Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Church Bans Aso Ebi To Reduce Burial Costs

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Church Bans Aso Ebi To Reduce Burial Costs

Anglican Communion, Diocese on the Niger has banned the printing of brochure and uniform ceremonial dresses, also known as `Aso-ebi’ during burial rites of its members at the diocese to reduce burial cost.

Ven. Ikechukwu Ihemtuge, Vicar in charge of St. Andrew’s Church, Obosi, made this known during the church service on Sunday in Obosi Idemili North Local Government Area of Anambra.

Ihemtuge said the diocese took the decision at its June 2019 synod of its 19 archdeaconry at Abatete, Idemili North Local Government Area of the state.

“The decision was that of the church to checkmate burial frivolities of the faithful and reduce the burial challenges of its members,” he said.
The church has discovered that many people during the burial of their loved ones encounter lots of challenges in the name of befitting burials.
What is befitting in Christian burial is the relationship established between the people and their God and the worthy legacy after the people are gone,” he said.

Addressing the faithful, Mrs Tina Okoye said the decisions was to avert crime and desperation associated with the burial activities to impress people, as only God should be impressed and not man.
pmnews

17 comments:

1. Not only aso ebi please. All these churches should also ban picking similar outfits on every Sunday services for their church workers. Let everyone wear what they have biko. I came to church to serve God not to be buying clothes every Sunday this is the reason why I stopped being a worker and serving my God jejely in my own way.

1. Reason why an unemployed person can't serve God again. Everyweek bring 8k for new uniform. My church if you don't have money, just be a member and go home cos ehhhh

2. You are right anon 11.58, Anne reason why I ran away from choir.

3. I need to hug you for this statement, i didn't participate in dominion city church choir as a student because of this same demand, kudos to Anglican church for taking a bold step, more to go.

2. Haq haq haq
    Bv Ogbu achi and bv Xhlrted p should tell us if they can accept this. People from the zone are stubborn doubt they will agree to it

1. Hehehehhehehehe the church knows how to get what it wants, all the need to do is tell the families that if they spot an asoebi anywhere, no Reverend will bury the dead and they will compile.

3. Good move. This asoebi thing needs to be phased off, it's just annoying.

4. If not a close person, I won't buy ado ebi,sow it,travel long distance, lodge in hotel & still give you envelope ooooo,I am literally tired of aso ebi self.

5. Good thing.Even Amichi Diocese too have ban it since last year, during my grandma burial they only allowed us to wear white clothes and Polo material.

6. Nice one,not everyone can afford it

7. Burial rites in most towns in Anambra State has also been reduced to one day. Some banned wake-keep a long time ago.

8. Well done my Lord Bishop....