Daily Trust reports that at the resumed hearing of the matter before Justice Muslim Hassan of a Federal High Court Lagos on 5th November 2019, EFCC through its lawyer Rotimi Oyedepo dropped the corruption charges against most of the accused persons through an amended four-count charge.
The amended charges which border on money laundering only seeks to prosecute a former Executive Director of First Bank PLC, Dauda Lawal alongside Diezani Madueke and Ben Otti who served as Group Executive Director of finance at the NNPC.
Remember that The EFCC had in a 14-count charge accused Diezani, the bank executives and NNPC officials of conspiring to conceal $153 million in Fidelity bank...
The amended charges which border on money laundering only seeks to prosecute a former Executive Director of First Bank PLC, Dauda Lawal alongside Diezani Madueke and Ben Otti who served as Group Executive Director of finance at the NNPC.
Remember that The EFCC had in a 14-count charge accused Diezani, the bank executives and NNPC officials of conspiring to conceal $153 million in Fidelity bank...
Abi identical twins? But who be odion and who be ovokhan?
ReplyDeleteNigerians should not be surprised.
DeleteNigerian Government fights when its not comfortable for them,but when it does,they turn the other way.
I was surprised when the presidency gave a statement concerning Jonathan in a positive light.
At this point, nothing surprises me about such things happening in Nigeria anymore. The fight against corruption is even selective. Once you port to the ruling party, your sins get forgiven immediately. If PMB, is sincere in his fight against corruption, he needs to take the bull by the horn. Let us all look around our respective states or cities. What state are our infrastructures in? What state are the government owned and operated schools and hospitals in? Year in and out, budgets are made and money is spent. So much money spent yearly but nothing to show for all that money. Absolutely nothing!! Even common roads, they have refused to fix. All the former and present state executives, past and current ministers, etc all stole our money. They have milked Nigeria dry and are all walking free. Well, what our government cannot do, the Brits will do it for us. At least Ibori stayed in Prison.
ReplyDeleteSmh.....buhari is a scam.
ReplyDeleteBabanla scam
5'
NEWS
EFCC to amend charges, obtain arrest warrant against Diezani
Published November 25, 2018

Eniola Akinkuotu
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has brought fresh charges against a former Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke, SUNDAY PUNCH has learnt.
It was learnt that the EFCC would in the coming days join Diezani in a suit filed against an oil tycoon, Jide Omokore.
The EFCC will subsequently apply for a bench warrant against the former minister as part of the process to kick-start her extradition from the United Kingdom.
READ ALSO: AMCON debtors pay cash, surrender assets to evade prosecution
Speaking with our correspondent, an EFCC source said, “There have always been charges against Diezani. However, we had to remove her name for technical reasons. Also, the matter is no longer before Justice Nyako.
“We will amend the charges to include her name and then we will apply for a bench warrant because there are many diplomatic processes involved. We will amend the charges against her.
“You cannot extradite a person from foreign land without evidence that the person is wanted or the person’s arrest has been ordered by a court.”
A bench warrant is an arrest warrant that is ordered by a judge against the defendant in a criminal case. It is typically issued in the case of a failure to appear for trial.”
A senior EFCC official who spoke to our correspondent on condition of anonymity noted that a case was filed against Diezani in 2016 but had been withdrawn.
However, with the delay by the UK authorities, the commission has decided to personally handle the matter.
The source recalled that the commission had filed charges against Diezani alongside Omokore and Aluko; a former Managing Director of Nigerian Petroleum Development Company Limited, Victor Briggs; a former Group Executive Director, Exploration and Production of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation; Abiye Membere; and several others before Justice Bina Nyako in 2016.
They were arraigned before a Federal High Court in Abuja on nine counts bordering on money laundering and procurement fraud.
However, before taking the defendants’ plea, Justice Nyako had requested that the names of the accused persons not present in court be taken off the charge.
Consequently, Aluko whose name appeared in all the counts as well as Diezani who appeared on count eight were deleted
The acting EFCC Chairman, Ibrahim Magu, last week met with UK authorities as part of the process of extraditing the former minister.
The Punch
most of you are just too ignorant and controlled by your hate.
Alexander
They dropped the charges against a corrupt politician that stole millions from Nigeria and have th me guts to remand Mompha and Niara Marley who stole from foreigners, God will punish them. Useless people
ReplyDeleteNa them sabi...
ReplyDeleteNa wa ooo. Now she can goan enjoy the rest of her plenty money in peace.
ReplyDeleteJust like that.
ReplyDeleteI don't believe this. The social media has become a hub for fake news. Till we hear from effc and proper news outlets...
ReplyDeleteIf this is true, then Nigeria is hopeless for redemption. Every institutions of government has been destroyed. The only thing that has improved since 2015 is Buhari's health. So terrible.
ReplyDeleteIf all I just read is anything to go by in Stella voice, then all I can say is hmm!
ReplyDeleteThe more we look, the less we see.
The ratio of cases lost or withdrawn by EFCC is higher than cases won. Is it because the lawyers did not understand what they were taught in uni and law school or go for cases without enough and proper preparations?
ReplyDeleteThe way this woman's image was dealt with and rubbished, one wonders why it took them these years to withdraw and amend the charges.
No wonder known corrupt government officials with good lawyers are set free at the courts for lack of evidence.
And these same EFCC guys like to flex their muscles on yahoo guys just to show they are working.
No wonder I overheard someone say he would love to work in EFCC or FIRS. He called them "Settlement Agencies"
not new to me anyway
ReplyDeletethe kirikiri boss was arrested but na dia d thing go end
Wow!!! They're all corrupt afterall.
ReplyDeleteJonathan was their ringleader
Aaahhh just like that?
ReplyDelete"Dem" don chop (share) the evidence.
ReplyDeleteYeeeees, dem don swallow everything!!
ReplyDeleteNigeria is done!
ReplyDeleteOnce you port to the ruling party, you become a saint.
ReplyDeleteGEJ, traded our state for Diezani’s freedom. When she returns, she will be an APC card carrying member. I weep for my country.
Dickson sef is terrible. If only they fielded Timi Alaibe, maybe the outcome eiujd have been different. Not even sure where Lyon appear from.
ReplyDeleteBuhari is the OG Yahoo boy but nah, let's just focus on the ones with laptops. 😶😶
ReplyDeleteHope they won't come for you on hate speech. Numskulls!
DeletePerxian! Mr President is the best president Nigeria ever had, fighting and wining war on corruption.
DeleteHahahaha
Nkpo mpa idem
ReplyDeleteOh well! reason APC won Bayelsa and Kogi as terms and conditions applied.
ReplyDeleteNot moved at all. Congrats Oga Jona and Aunty Peshe, una do well. Dickson was right though.
Am not surprised at all and it's so sad, 😩😩😩set of thieves
ReplyDeleteStella,efcc has debunk this..its a fake news!
ReplyDeleteWatch Maina of Pension Scheme being set free. Nigeria, I hail thee.
ReplyDeleteI laugh in igbo language.