Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Final Straw That Made You Leave Nigeria....

Tuesday, October 01, 2019

The Final Straw That Made You Leave Nigeria....

Are you living in the Diapora?Why did you decide to leave Nigeria?What was your reason?
Are you planning to leave?What is your reason?

This should be Interesting!!!

I fell in love with a young German who wanted to show me round the World ...I took a leap of Faith to relocate and Here i am.....

86 comments:

1. 😂😂😂😂😂some hilarious stuff there.

1. Thinking seriously about relocating my family to another country.

Countries like USA, Canada, UK, Australia are within reach but fear won't let me take the step.

I was attacked in Dallas by some African-Americans and the experience left a deep scar on my mind.

God knows I will pursue a residence permit in Botswana before mid-next year.

Relocating abroad is not without risks. Security of life is most important to me than other basic human needs.

Nigeria is not safe either, so Botswana is my target.

2. I always wanted a Masters abroad, so I worked towards it. My plan was to go back afterwards, but you know life....Met hubby a year after, and the rest is history. Glad I stayed back though, because the last two semesters before graduation was trying, because the dollar rose up to almost 300naira to $1 from 169 when I moved in 2014. I thank God. Hopefully the rest of my siblings will leave Nigeria too. The state of the country is heartbreaking.

2. Hehehehehehehehe.... I go nowhere. I love my country NIGERIA!!!

1. Lol... You are the definition of a patriotic citizen.

2. As bad as Nigeria is, I love my country.
      It’s messed up big time, but know someday, It will get better with hard work and good sacrifices.
      I can make it here in Nigeria and still have that perfect life I want for myself and kids.

3. Slutty I used to think like you but things kept getting harder and harder. Nobody told me to zap.

3. I want to leave but no fund. So let me continue to beg until some thing happens

1. Change that "Beg" to "work hard and pray"
      Your mindset is bad.

2. My husband has always wanted to leave. I attributed it to Benin man character and consistently discouraged him. My thought pattern has been that we will hammer seriously from all our joint hustles and finally live big, travel the world and enjoy life. Moreover, Canada had turned down our express entry application earlier this year.

Some days ago, I was still at the office, tired and with a light head when I started serioujf shouting and singing and praying coming from a church LOUDSPEAKER! immediately, I developed a terrible headache that began to affect my eyes. I couldn't even hear my voice in the office again. Pls take note that I am a tongue-talking Child of God and I love God and his church. But this religious attitude/behaviour is unacceptable!

At this point, it dawned on me that there was no way I could cope in this country. I have to leave!

We have started planning again!

3. @18:30 😂 I almost fainted here. Eureka moment. Jesu! 🤣😂

4. So I woke up to a post showing Buratai concluding that we need spiritual warfare to conquer boko haram and then a program of event for Army officers on a spiritual warfare seminar (was to hold yesterday, I don't know how true that is) and I have honestly been riled up since then.
    It has strengthened my determination to leave this country o Stella. Come 2020 other things being equal, I'm outta here.

1. I just told my husband yesterday after we read the news...that the problem is this Nation is Religion.

Jesus never preached religion.

5. I haven't left but I am planning to leave this country once i find a way.

6. I jst got a scholarship 4 my Masters degree in the UK starting in January 2020....pls BVs in d UK, I nid advice on how not to return to dis country after my program is done... pls🙏🙏🙏 Lord knows I don't want to come back here!

1. Start looking for a job before your current visa expires

2. If you've been following the news, you would see that people starting masters in August 2020 have 2 years post-study to live and work in England, now. That's an opportunity people who did masters during my time didnt have.

The problem with most Nigerians is that we make moves without doing research. Always relying on people to help us even when information is staring right at you. *sigh* Better brace up, NO ONE has your back in oyibo land. It's you and God.

3. CHIKITO,I already know abt d two-year post study visa, since it's only applicable to those starting in summer of next year, I dnt knw if those of us dat are to start by January may benefit later on.... I'm so confused, wish I cud start in summer bt its not possible.

4. "NO ONE has your back in oyibo land. It's you and God" LIES!!!
      If you dont have people that dont look out for you Chikito, its NOT same for everyone.

5. Okay, good you know. I was about asking you to defer until fall intake. Sha go and start. Before you finish, the waiver would be in effect. If you are intelligent enough to get scholarship for masters, then you can work towards scholarship for PhD too. Applying in the same school gives you added advantage.

Also, if you are christian and dont mind oyibo marriage, join a non-Nigerian church and get active in volunteering. Husband toh sure ju! 🤣😂

P.S.: DONT RELY ON ANYONE. God can raise help for you when you get there. But dont rely on anyone. Good luck!

6. @14:51 lol. I have family everywhere. If I start giving you gist you will still say I'm bragging so no need.

But let me break it down: no one can make a call for you to get job like Nigeria. You either pass the interview, or you dont. So my sister has money doesnt translate to me having money and connections, like Nigeria where everyone is sharing money to family. Anyone that moves abroad with that mentality, is on their own. 35k dash money in Nigeria will go a long way. $100 dash money cant even get you a good pair of shoes here #IMO. You want that? You work and plan.

Btwn work and personal life demands, no one has time to babysit you. Abroadians like self-starters so dont go and drop yourself like dead-weight on anyone. They would be endeared to you when they see you are sorting somethings out on your own. That's why many Nigerians come here and think that everyone will alter their plans for them. Lol. After 2 weeks better come up with a plan or you will be shocked.

Now, you are free to come back her and confirm that all I've said is true.

7. Anon 13:48. By saying that you got a scholarship I am assuming that you are indeed brilliant and have nothing less than a 2:1. If this is true, more than half of your problem is solved. Also, make sure that your scholarship has no bond tied to it. This means it has no requirement to return to Nigeria.
      Next, try to mix up with everybody when you get there. Not only Nigerians. Be free with people. See your career centre and speak with a career coach. Tell them your exact needs. Get online and start applying for graduate entry roles as soon as your plane lands. Don't apply for experienced roles. Graduate entry only. Spend at least one hour per day practicing online assessments. When you get invited for an interview, approach your career centre and tell them you want a mock interview. Let them review your CV for you. Interview panelists like when you are friendly. There don't employ gimmicks like watching you from a secret camera. If they offer you tea, say yes please! After the interview, ask questions. If you get rejected, ask for feedback.
      For your masters, focus on getting out with a distinction. Work with your professors to get at least 2 papers published.
      Apply for internships, graduate roles and PhD positions too.
      All the best!

8. AJEBO CONFIDENTIAL thank u very much! U've bin very helpful🙏

9. Ajebo, I screenshot your comment. Extremely valuable.

10. Chikito you have left us in this country? Show me the way now abeg even if it is oyibo husband, i won't mind bikonu

11. @18:31 🤣🤣😂 When a very recent former minister of the Federal Republic tells your boss to your face that she will bring him down even if he is innocent and nothing will happen; and she eventually succeeds, tell me how you can have hope for Nigeria? My ex-boss had worked on Wall Street for over 20 years and decided to bring all his patriotism home. The man fell into depression for like one year. His career abroad is already over and done with at almost 60. How do you go from being a Wall Street finance guru to a depressed man battling with Fed Gov because you refused to give in to bribery? For being a patriotic citizen?

Please, who is this small chikito? 😂 who am I to contend with Nigeria? We had a team of American experts, from Wall street companies coming in twice a month to have meetings on this project that should have put Nigeria on the world map. The website is up and running, billions have gone in on the books but the project doesnt exist 🤣🤣 Cisco we never saw the mineybti events start. Ppl will be contacting me on LinkedIn after they hear about the project in the news and be trying to market their skills and services. Mnwh, the project no dey!! They don allocate money, resign sef carry money go.

12. Errm. *coughs*
      Permission to butt into this young people's discussion.

You seriously think Aunty K.A was really the problem? in the Bureau of Public Enterprise gimmicks there's what the hausa/fulanis in this Nigeria call "dai dai raba riba".
      In Igbo language it is called "etie okwe, erie okwe".
      Did your BOSS understand that? Or the other one about ALTAR CALL? While he's dozing on his comfy bed midnight briefings were holding and 9 colors of candles were rotating on a potter's wheel?

As a fiduciary I'm pushed to tell you 5things your Oga failed to do but that will mean 2 of us opening our nyash.
      Yes o. In Bobrisky's voice " we will all open our nyash".
      And that won't be good here.

She appears in meetings agitated and flaring nostril with plenty grammar, your group thought it was about the logistics? Naaaa.
      It boils down to marginal commission per marginal revenue accruing to your company's investment. After making all the trillions for them you know how she was dragged by her hair to the PJ and then off to.......
      They knew when to shut the doors after using her.

Go ask how MainOne Cable did it.
      How Glo berthed here and oh most importantly how Transcorp went down.

It's beyond capitalism and helping advance Nigeria. What is on ground here is on ground in many other terrains. If not Paddy Adenuga's stunt in Netherlands would have been at the snap of the fingers.
      Hope you know how shit got real on that angle?

Ndo to your Oga, ndo to una unfulfilled dreams, ndo to all the drilled and wasted human resources.
      Sadly that's Nigeria. The true Nigeria.
      I know where I've been and what I've been up to since 5 months. Water nearly carry me go but hey we got to make a career move, some large too much phoné speaking oyibo has agreed to their "kobo analysis" and machines hit the waters.

Being a British made millionaire isn't enough. You got to swim the oceans of bottlenecks.
      *squirmers*

13. Chikito and Xp this is deep, really deep.

14. Ignorance is bliss. Someone is using Wall Street and help in the same sentence. Have they finished helping Americans where they are detested so much? They are economic vultures out for one thing PROFIT. They ain't helping anyone.

7. I would love to leave if opportunity arises. There's nothing to write home about Nigeria at the moment. If not for anything, at least to raise a family in a better environment where lives matters to the government. I lost hope in Nigeria long before now. I want to give my children quality education compare to what is obtainable in the country.

1. May God provide the means for you to leave to a country of your choice.

2. The quality education starts with you working on your English and gragra without knowledge

3. Anonymous 16:09, you lack sense. Olodo, very insensitive comment😏.
      Mehn I fear u bv's on this blog, bashing this guy, right, left and centre Haba. U guys should take it easy, you peepu can push someone into depression.
      E burur ooooo

8. I want to leave too. I can't seem to point at anything that works in Nigeria. No good roads, bad electricity, bad health care system, education is nothing to talk about. The people we've employed to work for us are there to amass wealth for their unborn grand and great-grandchildren. The only hope of the common man is GOD!

9. 🤣🤣😂😂
    These stories are hilarious!!

All I can say is, alot of us used to be very pro-Nigerian. I've had opportunities to leave siiiiiince. In fact, I went for masters and came back to my roots men. When I look at all the opportunities I had to remain in England that I turned down, I just laugh at my enthusiasm.

You always have that Eureka moment where you throw in the towel and do a Johnny Walker without looking back.

1. Your last paragraph is so true and I believe that once the choice is made, one should not look back, or second-guess their decisions.

2. Yup! @ Teejay
      Even though I often wonder how one can raise children here. For that reason I can consider coming back so I can panel-beat them small. Lol

10. I have always been a pro Nigerian but my resolve is changing with daily deterioration of the nation. Our road is so bad that i suffer aches to go and come back from work. Ply in between trucks and trailers at Satellite town of Oriade area, fear for potential robbers because everyone is once it’s dark. I have encountered enough to be this paranoid, not to exclude SARS issues, no power supply, no security and the silly government want to increases VAT, impose charges on withdrawal and deposits and a host of others. I’m tired of being a pro Nigerian. I will not hesitate to leave when the opportunity presents itself.

11. Life in here is a scam. Big scam.I Have regretted every single second I have lived here ever since I came back in 2012. If only I can close my eyes and vanish, but ain't no witch.

Nothing works and never would. Want to feel bad? Be moody? Loose faith? Read the papers or leave your house.

Next year, max. Enough is enough!

12. One doesn't need a reason to leave Nigeria,it's a must do abeg

13. One doesn't need a reason to leave Nigeria,it's a must do abeg

14. I'm still in Nigeria but would like to relocate. But the no water from fire service and describing Nigeria as a person in domestic violence relationship had me in stiches .

The most complex

15. The day opportunity came and i quickly grabbed it

16. I neva leave but I will anyhow anyhow.
    any time plenty Rain fall for my area,na dead bodies wey dey mortuary close to us the rain go dey carry com people door.police go soon com arrest us u will allow rain to push dead bodies com ur door step .so therefore ,u are a suspect.na I kill am wen inn dey alive.

1. Anon14:16- WTF?!😲😟🤢🤮😱

2. LIES....
      You people can just come up with lies and BVs like these ones above will believe.

3. @14:55 oh shut it and go to hell!! If you grew up amongst liars and tale-tellers NOT everyone did. Screaming 'LIES LIES' everywhere as if someone here is holding your umbilical cord.

17. I left when I was 15. Very young. No reason at all. My parents wanted all their children to school "abroad". Most of my peers left too. But you know what? Most went and are going back. My social circle is such that it doesn't matter where you are, you are set up for life. To be honest, I would struggle less if I moved to Nigeria. Most of us have dual citizenships. It really doesn't matter. Sometimes I wonder why the desperation to leave and my mom reminds me that some people don't have parents like my friends and I do. Some people have to constantly pay their way through. The only reason I'm not in Nig is because of my doctorate degree. After I'm done,we shall see!

1. Let me break it down for you; Nigeria is a proper shit hole.
      If you care to come back, visit places like Agbara Axis, Ajangbadi, Abule Egba, Orile etc. That's where you find real Lagos, then you'll understand why everybody is running.

2. My childhood friend who grew up and schooled abroad came back with her husband. Then her rich connected father passed on shortly after and the connected friends she thought she had are looking at her in the eye. It not about knowing A or B cos things change in a split-second. There are other factors that should fuel relocation. Set-up is good but a lot of people above thrown bigger opportunities and blown up to their inheritance on the Nigerian dream that never was.

18. I'm currently dating a man who lives in the UK. This man is my dream man,i can't just explain it. I have suffered in the hands of men here. He is everything you will want in a man. Good looking,God fearing,good job,good character,social but quiet. Im even the dorminant one that looks for his trouble,very chilled guy.
    I'm travelling to see him sometime next month. If everything goes well and he proposes. I am very willing to leave my good job and life here to relocate. Though I am scared of leaving my job,family,friends and my security blanket but I'm ready to take that risk. I fear I may not find a job as good there but I'm willing to try.
    So Bvs wish me luck.

1. You want to risk it all for one erect penis?
      Ive always told people that distant relationship is like dating your phone, you only hear and see things they choose to reveal.

2. Anon I have known this person for atleast 15yrs. We were in school together. We both have good careers that money isn't a problem. Even if I take few years off work I will be fine. He holds his own and doing well.
      I am in my 30s already,so time to start a family. Good job won't keep me warm at night. I return to an empty nice apartment daily. I want more out of life than just success and money.

3. Anon goodluck jare. I hope and pray that God can somehow remember me, even the tiniest bit of remembrance is enough for me

4. Anon 14:31/16:45, please take the leap. If it's in line with God's will for your life, please do not hesitate. I was in quite a similar situation as you are,my then fiance now husband was in the US, we knew each other from school before he relocated. God knows I was so afraid to relocate, I had a good job in Nigeria and was living very fine, I did not have the typical Nigerian problems because my family was financially buoyant. However, I had travelled to several countries and had a skewed perspective on how Nigerians lived abroad. Underpaid, underutilized, dehumanized; those were some of the feelings evoked in my family when we visited. I took the leap despite the air of uncertainty, I am well educated but my work experience wasn't a lot and I was pretty young, so I feared becoming redundant.
      I am thankful to God every other day that I did not make a stupid decision by refusing to relocate and forcing my spouse to return to 9ja. The heights I have reached financially and professionally in about 2 years through acquiring information, rethinking my perspectives,exhibiting my potential, meeting the right people and most importantly, reliance on God, I would never have reached in Nigeria. My sister, long distance relationships work, I was against it before God put me in one and now I believe anything you leave in God's hands would prosper because nothing is impossible with Him.

19. Well, l was out for 20 years , l am aging . l came back 6 years ago. My kids are in LA. I visit twice a year. l am happy here, really happy . My husband is glad to be home. No regrets.

Please, if you chose to leave , stay away from crime, don't trust Nigerians . Some of them can very funny.

20. For those saying they don't have the opportunity, Google is your friend. Use your internet wisely. The opportunities are everywhere.

Canada has been open. UK is now open. Grab it while it last.

1. Thanks swag,I just renewed my us visa,I'm thinking of going end of this year and not coming back, pls what steps do I need to take? Help a sis,I'm in my mid-thirty's. How do I prepare myself to look for job there, someone said I need to convert my Nigerian degree? Pls help with details of how to go about it. Thanks

21. See why black nations cannot prosper and continue to be at the bottom in every quality of life survey. Imagine, just to have clean running water in an upscale residential neighbourhood, lack of proper policing, civil servants and pensioners not being paid for months and years, police supposedly having a spiritual warfare seminar instead of investing in proper crime solving training, lack of infrastructure. So many simple little things that can be easily resolved. The UK cannot capture slaves no more to build them an empire, so now they are offering two years work and live opportunity for ppl with advance education, which is a form of modern day slavery. Shit like this keep Africa behind, because the ppl with the skills and knowledge will not return to participate in the advancing of the nation effort, while a country that is already centuries ahead will get further ahead. May God have mercy on Africa, and give the nations wise and honest leaders.

22. I am leaving ooo, my back don break tey tey.. na manage I dey. I recently got a small job so by God's Grace my savings would be my start up capital to relocating. I have children so before I relocate I must also consider their well being. My husband isn't ready so me I have to plan well for my relocation.

23. I went for my PG degree and had plans of coming back oh till I got a job. Na so I remain put since. 🤷🏾‍♀️ To return just dey hungry me sef

24. I don’t think Nigeria is THAT bad tbh. I don’t know why everyone wants to leave, I get that Naija is synonymous with a shithole but I still think there are TONS of opportunities there. Many people are just following the trend of wanting to leave as if that’d solve everything. Me sha I’m team Naija for life, life is sweet wherever I find myself. There’s no way I can permanently relocate to the abroad, I’m going to spend a maximum of five years here before I go back to my FatherLand.

1. It's always a good look from outside in, my dear. Making it work inside, is not as easy as it sounds. I respect people who can!! Abroad with good credit score you can take alot of risks, get house on mortgage, etc. Someone tries to dupe you he will be caught and brought to book - regardless of who you are the law protect you.

In Nigeria who will even loan you money to fund an existing business? Why do you think Invictus Obi went to do fraud to get business capital? Nigeria that you will give contractor your hard earned money to execute project, he would run away and when you eventually find him and take him to the police he will bribe them and they will maniplulate the case. Then you have to split time btwn your day hustle and court and police and you will just give up. Mnwh, you're simply an honest hardworking person with a great idea to clamp down on opportunities.

2. The truth is NOT every Nigerian should live in Nigeria, just a few, and here is whY. OVERPOPULATION. Nigerians are just too furking many. the only interesting thing here to do is go to beach and furk, go to cinema come back home and furk, . too much furking furking furking leads to too many babies popping out. Nigerians also don't believe in adoption that much, they rather pop out more babies that will lead to overcrowding etc. AND THERE ARE LIMITED RESOURCES FOR ALL THOSE Babies and humans to live on. that's why i encourage nigerians to move out. the ones that can stay should stay and make country better and more accommodating.

25. I left because of health reasons. Kidney disease which was eventually bound to cause kidney failure. Thank God I left, the kidneys eventually failed, did dialysis for 8 months without paying $1 and then had a new kidney from my dad. Both of us did not pay $1. If I were in Nigeria, I'll have been soliciting for funds and then still die. Glad I did.

Meanwhile the doctor I saw in Nigeria concluded it was lupus without doing any test. That's when I ran away.

1. Thank God for giving you the privilege of quality and free health care

2. Thank God for your life Anon. Health care is a major issue in this country, we are in God's hands here

26. My husband was discussing it today with me, but our fear is the fund.

27. My ex hubby had a baby by another and I was still ttc. Packed my bags and left. That’s the best decision I’ve ever made!!!

28. I left because of marriage and am very happy i did.

29. Hi Bv's I want to relocate so bad I have a Turkish Visa in my passport.Bvs from Turkey Is Turkey a good place to relocate to?

1. u go suffer.dont go to northern turkey.just go to instabul and look for 120k Job in a factory.

2. Thank u bv.what is 120k job please, is it 120k a month?

30. Paid millions per annum in tax but still had to pay for toll, diesel, water, security etc. Seeing the way tax payers money was squandered without accountability was very upsetting so I left.

31. I left age 9 now 32 married with kids but still love naija so much but can never live there

32. Everyone should kukuma leave abeg.

33. I want to leave but I want an opportunity to present itself. I don't want to suffer or start from scratch but till then, I'm saving and preparing.

34. Nigeria is sweet when you have money....lots of it. Lol
    I never believed my own destiny was rooted in relocating outside naija. My ex-fiancee brought up the motion of us moving to Canada. Visa was set, but the whole plan didn't just sit well with me. It's part of why we eventually split up. I said I wasn't going anywhere(she later married one UK boi).

I like the 2 weeks vacay from time to time, but permanently live in Oyinbo land???? Nah....it ain't for me.

Different strokes for different folks. Some people have relocated to the abroad and their lives have blossomed like magic. Others went there and came back to naija even "broker"
    Every one with their different destiny paths.
    All I know sha is that to enjoy naija, you need loads of money. Else better relocate. Lol

On 2 the Next!

35. Nothing to keep me back, I ended my marriage, no kids, No good paying job to come back to, So I left and never looked back. Hearing stories from family and friends keep breaking my heart. The hardship is bad.

36. When Corona school Gbagada got a new headmistress and she turned the school to yoruba women association. Impunity was the order of the day. They taxed parents for the most frivolous and outrageous thibgs and those fake parents will run and pay as if they have it all. I was not ready for their useless politicking so I took my kids and left with hubby since 2013.

37. When i realised that to get ahead in my post at GTBank i had to cook Eforiro for my boss i knew it was time to go.

1. your boss was hungry o. HAHAHAH

38. I finished uni with first class degree . I stay ont the street looking for job for 5 years i even went back and did my masters but still no work .. all the pple that promised to help me secure a job wanted to sleep with me .i allowed some but no show. My cousin asked my to drop my credentials which i did .i came 2 weeks later to find his wife had sold my papers to groundnut sellers in return for a tin of groundnut. I almost died .i was planning to go into full time prostitution when i applied for america visa. Luckily i got it . I made 800 dollars from baby sitting the first week . Gone to nursing school now am a big girl with my pwn house and children and hubby

39. I'm leaving next month by Gods grace.I have always wanted to leave Nigeria because my families have always been overseas kinda people but my husband refused.A consultant who was in his early 40s was diagnosed with kidney failure and needed to go to India,no funds and Drs were asked to contribute 10k & 30k and most of them did it grudgingly ,He died on the plane.That man's death shook my husband because it could have been anyone.A medical doctor who reached the peak of his career couldn't afford to pay his medical bills.And there was no insurance or loan.Leave if you can afford to oh