Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 271

Friday, November 15, 2019

Labour Room Drama 271

WOW

Hi Stella.Ever since you began this column I have been looking forward to send mine whenever I marry,lol.

So I met hubby in February 2018 and we clicked instantly. By December same year we wedded.

I took in without knowing because when I used the test strip in January, it came back negative. So early march,after a delayed flow,I grudgingly took another PT strip test and it came out positive. We were ecstatic.

I consulted all baby applications addictively asking questions about baby's likely sex,due date and how far gone I was  .major predictions gave me end of October and early November.

I started antenatal classes in may.
Everything was going fine till my blood pressure began to shoot up,hence I was placed on drugs.

My doctor sent me for urinalysis test to rule out protein in the urine. I decided to run the test at a private lab and also at the hospital lab to compare results,the one done at private lab came out negative to protein in urine. I decided to do the hospital's the morning of my appointment being 30th October.(all these began from 23rd October).
25th October, I noticed I wiped blood whenever I urinated,I concluded that it was an onset of labour but there was no mucous with the blood,so I decided to keep monitoring it.

On 29th October, the blood was till there and I was no longer comfortable. I went to the hospital, after all the routine check to see if I was registered with them and viewing my last scan, I was taken to the labour room to be examined.

The nurse was so unsympathetic, she shouted on me when she discovered I was still wearing my pantie because she asked if I was wearing "paent" (exactly as she pronounced it)and i said no,because honestly it sounded like thights,she screamed at me to slide forward to the proper position for examination which I didn't know as a first time mom.Out of anger she left me with legs spread wide open for seconds discussing before she eventually examined me.

My people I thought i was so sure I could brave the pain felt when being examined to know how far dilated one was,it was hellish as I felt the pain down to my anus.After examining me,she showed me her gloved hand that there was no blood and that my cervix is still closed. I left.

30th October was my next clinic appointment, so I ran the urinalysis test at the hospital lab to be ready before I meet the doctor, the hospital lab results came back positive to blood in the urine (which is inevitable cos i still wiped blood that morning while urinating)and protein in urine too..hmmm.I was tensed,called my aunt who is a nurse who I kept abreast of everything, she told me to be calm and pray I meet a doctor who knows how to handle it.

I met with the doctor, showed her the result and also told her the nurse noted that my bp was high that morning. She also checked my bp and confirmed it was high and referred that I be admitted for induction.I called hubby and told him to bring my bag(which we left in the car assuming anything changed). We began the admission process and I was taken to the ward to await induction.

On 31st October, the first pill was inserted,I didn't feel anything. Around evening another was inserted and I felt mild contractions nothing more.

On 1st November, in the morning, the doctor checked how far dilated, I was at 2cm.He inserted another and said he would be back in four hour's time to check how far dilated I was.

By 11am,the doctor returned, checked me and said I was 2cm still and told the nurses to take me to the labour room.

At the labour room,I was placed on pitocin drip to fasten the labour process,with this,by 4pm I was having a little stronger contraction but I still didn't dilate pass 2cm,by midnight the doctor referred me to the theatre and told the nurse to shave me(I was so relieved because I bore the contractions but I was already tired). I was booked for 6am 2nd November after two other women.

2nd November at about 8:30am,I was wheeled to the theater. I was given the epidural at the spine,she said I should better keep my head at a place but I was sitting upright and moved in reflex when the needles pierced my spine(this eventually gave me a headache from hell,story for another day). 

The anaesthesia was injected too but it didn't start working immediately because when the surgeon sliced my skin,goosh,I felt it and screamed before my legs went numb and I was woozy.when my adorable prince was brought out weighing 3.8kg and looking like me,nothing like his dad,I couldn't even focus when i was asked to identify his s#x.He was cleaned and taken to the ward.

I came to around 11am and my hubby and sis told me my baby is fine and had been taken to the ward. I was wheeled to the ward,and I lay prone on my back for 2days(the leather delivery mat gave me rashes,the numerous drips,painful catheter inserted,it was hellish. But I thank God for what he did,because if he hadn't used the doctor who knew the induction had failed, the nurses might have been urging me to push.

Still can't walk well but I soak up all the pain when I look at my son.
I pray all expectant mothers experience this joy of motherhood soon..amen.
Stellz for your eyes alone.

OMG your son is FINE!!!!.......Are you 'white'?

50 comments:

1. Wow sensational congratulations o

2. Where do the nurses shave? Front abi plus every every?

2. Wow what a great and interesting story...Why are those nurses always angry sef?? Thank God for safe delivery..I thought there was a way to check if the anesthetics has taken effect b4 giving the first cut...

1. Congratulations poster. Quick question: What would happen if you shout back at a wicked nurse? Because I hate reading stories where "nurse from hell" shouts at patients/ pregnant women, it's annoying.

2. At that point, honestly you won't be able to shout back because you're at their mercy then. In my own case, had to be begging self for fear of them not doing something that will kill me o.i feared for my life and that of my baby

3. You can deal with them after delivery not before, don't shout back at them else they might get back at you in several ways. You might call them for a favour, they will just turn deaf and dumb.

4. Shout back? Not necessary they will always be like that don't blame them their job can be hectic sometimes

3. Thanks stellz for posting. No,I am not white in fact chocolate complexion, full Igbo girl😁

4. Thank God it ended in praise, I think that checking of the dilation by the nurses is more painful than the labour pain itself. Safe delivery to all pregnant women and may God hear the cry of those seeking for the fruit of womb.

5. Huge congrats Madam. I am glad for your life and that of your son. I must admit I read parts of your story in horror. The medical care in parts is just appalling.

1. Thanks so much.I thought I wouldn't survive it.

6. Congratulations ma'am. My love to your prince.

7. Congratulations, may all expecting mother deliver safely.

8. Congratulations mama fine boy,may your joy be forever.

9. @what else bitch...nurses are just annoying,but they are some nice ones though, @kachi checking for dilation is more painful than the labour ooo

10. this thing is scary. Congrats mama

1. Don't be scared anon,yours will be smoother.

11. Congratulations poster,the miracle of getting pregnant and have a successful delivery.May all of us in the waiting room experience this beautiful journey

12. congratulations to you and your hubby.

13. Congratulations madam! May God bless your baby. Hmmmmm, looking forward to that day...

14. Congratulations to your family, may God preserve the Baby.

15. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. Sweetlurlacollections Lagos (bags,shoes&more)0708972144915 November 2019 at 13:59

Congratulations ma'am,it ended in praise!!!! Oluwaseun.Regards to your cutie

17. congrats and thank God for the successful delivery of your boy..the doctor asked the nurse to shave you?

18. Congratulations to you ma'am. How come we hear more stories of mean nurses and very little of the nice ones.

1. Thanks adire,really don't know but won't deny there are few nice ones.

19. Congratulations ma'am. Thank God for safe delivery.

20. Congrats madam, welcome prine

21. Congratulations sweetheart, I bless the Lord for you live and that of your family.

22. May God bless the baby..😁
    Just like you when I labour started as a first time mom,Dr said to lie down he wants to check and I did with my jeggins on,he LOL😂
    How i HATE it when hands are inserted to check,it still is what I dread most as per delivery😢😢

23. mama triplet🕴🕴🕴15 November 2019 at 17:23

congrat dear.

24. Congratulations ma'am and may God bless your lil angel. Mehn, pregnancy / delivery stories scare me but it's an experience i desire as i pray to have my own kids too some day.. Please pardon my curiosity...was it because you moved while epidural injection was being given that caused your inability to walk well?

1. Enter your reply...No dear,its just pain at lower abdomen that will make u not be able to walk and stand well yet.The epidural gave me severe headache because I allegedly moved my head while receiving the injection.