Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Boy Rewarded For Making Mathematics Easy To Learn

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Nigerian Boy Rewarded For Making Mathematics Easy To Learn

A 12-year-old UK-based Nigerian boy, Chika Ofili, has been awarded at the TruLittle Hero for discovering a new way to divide in mathematics.

Chika Ofili made Nigeria proud by discovering a new mathematical formula that makes the study of mathematics easier.

In a Pluse.NG report, his mathematics teacher, Miss Mary Ellis who is also the head of the maths department at Westminster Under School said Chika discovered the new formula after a holiday assignment.
She said that she gave Chika a book called First Steps for Problem Solvers (published by the UKMT) to study during the holidays.

The book contained several divisibility tests, which are used to quickly work out whether a number is exactly divisible by either 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9 before you start dividing.

However, there was no test listed for checking divisibility by 7. This was not listed because there is no easy or memorable test for dividing by 7 but Chika Ofili solved this problem.

He discovered that if you take the last digit of any whole number, multiply it by 5 and then add this to the remaining part of the number, you will get a new number. If this new number is divisible by 7, then the original number is divisible by 7.

Chika then demonstrated his new formula in front of the school faculty. Afterward, Miss Ellis got a neutral mathematics guru to test the theory. This person was Simon Ellis her younger brother who also taught mathematics.
He tested the theory and wrote an algebraic proof for it. He further discovered that the test works if you start by multiplying the last digit by 12, 19, 26, 33…and then add it to the remaining part of the number.

28 comments:

1. This is great, congratulations Champ

2. Wow what a smart boy!! I naturally love Mathematics but the way teacher they teach am like say if you dont know Maths you cant make heaven...

3. Daalu Chika. We're so proud of you.

4. Congrats to you.. May you live a life of continue impact in the whole world. God bless you and provide for you.

5. congrats and well done chika who says Africans and even Nigerians can't formulate formulars

6. Great! Keep flying.

7. Kudos to him
    Rules of divisibility in Jss 2, there was not rule for number 7 as rightly stated..he is a problem solver already at 12.

I love mathematics,all day, everyday.

Congratulations to the winners of the cowbell mathematics competition also, indeed the future is bright

8. If na Nigeria, he wont be recognized or celebrated. But if it has to do with body parts and the likes....

1. They would have recognized him oh. They will give him two fowls and a tuber of yam. Or since he is a young child they may give him Indomie noodles or Cowbell and 1m for school fees. But if he wins BBNaija he gets 60m, gets this and that endorsements. We just place value on the wrong things. That's part of the reason we are where we are as a Nation.

9. Very Nice oo.. But i still dnt know Maths ooo And i dnt even understand what chika is saying... Nice one Boy...

10. Wooow!!!! Congratulations intelligent one. May God continue to order your steps.

11. Lord I tap into this for all my children. They shall be smart, intelligent and problems solver.

12. Great job πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

13. wow....This is great feat. congratulations to the great Boy.

Can imagine the Joy of his parents 😁😁

14. Even this explanation above is confusing me.

Me and Maths erhhhh😒😒😒

15. Nigeria has great talemts. God bless Niperian kids. I was cursed by my Maths teacher in my class2. He was rolving a particular topic. He asked a question and everyone raisdd their hands exept me. When he called me up, I couldnt answer the question, he "you will never know wathematics." i neva kmw am o since dat time. If to say I kno i for folo raise hand sef.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

2. πŸ˜‚ Now I see why your name started with an "R" instead of an "S".

Debra.

3. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣somebody shoot me already. @anony 21:23 You won't make heavenπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. Queen realtor I will make heaven oooπŸ˜‹ you and I and everyone we love. Amen.

Debra.

16. Congrats chika greater heights we pray

Me and maths no follow Same road waka thank God hubby knows maths else oyo is my children's case lool