can confidently afford to feed their families and live of a N30,000 minimum wage, how much more on less? If you want to fight corruption, promotion economic freedom and self-sufficiency then be realistic and pragmatic about it. Again, how are we sure that the Northern borders are indeed close? How are we sure that oneday, we would not wake up and realize that we've been fooled and the Islamic agenda is fully in place. Are we sure the closure is only for economic reasons? Nigerians should begin to think in 3D because the subtle things we've been experiences can not be swept under the carpet. How big is this Sambisa forest that our highly respected Military cannot defeat? Who is sponsoring BK, providing food and information to them? Me, I dont think it is only for economic gain, I believe there is more to it. This is my view.

22. Was any notice even given? What of Nigerian exporters are they not suffering too? How much local rice is available to the common man and at what rate? What of other products such as groundnut oil and chicken? How many families can confidently afford live chicken which is of superior health benefits to the frozen one on a regular basis from their take-home? If these things were in place, I don't think our obsession with refined and better quality goods would be so high.

1. live chicken is 1500 frozen chicken is 1000 per kilo

2. not where i live. frozen orobo is 1600 now per kilo.

3. Thank you o.
      Exporters are suffering now but they are shouting as if it's only importation we do as a nation.

23. Stella, closing the border is a step in the right direction. It is impossible for a nation to attain self-reliance and a positive implosion on commercial activities if it cannot clamp down on import. However, this government would have been applauded if it had put in place measures to fill in the vacuum that this border closure would bring about. I would have expected that before this action is implemented, we would have at least 3 major long grain rice factories, a research centre to modify our rice grains( Nigerians prefer long grain rice)... So its safe to say that its a step in the right direction, but implemented at the wrong time.

24. Close the nothern boarder against foreign herdsmen and bokoharam. And also fuel smugglers which is fullyvsubsidized by Nigerian gove. Then we can talk.

25. All those Ghanaians treating the Igbo traders bad; how market? those African countries lack respect. They treat Nigerians with uttermost disdain. they are now crying cos we closed our borders. our borders o. not someone else's. If for their tales of woe alone, i like this closure. Let everyone reset their heads and learn to give honour to whom it is due first, then we will talk and agre on mutually beneficial relationships across our borders. I may not like Buhari much but on this one...e sweet mw. But why is the cost of local rice now high?

26. Very bad o Stella.
    I have not sold a.pin for 2 months now because my customers are from our neighbouring west african countries.
    My goods are lying there looking at me.
    I can't pay my kids school fees. To eat has become a burden. I'm so confused and depressed.

So many people have been rendered penniless due to this border closure.
    Even the rice they are shouting that we should eat is too expensive. 22500 for a bag. Why is there no plan in place before the closure. This government is senseless and wicked.

I read that alomo company has lost more than $20m dollars since the closure. There are some people that that is their sole income. How do you want them to survive.

Only God knows how much we will buy a bag of rice in December.

1. They should try sending their goods using our ports, they never ready to make money. Nigeria just closed the illegal route, you can still bring in and take out goods through the port.

2. Stop saying what you are not privy to. Which port?
      The one congested which takes more than one month to clear a container?
      And who told you it's illegal route?
      You guys will just be yarning dust. Kmt.