Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fruit Market In Lagos Demolished For Proposed N2.8bn Ultra-modern Complex

Saturday, November 09, 2019

Fruit Market In Lagos Demolished For Proposed N2.8bn Ultra-modern Complex

The popular Ikosi-Ketu fruit market in Ketu, Lagos, was on Friday, demolished by the state government to pave way for an ultra modern market in the area.

The Ikosi-Isheri Local Council Development Area (LCDA) has awarded the reconstruction of the dilapidated market to Total Value Integrated Service Limited, which is committing about N2.8 billion to reconstruct the market.

Around 10.00am on Friday, two bulldozers, escorted by policemen, stormed the market to ensure that there was no resistance during the demolition.
There was initial resistance from touts in the market, who hurled bottles at the police. The police responded by shooting sporadically in the air to scare away the touts and also shot several canisters of tear-gas to disperse traders unwilling to leave the market.

Some traders, who were in the market earlier were able to rescue some of their wares, but others were not so lucky as they were prevented from gaining access into the market to salvage their wares.

Some of the traders lamented that although they were informed earlier about the demolition, they were not informed a day before the exercise.
Likewise, the local Coordinators of the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC), in the area, Adebowale Adetona, said they were informed some weeks ago, that, the market would be demolished but they weren’t informed of the latest development.

However, Chris Onyekachi, Managing Director, Total Value Integrated Service Limited, told newsmen that the traders were given adequate notice to vacate the market for redevelopment, adding that series of meetings were held with the traders union, traditional rulers and council members on the proposed reconstruction of the market.

The Nation's report

31 comments:

1. What I experienced yesterday before I could get Marwa to 7up no be small thing, tear gas and everything. Some women were claiming that it was baba L'oja and iya L'oja that sold the market

1. Na dem sell am.
      That company Total Value Integrated Services does not have any trace of owner's name.

They burn markets and take over with new shopping complexes the old petty traders can't afford.
      Thiefnubu may motor climb you. Idiot papa to stupid iyaloja

2. This is the height of insensitivity. You want people to be self-reliant and not depend on the government for jobs, yet the few who have towed this part are been frustrated. Is this not worse than witchcraft?

1. Thank you for it. That's the question. They care less about the people

3. Look at people sweat and goods destroyed. When and when did the govt tell them about all these?? When??

The govt is very wicked. My mom sell there and no notice and I repeat no notice was given for them to leave. Do they do modern market for fruit??? How much do they intend to sell each shops.
    Why are is govt making life unbearable for the citizens???

4. kpele traders major developments come with sacrifices that will be enjoyed in the long run. Though it is not easy for traders to leave a place they're already used to

1. Enjoy by who na? The aboki man that his wares are not up to a million naira and will be asked to rent a shop for millions of naira?

5. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

Then what? After building, the stalls would not be affordable for the former traders.

Look at Tejuosho market, after the useless renovation, the major customers are zenith bank, park and shop, mama tega, Bismid and some wealthy people, the place is no more the busy hub it used to be. Now they are doing a 'December promo' looking to fill up the empty stalls upstairs. December promo keee dem there.

I am fed up, Being Nigerian is a task, even if you are wealthy how will you escape the collective poverty?

6. Stella pls it was not police. They brought soldiers and shoot at people. I have a friend that was shot in head. Liars. Maybe the iya loja knew about this but the owner of the shops was not notified for this sudden tin. Making the tout to fight back. How can they demolish a market suddenly. Even if you give notice did the govt provide temporary space for them to use till the dey are done. Ask yourself those questions. Is like chasing people from hawking in the hold up without providing alternative jobs??? Do u want them to start starving?? What nonsense.

7. This explains all the market fires lately

8. Hmmmmmmm this government shaaaaaaaa .

9. This una Lagos na so so sufferhead. Everyday new story chai.make i better remain for my abuja.

1. after staying in Lagos for 4yrs, na so i run come Abuja. while in the east, I see Lagosians as people wet get money, not just me oh everybody for east, only for me to come and I was better off in the east. Abeg suffer head, gragra and packaging get them there.

10. When Lagosians foolishly vote Tinubu's godsons, this what you get. Close to election, they are given face branded quarter bag of rice and they vote in the poverty Congress

1. Well said. They have amnesia and will do same at the next election.

11. The government is making it a point of duty to make Lagos uninhabitable for the poor masses.

This is really sad and wicked

12. Eko oni baje. Una vote for APC. So let's enjoy the pains of next level.

Nowadays when they give notice people don't take it serious. It is still painful because to get one of the stores to be built will go into millions.

Tejuosho own how many people have paid for the stores. The stores will rot away.

Useless government

13. Rather than demolishing the market and leaving the traders to their fate, why didnt they relocate them elsewhere before demolishing the market? Where do they expect these people to go to? Doesn't the government think? Don't they know that these traders play a key role? Markets where fruits and foodstuff are sold shouldn't just be demolished like that! You are building an ultra modern market for fruits or for what exactly? I can bet that many of the shops will be unoccupied because they'll be too expensive. All we have in this country are government officials who lack the ability to think and put practical policies that work.

14. May God help us in this Lagos, same thing we are facing in the Tejuosho face1 extension yaba,moving people upstairs during this period because of railway that might not even reach there ,causing unnecessary hardship for the struggling families. God will judge all of them

15. After the renovation the shop will no longer be affordable to the poor or even average Lagosians. Eko Baje

16. The State government should have provided a temporary place or another permanent site for the fruit traders.

Leadership comes with responsibility.

These traders live on their daily sales. Why crush their fruits? That's really mean!

It's clear the proposed new market to be built with N2.8 billion will be unaffordable to these fruitsellers.

Think about the good of the poor. Whatever affects them will be eventually passed on to the rich.

17. Merrymen should fight this govt to a stand still 😀😀

18. One would have thought LASG is working with this new development.
    But it's hard tk state that this traders also live inside the market.
    Some kids grew up in there.
    Not to forget the Igbo rice and beans guy who came in from the east to make a living, sleeping in the mini shop.
    But in another perspective. Demolishing the markets rids it off the miscreants roaming the streets. The secret hideouts in that market where touts go to after stealing phones and bags belonging to innocent lagosians would shock you.
    I feel for those affected though, it just hurts that the rich againcwoyld be the ones benefiting from this at the end.

19. IKosi Isheri LCDA that could not fix the road that leads to its secretariat....(IKosi Road)
    That road is as bad as bad can be.
    But they can demolish market.
    Berger market wey Ambo demolish never get head or tail.

Na siddown look we dey.

20. Another Tejuosho in the making. Dont be surprised if Tinubu owns the so called company wanting to construct a new market.

21. Same problem with Oyingbo market that was rebuilt. Many stalls are empty. The few who could rent or lease the stall have had to move their wares downstairs clsoe to the car pack as few buyers go upstairs since upper floors look empty. That complex is mainly busy because of its car park which shoppers use even though we often make purchases outside the complex.

22. Tejuosho useless, sura, alade. Don't these politicians ever learn. Must everything be an ultra-modern complex or mall. Even developed countries have regular markets

1. My mum sells at the market and her stall has been demolished,she's been there since i can remember,over 20 years now,she has been crying since friday,to sit at home is not going to be easy.I know God will direct us

23. Dis people has been given notice fr long.l has a friend there but Na lie Na lie dey kill people even last week they were inform but market people did n't believe.