Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oba Abiodun Oniru's Creme De La Creme Studded Farewell Party

Sunday, November 03, 2019

Oba Abiodun Oniru's Creme De La Creme Studded Farewell Party

On Friday November 1st,All the areas around the Oceanview, Victoria Island, Lagos venue was locked down by human and vehicular traffic as the family hosted the mother of all receptions for the late Oniru of Iruland, Oba Abiodun Idowu Oniru.

The grand reception which was preceded by special prayers offered by top Islamic clerics was a fitting finale to months of funeral rites and events hosted to mark the passing of the much-loved Lagos monarch.

Aremo Olusegun Oniru, former Lagos State Commissioner and the other children of the late Oba Oniru pulled all the stops to ensure that Lagos high society including Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and Forbes-listed Africa's richest man, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Rasak Okoya, Rev. Mother Esther Abimbola Ajayi, her husband, Pastor Ademuyiwa Ajayi and other men of means, leading politicians, corporate titans and professionals were there.

ksquaresecurity officials scattered around the venue and surrounding area had a herculean task but managed to ensure that security was water tight despite the crowd of guests.

It was a first-rate Eko For Show cum Owambe party with loads to eat, plenty to drink and good music provided by none other than the King of World Beats, King Sunny Ade.

Guests rollicked till the wee hours of this morning, a clear evidence that Oba Oniru was honoured and celebrated in a most resounding and superlative manner by family, friends and wellwishers.

Photos and text by ovation Magazine editior Mike Effiong.

57 comments:

1. Where is the creme de la creme?

1. Look again!

2. Erelu is so old now...

This woman Cherubim uniform is mtn- everywhere you go

3. I don't even understand her, celebrity Rev.

4. Dangote, Okoya, other royals,governors, etc. What other type of creme are you looking for?

5. @21:43 I tell you! She even dey HOTR which day sef 🤣😂 singing worship song. I tire for her. Make she dey her UK na?

2. Wow. I just kept screaming. Haven't seen some of these faces in yonks.

1. Screaming for what exactly? Ode.

2. Screaming idiot.

3. Sigh!@ idiot?, ode?

Stella, when are we going to start putting a caveat on people that can't make comments without using rude words?

What type of upbringing or education did they get? What manner of beings are they? Gosh!

Please stop them Stella. I left those other platforms because of the "quality" of folks that made comments thereon.

PITY!

3. All the runs babes were also there! The movers and shakers.. it's been a while i saw them.

4. Some many old faces i haven't seen a long time. Farewell baba Oniru

5. Erelu Dosunmu is so pretty. Stella thanks for accuracy in reporting and capturing this event. Unlike some half baked bloggers who are too lazy to investigate and separate truth from fiction that this monarch was not Toolz dad.i can't stand lazy blooggers

1. But he’s Toolz’ Dad and Aremo’s Dad. Different mothers.

2. Oh thanks. Got your point.

3. 13:21, her dad.

4. Dad ko. Dada gbana ni

5. You guys think tolu will come out and say oh you guys are right, that's not my dad? Hahaha
      Radarada. Oniru kids full Atlanta and they will tell you Toolz is their cousin

6. Is it my eyes? Why is Elizabeth R's husband looking drained? I hope he is fine?

1. Probably from fasting.
      Chief Oniru sef his hand too strong for lanky Pastor Ituah.

7. Why does the man in white cap look like Abiola

8. So was that toolz dad’s burial?

1. Yes and Ovation did the right thing by highlighting Aremo. First born child. Her eldest brother Segun, albeit half. He brought this crowd.

2. Nope. Uncle

3. As in
      I never realized too until now
      And that her name is actually Toolz Oniru

4. Uncle o,Father o,Brother o,Son o,na you all sabi.Tolu says it is her dad and yes we agree and accept that it is her dad.

Keep beaming torchlight on the relationship,idle human beings.

5. Wrong information. He is not her father but uncle.

6. That’s Toolz Dad and not Uncle. She and Aremo are half siblings. Awon ITK

7. Anony 16:21. Youre right. It's her dad.
      Polygamous home, everyone brought their own crowd.

8. Yes but the big wigs were brought by Aremo. Read again.

9. Hmmm.. Death means Nothing anymore to so many people.. Are they happy he died? No sad faces.. more like a fashion parade party even his kids the lady that is radio presenter I cant remember her name, they were all smiling and dancing.. regardless of the age death is still painful.. my mum was 87yrs when she died but we all kept crying out of pain that we won't see her again.. i wish i had this courage i see here but i don't want it too..it's good to live life because people just move on easily ..

1. If we like or don't, death is the end of all humanity. What we pray is to leave all the greatness God deposited in us into other greatness we met on planet earth before we go back to God who created us. To do that, it will take like 80/90/100years to do so, when we have reach this stage, we and people around us;family, friends and acquaintances should be happy for a life well spent!
      Not every child born on this earth had that privilege...
      In one word, let's be happy with people that are happy!

2. In Yoruba land, we usually mourn when the demise is fresh say the first few days or where the deceased is under age(God forbid), or where they die by accidents or other painful means.

But where the deceased dies of natural death and is above 70 years old, what we do is a 'celebration of life'. We party and rejoice, thanking God for a beautiful life well spent. Especially when they are 80 and above, there will be no mourning at all except the closely bereaved. The rest of us will be congratulating them sef. 'Oku akara' niyen(Lol) , I wish I knew how to explain. We thank God not allowing the young die before the old.

And ever since the recession or so, and since average life expectancy continue to reduce in Nigeria, that bar has been reduced to around 60, if they are survived by kids and lived a beautiful life worthy of celebrating.

However, the close and immediate family continue to mourn forever.

Dear 13.58, meet 'Culture Shock', Culture Shock, here, 13.58.

3. You need to mind your business more so this was a celebration of life.

4. Thank you so much for explaining the Yoruba culture to people who won't mind their business or know the reason why things are done in certain cultures and instead of asking to understand, they make stupid comments with baseless insinuations.

5. You can continue to wail,mourn,cry and roll on the floor forever over a very old man who lived a blisssful life and left worthy men as children and many grandchildren so they can know you loved the man ,when your 90 year old father dies.

We celebrate the life of Aged people who peacefully transit.

6. Why are you all acting so salty? It's her opinion and she is entitled to it. Culture my foot.

7. That's all they know PARTY PARTY PARTY.

8. She can use your foot to shove her opinion doen her throat, no one give a damn about her opinion on this post.

9. 14:47 and 14:46 thank you for explaining Yoruba culture to 13:38.

15:25 and 15:26 you didn't have to be rude and antagonistic. I wonder how you easily called someone's comment stupid.

It could be that 13:38 has not interacted with Yorubas. That bv might not even be from your country.

By the way, I am not 13:38.
      Shalom.

10. Then paddle your canoe if you truly don't care about the opinion instead of wailing!

11. Hahaha.
      E be like this burial dey pepper some people.

Their flush banners say CELEBRATION OF LIFE.
      Hian!

12. Aunty ITK don show face 😂

10. Erelu Abiola Dosunmi, it's been long I saw her o.

Obanikoro also attended.

No be MC Oluomo be that ni?

Chief Okoya is aging gracefully

11. Gathering of the rich. Rest In Peace pa Oniru

12. Is that Daisy Danjuma?wow!

13. Daisy Danjuma......forever young mama.

1. For where? Age is catching up with her. There’s not so much Botox and surgery can do.

2. Money still added to her looks

3. Yes, age is catching up with Daisy.
      Nature takes its course regardless.

14. The ageless award goes to Alhaja Bisi Abiola.The woman is still beautiful as ever with very lovely skin.

That woman is so fresh .

Ageless Beauty

1. And sexy tiny eyes. To think she was a bride over 40 years back.

The women of Moshood Abiola crescent.
      #memories.

15. That man in the 7th picture with his wife....
    My God! You weee follow someone thinking he's a grandpa on IG and will give wisdom nuggets like his mates. For where??! Everyday selfie and subtle bragging like a school boy..the way I unfollowed him eh... such maturity in foolishness.