Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Warrant To Arrest Air Peace Boss Allen Onyema Issued In The US

Saturday, November 23, 2019

Warrant To Arrest Air Peace Boss Allen Onyema Issued In The US

A warrant of arrest has been issued against Allen Onyema of Air Peace Limited for alleged money laundering and bank fraud in the United States.....

This is according to Court documents seen by PREMIUM TIMES ....

The warrant was signed by Justin Anand, an American magistrate of the United States District Court of the Northern District of Georgia, on November 19. The warrant authorised U.S. Marshals Service to take Mr Onyema into custody.

PREMIUM TIMES could not immediately confirm Mr Onyema’s location as of Saturday morning, but he was seen at Transcorp Hilton in Abuja on Thursday.

The U.S. and Nigeria have a mutual legal assistance policy that allows both countries to extradite suspects facing criminal charges and several Nigerians have been sent to the U.S. to stand trial for alleged fraud.

It was unclear whether the U.S. authorities have sought an extradition of Mr Onyema as part of efforts to execute warrant of arrest issued against him.

Mr Onyema was indicted on Friday for allegedly laundering suspicious funds in excess of $20 million dollars in the U.S. Ejiroghene Eghagha, Air Peace’s head of finance and administration, was also indicted and an arrest warrant issued equally against him.

The two Nigerian business executives were accused of conniving to commit money laundering and bank fraud for several years. 

45 comments:

1. Ejiroghene Eghagha, Air Peace’s head of finance and administration, was also indicted and an arrest warrant issued equally against him.

Him ke? Na nwanyi!

1. Billionaire with rough face . He is fronting for d real owner

2. Inside life. I just wonder if any billionaire in Nigeria is real?

All of this is really troubling. Anyway, the way he rose to prominence from nowhere is questionable considering that he was relatively unknown before launching AIR-PEACE.

1. Hahahaha you feel the hands of billionaires in other countries are also clean. Many of them do crooked things and that is a fact. Whether it's moving huge funds illegally,some to avoid huge tax or avoid policies.
      Some do insurance fraud. Some evade tax by moving their funds and assets to other countries.
      Some even file for bankrupcy just to evade debtors. Nigerian billionaires aint any different. But so far you are making a difference and providing jobs without duping people i am fine.
      They are not even as sneaky as the oyinbo ones. Those ones just have good lawyers and good accountants to cover their tracks and they are smart enuf to take advantage of loop-holes in the system.

2. Trump is number one dubious businesses man before he became President

3. Still a dubious man as the POTUS.

4. @beds, you are right that fraud exists everywhere. Greed is part of human nature. The only thing that keeps man in check is the law. Fraud is not as widespread in usa cos you have a lot to lose when caught. You will surely go to jail, and your career, license will end. All the insurance fraud doctors/nurses where are they today? Jail. Tax evaders when caught go to jail too, whether celebrity or governor. Yes every country dey do, but for us nigerians ours grew out of hand cos people were getting away with it. This year was the worst year to be Nigerian abroad. Almost every week we were on the news for fraud. It affected me at work, and may affect all Nigerians for years to come. But it's also good to arrest/charge the suspects, so that young ones will see and learn that crime doesn't pay.

3. He should just fly one of his planes to America, land it and beat his furry chest and shout out loud that he has arrived to defend himself. No more press releases. If you are innocent go and defend yourself.

1. That's not how it works. Be sympathetic towards your own men, give them the benefit of the doubt until they are proven guilty without any reasonable doubt.

2. He is going to meet them with his Lawyers, I Wonder how money moved through CBN, the custodians of Money Laundry Act is criminal

4. Its a pity. Fraud do not pay. Onyeama go and clear yourself.

5. Witch hunt! Bad belle people everywhere

1. Am telling you, enemies of progress

2. There is no witch hunt. He committed fraud. He should answer to it.

3. Nothing like witch hunt here.is not guilty until proven so.

4. They have started with their noise witch hunt kò. What do you know about him for you to think some people are after him. He should go there and clear his name if he is not guilty.

6. Another one gone... A sinner will never go unpunished

7. Nigerians need to work very hard to convince most other nationals that
    they are not fraudsters. It is worrisome but this is the reality.
    If you leave the shores of Nigeria you will understand this better.

1. only truth you have spoken

2. The only sensible comment here

8. I have perused the press release on this issue from Department of Justice USA and deduced that it was concocted to checkmate or curtail Airpeace's growing international destinations. They don't want him to come to America In view of the managerial prowess of the Airpeace, growing volume and buying of planes every day which no African man or company had tried before, the American aviation won't condone healthy competition with it on American routes, hence to stop the Airpeace now before it's too late. Their allegation is that Ide forged papers and transferred money to purchase airplanes from his (Ide) own company in Georgia USA. How could this be true judging from how international aviation industry is being run or managed, particularly in the USA? Or how could over 20 million dollars left Nigerian shores without the authorities in Nigeria knowing the destination? They didn't say that the money transferred emanated from questionable sources, but from a Nigeria bank. So how could Ide who is a transferor defraud a transferee bank in the USA. My brothers, the whites are too intelligent, sees the future more than we do and do not play with the source upon which they sustain their economy. They can even trade their best of friends and customers in so far as there's no threat to their economy. My hope is that, by the grace of God, OUR OWN, will come out of this, unscathed and stronger. Thank you all. Remain blessed Chief Ide Onyema, CEO Airpeace International Airline.

1. You are right, can't agree less. They are pritecting their territory so that Air peace does not come to the US and become a household name in aviation industry.

2. Smart submission

3. @Or how could over 20 million dollars left Nigerian shores without the authorities in Nigeria knowing the destination?

Leave not left*

You think the authorities in Nigeria don’t know the destination?

Put on your thinking cap please

4. Anon 20.59,you are clown and highly unintelligent. Everything is witch hunt and persecution. Growing influence, size and threat of Air Peace in the US? You must have smoked kwale weed. That's why you guys tolerate your useless politicians and political office holders - excuses must always be made for bad behavior - no consequences. This will be a lesson to other scammers and fraudsters parading themselves as billionaires in Nigeria - more are on the way to jail. They won't enjoy the commonwealth of the masses that they have stolen and/misappropriated. This is just the beginning!

5. Very lame defense of a criminal act. Read your postulations again - does it make sense to you. Air Peace, a threat to American airline business interests???!!! Buying planes everyday, which no black man has done! With which/whose funds? That's why you lack basic infrastructure in Nigeria. Because funds meant for these are in private pockets, being taken out and stashed in various foreign banks. Useless excuse for criminal acts. That's how these so called business men forge documents and siphon fx thru CBN at concessionary official rates and inflow them back to the country at later dates and resell at higher rates. Let him be bold to go defend himself in the US if he knows he is innocent.

6. How on earth can a sane person say America is protecting their aviation industry that's why airpeace chairman is being hunted.
      Hian! In the states there are over 2000 airlines operating. One single airline has a fleet of more than all the airlines in Africa combined together, so what are you saying? Please enough of all this tribal or Nigerian mentality you are making life unbearable for a lot of decent nigeNiger abroad.
      People now equate Nigerians with Satan.

9. But they haven't found him guilty till they carry out they investigation so i don't see any reason why people have already started cursing him.

10. I pray God will vindicate this man and all the people making mockery of him will be put to shame.
    NIGERIANS ARE WICKED PEOPLE. I keep saying it. It is in us to run ourselves down. People already rejoicing at the mans downfall. Did he steal from any of you? Do you have the evidence. The funds are SUSPECTED to be laundered funds because of the amount and the way it was moved. Let's be sure before we crucify this man.
    People have forgotten so fast all this man did for those in S.A. He did what the gov't couldn't do in a drop of a hat.
    Just recently he was being praised because of the good service on their maiden flight to Dubai and soon other international flights. We don't even have Nigerian airways again,everything in shambles. This guy is doing great things.
    Let's be careful about rejoicing in people's downfall. You don't see the hausas doing this. They support their own till the death.
    I will not judge this man till facts are out. And even if he is guilty I will not still judge and crucify him. I'm not ibo but I'm a Nigerian and i am so disappointed in different comments im seeing especially from his people. Rejoicing when your brother Is down is sad ASF.

1. Funny enough Nigerians forget good deed so easily... You can never see an American mock or ridicule one of their own like this. Even if he's guilty, at least he has shown a true spirit of a patriotic Nigeria. How many of our politicians or the people mocking him could do what he did? The politicians that stash money overseas have they done anything better in this country?

2. You guys are too sentimental... Because he is a philantropist or whatever doesn't mean he isn't a criminal. Let the law take its course and let's see which way it sways. People are entitled ti their opinions and once an issue is in the pibkic eye, people are going to say what they feel about it.

11. Joe igbokwe Thank you for your resounding response

12. One thing that baffles me in all of this is that, the many Nigerian politicians that laundered money into US haven't been indicted or issue arrest warrant. We are yet to see that happen. Does it mean no Nigerian politician launder money in US.... I just don't want to believe this is sponsored or have a sinister motives to pull him down, if not, why did it take them this long to come up with this discovery at a time Air Peace is gaining momentum in the flight business?

Make no mistake about this, I am not exonerating the Air Peace boss neither am I saying he's guilty, for that is left for the prosecutor to prove in court. There may be more to this than meet the eyes....

1. What makes you think he was not laundering money for politicians? Did you even read the indictment or you missed the part were he was allegedly transferring the money into other ppl’s accounts.

2. What makes you think he was not laundering money for politicians? Did you even read the indictment or you missed the part were he was allegedly transferring the money into other ppl’s accounts.

13. "Members of the public are reminded that the indictment only contains charges.  The defendants are presumed innocent of the charges and it will be the government’s burden to prove the defendant’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt at trial". From US Dept.of Justice...see justice.gov, re: Allen Ifechukwu Athan Onyeama.

Well, well, well. Naija people get sense and liver sha. Who born dog? Kai,that's why the #1 melanin human being wey oyibo dey fear na Naija mehnn.

Anywaysssss, till proven guilty. I am just watching. I pray he, Mr. Allen Onyeama comes out of this innocent.

On another thought....they want to 'break' the Igbos. Allen's one man show during the xenophobic crises in SA did not sit well with the who who wey dey control Buhari & the country.
    Them go kuku urge Yankee to investigate any from the south south & east wey look like ee get money. When ee reach this kind level, EFCC go just dey do like they suprise too.

Ooooooo, I miss GSA (Abacha), person no fit bad finish. Who born yankee for just dey pursue Naija people anyhow concerning their hustles.

14. There is something fishy about this. Is it not the FBI that normally handles this type of case. I don't believe any of this. The man's enemies are manipulating things.

15. The investigation started since from 2010! If you stay or always visit outside Nigeria be honest in all your business deals, don't evade tax na small thing dey carry person go prison! You have to manage money and your accounts well.Here in Sweden if you owe and don't pay you will be blacklisted you can't buy anything online,have a sim card,you can't get their passport if you are a debtor or shady,they always trail you and monitor your business deals! America does not joke with such things. A lot of rich people do things they think they can get away with. He opened company accounts for companies that does not exist that is fraudulent!

16. For rescuing the stranded Nigerians in SA, I choptas not. That singular deed saved us from national disgrace. At least he has saved us a bit from the crippled airlines. Who knows what we would have been flying now in this country.
    Shey if he doesn’t enter US he will not be arrested?
    Tinubu and co are still strutting around free. All the looted funds him and his cohorts have done, nobody is coming after them.

17. ALLEN ONYEMA is a Great Icon. He lifted freely our brothers in SA during the xenophobia attack which our so called could not do.
    He invested back home and help reduce unemployment. Other countries rich men may have 1 or 2 odds against them but they protect their own.
    Let's protect OURs. I choptas not in "Mama G" voice.
    Nna, highest they will extradict you. Stay here with Us.....Shikena, I hate NONSENSE.

18. This Onyeama’s case shows how sentiments stop is from creating a better country. Instead of people to address the issue at hand. They are waxing all sentimental about good deeds done, our son, enemies at work. Etc the question is what are the charges? Can he defend himself against them? If he is innocent, provide a proper defence. Thank God he has the money to hire the best lawyers

All this other sentimental stuff will not make any difference
    Sometimes the level of reasoning just boggles the mind

1. Then wait till the man can defend himself before vilifying him. That is all we are saying. People are already making him out to be a fraudster before he has the opportunity to defend himself in court.

19. All you ethnic bigots should just keep quiet,you see where you have used your hatred and bad blood led your industrious son to.
    There is more to this story and it started right from inside his airpeace family which is not peaceful at all,his prevented him getting information about this episode on several occasions,his so called loyalists whistleblowed him and moreover a bigger and better airline based in Enugu will soon take over the skies.
    I hate you people with 🐖 piggy mentality.