Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Govt Shuts Down Some Churches And Mosques For Polluting The Environment...

Monday, November 18, 2019

Lagos State Govt Shuts Down Some Churches And Mosques For Polluting The Environment...

Lagos State Government on Sunday closed down eight worship centres across the state for contravening environmental pollution regulations.

Dr Dolapo Fasawe, General Manager, Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency (LASEPA), who led the exercise, said that the facilities were closed down to save the people from health crisis that might arise from the activities of the centres.

The LASEPA boss said that there would be no hiding place for any religious organisation, which failed to operate within the ambit of the law, regardless of their faith.

Fasawe said that mutual respect of views, culture and religion, which the annual tolerance day celebration symbolised, must be adhered to by all residents to foster peace.

She said that religious organisations were supposed to demonstrate good conduct, tolerance, brotherliness and good neighbourliness.

The general manager, however, regretted that the conduct of some overzealous churches and mosques had caused frictions in the society.

She assured residents of the state that LASEPA would not rest on its oars in bequeathing a good ambience to all inhabitants.

Fasawe explained that for the sealed facilities to be reopened, the leaders of those organisations must reach an agreement of compliance with the state and also satisfy other necessary conditions as might be prescribed by LASEPA.
from dailypost

26 comments:

1. Alleluiah!!!!!!!!! It Is about time. One church pastor will turn on church preaching and leave the horn speakers outside and go home in a different area while the preaching blasts the whole night. Nobody wants to confront him for fear of being labelled the devil.

2. Hehehehehe, na some people business/oil company una wan close down so?

3. I don't understand this law o,does it mean that the Muslims will no longer call for prayers and Churches will no longer use Ahuja

4. Nice one. Let them relocate to the houses of the pastor and imams

5. Please shut them down abeg...They keep disturbing the peace, you can pray to God without putting Megaphones outside the church building...Some churches ought not to be situated in residential areas, no one follows the master plan...

6. its necessary tho, the noise from most worship centres is to much

7. When it comes to religion, some people in Nigeria lose their senses. How one's mode and style of worship infringes on another's privacy should not be allowed.

From the early morning call for prayers by Muslims through the public address system to shouting and (band) music of Christians ( sometimes night virgils) and some that put their public address systems facing the street, all are pollutants.

Way to go and hope other states will have the balls to do same

8. Abuja pls emulate this. Chosen churches are particularly guilty of this. In area like Wumba, kuje, apo etc and when u complain they put it on louder. Who says I want to hear u casting out demons all night????

9. That is very good, the church near my house,I was happy the day I heard them singing from hymn book, their noise ehn, only few persons in the church, you dare not sleep at night.

10. This Lasepa guys are just scoundrels. Sent numerous emails about a Telecom mast beside my house in a residential area that had a generator that was giving off toxic fumes that was polluting the environment and also vibrating our house and other houses on the street. That asked what company owned the mast , I told them MTN.
    They came, said they'd issue a warning to MTN and that was it.
    They probably made noise and got settled by MTN because I followed up with countless emails and they've been quiet.

I'm sure if these churches sort them out, they'll let them be.
    Countless mosques and churches pollute the environment not just eight.

1. Once they pay, it will be opened. They will just tell them to get noiseless equipment. The ones that cost yp to 100k

2. Same thing with water parks on Toyin street. Heard they had been bribed.we are suffering badly from the noise

11. *not just eight churches and mosques.

12. Na to begin burn these churches remain

1. You must be a very violent person to make such a statement.

13. he should concentrate more on working on the lagos road than shutting down worship centers.

1. It is part of his work Biko...worship centers indeed! Noise pollution everywhere.

14. Ogun state need to emulate this and stop these churches from their rubbish noise making. Must they disturb the peace of the community before they worship God. They just built a celestial church close to my house and the noise from there during their vigil is something else, because of them I stopped sleeping in my husband’s room on fridays. Even sundays, 10am -3pm na headache from their noise they rush me. I am tired of this house already.

1. Na so o. anytime i visit my sister in lagos, 2 churches surround them. no be small noise

15. Let all churches use soundproof. Mosque hardly make noise as their call to prayer last 5mins

16. You need to go to Adoration Ministries in Salawu (Surulere) and shut it down fast.
    It disturbs Oni, Salawu, Karimu and even Akimabib with thunderous noise that vibrates the whole neighbourhood and it's every night vigil.
    You can't answer a call in your home without the caller placing your location.
    Also, there are 2 white garment churches and 3 mosques within these 4 streets.
    Upon all, witches reside there.