Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pepsi Nigeria's MD Fiery Email Raises Widespread Anger

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Pepsi Nigeria's MD Fiery Email Raises Widespread Anger

A leaked mail emanating from the Managing Director of PEPSI , Ziad Maalouf, stating his determination to stop at nothing, to crush the dreams of Nigerians, has begun raising questions, and generating controversy. 

The leaked e-mail, seen to be sent to Pepsi’s Heads of Depot across the country on November 13, 2019, was categorical in its intention to engage in battle, bothering on unwholesome, with Nigerians.

Below are excerpts of the leaked mail, and nagging issues that bug the mind:

“After our sales workshop day (Friday November 1) and finance workshop day (Saturday), I decided to test our system in terms of readiness to go for WAR!!!.”

“…it is extremely obvious to me that we are not yet ready for war BY ANY MEANS…”

“Let me start by explaining the competitive playground once again. This season is not like any other, so the mindset of growing vs last year, achieving budget, business as usual cost management, WILL NOT WORK!!! The outcome of this season must write the future and destiny of the 3 major competitors, along with the future of B-Brand industry (Bigger pack and lower price concept) disruptions in Nigeria. ”

“One company will flourish. One company will diminish. One company will finish. B-Brand disruptive business model will either become a temptation for anyone who has a bit of money to start own brand in Nigeria, or it will be a curse that ensures no one takes such a decision again!!!”

As expected, the leaked mail has begun to raise concerns among other Nigerians, who continue to express extreme discomfort and anger, at the tone of violence conveyed in the mail and what they say, is dangerous underlying intent. 

At this point the general consensus appears be, this leaked mail must be seen beyond being just another leaked information by a man feeling threatened by his position in the market space, but as a Hate Speech directed against a Nation and its people, whose successes have justifiably come from simply making smart decisions, while operating within the guides of best practices, and reinvesting for further growth and expansion within the country. 

Like an aggrieved Nigerian said, “this is a dangerous step towards modern day slavery and racism.”

58 comments:

1. Useless people everywhere.He should be sacked

2. what exactly is wrongwith this mail.. NOTHING

1. Absolutely nothing! This is just how it happens in the commercial world! I see passion and drive

If you’ve never worked with passionate commercial folks, this might seem strange

2. Everything is wrong with this mail.... Open your eyes to see it.

3. I am looking for what is wrong too. I have worked in marketing and this is how aggressive it gets. I think he was simply using language that would fire up his team, get them in a certain head space.

4. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this mail.

5. I still don't understand why this is a news. Emails like this are sent to Sales and Marketing everyday so what's the big deal here?

3. This is obviously a thread conversation that can only be fully understood the people copied in the mail.

However, his tone is very animalistic. He sounds like a lion roaring in the jungle, seeking blood. Like an Ape beating his chest before war. What's all this 'blood' 'diminish' 'finish'. If they know about Indians, they would check him to a mental health facility. Those people are usually not sane. Anyone who has risen to certain level in his/her career (especially in a company like Pepsi) should be more professional in their quest to drive success. They need to also check his qualifications. Rubbish....

1. Shut up. 80% of branch managers & above in banks use worse language. Market position is WAR! For all your supposed exposure you want to tell us you've never attended a management meeting that was hot, or received a mail from group head or MD sef that made you want to wet your pants (unpleasantly so, I know you enjoy the other wetting)??

Sales driven businesses are like this guys memo/mail, nothing new here.

2. He’s only being dramatic and his email is fighting talk. Nothing there. Somebody’s trying to make him look bad.

3. Until something tragic happens before you people see the in-depth of this mail abi... Let me just fold my hands, cross my legs and watch.... I'm sure even Pepsi wouldn't want to try nonsense right now cause their yansh don open. Because people do some devlish stuffs in some corporate world doesn't mean it is right or should be the norm... Let's do things right, that is why it is called a "corporate world". There are limitations to the kind of words you can use, even to a direct staff.

4. This doesn't look like a corporate mail.
    Forget the contents, even a head of cleaners in a corporate organization won't compose a mail like this one.

5. Absolutely nothing wrong with that email!!! Nigerians are too dramatic and obviously not objective minded.
    We're a capitalist economy and the sole aim of business is to make profit through keeping your brand relevant and achieving goals. Dude simply gave his take on their preparedness to achieve results and pointed out the result of failure while also encouraging the staff to do better in areas of improvement.
    Even the so called B brands also have their strategy in plave to claim their market share and reduce profits for the A brands so it's a continuous battle hence the guy tagging it as "war". Abi he shouldn't do his job again?

1. Thank you o, Nigerians like drama.

And an enemy decided to leak the email to what purpose? I pray what happened to my former company doesn't happen to these people. Nigerians won't learn

2. I pray the idiot that leaked the uncompleted mail found and punished.

3. As in!! Somebody’s gunning for his spot. He should be careful

4. After reading the intro I was ready to be outraged. I read the email and wondered what was wrong with it
      This is a manager trying to fire yo his staff to be ready for the competitive market space
      What is wrong with it?

5. I really did not see anything wrong myself . Sometimes you may want to be aggressive and some words will be permissible to stir people up. The war between this new beverage company and the old ones who have enjoyed monopoly for long will make one resort to physical war if not careful. It's a lesson to all who want to grow. Never be complacent, it steals the future,make you grow weak and very vulnerable. This is why they must fight to survive. Bigi is not joking .

6. I didn't not really understand the mail. Somebody should help explain. Thanks

7. As harsh as these mail looks, it denote today's reality in Nigeria.

Am a Regional Sales Manager and can testify to what his trying to send across, anyone who see the positive side of the mail will know his trying to get results in a difficult terrain as my country Nigeria.

Only salesmen will understand, every single product in Nigeria have minimum of ten to twenty competition, not to even mention the fragile borders that encourage smuggling and various immitations counterfeiting your products.

A lot of negative publicity is also been done by competition to ensure your brand is pulled down.

It's war outside for anyone or company that really wants to survive, it either you eat or be eaten.

1. A thousand likes!!!

2. Yeah but the tone of the mail is animalistic

3. Animalistic? Oh he should be robbing their heads for non performance? There is time for stick and time for carrot in management.

4. You're right Anon! I see nothing wrong . A sales man has to make sure his product sells or he or she has failed .

5. Yeah there is nothing wrong with it and why was this leaked...Somebody head go roll

6. I pride myself on being objective, but after reading the mail, I completely agree with you anonymous 100

8. Its taken out of context, and the person who leaked a private, official mail should be fired.

Let me wear the mans shoes for a day

One company will flourish...Cocacola
    One company will diminish..X
    One company will finish....Y

The man has to make sure his company is not Y. X and Y is between Pepsi co and bigi co..I think they are the 3 major players. The main advantage X and Y had over coca cola was price and volume. Coca cola has reduced their price..so the others are back to zero. Coca cola has started claiming their lost customers.

He has to declare WAR because bigi cola in my opinion don't really have any clear strategy, they are willing to lower their price and add any fast selling variant to their product line up.

WAR is aggressive marketing and strategy before they will 'Pochettino' the man's job

1. I pray that enemy within who leaked the official email is fished out to face the music. Nonsense and ingredient

2. Exactly...We can be so sentimental...He is talking about Cocacola, Pepsi and Bigi...Mehn Bigi is really spoiling market oh..Anyway good luck to them...

3. I think its all about the terrain. In nigeria, coca cola leads the market, in the US, its pepsi. Go to every major fast food outlet in the US, especailly macdonalds, its pepsi, 7up or sprit, ginger ale you will find there. Hardly cocacola

4. I did a bit of Smc . Olodo u r on point. Big brother gave them a lil boast but after d Bbn thing dey don fall back again. That Bigg cola stuff is all over no strategy, but making massive sales with other variants. Coca Cola still holds d Ace till date. If Pepsi don’t step up dir A game, they become X. In this situation, sabotage, pull down. Lunching of fake news to destroy will b allowed but with this confidential leakage, hmmmm

5. Are you sure you understand the mail? Your analysis are totally wrong. Maybe I'm not seeing what you are seeing sha.

9. I think it's about aggressive sales and marketing. Biggie products are given them sleepless nights.

10. I don't see anything wrong in this mail. The person that leaked it should be dealt with in accordance with the company policy.

11. First I think the mail was leaked by someone in Pepsi who is equally on the payroll of a competitor. Secondly, not everything is racism or slavery, come on people. How did you think Steve Job conducted business? By giving a pat on the back? I work abroad and believe you me, no matter how well we perform financially the CEO’s message remains same every year, “we need to do way better”! The sentiments Nigerians are putting in this mail shows why no Nigerian business has successfully transcended generations.

1. ✅✅✅✅✅✅✅✅. Nation filled with DARK minds

12. The man is not against Nigerians per se.
    He is just declaring war on other brands..WAR in this context is capturing the other brand market.
    But his tone though.
    And he should tolerate the B brand, after all Pepsi started the war with coke with their 'Orobo' brand.
    And no be person send them message to introduce Pepsi lite that almost ruined their market.

13. There is nothing wrong in this mail. In my opinion, this is a very polite email. You should see some really terrible ones.

1. Polite!!! At least those that wrote terrible ones are not distributing it out to every nicoompoo, they know what is written there is heavy and should be highly confidential but no Pepsi MD decided to do it because he is in Nigeria where there is no law that will sanction him.

14. Abeg, i see nothing wrong with this email. Even petty traders don't like their competitors. Wasn't it recently some were complaining about other shops selling the same thing opening in their streets?

1. Competitions can be healthy, do your own make I do my own. May the best man win, abi no be wetin them dey talk..... This same people will use jazz on their competitors all in the name of competition. Na still una go carry the news, by then nobody remembers it is a competition.

15. I’ve just been here taking my time to read comments, and I can say with my chest out that I’m more than disappointed to be a citizen of this country. We are too comfortable with left over crumbs from foreigners, that’s the only reason why a Nigerian will see nothing wrong with this mail. They have taken us to be dumb house Negros and we continue to prove them right.
    Y’all talking shit like, "this is just business" can’t open your eyes to see the in-depth of this mail. Am I the only one seeing the part that says it will be a curse for any Nigeria to even think of owning a company in that space?

1. Ah! Please where did he say that oh! Are you sure you are literate??

2. Maybe you should read well, this time use your brain. You're there asking me if I'm literate.

16. Thus is why it is very difficult for Nigeians to run successful businesses. What exactly is wrong with the MDs email?? This is typical CEO speak in trying to rally / ginger the troops! Most baordroom / sales teams meetings are like this with language like crush / destroy / finish the competition. This is just to fire up sales teams. Even banks marketing meeting are similar. Rather than trying to gather cheap sympathy ; i expect the brands mentioned to be quite flattered and rise to the challenge of returning the favor. See Pepsi and coke adverts abroad how they diss each other and try to create the more captivating adverts. Pls let's stop being lazy and making so much ado about nothing.

17. Since some of you are struggling with comprehension let me assist:
    ‘B-Brand disruptive business model will either become a temptation for anyone who has a bit of money to start own brand in Nigeria, or it will be a curse that ensures no one takes such a decision again!!!”

He has said that there are 3 main competitors in the industry, however there are some upstarts (B-brand, mostly local companies). This coming season will determine the fate of all the companies (bar the one that will flourish Coca Cola) and will be a test of the feasibility of the B-brand model. So calm down all of you

18. Rotfl! Unless this is part of a publicity stunt, the person who leaked this should be fired.

Which Nigerians are angry? The ones that have the heart and are greedy enough to do juju to get customers for their bukas and restaurants? The ones whose bosses in the banks are terrorising them to meet impossible targets? Or the #ShidrenOfGrace running to Dubai to eat sh*t, so they can inspire to expire on the 'gram?

Unless there's something else that wasn't leaked, what's threatening about this email to someone that understands English? The fact that it was sent by a foreigner? Some of you are quaking cos you've convinced yourselves that business communication = writing in "txt spk" and calling strangers "dear" in WhatsApp or Instagram DM when they make inquiries about the products and services you purportedly offer. Racism, ko. Hate speech, ni.

Stop forming power most of you don't even have to vex for your "elected representatives" who have been messing you up since time immemorial, abeg. Kogites, shebi your governor has shown the world how senseless you are. Cross Riverians, the spirit of Margaret Ekpo is probably shaking her head in disgust at you cos Ayade will sell the entire state with you in it, speak big grammar & you all will do nada. But you think a regular business email is racist, hate speech. Shior!

19. There’s nothing wrong with this Email .

20. Whoever leaked this Email is not so very bright.theres nothing wrong with this Email!
    I receive Emails like this every now and then and send emails like this To my Team ! Lol

21. Who are the people angry with this Email lol ?
    I thought Nigerians are Native English speaker ..

22. There is nothing wrong with this mail. If you are a business owner you better employ these strategies in your business. I intend to employ this + blue ocean strategy + art of war in my hustle. Being an entrepreneur in Nigeria is tough! full stop! Who ever that leaked this email isn't a team player and lacks confidentiality skills and should be fired!

23. I don't work for Pepsi and I am PUMPED after reading that email.
    That's a leader who wants to win and beat the competition, there's not a single thing wrong with that.

I love that he touched on the fact that the organization living it's values brought them this far and that they need an additional push to dominate again.

Sales people, business developers, strategic leaders and business owners should all love this email.

24. I feel sorry for this country, so crude, unpolished and unconventional set people, this is product of half education, how can sensible MD write a mail in this way, very unprofessional and not fit to hold such position, we proud our self doing thing in wrong ways and glorify them, am not sure many of above commentator are aware of Competition law in Nigeria, this law has been signed by President, by the time this law takes effect, company like this will be shutdown cos of heavy fine. We deserve a better live and living. Can write a mail in such tone from where he comes from?

25. The tone may be hard but think of yourself as the husband to a cherished wife. Then someone comes trying to take her with cheap products, I bet you would do worse.
    The man is only being passionate to guard his turf and fierce to take on anyone encroaching especially with perceived lower quality.
    However, what I see here is that Biggi is hitting the market players and they are feeling it . So I would really hope they are able to stay focused and grow their market share. I really believe the Nigerian consumer market is large enough to accommodate them all. It just means profits would be redistributed in the sector.
    This for me is a call to Biggi to rise to the occasion and indeed thrive in the years ahead.