Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Friday, November 01, 2019

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmmm......

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT TO DO....

Good day bvs, I'm in dire need of advice.

I've been jobless for some months now and I finally got one through a job consulting firm of which the first month salary is to be shared equally. The position is a Front Desk Officer in a school. During my discussion with the Head of the school, my job description wasn't fully outlined. 

He only said when I resume I'd be put through. Only for me to find out on my resumption that the work load is more than the salary which is 30k. I have to perform as a stock keeper, Cleaner, Front Desk Desk Officer, Errand messenger and still have to resume on or before 7am to close by 5pm. Not only that, pension, tax and thrift will still be deducted from the salary( This wasn't disclosed to me from the onset). 

I buy food and sometimes I take my cooked food to work but I transport myself daily. I'm just tired because within a week, I have lost weight. I have been searching and applying for a job but I've not yet been successful. I came out with a second class upper from a reputable University. 

I'm thinking of quitting and learning something. On the other hand, I feel I should still hold on. Please help me, I really don't know what to do.

*Even if they dont explain it to you,you want to work and not pay Tax?it is not possible my Dear,and even if you resign and start something,you still have to pay Tax

49 comments:

1. Request to have a renegotiation talk with the Principal or whoever employed, sadly, this is Nigeria and may not yield any fruit but at least it would show that you are concerned about the terms of agreement.

A lot of people here will say “do it until you get something better” but truth is how will you get another job if you are tied up doing this shitty one with little pay? When will you have the time to apply and attend interviews? Anyway, all the best but I can never work for less than I’m worth.

1. Stella why are you so particular about the tax aspect?

Person dey complain about small salary and workload you dey talk about tax.

Poster please quit the job. You spend your whole day there so when will you have to go and look for another.

2. God bless you @ Doppel.. if you are privileged to not have to look for so long to get a befitting job, you do not know what the Lord has done for you.
      Nigerian employers will tie you down while sapping all one's skills and energy. I studied Economics and graduated with a 2:1. I work with an audit firm and the pay is nothing to compare to what I put in. I struggled on the same job to do my ICAN and by the grace of God, I just have one paper left to qualify. Attending lectures was an everyday struggle as we do not have a definite closing time unless the Principal asks that we shut down. If leaving the office by 6pm, I'll still have to ask for permission and sometimes, it doesn't end well as I was told many times that I was abusing the "privilege".
      My gist(office chronicle) is long but one thing I ask of God now is for me not to return to that office after my ICAN exam in this November. I have applied in so many places but haven't got any response or call for an interview. I haven't stopped trusting God and I believe that he will settle me soon with a better job. Finance Assistant or Finance officer role in NGO or any reputable organisation with good working condition.

3. I also saw SPICE comment this week in one of the morning post. Complaining of no job and she is squatting. Pls try and go to ICS. ICS is a recruitment firm. They recruit mostly for banks. Me and my friend went there early this yr and she was given a gtb bank job of like 100k salary. Na something. When you get to obanikoro! That BRT stand der. Cross and ask bike men . Is along ikorodu road. Submit your CV they will place you on jobs. Sometimes na lack of knowledge they make we graduate no dey get the few job. Plz make friends too. A friend got me my job when I already lost hope. It is well darling. For sanity sake if this one no pay you. Waka.💘💞💖☹💘. Pls ICS does not charge . Is being deducted from ur salary but u wont know. They will only tell you your monthly pay. But most time not less Dan 75k. Stella abeg post o. No be advert I dey do o. Is just an advise .let her try it.

4. Enter your reply...And who says ICS jobs is not less than 75k,my dear it on depends on the firm or bank,I got bank job thru ICS,union bank for 50k.so it all depends on there negotiation with the bank.

5. Check benue anon 16:34 there is a finance assistant opening in one of the NGO

2. Please this one is slavery. You better start selling Okrika and other things

1. Pure slavery. It not about not wanting to pay tax Stellz, she said it to let us know at the end of the month her pay isn't even up to 30k.

2. Poster, please quit! Better you sell pure water in bags than this nonsense. Inukwa modern day slavery!

3. I swear real slavery

3. My dear if you enter bush market buy a bag of crayfish and start selling to people in bits, you will make more money and still have your peace of mind.

4. All the slave drivers we get for this Nigeria sef. Dear poster if you get life line/back up better leave that job and stay at home and search for a new job from home oo.

5. Dear Poster I will advise you..Don't quit that job, you can't have it all rosy..Even me with over 7 years experience in customer service, I sometimes do admin roles...You should be happy because when you have gained experience in those areas, your CV will be rich when applying for other jobs and will give you an edge...With these your next role can be an operations manager..Build your career and stop complaining...

Concerning tax and pension...Please you cant say they didnt tell you..You were given an offer letter which you should have read before signing..They are statutory deductions so dont break a sweat on that...Be happy you have this job, people are crying to be in your position now..Just be grateful you have a source of income no matter what, then learn or do a side business to boost your income..All the best...

1. How can she be happy she has a job that barely feeds and transports her in a month naaa? To be honest, the employer is shady as heck! He knew what he was doing when he didn't fully disclose this poster's role. You will be shocked his offer letter didn't state all these deductions, is it not these kwekwe employers again?
      Poster you honestly need to start planing your exit from that place, give yourself till December (next month) and move!! Set a plan in place between now and then but make Sure you are NOT resuming that job come 2020.
      That is slavery not a job.

2. Poster don't follow this advice infact ⚠️ DON'T READ IT ,⚠️

3. @Hey boo please be clear mine or Dainty T's...She can leave if she wants too but sometimes one has to learn through difficult times...

6. Stella,she isn't complaining about the tax na.. She said that the workload is more than the take home .She has a certificate and is under payed because of lack of work..
    she needs advise to continue or quit.

poster, that work is no no.. They would still use you and you won't have time to apply for better job. Go on Twitter and follow accounts that post job vacancy.

7. Stella apart from tax what should she do?
    Keep applying dear, you will surely find something better.

8. Madam quit even househelps get paid 20k to 25k and they still get free feeding,housing and medicals. Those guys r using u. Period

9. I can’t believe not wanting to pay tax is the only thing Stella deduced from this story?! Dear writer, I understand where you are coming form, in sane climes, job descriptions must be spelt out ... they should have stated that 30k was not your net pay and you should have asked too if you weren’t clear. Anyway I advise you hold on to the job until you can take it no more and keep searching in the meantime. Nigeria is a failed State. Please post Stella

10. Stella, it's not just about the tax. what has thrift got to do with her salary and look at all the work load. That's 10hrs daily😲😲. Please, QUIT

11. Not in Nigeria o
    Nigerians do not pay taxes but they want everything to be
    free.
    I remember hitting a business deal sometime ago and going
    ahead to pay my tax and a Nigerian asked me if I had gone "nuts?"

Romans 13:7 Give to everyone what you owe them: If you owe taxes,
    pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

This job description and pay however, is slavish.
    But seek and you will find another while on this...

1. You shouldn't blame those that refuse to pay their tax. What does the government do with tax payer money?? Ordinary electricity we can't boast of in this country.

2. I wonder ooo. Bad roads everywhere, no security, to mention some. Now na to dey show identification when some people can't even eat.

12. But cleaner too? They don't have janitorial staff at the school? Sorry to hear you even lost weight. Keep looking, there has to be better that that in the market.

13. What tax? In Nigeria? I know they say jobs are scarce and it's not always wise to quit a job before you get another one but this your job? Quit now or else you will find yourself working there 2, 3, 4, 7 years and still for peanuts. It's better you start selling something please. Can you make hair? Do something that can be giving you small money while you look for a much better place to begin your career. If I knew what I know now, I won't work in some places I worked. It sounds right when people say any job is better than no job, but you must careful with the kind of job you take because some jobs will reduce your self-esteem to the lowest and render you so useless to even position yourself for better things.

14. Stella, yes we pay Tax but Employers claim they debit Tax but they don't remit to FIRS. SO technically the salary is less than 30k...in a normal country, it's FIRS that is supposed to debit not the employer and you will be issued a Credit Note to that effect but unfortunately alot of companies do this. I will advise the Poster to just resign after collecting the first salary and use it to do small biz till she gets a better job. It won't be easy but God will see you through.

1. They will also collect half of the first salary, apart from deductions, what would be left?

15. Abeg quit that job. If you fall sick on the job, which money will you use to take care of yourself? If you don't stop, you might not even have the time to find something better.

1. This Is Slavery ooo Even Nigerians In Libya do not suffer like this... GodForbid...

16. Poster I’m sorry about your plight but this job hmm.
    Okay let’s say after they debit tax and all that you hv mentioned from the salary, and you have 25000 left.
    5000 as transportation for a month. 20000 left.
    Let’s say you save 5000 per month. 15k left.
    You use 5000 to buy little food stuff in the house. 10k left.
    You use 10000 as pocket money for the month.
    I’m just giving a rough estimate I may be wrong.
    If the work load is too much, discuss with your employer. If they don’t do anything about it, please leave.
    I use to earn this amount of money about 4 years ago. And the way I broke the money down was how the money was shared by me.
    But the only good thing about mine is that I don’t go to work everyday, I go like 4 or 3 times a week. And the distance is from ajao estate to The Island...So you can imagine. And also unlike you I wasn’t cleaning the office. I was a personal assistant and na there e end.
    I wasn’t buying food or sweeping floor or whatever for anyone. Yes I go to far distance when they need me to go deliver something but that’s that. When I left, I was even willing to still be working for my boss for free whenever I’m less busy. Cause he was a nice man, even bought me a phone and rips me sometimes. And no I wasn’t dating him. When you respect yourself and speak like a graduate that you are, even your boss will treat you well.
    My next job was as a flight attendant. I mentioned this because I had to plan on a next move while I was making that money. I wasn’t planning on doing that job forever. So except you plan on saving consistently and making this sacrifice to something better, then you can stay. If not, it’s not worth it. Be very affirmative when you talk.

17. is tax deduction really your complain or the work load? Must jobs we are doing we don't just do one work, are you not multitasking? i don't like those that complain too much about not having a job or finding one and still nag the pay is small or the work load is too much. If you do not like the job just resign and go home, you don't have anything doing yet you are complaining with the little one God gave to you, learn to appreciate the little one you have while God gives you something better.

1. Because she needs job, she will from being a job seeker to a slave?

2. Her health and wellbeing also matters.

18. PLEASE QUIT THAT JOB. Doesn't seem like one that would give you time to search for another. Continue job hunting while building your skillset. There are a lot of things you can learn online. Also, start a business, even if it's small. I know people who started businesses whilst searching for jobs and the business eventually became profitable enough that they even employed people.

Otherwise, you'll be sending chronicles in 7 years time.

19. Nigeria is a horrible country sha

20. stella the issue is ,she was expecting 30k as take home pay...So tax and others should grossed up, not that she doesn't want to pay tax .. poster it is well with you ... pls still hold on and start planning your next move...

21. Will cleaning and errand messenger be part of your CV for those telling you to stay? 2nd Class Upper is not a joke and you worth more than that. It's not as if there's a career staying there

Surf the net and fly away from this afflicted country. You have lost weight all in a bid to answer "worker". Very soon, you start doubting your self worth. It's not even a government job.

It's better not to have job than have one that saps you of energy, rest and peace of mind, weather beaten clothes and unnecessary pressure.

22. Nigeria is a terrible place! I don't want to say it's a cursed country. I wish I knew someone to give you a job. Even the young School leavers that did sales boy/girl for my mum in the past got 30k per month or more, talk more of a graduate! It can't be well with the people that kept Nigeria like this.

Please leave that job and go learn something. Wig making, cream mixing, tailoring, package and sell food items. Anything but that useless job. May God provide a better option for you

23. A graduate shouldn't even be working as a cleaner or errand girl. That job is for the uneducated or school certificate holders. I know so many school certificate holders that wouldn't even do that job. An experience you cannot put on your CV shouldn't waste your youth. It will damage your self esteem if you're not careful. It's either your employer removes that part of the job from your daily deliverables or you quit. I however think you allowed it because the employer just tested you with it knowing you're a full graduate and you fell for it. You shouldn't have accepted from the onset, four years in the university is no joke. I also think that position has always been earmarked for a school certificate holder but you were desperate and took the job, so to the employer its a favour. Please snap out of it, and take back your selfworth.

24. With this kind of job, you won’t have time to search for another one. It’s advisable for you to quit. As much as you need a job, do not be too desperate when you find one, let your negotiations/ agreement be clear. Know the proposed NET salary( after all deductions- your take-home) before you accept any job.

25. @ Sexy Hip 18:22, Please ICS salary for contract staff working with gtb is not 100k. Do not give her false hope. The first 2years is about 74k and the highest pay is 94,000. I have been working with GTB through ICS for over 5years.

26. A 2:1 graduate a cleaner and messenger, biko quit that job ASAP. After you first salary, tell the owner you want to resign,give him your reasons and ask for a negotiation, if he refuses you cut out from the school. It's better your self employed than this modern day slavery. Inukwa 30k with tax and pension inclusive.

1. You will be surprised what some masters holders are doing in Nigeria just to keep going.

27. Take the first salary and ask for renegotiation please... Try you hear!!

28. Does the company remit tax and pension deducted??
    Are they deducting the correct amounts?
    If they don't deduct and remit those deductions,company woukd be in a lot of trouble with the state government.

Why do we forget to state terms of employment clearly????

The workload is too much though ....

If you complain, they would behave as if you are asking for too much....

Look fot another job while you are there....
    Hope you have strength left to do that.